Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Sheraton Park Hotel at the Anaheim Resort
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Formerly the Westcoast Anaheim Hotel. 1855 S. Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim
Book this hotel now!
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 17 ( Displaying Reviews: 11 - 17 )
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   April 17th - April 24th
Reviewer: Toady The Eighth (olivejuice787@yahoo.com) Seattle, WA     April 29, 2003

We stay here every time we go to Disneyland, and were curious if the hotel would be as nice now that it has changed ownership.

We were given a pool view room (a gorgoeus room) with a king size bed and a balcony. One of the things I like most about this hotel is you really feel like you are at a resort. The scenery is nice, and with the balcony and the palm trees and the the view of the pool, you almost feel like you're in Hawaii.

The pool area is beautiful, with a very large pool, hot tub, and pool bar that serves margaritas and the like, they have big, fluffy pool towels, and lots of lawn chairs and umbrellas and tables.

The front desk was polite, the lobby is large, with a lounge and two restaurants off to the side, and a concierge.

Housekeeping service here is WONDERFUL. We let the room one morning at 8am and returned at 840am and our room was already done. We returned around noon every day for a break, and the room was done every single time. I love hotels like this.

There's and ABC Mart and a 7-11 very close to the hotel (the 7-11 had cheaper pop and snacks) and we ate at the coffee shop on two occasions, and were satisfied.

We had extensive cable with 30-40 channels, and the toiletries, (two kinds of soap,shampoo/conditioner, mouthwash, shower cap, lotion) were high quality.

The only complaints I had about the hotel was that two of the four elevators were broken and it made it quite a hassel to get to our room and we ended up using the stairs a lot (However, the manager did send out a note apologizing for the inconveniece and offering to help people switch hotels if it was too much of an inconvenience for them)

Also, this hotel has a policy of charging $50.00 PER NIGHT to your credit card for incindentals, which we felt was a little excessive. Especially since we were on a travel agent rate of $49.00/night! When we complained to the manager about this, he removed the hold on our credit card to the standard 15%

We will definetly stay here again, I will just make sure to ask them at check in not to hold so much on my credit card.

If anyone would like to see pictures of the room, lobby, and pool area, feel free to email me and I will share them with you!
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   Feb 19 - Feb 23, 2002
Reviewer: jacoky Edmonton, Canada     December 10, 2002
First impression of the Hotel wasn't great. Arrived at 11:00 a.m. and didn't receive a room until 2:00 p.m., course we arrived during President's week! (darn Canadian travel agents!). Our luggage was taken from us for storage during our delay which was handy. Once we were provided a room we were impressed. Great view of the pool, and the southern scenery (such that it is).
I strongly recommend the cafe, they provided free kid's meals at lunch and dinner. Quality of food was superior to most Denny's (as described in other reviews). Service was attentive as well. The on location Dining Room with it's Western Theme was great for a special dinner our last night.
For a Hotel of this size I feel a dedicated shuttle would be in order, however pickup schedule was adequate. Shuttle service to other local attractions would be a nice touch if available.
We spent our last morning poolside. Wonderful area to relax in, very clean.
I would recommend the hotel to others, and on our next trip would expect to stay again for the cost we received from our package.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   September 9-15 2002
Reviewer: ShannonTorg Seattle, WA     October 30, 2002
I loved this hotel. We had a travel agent rate of $49.00 per night, and were given a king room with a Disney view. I believe we were on the 8th floor. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, and we had a huge floor to ceiling window with a slider that opened up to a balcony. The hotel was walking distance, although an ART pass was available. The Pool area was FANTASTIC. Huge pool, nice hot tub, and a pool bar. This hotel was also not very crowded. The front desk staff was efficient and friendly, and we had no complaints about the housekeeping.

I will definetly reccommend this hotel to all of my clients, although I'll be sure to tell them not to eat at the Coffee Shop downstairs. It was pretty nasty.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   10/11 to 10/16
Reviewer: leota's necklace Tucson, AZ     October 18, 2002
type of room: Park view, King, nonsmoking
rate/night: $115/night for Friday and Saturday (the hotel was heavily booked due to a conference), $79/night(AAA rate) for Sunday, Monday, and Tuesday; plus tax, and a "resort assessment" of 1% per day (ranging from $.79 to $1.15)
Local calls cost $.75 each, unless you make them using a calling card with an 800- number.
check-in: 4 p.m.; check-out: noon

I only have a few things to add to previous reviews.

First, on the ART shuttle: the other two hotels on the route with the WCA are the Mariott and the Hilton. The Convention Center is also listed as a stop. Shuttle passes were issued to us at check-in and were good for the length of our stay. Expect to wait about 20 minutes for a shuttle; we found it was just as easy to walk down to the Katella parking lot entrance and pick up the parking lot tram to the Park. The service begins an hour before Park opening, but only runs for half an hour after Park closing, so if you stay late to shop on Main Street or visit Downtown Disney you might be out of luck.

We were not charged for parking at the hotel. We needed to park in the gated hotel lot before check-in to register, and the desk clerk took our ticket and replaced it with a pass we could swipe through a card reader at the gates to enter and exit.

A coffeemaker and coffee, non-dairy creamer, and sugar, were also included in the room.

The heated pool is open from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. Room service is available from 6 a.m. to 10:45 p.m. The coffee shop is open from 6 a.m. to 11 p.m., and the Overland Stage restaurant opens at 5 p.m. The fitness center on the 12th floor is open from 6 a.m. to 10 p.m. The hotel also offers a business center with 24-hour access near the Lobby.

The front desk and bell staff are very helpful and efficient; and if you ask at the front desk you can restrict the availability of Web TV, pay-per-view, and video games from your room. Safe deposit boxes are also available at the front desk. The bell desk can store your luggage for you if you arrive before check-in or need to keep your luggage at the hotel past check-out.

Keep in mind that there is a very slim chance that your room might not have a balcony, as a few rooms on each side of the building only have a tiny ledge and a balcony rail. Other rooms have a full balcony with two chairs. I'm sure if this is important to you and you mention it when making reservations they will do their best to honor your request.

A nice touch: the room truly was non-smoking. Not a hint of cigarette smoke anywhere, like I've experienced in other, pricier hotels.

Service at the coffee shop was attentive, and the food was a good value, tasty and filling, and the portions were a reasonable size. The bartender in the lobby is also courteous to a fault and very efficient. We found the lobby bar a great place to relax, people-watch, and have a snack after a day in the Park.

The housekeeping staff was really on the ball and we always came back to a clean room, a neatly made bed, and fresh towels, even if we left the room late. Our personal items were never disturbed.

The room itself was a good size; I didn't feel cramped like I have at other hotels in the area.

I've had nothing but good experiences at the WCA and would not hesitate to stay there again.
 
6 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   August 7 - 10, 2002
Reviewer: bernard1825 (duque@nwi.net) Cashmere, WA     August 13, 2002
Finding a "hotel" close to the Disneyland Resort property can be a headache amoung the many "motels" that claim to be hotels...But the West Coast Anaheim Hotel is exactly what it claims to be - a hotel!

WHAT WE HAD/PAID:
Room Type: 2 Queen Bed Non Smoking Room
Cost: $59 per night through expedia.com + $8 per day parking and 15% tax.

Optional Expenses: Refridgerator $10 fee per length of say (not per day). Roll Away Bed $15 per night, Internet Access via hotel TV - $9.95 per 24 hours, Sony Play Station and Pay-per-view Movies extra (did not use - too busy and tired at the end of they day so I don't know how much it costs.)

ROOMS: The rooms are bigger than average and the beds are very comfortable. Standard room has one or two beds, table and chairs, dresser, 27" TV, Phone, bathtub/shower/toilet room seperate from the sink. Each room has a coffee maker and coffee. TV stations cover all the basic cable channels. Our room was always cleaned well. We left our personal items in the room and they were left untouched. The room amenities are of good quality - perfumed oatmeal bath soap, mouth wash, shoe shine, shampoo, conditioner, etc. The room also has an iron & board and hair dryer.

HINT: For a TOTAL DISNEY EXPERIENCE, request a upper level room with a view of the Disneland resort! (No extra charge for the view). This hotel either views Disneyland/DCA or the Pool Area. We were on the 10th floor (hotel has 14 floors - no floor 13, so essentially it has only 13 floors...) Views would probably begin around the 5th or 6th floor. We came back to our room and watched the "after closing" activities at the park - interesting, or sometimes just enjoyed the lights. You can watch the fireworks from your room or just take in the wonderful view of the valley on a clear day.

OTHER THINGS THE HOTEL OFFERS: The West Coast Anaheim has a large clean pool with plenty of lounge chairs for everyone, a pool side bar that offers alcoholic or non-alcoholic drinks, smoothies, etc. A nice touch and the wait person is ready to take your order or help in any other way. There is also a pool attendant with plush green oversized towels available. This hotel has one hot-tub, big enough for about 8-10 adults.

The lobby is nicely decorated and offers a visitor's information desk where you can get personalized help and purchase tickets for area attractions.

There is a sundries shop that offers the usual tourist items, but I was surprised that the prices were not as high as they usually are at these types of stores! My husband lost his sunglasses and bought a nice pair for $10 there! They also offer California T-shirts at 3 for $15!

Need that espresso in the morning? The West Coast Anaheim has an espresso bar and Krispy-Creme Doughnuts! They also offer candies, icecream, and other pastries and juices at slightly inflated prices.

The hotel has a Cafe with reasonable "Denny's" type pricing and food. There is a more upscale resturaunt on the property that we did not try, but they were running a $11.95 prime rib special while we were there. They offer the steak and lobster type dinners.

LOCATION & TRANSPORTATION: The hotel is about 3 blocks walking distance away from the Disneyland Hotel Entrance. And they are long blocks to walk when you are hot and tired! But there is no need to walk because the hotel has tram service that comes every 10 minutes during busy times and every 20 minutes on less busy times. It picks you up by the hotel lobby entrance. On the way TO the park it will pick up people at the two other hotels right next door to the WCA (takes about 5 minutes for both!) But then on the way home, you are the first OFF the tram, so it is nice when you are tired. At any rate, you are first to get on and first to get off!

WHAT IS AROUND THE HOTEL?.....There is a 7-11 not too far away (about 1 block), an I-HOP (2 block's), Mc Donald's (about 3 blocks), Pizza Hut, other eating places, etc., all in about a 2-block radius of the hotel. But you won't really need them because the hotel offers just about anything you would need on a vacation.

ONE LAST NOTE: When we arrived, we did hot have hot water in our shower because the handle was not set properly to turn all the way over the hot side. We called the front desk, and (I'm not kidding) within 5 minutes we had a assistant fixing our shower! Done and fixed it about 10 minutes - now that's service!

We will definately stay here again!!!
 
34 out of 34 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   July 28, 2002- Aug 4, 2002
Reviewer: Rose Vancouver BC, Canada     August 12, 2002
We really enjoyed our stay at the Westcoast Anaheim. The rooms were very big, easily accomadating an extra cot ($15 per night-very comfortable too), we had a fridge ($11 per stay), and a room with an excellent view of Disneyland and the fireworks. A spacious balcony with table and chairs was a plus. The pool area reminded us of Mexico, with the pool bar playing pleasant music, and a cabana for towels. We always found chairs to sit in (they have a flag on them for bar service!) The hotel itself was well equipped with an espresso bar (the coffee was just fair, however the coffe supplied in the room was excellent). We ate twice a day at the coffee shop. Kids ate free with a paying adult. The quality of food was a pleasant surprise. The vegetables were very fresh, and there was a lot of healthy choices (about $7-10). My favorite was the california chicken. The kids loved their meals too. My son ate a corny corn dog every day. These meals were $3-4. We were disappointed when we ate anywhere else. The staff are very friendly here as well. We also used the shuttle every day, even though the hotel is 10 min away. We never waited more than 5 or 10 min, the drivers were great, and our kids loved the trolley with open windows. We will definitely stay here again.
 
9 out of 9 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   July 9 - July 20 2002
Reviewer: kelli Tacoma Washington     July 22, 2002
This is an outstanding hotel. Very clean with a nice sized room and a very large beautiful pool. The grounds and the hotel are immaculate. The staff was friendly and helpful. The shuttle to Disneyland is very convienient as there are only two more hotel stops on it's route. On the return route from Disneyland it is the first drop off. I will definately stay there again.
 
14 out of 15 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page