Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Storyteller's Cafe - Chip 'n Dale Critter Breakfast
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Storytellers Cafe is the location for the daily Breakfast with Chip 'n Dale characters and friends.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.8 out of 53.8 out of 53.8 out of 53.8 out of 53.8 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 12 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 10 )
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   April 3, 2010
Reviewer: disneylovr San Diego, California     July 28, 2010
We have been to Storytellers Cafe numerous times when we have gine to Disneyland. The food and character is great. The best thing to eat at Storytellers is The eggs benedict, bacon, and the scrambled egg whites. The characters we saw were, Chip, Dale, Pluto, Terk, Meeko, Pochahontas and Friends, Koda and Kanei from Brother bear, I highly reccomend this character meal
 
2 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   July 2, 2010
Reviewer: Goosegirl Grass Valley, CA     July 08, 2010
We love Storytellers for breakfast! We eat at this character breakfast every trip because the food is so wonderful.
My girls love the animal characters and enjoy playing with them.
The food is delicious and the Mickey Mouse waffles are always a fun treat. The lox and bagels are my older daughter's favorite!
I love the eggs Benedict! My husband loves it all, usually ordering a custom omelete.
My younger daughter ate her weight in bacon and fruit and even ate quite a bit of scrambled egg.
Our server was from mainland China, as is our youngest daughter and she was such a delight. She fussed over my little one and checked on us several times. She offered to take pictures of us, without us asking her. Our drinks were refilled often, and our coffee never got cold.
We love the architecture and Arts and Crafts details of the restaurant. My children love walking around and reading the murals on the walls. We have only ever ordered the breakfast buffet and feel the price is worth it. The food is really wonderful and makes for a great start to the day. We always make reservations for 7:00 and are able to be seated right away.
We will eat at Storytellers for every trip!
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   8 December 2008
Reviewer: DrewR Las Cruces, NM     December 15, 2008
We are a party of eight and all are seasoned Disneyland guests. Our party is composed of 4 adults, and 4 kids (ages 12, 11, 9, and 5). We had made reservations for the character breakfast. We were seated promptly but because we were near the door we were cold enough to require sweaters and jackets while seated. Our server was very polite and efficient but could not help us when we mentioned the temperature. The atmosphere was ok, but not very exciting. We were disappointed in our dining experience because we were only visited by 4 characters and the quality of the food wasn't as good and did not have as wide a selection as we have experienced at other character breakfasts (and we did 3 during this trip). For instance, pancakes and waffles were not on the buffet but French toast was. When we mentioned this to our server we found we could get waffles by asking but we could not get pancakes. This was particularly disappointing to the younger kids. One adult in our group had trouble getting an omelet that was sufficiently cooked. For the cost (approximately $180), and compared to other character breakfasts, we would not recommend this character breakfast.
 
4 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   February 18, 2006
Reviewer: Bay Area Disneygoer Moraga, California     February 22, 2006
I should have listened to the many reviewers here and elsewhere who have noted that only a few characters, with Chip and Dale the biggest names in the bunch, attend this breakfast. Chip, Dale, a raccoon, a bear, and a gorilla were the characters. They were nice enough when they came by our table, but the restaurant is quite large for so few characters, and they stayed maybe 30 seconds each. There was nothing particularly special about having the characters, or about the "guide" who roamed around the restaurant acting as if he was looking for the characters while doing some improv with the diners. For the price they charge, and given the proximity to the parks, you would think Disney could cough up a "name" character or two. Seems like the Pooh line of characters would be a good fit for the GC's lodge theme. By comparison, the DH Goofy's Kitchen is kind of blah surroundings (convention style chairs and round tables in tired setting), but there were a fair number of characters, and they spent a reasonable amount of time at each table. In fairness to Storyteller's, we did not experience any delay in ordering off the menu (instead of doing the buffet); in fact, the food came out quickly and was very well prepared. Eggs were fluffy and hot, toast was done just right, server was attentive to the details. In summary, grab something fast at Whitewater Rapids and get to the park, you will be better off not sinking the time and money into the Storyteller's "character breakfast." If you insist on doing this one, be sure to get priority seating through Disney Dining. A long wait for an underwhelming experience should be avoided.
 
5 out of 13 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   October 7, 2005
Reviewer: lovesthemouse New York City     October 13, 2005
Another Disney breakfast done right. We were seated within a few minuets of arriving. Drink orders were quickly taken. Glasses were refilled without asking and dirty dishes were removed promptly. There was a very large selection of breakfast items on the buffet-even smoked salmon- with some lunch items included. The day we ate there was boneless pork sauteed with apples, vegetables, potatoes. This was also the only breakfast buffet we went to that had regular cakes and desserts- although we were too full to try them. The waitress took orders for pancakes and waffles which were brought hot from the kitchen. Everything we tried was very good. If you are not up to the buffet, there is also a menu to order from. The charcters interacted and played with every one. They didn't rush you to get to the next table. We had a great time and would return
 
4 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   9/27/05
Reviewer: lisaboo Sacramento, CA     October 02, 2005
On our first day at the Disneyland Resort we planned to meet with some friends who were at DLR at the same time for the character breakfast. Although we had reservations we had to wait a few minutes before they seated us, but that was probably because we were a larger party (four adults and three children). They took our drink orders immediately upon seating us and they never went empty throughout the meal. We all chose the buffet and my whole party got up to get food while I stayed behind to hold down the fort. Even though I was an adult alone Dale came over to interact with me. I told him that there were three kids who would love to see him if he would just come back in five minutes and he did! The kids loved all the characters, Chip, Dale, Brother Bear, Rafiki and one of the monkeys from Tarzan. Brother Bear even asked for my salmon and pretended to gobble it all up, the kids laughed like crazy! Speaking of the food, all of it was excellent. I think every single person at our table got the Eggs Benedict, which were delicious. The made to order omlettes were to die for, not to mention the smoked salmon, sausage, bacon, eggs and assorted pastries. We all left completely stuffed and although our total was $130 (Approx. $21 per adult and $12 per child) we felt it was well worth it. Two of the adults were so full that they didn't eat again until dinner. The restaurant itself was lovely with the continued Arts and Crafts era theming from the rest of the Grand Californian Hotel. Overall I would say that this is must-do breakfast for every Disneyland trip!
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   April 2004
Reviewer: babytmakes5 Twin Cities, Minnesota     March 19, 2005
We had the most wonderful experience at the Storyteller's Breakfast at the Grand Californian last spring. Of course, we went during the "off season," plus we dined very early in the morning, so we avoided any problems with crowds. First off, the food is great. There are so many wonderful choices on the buffet, that my husband and I, and all three of our children chose this as our breakfast. There is a great selection on the menu too, so if you don't like the buffet, you have options. I liked the fact that there was such a wide selection. My children had many healthful choices and enjoyed their meal, but it was also wonderful that the buffet appealed to adult tastes too. At the time I was on a low-carb diet, and I had no problem finding a tasty selection of my own. The service was great--we had two servers that were at our table every few minutes making sure we had what we needed. The best part of the meal, though, was Chip, Dale, and Pluto! The characters stayed near our table almost the whole time, but also provided lots of entertainment for the rest of the diners as well. All three greeted us at the entrance, and my children were mesmerized. We had already done the Goofy's Kitchen meal the day before, but this was so much better. While we were seated at our table my then 17-month old was getting very distracted and was not eating his meal. And guess what? DALE ACTUALLY FED HIM HIS BREAKFAST! It was so heart-warming and sweet, my husband and I were almost in tears watching Dale carefully cutting up strawberries, dipping waffles pieces into the syrup, and hand-feeding our little boy sausages and eggs. He ate his whole meal! That was, however, the only meal he at while we were at Disneyland because everywhere we went after that he kept looking around to see if Dale was there to feed him! It was wonderful, and we took dozens of pictures--it was one of the highlights of our trip. I would recommend the Storyteller's Breakfast. I know we won't miss it the next time we are at Disneyland.
 
9 out of 9 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   June, 2003
Reviewer: Prince Family Federal Way, WA     June 08, 2004
Good food and a beautiful resteraunt. Service is spectacular. Food is so-so, Chip and Dale are nice, but they are all that are there, so the kids don't see much. Feels like more of a place for adults, not for kids, would go back with my wife, but not with our children.
 
2 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   12/30/03
Reviewer: whiles Oakland, CA     January 08, 2004
This was an impromtu trip to Disneyland between Christmas and New Years.
To say it was "Busy Everywhere" is an understatement. With that in mind it was probably the second reason I could not give StoryTeller's a mark of four planets for this trip.

I would have rated this experience with Four Planets if the service not been so bad this time around. It almost ruined the whole expeince if it was not for the exceptional food served to us.

Just as a note Story Tellers is my favorite character resturant because the food is very good for what you pay. The resturant itself looks like they picked up the Yosemite Lodge resturant and transplanted it in Anaheim.

The best "Feature" about StoryTellers is the option to eat Buffet or order from a full menu. This is a great feature especially with large parites when some in the group may not like buffet's. The menu + buffet style provides something for everyone's pallet (Hard to do for sure!)

I always go for the buffet while my wife and the Niece and Nephew usually order from the menu (Children can have ther own omelette, pb & bananna stuffed french toast, oatmeal or Mickey Mouse Waffles.)

The buffet here is filled with real world food not the plain jane "Cafeteria food available at Goofy's, Minnie & Friends or Plaza Inn. I mean items like Eggs Benedict, Orange and Vanilla french toast, A fruit and yogurt spead which is just chock full of the seasons best fruit, how about Lox & Bagels or a veritable plethra of pasties, danish, muffins and dessets.

For the fans of "Great Buffets" this is a good place to eat.

The only 2 negatives on this trip was the crowds - it took ten minutes for me to get my first pass through the buffet line and the fact that this resturant is by far the largest in the resort and has only one buffet line because of the dual service options (Menu + Buffet) can make this worthy pit stop a bit taxing.
The service from our waitress was horrible - we had to beg for a refill of water, coffee and juices while she was chatting away at another table a huge GRR!! : > ( in my book. This is sceond time we have had bad wait service at StoryTellers out of five times total. Not a real promising ratio, But this is indicative of the consitency Disney is providing at the resort right now.
To sum - your service will be hit or miss.

With this resturant, I recommend calling ahead for Priority seating since walk in wait times average an hour or more during busy days and rarely are less that 15 minutes on slower days.

This is a treat for the pallette like no other resturant at the resort. I rank it second on my list of Favorite Disneyland Resturants right behind Blue Bayou and the food is far better at StoryTellers but the Ambience of Blue Bayou is way too cool! (But that is for anohter review!)

thanks,
whiles
 
7 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   December 26, 2003 and December 30, 2003
Reviewer: MusicMama Pennsylvania     January 02, 2004
This event is billed as a character breakfast. Not really. You are greeted by Chip or Dale (not both) and then you never see a character again. The food was very good and the room was very nice, but it didn't compare to any of the other character meals for character interaction. Also, the first time we ate there, the fire alarm went off and the whole hotel was evacuated. We were finally allowed back almost an hour later, only to be greeted with our check and the expectation that we were leaving so that the build-up of customers could be relieved. What a disappointment. It would have been nice to at least get a fresh drink of coffee or hot chocolate, since we had been standing outside in the cold..

If you really want characters to visit as well as a great meal, go to Goofy's Kitchen or the Plaza Inn.
 
3 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page