Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Tortilla Jo's Taqueria
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Tortilla Jo's Taqueria offers grab-and-go meals at a walk-up counter.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.6 out of 53.6 out of 53.6 out of 53.6 out of 53.6 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 9 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 9 )
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   03/21/06
Reviewer: Deepred Bakersfield, Ca.     March 22, 2006
Being vegetarian I was excited to eat here since they obviously had vegetarian fair including vegetarian rice and beans. I ordered vegetarian fajitas specified that I would like it with vegetarian rice and beans. My husband ordered vegetarian tacos and a cheese enchilada also specified with vegetarian rice and beans. One of our friends ordered fried shrimp tacos with a mojito and our other friend ordered nachos with a pina colada. Our chips and salsa were good and so were our drinks. It took over twenty minutes for our food to come. We were there on a Tuesday at 2:00pm it was not busy at all. When our food arrived my fajitas came without tortillas. My husbands came with the wrong rice and beans and the waiter asked if he could just eat around it and they would bring an extra side of vegetarian rice and beans. Ok thats not bad. The nachos came with out the pico de gallo so we had to ask for a side. In the mean time the Shrimp tacos were cold when they first came out and half of them were either dirty or raw. The guacamole tasted like it had cleaner in it. Well over 10 minutes had passed and they came with our tortillas, vegetarian rice and bean and pico de gallo. My fajitas were pretty good. Cold but good. My husbands food had no flavor and had the lard filled beans all over the bottom of the tacos so he didn't even get to eat them. Well of course we complained they took 15% off of our friends receipt but nothing off of our. We were very disappointed. Luckily we ate quite a bit of chips and salsa or we would have been hungry after paying over $80 for all four.
 
10 out of 12 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   Monday October 17, 2005
Reviewer: tlovesdis (tlovesdis@yahoo.com) Antioch, CA     October 25, 2005
We very much enjoyed our dinner here! There were 7 of us in the party and we all liked our food! A few of us had drinks and they were good too! The service is what keeps me from giving this place 5 planets! Our waitress was not the friendliest, but she did a decent job. We would definately eat here again!
 
5 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   July 25 & 27
Reviewer: CA Screamin Northern CA     July 31, 2005
Tortilla Jo's Taqueria was a great find. For a family with kid's, the quick walk up counter saved alot of time compared to waiting in line to sit down in the main restaurant. All the food is made to order. The extra wait time was worth it. It's not like other counter service where the food is sitting under a hot light. The service was pleasant and the quality of food was very good. The price is very reasonable. There are a few tables in front of the Taqueria. But just a few steps away are seating areas along the middle strip of the Downtown Disney walk way. I highly recommend the "Grilled Chicken Nachos". Serving size is generous. Lots of sour cream, melted cheese, and fresh guacamole. My son's also enjoyed the Grilled Chicken Burrito and the Shredded Beef with Potato Burrito. Remember to ask for extra salsa on the side. The Tortilla Jo's Taqueria get my "No Leftover Rating".
 
8 out of 8 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   06/27/05
Reviewer: jmontalvo     July 01, 2005
We ate here with our 3 kids less than a week ago.We had to wait over close to anhour to get seated. It took a while to have someone take our order and he never came back after that. Our food took so long that the manager gave us free drinks for the trouble. The food was a huge disappointed. We had some burritos and enchiladas, nothing fancy and it was terrible. We live in the SF bay area and we know what authentic mexican food is. This isn't it. Maybe the other reviewers got a better chef that day. This food was so bland and tasteless the kids didnt even touch it. The chef told us it was because she took a break from the kitchen. She better stay in there. My husband even found a foreign object in his beans which we were told was a bean (not so sure of that). A second manager came and discounted the food from our bill. We never saw the same person twice, they kept passing us to someone else.
I will never eat there again. The service and the food were terrible.
 
0 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   2/22/05 - 2/26/05
Reviewer: Sussya Phoenix, AZ     February 27, 2005
We hit Tortilla Jo's after a long day at Disneyland. We ate dinner around 8:20 pm, but the line was still pretty long. The service wasn't very good, and it took forever (25 minutes) to order and receive our food. They only had one person cashiering and one person preparing, so it definitely wasn't the most efficient place we dined. But we ordered at the take-out window, and the prices couldn't be beat. We ordered 2 carne asada taco cones, 1 bean and cheese burrito, chips & salsa, a side of rice, and 2 cokes. It fed a family of 5 easily (3 small kids), and it only cost us $28. The food was really good, and we'd definitely eat there again on future visits.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   October 2004
Reviewer: stan4d_steph NY     January 05, 2005
I had heard about this new addition to the DTD eateries for months and was looking forward to trying it out. I didn't have time for a sitdown meal, so decided to try the takeout window so I could sample the cuisine without the wait. There was no line at the window and service was quick. I could see the cook preparing my meal in the back.

I ordered the carnitas tacos ($3.50) and a soda. There are 2 tacos per order and they are served "Baja style" with chopped onions and cilantro. I chose the salsa verde to top them. The tacos were excellent! The flavors of the pork, onion and cilantro melded well with the spicy (but not insanely hot) salsa. A quick bite that really hit the spot! I would definitely recommend the Taqueria as a good lower-priced alternative to the other DTD eateries. If you're at the DLR and crave some Mexican food, give it a try.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   June 28, 2004
Reviewer: luvwtpooh San Jose, CA     August 28, 2004
My 12-year-old nephew and I really enjoyed Tortilla Jo's. He had the carne asada taco ala carte and I had the chicken Mexi-cone. Yummy! He's a BIG chips and salsa fan so we also ordered that. This was just a snack for us in the middle of the day and I have to say for the price (around $12.00 for both of us, including a drink) I would go back. The service was prompt and when I asked for more salsa because ours was knocked off the counter when it was picked up there was no problem. Nice job.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   7/19/04
Reviewer: Pookie Kent, Washington     July 28, 2004
We stopped here to around 10pm to get a quick dinner. My Mom had the nachos and I had the filled corn tortilla. They take this corn tortilla that is shaped like an ice cream cone and fill it with beans, rice, meat, and sour cream. Both items were very tasty. The rest of the party back at the hotel wishes they had gotten one too. The service was slow but worth it in the end. I think both items were around $12.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   May 12, 2004
Reviewer: AVP Southern California     May 18, 2004
· Date of visit: May 12, 2004
· Type of meal: Dinner
· Service: A tad disorganized
· Price: Fair for the location
· Food: Excellent
· Atmosphere: Sidewalk cafe

Tortilla Jo's new taqueria adds another much-needed grab-and-go dining option to Downtown Disney. I stopped by for a solo dinner because I had been wanting to try the "Mexicone" on the menu.

This is a fried corn tortilla, shaped like a waffle cone and filled with burrito fixings. I opted for the carne asada cone, which comes with rice, refried beans, onions, cilantro, sour cream and steak.

The food is made to order, and they call you when your order is ready. I waited at one of the nearby tables. Each table has a stoneware jar filled with plastic utensils.

When my name was called, I picked up my order and brought it back to the table. The server asked if I wanted hot sauce, and handed me a very generous container of it.

The Mexicone had been tipped on it's side, so all of the sour cream and half of the steak wound up in the serving tray. I reassembled the cone and took the opportunity to mix the ingredients a bit - they are layered into the cone. It's easier to eat the cone with a fork, which is what I did, mixing the sauce in with each bite.

My meal was excellent, and I plan to return to try other dishes. The cone is large and filling. With a drink, the total was just over $9, My one complaint is that the service was a bit slow, and many orders appeared to be scrambled, with food being served to the wrong people.

Having now eaten at the taqueria and the dining room, I'd say skip the table-service and head straight for the window. The prices are lower, and the service is better.
 
12 out of 13 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page