Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Tortilla Jo's Cantina
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Tortilla Jo's Cantina offers casual table and bar service on an open-air patio, with an abbreviated menu.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.4 out of 53.4 out of 53.4 out of 53.4 out of 53.4 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 9 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 9 )
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   August 23, 2006
Reviewer: TinaMouse Farmington, MN     September 10, 2006
We were really looking forward to eating here. I was a little disappointed. We were seated promptly. The server was friendly, but she was covered in salsa. I would think if there was an accident, the management would have back-up shirts and aprons. It was a little off-putting.

No refills on chips & salsa were offered, nor did we request. Menu was good. Food arrived quickly. Husband had carnitas (fried pork shoulder); I had burrito (on suggestion from server). Husband loved carnitas; I was disappointed. I have had better Mexican other places. I thought it was a little spendy for what you got, but certainly on par with other DD locations. With 2 beers (hubby) and 1 Coke, we spent $55.
 
1 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Saturday, December 17, 2005, 8:00 PM
Reviewer: Andrew Palo Alto, CA     February 06, 2006
What we had: Tacos Dorados [crispy chicken tacos] (me), Tortilla soup (Jen), Beef nachos (Shawn & Colleen split).

We've been to the Cantina several times (though somehow I've neglected to review it until today) and never been disappointed. By contrast, we've eaten inside the main restaurant twice and had poor service, wrong food and generally unfortunate experiences both times. The Cantina is one of those hidden-in-plain-sight secret places; excellent food, huge portions, inexpensive and rarely a wait to be seated.

My crispy chicken tacos were very tasty and Jen liked her tortilla soup. The soup is not on the Cantina menu but she was able to order it--actually off the childrens' menu--from the main restaurant. I didn't ask Colleen or Shawn how they liked the beef nachos, but the plate was empty when we left so it couldn't have been too bad.

Service: Excellent. Our server was training a new employee and managed to provide a high level of service at the same time. Drinks were refilled before they were completely empty, food orders were taken as soon as we were ready and delivered quickly, all with a smile.

Would we go back: Yes.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   11/20/05
Reviewer: Lanmon San Marcos, CA     November 26, 2005
We visit Disneyland often and enjoy dining in Downtown Disney. Our first visit to Tortilla Jo's was a few months ago and was a bit disappointing. But we decided to give it another try on a Sunday evening around 5:00. The hostess said that we would need to wait outside in a line for 30 minutes. The wait did not seem very long because we enjoyed watching the people and listening to music. Because we asked for a booth the wait was a little longer. The restaurant itself was not full which helped the servers and busboys maneuver around the tables. Once inside the service was very fast. It was fun to listen to the mariachis and watch a balloon man create hats for the children and even adults. Our waitress must had a busy day because her uniform was quite soiled and dirty so her overall appearance was messy. In fact, most of the workers looked very tired. My husband ordered the taco salad and I ordered nachos with beef. The taco salad was fair--the tortilla shell tasted very greasy and old. The nachos would be better if served hot. The nacho plate was cold, some tortillas were burned and the cheese was lumpy and did not taste very good. The restaurant uses the same kind of chips for their table chips and nachos chips. So, the nachos had very small, broken chips--like the bottom of a chip bag. I expected larger chips on the nacho platter. The beef tasted good but, again, would have been better if served hot. I don't recommend this restaurant for tourists craving "authentic" Mexican food and I doubt we will eat there again.
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   April 13, 2005
Reviewer: karene Sacramento     April 18, 2005
We went twice to the cantina and enjoyed both times. On each visit, we were seated within 15 minutes even though one time we went on a Friday night. The first visit we had the tacos - fish and steak. Both were very good and the chips were fresh. My 8-year old had the kid's burrito and she said it was better than Taco Bell.

On the second visit we had more people with us and still got in very quickly. I had one chicken taco and one meat/potato taco. They were good but I liked the steak tacos better. My husband had the tortilla "sandwich" - it was made out of the same stuff they make tamales with. He said it was very good but had to eat it with a fork because it was too difficult to pick up. Another guest said the fish tacos were good but needed a bit of a "kick" to them. My daughter this time had the quesidillas and it wasn't as good as the burrito. The cheese is a "Mexican" cheese and she didn't like the tast of it like she does with the regular jack cheese.

For the value this is a must visit, especially after spending so much money at a mediocre place in one of the parks. The beer selection is good and the wine pour very generous.

The only drawback is the service is slow. It wasn't the helps fault - they were very busy. Also, they were changing the keg on the Dos Equis and when two people finally got their beers, it was flat and had to be replaced. But the waitress forgot and we had to ask again. A similar thing happened on the first visit - the salt was out and we had to ask twice for a replacement.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   April 13, 2005
Reviewer: downeyjrs Seattle, WA     April 16, 2005
Upon arrival, the line for the "indoor" dining was 90 min long. However, there were openings on the patio, so our group of 9 (4 adults, 3 teens, and 2 children) settled for this and were seated immediately. Our server was very polite and attentive. She was also very quick in taking our orders and getting our drinks. Once ordering, it only took 10 min or so to get our meals. Everyone enjoyed their meals, and received large portions that could not be finished. I recommend the grilled steak tacos or burrito. Including drinks, our bill was $150. Will definately eat here again.
 
2 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   5-14-04
Reviewer: Darling     May 15, 2004
A friend and I wanted to try this place out, so we went for dinner about 4:00. They were only seating in the outdoor cantina, but we got our table right away. The table was really kind of gross with a salsa stain and dirt, and looked like it hadn't been cleaned in a while. It took a full 10 minutes to be greeted by our server, and another 5 before she offered us beverages. As far as we could tell, we were her only table. My friend ordered the smothered nachos, and they were large and adequate tasting. I ordered the marinated chicken burrito, and it was not quite the same as its description on the menu. It came smothered in some sort of a super spicy green sauce that was not mentioned anywhere. I could have bought better mexican food for $2.75 at the taco shop near my house. When we got the check, we realized that our menus had the wrong prices on them (they listed my food at $3.00 less than we had been charged.) Hopefully the management is still trying to work out the kinks and the service will improve. Still, I can't reccomend this place.
 
4 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   4-30-04
Reviewer: Werner San Jose, CA     May 04, 2004
I was visiting Disneyland with my folks who hadn't been for like 12 years, so the whole DCA and Downtown experience was completely new for them -- and still pretty fresh for me, too. Anyway, we are all on the South Beach Diet and were trying to find something suitable. I knew that the Downtown restaurants offered more sophisticated dining, and suggested we make reservations early in the afternoon for a dinner later on. We got a 6:30 seating at the Wine Country place in DCA(sorry don't remember the name) on the terrace, but decided to take a gander at the Downtown offerings as well. My folks had noticed the new Mexican place (Tortilla Jo's) earlier and thought it might be good. So we strolled up -- and mind you this was at about 6:30pm on a Friday night -- and boom! We were seated in like five minutes. We were impressed with the atmosphere -- down to the candleabras on the large table next to us -- and were pleased to sit down someplace relatively quiet and peaceful (aside from the roaming Mariachis -- who were pleasant enough). We wanted something light and relatively "healthy" and we found the perfect dish in the soft tacos. They are just the right size and were quite tasty, too. They arrived in neat little square tray things which we agreed were a fun presentation. I don't remember what we got to drink (!) but it was fine. The prices for the soft tacos were reasonable we felt and we were impressed by their "fresh" taste and what seemed to be more like a home-made Mexican dish -- as opposed to the almost fast-food-ish cranked-out "Acupulco-Type" stuff. We noticed there was a young lady making guacamole across the way and that added to the "real" and "fresh" feeling. As for the service, beginning at the first impression with the hostess, we were quite pleased. Very friendly overall and quite attentive. I remember I got up after ordering to go wash my hands and was looking around for the bathroom and within a few seconds someone who seemed to be a manager swept over and offered direction. All in all, we were very happy with our choice to stop at Tortilla Jo's and will be returning there next time!
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   April 22, 2004
Reviewer: nursemelis374 Glendora, CA     April 25, 2004
My friend and I checked out Tortilla Joe's and we really liked it. We are big Mexican food fans and she is even Mexican and we thought this was pretty good. We had dinner on the patio on a lovely Thursday night. We looked inside and didn't seem to be anything special. There was a much longer wait to eat in there anyways. They have a limited menu out there, but it was still great. We started with the Drowned Nachos and they were soooo good! I highly recommend them. The chips are really good and fresh. Then we each had Carne Asada tacos. We easily could have split the tacos. The meat was flavorful and the tortillas were fresh. Our service was average, but that is what I expect for eating anywhere Disney. I will eat there again for sure.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   4/20/04
Reviewer: lazythrillseeker (lazythrillseeker@yahoo.com) Murrieta, CA.     April 22, 2004
I was at the TOT cast preview day on Tuesday and usually I eat at Catal. I remembered that Tortilla Jo's was open. Joachim Splichal is my favorite chef and I'll try any of his resturaunts. The main dining room was closed for a private party and we were directed to the cantina. As we were turning around, I caught a glimpse of Joachim. I asked if he would sign one of his cook books. He did and he was really nice. So, on to the food: I started with the $5.50 margarita on the rocks. It was really good. Very tart, sour and only slightly sweet with a whole lotta tequilla in it!!! I'll be back for another! The chips and salsa came first. The salsa is excellent. I had the Sea Bass Ceviche for my appetizer. I enjoyed the combination of the mango, olives, avocado and the sea bass, but I think it would have been better if was a lot spicier. I had to add Tabasco. For my entree, I had the Carnitas Burrito . I have to admit , I hate gringo mexican food. My opinion may be biased. It was your typical burrito stuffed with rice, carnitas, and beans. Boring. My husband couldn't make it to DCA that day, so I ordered him a Chicken Breast Gordita and a flan to take home. He loved the Gordita.(Gringo:)) It was made with fresh masa, chicken, goat cheese, tomato and cilantro. His comment on the flan was "it was ok".Would I eat there again? Yes, especially for the damn good margaritas!!
 
4 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page