Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Tortilla Jo's Dining Room
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Tortilla Jo's main restaurant offers table service in a two-story dining room.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 2.9 out of 52.9 out of 52.9 out of 52.9 out of 52.9 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 10 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 10 )
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   8-23-2010
Reviewer: mwoody California     August 24, 2010
My girlfriend and I had come here after having one of the worst dining experiences ever at Naples Ristorante e Pizzeria.
service was nice drinks were good and the guacamole we ordered was very nice.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   8/22/09
Reviewer: Sansarc Pacific Palisades, CA     August 26, 2009
My son and I had lunch at Tortilla Joe's in the main dining room. This was during a very hot day in August . . . and also, after a crowded morning in Disneyland. So the air conditioning and quiet atmosphere of the restaurant was quite welcoming! Our server was extremely attentive, bringing us water almost immediately as well as filling our drink order within minutes. For appetizers, we shared the beef flautas. These were actually very good -- not too salty or spicy. The guacamole was fine . . . it seemed a bit "watery" to me somehow, but I'm not sure why. I've had better, thicker guacamole in other places! But it was fine. I think the flautas would have made a great lunch item on their own -- they were filling and good-sized (ie., not finger food.)

For lunch, I had the Mahi Mahi fish tacos and my son ordered the chicken enchiladas. I know this is a Patina Group restaurant, and normally we love their restaurants in the Los Angeles area -- all of them! But the Tortilla Joe's food was disappointing. The fish tacos were uninspired and very salty. There wasn't a lot of fish in them either! My son said the enchiladas were "just okay." The accompanying rice was nearly tasteless. I know he sampled the beans, but he didn't eat much of them.

We were offered dessert, but because we were so full, and it was so hot outside -- we didn't order anything.

Overall, it was nice to sit back, relax and cool off in the restaurant. We were not rushed in any way. The restaurant was not crowded --- another plus. But the food was average. It was not exceptional or special in any way. The total with tip came to $52. We each had ordered drinks, too -- a soft drink for him, an iced tea for me. I'd left a 20% tip, simply because the service was truly good and I thought our waitress deserved the extra amount. The appetizer plates were cleared quickly, the main courses brought within a few minutes of the our finishing the appetizers, the drinks refilled. I was impressed with the service.

We've been to Tortilla Joe's three times now -- mainly because we all love Mexican food so much. But honestly, I don't think I will go back again. It was mediocre, "good" food -- but certainly not worth the amount of money that we paid for it. I was disappointed.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   First week of March 2007
Reviewer: Inkyprintz Schaumburg, IL     June 23, 2007
To set the scene: We had just checked into the Disneyland Hotel after a 4 hour+ flight. Our room wasn't ready so we headed over to DL hoping to walk around a little and get some lunch. The park was WAY more crowded than expected and we couldn't get near a restaurant. We went over to Downtown Disney instead. By the time we were seated at Tortilla Jo's, we were STARVING and would've happily eaten cardboard if it was served with a smile! Our table was lliterally in the farthest, darkest corner of the restaurant. Every empty table that we passed was heaped with dirty dishes and there wasn't a busboy to be seen so we did not ask to wait for another table. It was difficult to see the menu due to the lack of lighting in our corner. While waiting for our food we noticed that the wall next to our table had a huge hole...patched over with duct tape! I guess that's why there were no lights! Our server was ok- but I felt rushed as if he was trying to get out of there and we were the last table. The food was good- I can't complain about the portion size or taste. We did have a huge laugh over one thing. I asked for a side of sour cream. I expected a little dish with a spoonful of sour cream- maybe a couple tablespoons. What I got was about a full 16 ounces of sour cream- it looked like a huge scoop of ice cream! All in all- I'd give this restaurant a second chance based on the taste of the food (and the generous condiment policy!). I think if we were seated in a different area our impression would've been much more favorable.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   October 26, 2006
Reviewer: kohl California     November 02, 2006
We usually eat here at least one time per trip. I usually get their salad with the shell, but ask for the salad without the shell (So I am not tempted to eat it!) In the past, they FILL the plate with lettuce and all the good stuff. It is usally so big it is hard to finish. On this trip, I got about a cup of lettuce with the beans, tomatoes, etc, on top. It barley covered half of the plate! It looked more like a side salad than a meal.
The manager did take off half of the price of the salad because we said something.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   9-19-2006
Reviewer: Rookie California     September 25, 2006
Our 2nd day in Disneyland we decided to have dinner in Downtown Disney. It was about 8:30PM when we arrived. We were seated right away. Chips and salsa and our drinks were brought right away.

I had the Chicken and Potato tacos, and my guest had the Mexican Chicken Sandwich.

The only bad thing I have to say is that when I ordered the tacos I was expecting a filling that was a mixture of chicken and potatoes. What I received was one chicken taco and much to my surprise one potato taco. If it wasn't supposed to be this way they need to hire a better cook.

Other than that the price was comparable to other eateries and the food did taste good if a bit bland. Service was great.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   7/20/04
Reviewer: Pookie Kent, Washington     July 30, 2004
The food here was great. We had great service and we were only delayed ordering when the group of musicians came to our table to play for us. We arrived around 5pm but by the time we left the restaurant was filling up. My Mom had the Taco Salad which she said was bland but the rest of us had tacos, enchiladas, etc which were pretty good. Not a place I would "have" to go back to but still good food. My husband wants the receipe for the Salsa they serve with the tortillas. Our bill was around $80 for 4 Adults and 2 children.
 
2 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   June 10, 2004
Reviewer: luvmyboys Marysville, OH     June 14, 2004
Judging from the other reviews, I'd say this place is has "worked out the kinks". We had a great experience here. We waited for only about 5 minutes to be seated for dinner and our server came immediately. I had a great Margarita -small...but strong, so I guess that made up for it :) They were very accomodating of us. They brought extra crayons for my kids when they began to bicker about who got what color (we were all pretty tired!) and when I asked if my son and I could share a meal, they gladly brought an extra plate. The salsa was so different from the typical "bottled" kind, and I enjoyed watching them make the quacamole for the table next to ours. As an added treat a trio of musicians went table to table singing/playing - even taking requests. Though I didn't realize it until they were gone, my husband tells me that the song they sang to us was about children needing to be good because they were driving their mother to drink! What a hoot!!!

I would urge everyone to give this place a chance. We had a great experience and would definitely return.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   May 23, 2004
Reviewer: kdrickard California     May 23, 2004
Decided to try out Tortilla Jo's for an early lunch. We were seated quickly and our order was taken when we were ready. I ordered Iced Tea and was informed that there was no Iced Tea as they had run out (this was an early lunch at 11:45 a.m.). I changed to sprite/slice and was informed that they were changing out this drink at the fountain and it would be a while before they would be able to get one -- I had a sprite/slice a few minutes later.

Chips and salsa were good, salsa flavorful but not spicy. I ordered the Chicken Mole and my Wife ordered the Spinach Salad. The Spinach Salad was advertised in the menu as to come with chorizo on it, but did not. Otherwise was very good. The Chicken Mole was a roasted 1/2 chicken with Mole sauce on it. The sauce had a bit too much chocolate in it for me, but I make my own Mole sauce so I can be a bit picky.

Overall, the food and service were OK, but I'm not sure when I'd go back given other DTD options. Might give it a try again when they shake things out a bit and adjust the menu.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   May 15, 2004
Reviewer: AVP Southern California     May 18, 2004
· Date of visit: May 15, 2004
· Type of meal: Dinner
· Service: Inattentive, and not customer-oriented
· Price: Far too expensive for the portions
· Food: Fair - not a shining example of faux-Mexican cooking, but not Taco Bell either.
· Atmosphere: The decor and tableware are wonderful

Although we have seen and heard about very long lines to get into this restaurant, we approached the podium and were seated immediately. (When we left the line was about 10 parties long) We were sent to the upper level dining room, which for us meant using the elevator.

When we got to the 2nd floor, having shared the elevator ride with a cart full of dirty dishes and an empty box of tequilla, we were asked if we wanted to sit inside or outside. We opted for outside, since the weather was cooling off and the restaurant was somewhat warm. The hostess asked "Do you mind if you sit in the sun?" Um, is there another choice? "Well, we can seat you on the other patio." Is it shaded? "Yes" OK, then let's sit in the shade. "Are you sure?" Yeah, we're pretty sure we'd rather sit in the shade than in the sun. (I was also pretty sure I was speaking Greek by this time!)

We were seated on the half-empty shaded patio, and given menus. Apparently the menu has changed since opening day, and I'll ellaborate on that later. We perused the menu, and waited for someone to take our drink orders or bring us some water. We got the chips and salsa first. I really like their salsa, and I prefer the thicker corn chips they serve. My husband only likes the thick chips when they are hot, which these were not.

We finally placed our drink and appetizer order - we decided to get the guacamole, which Tony was really craving. The drinks came, and then we got our water. Perhaps there's some perfectly sane reason this restaurant serves room temperature water with no ice, but I just don't know what it could be.

When we placed our entree order, Tony had a pretty simple request. The combination plate he ordered comes with a chicken taco. He wanted a carne asada taco instead. They sell these tacos on the a la carte menu, and they are all the same price. There didn't seem to be any reason why he could not just substitute one for the other. The menu didn't say "no substitutions."

So we were pretty surprised when the waitress said "no." She said that the restaurant had just introduced a new menu that very day, and one of the changes was to remove the "choices" from the combination plates. (Apparently they used to come with your choice of tacos, now you get chicken.) We asked her very nicely if she would ask the kitchen, and she returned about five minutes later with the same answer - "no." She said that the kitchen was "just lazy," and never wanted to make changes.

At this point we were going to be late getting to the next session of the convention we were attending, so we let it drop. We placed our orders, and waited. The waitress said she would send a manager over to talk to us "as soon as she could find one." Apparently she never found one, because nobody came over at any point during dinner.

Our guac finally came, but it was not what we expected. Friends had related a story about how long it took for the guacamole to be prepared at their table, so we were expecting table-side preparation also. Nope - the guac was just served already made. No big loss.

The guac was followed about five minutes later by our entrees. The table we were at (a 2-top) was so small that it was a juggle to fit the guacamole, the chips, the salsa, four glasses and two plates on it, so we ended up stacking things. The food runner did not help this process - he set the tray on the stand, and stood there until we made room.

I ordered a carne asada burrito, which I *thought* came with rice and beans. Apparently I misread the menu, and that was the most expensive ($12.50) a la carte burrito I have ever had in my life. It was very tasty, but not worth the price in any way. The carne asada was flavorful, but very, very fatty. Tony's meal was, in his words, "just ok," and again $5 more expensive than you'd find off property.

Our water was never refilled during our meal. Even when we asked for more water. We had to ask for more chips, since Tony ran out of chips long before he ran out of guacamole. Our waitress brought us one refill of our soft drinks, but did not refil them again, even after we asked.

All in all, I don't know that I need to go back there. Tony said he's had as much of that place as he ever needs. I have to say, I can not remember a time in my LIFE when a restaurant flat-out refused to make a change to a menu item. Sometimes there's an upcharge, or sometimes a special menu offering says "no substitutions," but I've never encountered a situation as stupid as this was. The waitress could offer no reason why they wouldn't make the change, only that the cooks were too lazy.

C'mon - if it's so hard to put steak into a taco shell instead of chicken, you're in the wrong line of work.
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   04/19/04
Reviewer: lilblckrncloud Orange, CA     April 19, 2004
This new restaurant still has a long way to go. Even taking into account the fact that it just opened, the service was deplorable, the food was not worth the price and the atmosphere was rather sterile.

Don't bother trying the sit-down portion of this restaurant unless you have the patience of a saint, money to burn and lots of time to waste. We went for dinner, and although the crowd was fairly light, the wait staff seemed harried and annoyed the entire time.

I would recommend the Picadillo burrito, but not the dinner salad. The salad is drowning in a very strong, bitter dressing, and we were not given an option for any other type of dressing. Others at the table tried the taco/enchilada combo (fair), the sope/enchilada combo (fair), the Tostada Salad (very good), and the Crispy Shrimp burrito (bad, only had three shrimps inside and they were not crispy). The chips and guacamole were very tasty, but at $6 this appetizer was definitely overpriced.

The food was mixed up or just plain wrong in almost all instances (only 2 out of 4 meals arrived in a timely manner and were correct). When we complained, the manager was rude.

The staff is very inexperienced at this point, not just in the ways of this particular restaurant, but in working at a restaurant in general. I didn't enjoy my experience at all. I hope it gets better with time and will give it another chance in the future.
 
8 out of 9 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page