Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Rainforest Cafe
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
The Anaheim location of this popular restaurant features a two-story dining room, and the over-the-top decor this chain is known for.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.2 out of 53.2 out of 53.2 out of 53.2 out of 53.2 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 32 ( Displaying Reviews: 21 - 30 )
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   1/5/2004
Reviewer: crisjop Northern California     April 09, 2004
We met our SoCal relatives here in hopes of a "nice" family dining experience...we were all very disappointed! The service was exceptionally slow, soooo slow that younger members of our group lost interest in the rain showers or decor. When our food finally arrived it was mostly unedible...cold & rubbery...like a TV dinner that has been reheated twice then left to sit. The wait staff were friendly yet shallow, in that they were completely uninterested in our customer satifaction. Our bill was just over $ 220.00 and we all went away feeling mightily sad & ripped off. It's no wonder that the tip is automatically added for large groups (6 or more)....
It really dampened an otherwise beautiful stay : (

Save your $$$ for the many other great dining experiences inside DLR....as for our clan-NEVER AGAIN- is our new family motto for the Rainforest Cafe
 
4 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   Nov 13 - 16 2003
Reviewer: CarlieB New Zealand     February 23, 2004
We ate at the Rainforest Cafe twice during our last stay at the Resort. We first had breakfast there, which I really enjoyed. There were three in our party and we were seated downstairs at a nice big booth. The restaurant wasn't very busy, and after we'd ordered our waiter suggested we might like to take a look around the restaurant, including upstairs, which we did. I'd never been inside a Rainforest Cafe before, so I enjoyed being able to check it out. It certainly is a large location - it was hard to imagine it full at the time (but I did later see it full - more on that later). Breakfast was good. We had huge cups of coffee, which were refilled often, I had the French Toast and the other 2 had a cooked breakfast of scrambled eggs, toast and fried potatos (I think). The portions were huge - I don't think any of us finished our breakfasts.
While we were there we checked out the dinner menu and thought it looked good. We were having dinner that night as a group of 5, and needed somewhere with a variety of foods to suit everyones tastes. We decided on a late dinner (partly because it was a Saturday and DTD was very busy early on) and met up at the Rainforest Cafe bar around 9:45, where we enjoyed a drink. We were seated upstairs about 10:15pm (late, but hey, we were on holiday!) and noticed that the restaurant was still very busy. We ordered some starters (one person had the clam chowder and the rest of us shared the appetizer platter) and then ordered our entrees. We had mixed results with these. I had the Chinese Chicken Salad, and it was okay, but not as good as others I have tried. I think this was what most people at our table thought of their entrees - okay, but not amazing. Again, the portions were enormous - easily enough for 2 in most cases. We decided to skip dessert,as we were full and it was late, so didn't get to try any of the desserts.
While it's kind of over the top, I quite like the theming of the Rainforest Cafe. We don't really have anything like it in NZ, so it's a bit of a novelty (I especially like the "waterfalls" and thunderstorms). I'm not sure I'd go back for dinner, but I would definitely recommend the breakfast menu, and the bar is pretty fun also.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   August 2002
Reviewer: disneyprincess81 Pennsylvania     September 26, 2003
I would have rated higher but service was pathetic. They sat us away from everyone on the bottom level, near a service door. The whole point of why we went was to be amoung all the decorations and action, but they threw us down in the boondocks where there wasn't much going on; just a few vines hanging around. The waiter was friendly, but took a while to get to us; gee could it have been because they sat us away from the rest of the restaurant? My sister ordered the pizza, it was very delicious, we all took turns tasting it and wished we had ordered the same thing. If you go and they want to seat you away from the action, I would speak up and request a different area or you'll be missing out on the cool dancing monkeys and swaying trees.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Sep 2002 and Dec 2002
Reviewer: PrincessMinnie (princesssteponme@aol.com) Waterford, CA     January 24, 2003
This is oneof the best restaurants that I have ever been to. The staff is friendly and well trained, (we even had a girl that said it was her first week, and she still did a wonderful job). The first time we went, my boyfriend had the Rasta Pasta. Oh my god, how tasty is that!!!! I got a wrap, southwestern style wrap I beilieve and it was good, but not as good as the pasta. The next time we went we shared the pasta, the portions here are really big, 2 adults can share almost any main entree they offer. We also got the appitizer sampler which was a meal in itself. Spent about $70 for 1 entree, the sampler, dessert and 4 beers plus tip. Not too bad. Lunch menu is very affordable. $8 for a sanwhich with fries. Atmosphere is the most original I have ever seen. Every so often, there is a thuner storm, and all the animatronic animals start moving and making noise. I was so shocked when the gorilla i was next to starting pounding his chest!! I almost jumped. Wonderful experience for anyone, all ages. Highly reccomend eating here.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   12/24/02
Reviewer: uniontrack (uniontrack@hotmail.com) Tooele, UT     January 12, 2003
We have a Rainforest Cafe in Vegas in the MGM Grand hotel, but this one in Disney is much larger and decorated differently, so I was pleased to see differences in each store in this chain. This was our last big meal, dinner, during our stay since we were to leave Disneyland the next day, which was Christmas day. We had a funbook coupon for a free appetizer with any dinner entree. This kept the price tag down to under $25 with tip. My wife had the quesadillas (sp?) as her meal, which was the free appetizer while I went whole hog (pun) and got the full slab of ribs. Both meals were tasty and well prepared. We had a cool waitress who served us timely even though the whole place was jammed and the hired help looked over-worked and harried. We kind of got stuck in a corner table for two, which was a plus for coziness and privacy, but lacked the access to the fun stuff the place decorates and entertains with. Service: excellent, even under heavy volume, Price: moderate, but ok given the atmosphere, Food: Very good, but not spectacular, Atmosphere: Awesome! I loved the fish tanks and all of the little details that they theme the place with. I would probably go back even w/o a decent coupon.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   9/21/02
Reviewer: LPnerd Cape Coral, Fl.     September 28, 2002
great atmosphere. easy acess from disneyland hotel,DTD,or Disneyland.Right next to the monorail.We got a pizza to take back to our room as the restarant was so obviously under staffed. It was just awful. cold,little cheese and some different spice on it I think.Yuck. But, we also heard others rave about the pasta they had. Just don't get a cheese pizza.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   09-03-02
Reviewer: califtink Gold Country, Ca.     September 12, 2002
We really like it here, and will most likely return nearly every trip. We arrived earlier than our seating time, and were seated quickly. Our waiter was very nice and patient, as we had trouble making up our minds. we each ordered a drink, I had a Rainbow Colada, which I liked very much.I had the (I think it was called) Rio Margherita Pizza- delicious, one sister had the Chicken Fried Chicken which was really good- I know because I took home her leftovers, she could only eat 1/2 of it. My other sister had some kind of pasta with seafood which she really enjoyed even when she ate her leftovers cold in our room the next night. Love the atmosphere, it's just fun. We didn't have room for dessert, even though we really wanted to!
Our total bill before tip for 3 adults was $69.90 .
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   February 9-15, 2002
Reviewer: tlovesdis Antioch, CA     August 28, 2002
Hubby and I loved it here! We ordered the Volcano for dessert! Oh my! It is huge and very, very delicious! 4 or more people can easily share this thing!
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   October 22-25, 2001
Reviewer: tlovesdis Antioch, CA     August 28, 2002
Love this place! The atmosphere is awesome and the food is outstanding. The portions are huge and yummy! If you have little kids, this is a great place to take them!
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   7/19/02
Reviewer: SpamSpamSpam Astoria, Oregon     July 27, 2002
This is a fun place to visit, but unless you have lots of time you should eat somewhere else. We were seated quickly for lunch but our waiter was obviously handling too many tables and didn't get to us for some time. Just as we were deciding to leave the waiter appeared, took our drink orders and vanished to pop up 20 minutes later with our drinks. When our food failed to arrive (three thunderstorms later..maybe four) I searched out our waiter and pointed out we had other things to do that day. My burger finally arrived, overcooked and lukewarm.
The only reason we waited out this ordeal is that we could see the place was busy and wanted to give the staff the benefit of the doubt. I won't try it again.
 
3 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3 4
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page