Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Sheraton Anaheim Hotel
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
900 S. Disneyland Drive, Anaheim
Book this hotel now!
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 10 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 10 )
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   10-2007
Reviewer: sjhanksaz Gilbert AZ     March 07, 2009
Nice place to stay. We have an SPG Amex card and we usually stay for free with the points. It's a great card to gather up quick points towards hotel stays.

The rooms are always clean and the kids love staying there because it looks like a castle. The staff have always been very nice and the place is very quite.

The only two draw backs in my openion is it's distance from the park and they charge for parking. We usually like to stay close to the park so we can walk right in and this place is not close enough for walking although it is a short shuttle ride to DL. It's not so bad on the trip to the park. Where it is a bit of a pain is when you have to rush back to the shuttle area instead of spending more magic time in the park. It's always an ordeal to get on the shuttle when the kids are tired and you have a stroller filled to the hilt with jackets, goodies, kids and everything else but the kitchen sink. The shuttle is free and it only goes back and forth from the park to this hotel. This is really nice because we have stayed other places and had to make the rounds from hotel to hotel before reaching your's.

Paying for parking is a bit of a pain too, esspecially when they have such a large one. One trip I noticed that my car was getting really dirty. When I looked closer at it I noticed that my car had ashes all over it from the nightly fireworks show. I feel bad for the people living around the park - they must all get it from time to time when the winds are just right.

The bottom line is I would stay there again because of my points. If I were paying out of pocket I always choose to stay closer to the park. It just works better for me and my fam.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   March 10-March 12 2006
Reviewer: AliCat Northern California     March 14, 2006
This was our first stay at the Sheraton Anaheim, we normally try to stay at one of the Disney Resort Hotels, but this was a last minute trip and we were pleasantly surprised. We booked a standard oversized room with 2 queen beds for 2 adults and 3 children (7,11,15). Our rate was $149/night which we thought was pretty good considering we had just booked it that afternoon. We checked in around 9:30 pm and the bellman came and helped us with our bags and directed us to our room, which was on the other side of the hotel, but after a few times up and down, we knew our way around. The room was clean and seemed to be recently redone. The beds were very comfortable. The heating worked well and we were able to adjust it to our liking. The bathroom was quite small though. We got a rollaway bed for our son and it fit nicely in the room. It was an oversized room and had plenty of space, with a desk and 2 chairs with a table for a little sitting area. We were on the side near Ball Road and the traffic was a bit noisy at times, but not anything major. They are redoing the front area of the hotel, so you have to get to the lobby from the back of the hotel, but that's no big deal. The restaurant was good, a little pricey, but the staff was courteous and the service was pretty quick. We ate there for breakfast and dinner one night. Both meals were good. The shuttle to Disneyland departed on the hour and half hour and picked up at the park on the quarter hour. It was convenient and was only full one time we used it, but there was still room for all of us. They even waited a few minutes when we came running to catch it. We were able to purchase park hopper tickets right in the lobby of the hotel which was very convenient. We were not charged for parking as previous reviews mentioned. Overall, our stay was very nice and we would definitely stay here again if the opportunity arose.
 
11 out of 11 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   3/12
Reviewer: Niwel Agoura Hills, CA     June 17, 2005
I love the Sheraton -- or the big castle next to the 5 as some people call it -- and try to stay there the handful of times a year that require me to spend the night in Anaheim. I joined the Starwood club a few years ago so I could earn free nights and receive other assorted perks. Since I would only be there for one night, I booked an internet-only special for $99 plus taxes: deluxe non-smoking sweet-sleeper king (an accomodation I have stayed in before that is perfect if you stay at the Sheraton on business). When I checked into the hotel late that night, I discovered I had been automatically upgraded to a suite!!!
I usually drive my car around to the closest entrance (another plus of the Sheraton, which is one of the "Good Neighbor Hotel"), but in this case, I was too tired, and just left it near the main entrance to the hotel. I walked to the room, opened the door and got a massive cheshire cat grin. The room was fabulous! It had a living room area, with a bar area (and free bottled water that came in very handy the next day). The bathroom on the left connected via a second door from the main room to the bedroom. The bedroom had a high ceiling and floor-to-ceiling windows that gave the room a slight curve. It had tall bushes so no one could see in, but I think it had a view of the parking lot.
The Sweet Sleeper beds at Sheraton are some of the most comfortable around. If i could take a bed home with me, I would. I try not to get in bed at the Sheraton until I have to sleep, because it usually doesn't take me long to fall asleep once my head hits the pillow.
I wish I could have spend more time in the room, as it was I stayed up three hours later just so I could enjoy it.
The room was spotless and everything worked the way it should -- including the air conditioner and all the lamps.
For breakfast, I usually go to the deli/store in the lobby for a bowl of cereal and some fruit. I've gone there before for sandwiches, drinks and late-night snacks -- the prices are very reasonable. The hotel also has a nice breakfast buffet (as well as lunch and dinner options), a gift shop, an arcade, a pool and business center (they even Fed-Exed a package for me).
The only thing that isn't great is the $10 parking fee, especially since I have free parking at Mickey and Friends and usually end up moving my car when i go to the park, anyway. But I've gotten used to it. There is a shuttle that goes back and forth to the park -- when you check in they will give you a schedule. I've heard of people walking to DLR, but it is a bit of a trek.
The staff is also very sweet. When I stayed here before with my grandmother, who is diabetic, they arranged for a small fridge to be brought in and didn't charge me.
If you find a good Internet rate, the Sheraton's ambiance, helpful staff and park proximity make it a great alternative to the Disneyland Hotel and Paradise Pier Hotel

 
15 out of 15 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   February 14-17, 2003
Reviewer: tpcshauna Sacramento, California     January 07, 2005
We booked a Standard, double queen room through the Disney Travel Co. via AAA for me and my husband. We took advantage of the Stay 2 Nights, get a 3rd Night Free offer and the entire package including 3 nights in the hotel, 2-2 day Park Hopper passes and 2-$5 passes on the Anaheim Shuttle was $525 including all taxes and fees. We arrived late on our first night, were checked in rapidly at the front desk and given a complex map to our room on the opposite side of the hotel. We drove to the closest accessible lot and still had a long walk to our room from the parking area. Our room was on the first floor of one of the many side hallways and had a partial view of the Courtyard but mostly faced a brick wall. We were pleasantly surprised by the size of the room as it was extremely large and included 2 queen beds, a nightstand, desk, armoire with television and drawers, long console area with a nice surface to place things on and a smallish closest. Unfortunately, the size was the only nice thing about the room. The bathroom was incredibly small to the point of being unable to close the bathroom door without squeezing between the commode and bathtub side. As I was in a walking cast during the day and using crutches at night with the cast off, the bathroom was practically un-navigable for me. It was well-stocked with standard amenities such as shampoo, conditioner, soap, lotion and towels but the towels were the only replenishment during our stay. The room was also extremely hot as that February was fairly muggy and on the warm side (76-78 both days at the park). There were no temperature controls in the room and when we called the desk to inquire about that, we were told that the hotel's heating/cooling system was run on a boiler method and could only provide heat or air but not both at the same time. They did offer to bring us a box fan which did help somewhat and we were able to open the windows about 5" which just resulted in making the room more humid. The other issue we had were the beds which were old and hard as planks. The second and third nights, we tried taking the extra bedding off the second bed and putting it on ours to make the bed softer which didn't really work. Housekeeping did an adequate job but the hotel was definitely below par for a Sheraton.

We didn't eat at any of the restaurants in the hotel as we chose to eat our meals at DL. We also did not use the pool as we decided to stay in the parks all day both days. Upon arrival, we were informed about the dedicated shuttle which made our Anaheim Shuttle passes unnecessary but even still, we chose to park in the Resort parking structure both days so that we could arrive and leave when we wanted. Free Resort parking is included with the AAA Park Hopper Passes which was extremely convenient as the entrance to the Resort Parking Structures is literally in front of the Sheraton. You must drive around a few corners but once you find your way onto the right street, it is extremely easy to get into the structure. Parking at the hotel was $8 a day which they waived because of our room issues.

Ultimately, we were very disappointed with our stay at the Sheraton and would not go back even with their subsequent renovation. The room was a taint on our trip to DL. When I complained about the overall lack of quality in the accommodations, the manager did apologize but did not offer any solution or remuneration. We only found out that they waived parking when the charge never showed up on the card because we authorized the charge when we checked out. All in all, they might have improved the beds but they didn't make the bathrooms larger and change the heating/cooling system so I would still recommend staying somewhere else.
 
4 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   6/13/04-6/17/04
Reviewer: SuzanneSLO California's Central Coast     June 18, 2004
We stayed in a renovated room with 2 queens, night stand, desk, 2 desk chairs, arm chair with ottoman, TV with safe in TV stand, 6 drawer dresser, coffee pot, closet (lots of hangars and ironing board) and small but adequate bathroom. The Sweet Sleeper bed was very luxurious, but so warm that you need to keep your room as cool as you can stand so that you don't overheat during the night. We had a refrigerator in the room for our last 3 nights ($20 for the stay). Laundromat by the pool was fine, but lacked instructions. $5.50 washed and dried 2 loads, including one load of jeans that took a 2nd drying time. Detergent is available in the gift shop, as are DL tickets. Restaurant had a good selection of food at a reasonable price for dinner. Small deli has some pre-made sandwiches & salads, fruit, coffee drinks, bakery items & toaster and snack items. Great bus transportation to parks, but the earliest bus will only get you there about 20 minutes prior to stated Park opening. Also, the walk to the bus stop at DLR is almost as far as the walk to the closest motels on Katella. TV had Disney channel but no children's movies on pay-per-view. Our room overlooked a basic free form shaped pool and a hot tub. Neither inside nor outside noise was a problem. $10/night parking charge. I would definitely stay here again.
 
7 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   4/5/04 through 4/11/04
Reviewer: wendybeth Spokane, Wa     April 14, 2004
I have very mixed feelings about this hotel. The grounds and lobby were very nice, and the shuttle service was excellent. However, there were quite a few problems that arose during our stay that made it not so nice. We were initially placed in a older section of the hotel, facing the freeway. (I had requested a renovated room). I had also requested a fridge, but the front desk person told me they did not have any available. I spoke to Jennifer, who very kindly moved us to a garden view room, although it was still in the old section. The room was fairly large, with two queen beds, a desk, dresser and tv stand, armchair, and sort of a breakfast bar area with a couple of captain's chairs. There was a small sink in the breakfast bar that I think has leaked quite a bit over the years, as there was a very musty smell emanating from the warped and chipped cupboards. The bathroom was very small, but clean. Aside from slightly stained carpets, the rest of the room looked fairly nice, although it smelled a bit musty too. Our view was of the Rose Garden, which was quite pretty. The windows only opened about 4 inches, so it was kind of a challenge airing the room out. We had no problems with either housekeeping or room service; in fact, I was very impressed withe the quality of the food and the speed of delivery. We ate several times at the Garden Bistro, which was also very nice and reasonably priced. (Service was excellent). The lounge was also very good, although drinks were a bit pricey. (Worth it, though; they were very strong!) We had some difficulties with the front desk; they kept losing our credit card imprint, and some friends tried to contact us but were told we were not guests at the hotel. This makes me a bit upset, as I wanted very much to meet up with these people, and we were unable to due to this misinformation. The pool was warm, which was appreciated as it was very cool outside most of the time we were there. The Koi pond and stream were beautiful; it was pretty entertaining just watching these huge fish swim around. Overall, I liked this hotel, as the staff were very friendly and helpful, the grounds were lovely and the services above average. I would stay again, but only in one of the new rooms, and I would bring my cell phone with me!
 
9 out of 9 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   Feb 12-13, 2004
Reviewer: ASALAH San Diego     February 20, 2004
Overall Good Hotel. We appreciated the quiet and uncrowded hotel. Although, there was a bit of a mix-up with the room. We were told the wrong room number, then sent to a smoking rm. (we requested non-smoking), after the 3rd attempt we finally got our correct room. At checkout time I complained about it, and I was give $15 credit towards the bill. We stayed in a suite which my hubby thought was a nice size. Although we expected a fridge, and found out upon checkout there is $20 fee per day for that. We ate dinner in the restaraunt - food and service were excellent. The hotel is pretty close to Disneyland, we really liked the shuttle, every half hour because it didn't make extra stops.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   06/22/03-6/25/03
Reviewer: LibraryGirl Northern California     June 30, 2003
I booked this hotel through the special that was being offered through the Walt Disney Travel Company. It was a Stay 2 nights and get the 3rd night free promotion. I travelled with my husband and 4 year old daughter.We paid $616 for our entire package (including park hopper tickets). The hotel is right off Disneyland Drive and I was worried that we would encounter freeway noise. This hotel had a very quiet and serene atmosphere. Our standard room had 2 queen beds. The room was spacious and had a little desk with a lamp and phone and was perfect for writing postcards when the family was sleeping. The bathroom was a little small, but it was clean and well stocked with towels and amenities. I didn't like the fact that there was only 3 outdoor washing machines at the hotel and there wasn't any machine soap vending next to the machines. Hubby had to go inside to the gift shop for soap. The grounds are very picturesque and well maintained. It was nice to have entrances to your room from the hallway and from the many outdoor courtyard. The pool was big and clear and there were towels available. There was ample poolside seating. Parking was $8 a day. I wasn't too thrilled, but the shuttle to the park made up for the charge. The shuttle from the Sheraton Anahiem left every 30 minutes from the hotel and (supposedly) every 18 and 48 minutes from DL. It was nice to be in a shuttle that only went back and forth to the hotel without extra stops. A downside to the Anaheim Sheraton shuttle was that the last shuttle would leave Disneyland 18 minutes after the park closed. It doesn't really leave a lot of time to shop before you left the park at closing. We found ourselves sometimes running to make the shuttle because we were on the opposite side of the park at 11:00. It would be great if they let the last shuttle leave at 48 minutes after park closing. The walk is about 10-15 minutes, but it was more convenient to use the shuttle.
 
9 out of 9 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Dec 20, 2002 - Dec 23, 2002
Reviewer: FatherSheafe San Jose, CA     January 09, 2003
I've stayed at this hotel several times before, and continue to go back for three reasons. The first is the rate. One can usually find a room for under $80 a night, I paid $69, for 2 queen beds and three people. Keep in mind that I stayed during a holiday weekend, and even the junkie motels were charging almost $100. Secondly, the proximity to the park. The Mickey and Friends parking structure practically feeds into and from the hotel parking lot. Also, since it is just north of the park, you get a very close, very good view of the fireworks. I dare to say closer than you get on Main Street. The last reason I continue to return is because this is a very nice Sheraton hotel, with Sheraton quality. The grounds are gorgeous, including a koi pond that stretches into the lobby. There is a lounge, and a good restaurant, in addition to a deli/snack bar. The hotel is also so quiet that after a long day at the park, when I get to the hotel, I feel a million miles away from the park. None of those crazy, noisy gangs of park-goers screaming outside your door. There is a parking fee, which I don't like, but other top line hotels have the same fee, and my room rate, plus fee, is still less than I would pay at one of the "maingate" motels. Since they also offer a shuttle (their own, not shared with other hotels), unless you feel the need to walk to the park, I highly recommend this hotel.
 
22 out of 22 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   August 24, 2002
Reviewer: kranders Santa Maria, CA     August 26, 2002
Great hotel. We normaly stay on site but for this visit we couldn't get in to DLH so stayed here instead. Great staff, good rooms, very comfortable. Not within walking distance to the resort and I don't have any information on the transportation, we checked in late because of a problem at another motel and just drove over to the Mickey and Friends parking after we checked out in the morning. Be aware that parking will add another $10 to your rate.
 
10 out of 13 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page