Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Econo Lodge Maingate Hawaiian Resort
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
7514 Irlo Bronson Hwy 192, Kissimmee
Book this hotel now!
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 3 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 3 )
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   January 2005
Reviewer: scotth Cincinnati, Ohio     January 18, 2005
This was the worst hotel experience I have ever had. It was, thankfully, brief.

Being an Econolodge none of us were expecting much. What we got, however, was far worse than we ever imagined.

We obtained three rooms from this hotel. Each room had its share of unexcetable problems. Two of the rooms smelled of some form of cleaning or disinfectant. The smell was overpowering. The third room smelled of mold and mildew. The pictures that had been hung in the room that smelled of mold and mildew were literally falling out of their frames. There was obvious water damage (peeling paint and crumbling drywall) on the wall behind the beds.

One member of our party staying in the third room has asthma problems and could not handle the mold and mildew in the room, so we asked for a different room. We were given one but, when asked about the various smells in the different rooms were told by the night manager that the cleaning staff had left for the day and that he "did not own the place." The fourth/replacement room smelled the strongest of the disinfectant.

By this time one of the members in the other room began to complain of his sinus cavities starting to burn from whatever disinfectant was used. A person in the other room started to break out into some kind of rash. It was obvious at this point that we would have to stay someplace else.

After waiting in line for to talk to the manager again we spoke to at least four other parties experiencing similar problems. When we finally got to the manager, after reminding us that he did not "own the place," he told us we would have to contact expedia about a refund since that how we paid. That would not have been a problem, except the expedia people needed to speak to him and he never answered the phone. I finally went to speak to him about why he was not answering the phone and watched him stand there letting the phone ring away not answering it. When I finally worked through the line of people (again, all with similar complaints) he refused to allow use of the extra phone behind the counter to call expedia as that phone was for "business purposes" only. Instead I was told I had to use the pay phone down the hall. Eventually I got the expedia people on a cell phone so I could tell the manager that they were calling when his phone rang.

Another thing we learned while waiting in line was that someone had marked their sheets before leaving their room and that their brother, who was also staying in the hotel, had asked for a different room and happened to get their old room. The beds were made and the sheets were still marked.

This hotel is deplorable. You could not pay me to stay there. We were lucky and were able to get out because expedia had our money and was able to divert it to a different hotel. Others there were not so lucky.

Go anywhere else. It will be worth any extra amount you need to spend.
 
4 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   HAVE BEEN 3 TIMES, GOING A FOURTH
Reviewer: TheBig2er Oshawa, Ontario Canada     November 05, 2004
I have nothing but great things to say about the Econolodge Maingate. For me a trip to Disney means 12 hours of fun at the parks and then home for a quick swim and sleep...repeat action until you have to leave. This is not the Hilton don't be fooled, as if you were. But for those looking for a budget hotel with everything you could ever need around you, IE shops, restaurants, shuttles to Disney Seaworld and Universal. I have never had any issues staying here. Yes it is not a 5 star hotel, but for those of you on the go who just want to put your head down for a few hours and then head off to the parks, this is a great place to save money. Compared to staying at a cheap Disney hotel you are saving hundreds of dollars over a 7 week stay which means more money for fine dining at Epcot or great souvenirs.

The Hotel Pool is fabulous, its big and always clean. The hot tub is fine as well, a regular hot tub really. The restaurant has a great breakfast buffet and Karaoke every night. Room service is available or you can pick it up. The staff there have alwasy been helpful, once our AC broke and they came and fixed it within 15 minutes. The front desk satff was great last time we were there. We had a group of 10 and got there early, our rooms werent ready yet so they stored all of our bags in their back office area so we could get on the next bus to Disney. i would love to stay on property at Disney but until that lotto winning comes in, the Econolodge is it for me.

Although it is 4 stars or 5, it is definitely 4 planets for me and for all of you discount travellers. Save your money for the good stuff. Dont waste it on a fancy bed and a toilet
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   9/20/03 - 9/23/03
Reviewer: christina     September 29, 2003
We booked this hotel through AAA at a rate of $36/ night.We arrived late Saturday night, check-in was quick but the man at the front desk was not very helpful or friendly. We had a 1st floor standard room ( 2 double beds ) that overlooked the courtyard. This room was horrible! The plaster was falling off the wall in several places, there was mold in the bathroom and the whole room smelled like mildew. My husband was so disgusted, he immediately went to the front desk to complain. He ended up speaking with the manager who was very apologetic and switched us to another room.
Our second room turned out to be much the same minus the smell and a little less mold in the bathroom. It was the same type, 2 double beds ( F.Y.I check your pillows, one bed had clean new pillows and the other had pillows with huge brown stains under the pillow cases.) small bathroom and the sink is located outside the bathroom next to the bed. There was a chest of drawers, safe and T.V w/ remote. The room overall was pretty bad but would have to do for the next three nights.
There was a shuttle to all 4 parks that left twice in the morning and had two evening return times. If you want to be to the parks on time, do not rely on these shuttles. The hotel bus that went to MGM and Epcot did not pick you up in the morning until about an hour after the park opened.
In the lobby there was a game room, Alamo rental car office, ticket desk, gift shop, sitting area with T.V and a Black Angus restaraunt. The restaraunt provided room service and had karaoke in the evenings.
There is a pool that seemed nice enough and was quite packed in the evenings.
Overall this hotel was a huge dissapointment!! Being that it was located about a mile from the Magic kingdom I had expected more but I guess you get what you pay for. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone!It is completely dirty and in need of some serious repairs.
 
25 out of 29 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page