Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Tropicana Inn and Suites
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
1540 S. Harbor Blvd, Anaheim
Book this hotel now!
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 18 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 10 )
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   May 11th-May 16th 2008
Reviewer: JadaB Pleasant Hill, CA     May 21, 2008
We enjoyed staying at the Tropicana, and will likely stay again. We had a standard double-queen room on the first floor. The room was very clean, with a table on the side of the beds to eat on. It had a small tv in a dresser-armoire type thing w/drawers, a mini fridge, and a microwave.

The shower was standard, but always had hot water. We didn't use housekeeping, but they called and let us know to call them if we needed anything.

Check in/out was smooth. We checked in at 2pm (check in is 4pm) and were fortunate enough to have our room ready. We stayed 2 extra nights than planned, and had to change rooms, but they offered to move our luggage for us to our 3rd floor room. (This room was identical to the last)

One thing that was kinda weird that the air-conditioner sometimes left the room feeling a little damp when we would come back from the park. Also the continental breakfast is not very continental; they charge you for most of the breakfast necessities.

Oh the pool and spa were nice as well! Both stayed open till 10pm and I thought the spa was fairly larger than most hotels.

It is very close to the big crosswalk over to Disneyland & DCA.

We got a web-special rate of $101 for 3/night and the last 2 it jumped to $129. If you can get the web rate, definitely try this place out.
 
6 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   6/2/06 - 6/9/06
Reviewer: goofypixiedust West Jordan, UT     April 24, 2007
We wanted to stay at a hotel across from the maingate at Disneyland but we didn't want to pay an arm and a leg. So we picked the Tropicana. We paid $89 per night. The rooms were a little small, but not too bad. They were very clean. The beds were about average. The sink was outside of the shower area. The bathrooms were very clean. It was a short distance to the crosswalk for the maingate which was very nice when you're lugging 2 kids back. The staff was friendly. The breakfast was not so great. The little muffins were ok, but they were always out of bagels. The pool was cold but clean, but the hot tub was very nice and big. Not too hot. Parking was good, but we never moved are car until the last day when we went to the beach. I do prefer the Tropicana to HoJo! I would stay here again, but we are going to try out the BW ParkPlace INN when we go in september 07. The BW is right on the crosswalk, and I would like just a bit bigger room. I hope I don't regret it! All in all, I think the Tropicana is a good bargain for what you pay and it's Clean, Clean, Clean!!!
 
2 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   Nov.26-Dec.3 2006
Reviewer: landj Vancouver,BC     January 06, 2007
I chose the Tropicana as it was close to the pedestrian crosswalk to Disneyland. I found the rooms average size but clean. The beds did not have plastic covers like I had read & quite comfortable. The shower was good , I am 5ft 10 and did not have too much trouble just bent a little. Staff was nice. The store on site was nice and staff there also friendly( prices not too bad - better than park). The breakfast is free so what can you expect. It filled us for a good start to the day. You can purchase bagels/cream cheese, cereal, milk, bottled water for $1 each. You can get room service from Millie's restaurant on Harbor( menu in the room). We have just booked another trip & we are staying at the Tropicana again in a few months. Didn't use the pool/hot-tub but maybe next trip as it will be warmer.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   December 8th - 11th
Reviewer: angelicmano (manoangelic@msn.com) Albuquerque, NM     January 05, 2007
My wife and I have stayed here before, which was very good.
This time was a bit different.
The beds were hard as a rock.
The room was clean. Shower was small and the water pressure was not that great nor would it get hot enough.
Th free continental breakfast was ok. It was filling.
Parking was good.
The entrance to the parks was a very short walking distance which was greatly appreciated when the night was done and all we wanted was to lay down.
All in all I would stay here again.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   09/07/06-09/10/06
Reviewer: jazzysmom Cottage Grove, Oregon     September 12, 2006
Travel Agent opinion. I really liked the Tropicana. I have stayed at the worst (Castle Inn & Suites) all the way up to the best (The Grand Californian). We had the 2 room suite with the view of the park. It had a hide-a-bed in the main room with a fridge & microwave. In the bedroom there was a king size bed. 2 balconies which you can watch the fireworks from. Best of all it even had 2 bathrooms. (We were in room 266). I found the staff friendly, check-in and check out were both very quick. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated. I also think the walk from this hotel was equal or closer than the walk from the Disneyland Hotel. When our daughter was sick, they were very helpful with bringing cleaning supplies and even offering to help take apart our stroller! I thought the breakfast choices were lousy, so we did not eat there, but we hadn't really planned on it anyway. That is about the only negative I can come up with. For a budget/moderate type property, I was impressed! I would reccomend this property to families on a budget, that want a property within walking distance.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   Dec. 2005
Reviewer: debrobal Sacramento, CA     May 09, 2006
I was a bit hesitant to stay here because of the mixed reviews I have seen but I was very pleasantly surprised. The room was clean and cheerfully decorated. It was large enough to fit a pack and play with no problem. There was a refrigerator and coffee maker. The bathroom had a tub and vanity area with sink outside of the bathroom. The breakfast was better than expected with coffee, tea, lemonade, several kinds of muffins, danishes, and croissants with jam and butter. While there was a server there was no problem going back for seconds. The hotel staff was friendly and accomodating and cleaned our room as requested around the kid's nap time. We watched the fireworks each night from the balcony outside of our room. The location can't be beat right across from the main gate. We have stayed at several of the hotels on Harbor and this one compares favorably to any (except the Candy Cane Inn which is in a class by itself!). Since we have young children our priorities in choosing a hotel include being close to the maingate, being able to view the fireworks from the hotel and breakfast and this hotel fit our needs nicely. I will definitely stay here again.
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   March 30 - March 31
Reviewer: ComfyCody Salem, OR     April 02, 2006
We decided to extend our trip for a day, and had a hard time finding a room with a vacancy. I checked around the internet, and went with a room at the Tropicana - it looked like many people had been happy with the property. We were not.
Positives: Location, very close to the main gate.
Cost, $119 + tax for a standard room, very reasonable
Parking, FREE!
Pool and Spa - clean, and operational!
Negatives: Dirty - we found 6 items in our room that were left from the previous guest, including MEN'S UNDERWEAR!
Beds were covered with horrible covers, so noisy! Our kids were so tired when we arrived we didn't have time to take the covers off before they sacked out.
Rude staff, when we attempted to discuss the cleanliness with the staff, they told us "this must be embarrasing for you". Are they crazy? It took my husband 30 minutes to discuss this with an employee, and they made no attempt to resolve matters. We wouldn't stay here again.l
 
4 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   12/16/05 - 12/19/05
Reviewer: MammaSilva bay area, ca     January 01, 2006
I had stayed at this property several years ago before the rehab and was a bit hesitant to stay this trip but due to schedule changes we were 'stuck'. It was the only property with a family suite left available for our dates. I have to say I was more than pleasantly surprised at the improvements in every aspect of our stay. We had the family suite on the ground floor which consisted of a room with a King bed, the kitchen in the middle and a room with 2 doubles. Both bedrooms had outside access with a stairwell and the kitchen creating a space for privacy between the two rooms! Most of the properties are very stingy with parking passes, but we had 3 vehicles for the two rooms and had no problems at all. The parking did fill up and I ended up parking in a reserved spot for one night when we had gone on a late night In and Out run but it was still free and in the hotel parking lot so I was fine with that.

The location couldnt be much better; its the first driveway to the left of the crosswalk. Only two hotels are closer and not by much. Price was very competitive for the time we were there. The free continental breakfast is standard sweet rolls and coffee and some form of punch/juice. You can send one person up with your ticket to bring goodies back to the rooms. Each room had a mini fridge, microwave, iron/ironing board and blow dryer and a 4 cup coffee maker with complimentary coffee kits. The kitchen was fully equipped to include a toaster. Pots/pans were inexpensive first apartment type and the dishes were plastic but you could easily do breakfast or lunches even a simple dinner with out any problem. There was even dish soap and sponges for clean up. There was a table with 4 chairs in the kitchen and another larger mini fridge. The stove was a 3 burner and had a small oven. The sink had a disposal as well. A very well appointed kitchen for a vacationing family IMHO.

The staff were excellent, I was very impressed since I had pre ordered a rental ECV and the company delivered it but the staff were very disturbed at the looks/condition and questioned the delivery person and then when I arrived they were concerned for my mobility during my stay. Ill review that company in a separate review but I must say I wont be using them again for multiple reasons. Other extras, the mini mart has wi fi, our room was too far away to connect so we used dial up. There is the mini mart, a small food court which was the family joke; it has a microwave and a soda machine from what we could see and of course the obligatory coffees. It has a small gift shop and a guest laundry that made NO sense, 3 washers ($1.00 per load) and only 2 dryers ($1.00 for a timed cycle) sorry I didnt actually TIME how much time we got for the $1.00 I do know that it took $3.00 to get one load dry and $2.00 to get the other load dry and we divided the heavy items equally so obviously one dryer is on the way out. The laundry room was open from 7am til midnight making it possible to do a load while the little ones napped or if you come back from the park right after the fireworks. We only had the TV on for a brief time so I cant say too much about that aspect of the hotel and it was way too cold to swim so I cant comment on the pool or spa. I did see some hardy souls out in the water but I dont look that good in blue to want my skin that color.

I do recommend this hotel and have already made plans for future stays. I hope this review helps another family have a wonderful time at the Happiest Place On Earth.
 
6 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   November 23-27, 2005
Reviewer: asharpcook Fresno, CA     November 29, 2005
This hotel was very convenient to Disneyland Resort. It is a short walk to the park which is wonderful! Our room had 2 queen size beds, a full bathroom, seperate sink area, small microwave and mini-fridge. The room was on the south side of the hotel on the 3rd floor. You could hear the music from Fantasmic and see the fireworks from the porch outside our room. The room was immaculate and well-kept. Staff was friendly and the beds comfortable once we removed the plastic mattress covers. There is a convenience store on the property and a small coffee shop type place with pizza and snacks. Nearby are McDonalds, IHOP, Dennys, 7-11, and Captain Kidds. There are restaurants that will deliver, although we did not make use of this amenity. Staff was friendly and helpful. We would stay there again.
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   09/02/05-09/05/05
Reviewer: 150cc Phoenix, Arizona     September 08, 2005
Looking for accommodations on Harbor for the Labor Day Weekend, we decided on the Tropicana Inn and Suites. We stayed for three days at a cost of $99 a night, for a standard room.

When we arrived on Friday night, our room was on the first floor. Though it was clean, it was small! The staff were friendly but obviously frazzled after what was probably a long day.

First, I'll discuss the plusses. The hotel's location is excellent. It is a quick walk to the main gate, and it's a walk that is equal to (or even closer) than the walk to the Disneyland Hotel. We were able to leave the park in the hot hours of the afternoon to come back for a shower and a nap, and then we returned later in the evening when the heat had died and the crowds waned. The hotel was also clean and seemed well maintained.

In terms of negatives, the Tropicana has huge issues. This is not the most family-friendly property! When turning on the television for the first time, you're faced with the movie-ordering screen. This screen doesn't just include family films or even regular movies... it includes pornographic films as well. I'm glad I didn't have to deal with a child asking me what "Asian Ladies #7" was about. The hotel's mini mart is a ripoff, and buying snacks or drinks here is almost even more expensive than buying them in the park itself. But those are tiny, nitpicking issues. A far more important issue is the dangerous parking situation. The Tropicana does not have NEARLY enough parking for the number of rooms at the hotel. As such, on Saturday and Sunday nights, we pulled into the parking lot, only to discover the lot extremely full. Every spot was taken, and cars were even beginning to fill handicapped spaces. Even worse, cars were parked in fire lanes, and some cars (out of frustration) double parked. The hotel issues a parking permit, but when we finally found a spot, I noticed as we walked to the room that many of the cars parked had no such permit. The hotel clearly does not do enough to handle this situation, and it's particularly bad because of the small number of spaces they have available. Another lesser annoyance is the seven-foot clearance in one entrance to the small parking lot, and the red and yellow lights that flash all hours of the day next to this entrance. I'd hate to stay in a room next to those lights (which were as bright in intensity as street lights).

All in all, the Tropicana's location is excellent, the hotel is clean, and the staff is decent- but the parking situation is a nightmare. I'd be happy to shell out a few bucks extra to be sure that I'll actually have a parking spot, without having to resort to illegal and dangerous behavior (fire lanes and double parking).
 
5 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page