Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Grand Californian Hotel - Storytellers Cafe
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Lunch and dinner dishes feature fresh California ingredients. A weekend dinner buffet is offered.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.8 out of 53.8 out of 53.8 out of 53.8 out of 53.8 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 35 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 10 )
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   8/21/09 - 8/23/09
Reviewer: Sansarc Pacific Palisades, CA     August 26, 2009
We had lunch twice at this restaurant -- once on Friday, 8/21/09 and once on Sunday, 8/23/09. I had made an advance reservation for the Friday lunch, but had NOT made a reservation for Sunday, 8/23/09, but we were seated promptly for both meals without any problem or wait.

We loved this restaurant! The interior is so charming. Truly, the decor appealed to all of us -- adults and teenager alike. There was so much to look at. In fact, after we ate lunch, we "toured" the restaurant to view all of the paintings.

We ordered off of the lunch menu even though, on Sunday, the breakfast buffet was still available. For both of our visits, we shared the chicken quesadillas as an appetizer. The slices were generous and filled with chicken, spicy Jack cheese and green peppers. Delicious. The guacamole was arranged back inside of an avocado half, too! Fun idea.

Our entrees were served in a timely way after the appetizers on Friday, but on Sunday -- the wait staff brought everything out at once, then realized their mistake, apologized, and brought back our entrees until a few minutes later.

Over these two meals, we had the Cobb salad (all three of us on Sunday), the slow-roasted turkey clubhouse sandwich and the charbroiled burger. The Cobb salad had lots of fresh ingredients, plus my husband was able to change out the bleu cheese dressing for a honey balsamic. I thought it was nice of them to offer this. They also left out the avocado for one of us. I really enjoyed the clubhouse sandwich. It wasn't too big -- but it was still generous. The bread was good, too! Sometimes the bread in these sandwiches is just plain old white bread, but this bread had depth and flavor. The turkey was not the deli-sliced turkey, but genuine turkey breast. I was impressed. The sandwich and the Cobb salads weren't too salty either. Everything tasted wonderful. We were very happy with our selections. It felt like our entrees were made by an actual kitchen staff and not "processed" by an assembly line -- I can't explain it any better than that! It was high quality food.

For dessert on our first day, we shared the chocolate brownie. I think we had brownies at almost every restaurant during this trip for dessert for some reason! They were all good -- this one, too. It came with ice cream and chocolate sauce.

We would love to go back here for dinner sometime. We really enjoyed it. Plus, it was nice to get away from the parks and sit down in a quiet, calm atmosphere.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   June 6 and 7, 2009
Reviewer: bennette South Orange County, CA     June 14, 2009
We ate dinner here twice on a recent visit by my sister's family. We like Storyteller's because it is calmer than most other restaurants in the park and because they offer food that is more appealing to us and our family, particularly the vegans. My niece and nephew are both allergic to dairy and this restaurant is able to accommodate them easily with no advance notice.

I was disappointed at these visits however, in the decline in food quality, which was strongly evident. I am aware of the changes in the economy, as we all are, but the food quality and choice was not equivalent to the prices, which I usually have no problem paying.

At our first meal, two adults had the buffet, my sister had the cheese ravioli, and I had a chicken dish that was similar to coq au vin with chicken and bacon. The kids both had the pasta with olive oil instead of sauce with a side of fruit and apple juice which our waitress was happy to water down.

My chicken dish was fine and a reasonable size. The onions and chicken in it were tasty, as was the sauce. The bacon appeared to be an afterthought, sprinkled over the dish and did nothing to add to the flavor so I did not eat it.

My sister's ravioli was a good sized portion and surprisingly came with a number of vegetables other than the asparagus mentioned on the menu. She was happy with it.

I basically thought the buffet looked cheap and downgraded. There was a field greens salad without most of the items that come when your order it from the menu; some kind of pasta dish; generic looking salmon and chicken; sliced roast beef; chicken nuggets; and some generic looking desserts, mostly cheesecakes and some type of clafoutis. The chicken nuggets looked like they came from McDonald's only dryer. People ate, but at $26.99, it really didn't seem worth it, even after our 15% AP discount.

Our waitress was quite good and didn't seem phased when my six-year old niece stood up on her chair, announced it was her birthday, and said if there was anything the waitress wanted to do for people with birthdays, she was ready. (We do not know where she gets it!). She got a little strawberry angel cake with sprinkles and a white chocolate "Celebrations" painted decoration.

At our visit the next day, we couldn't get the podium staff to confirm an ADR time so we did as they suggested and hung out for a seat about twenty minutes. We were seated quickly but drinks and bread took forever to come (and I do mean forever, like thirty minutes for water). We were near meltdown when it finally showed up. I had ordered the special lemonade fruit punch with one light up Tinkerbell and one light up Cars vehicle because the Cars option is new. The kids were very excited with their color changing straws.

I had a glass of pinot grigio; my sister had a glass of Edna Valley chardonney; and my brother-in-law; after waiting half an hour for water, broke down and ordered a very strong rum drink.

My husband and brother went back for the buffet which looked identical to the day before. I noticed they both ate a lot less this trip. My sister didn't want anything on the menu and ended up ordering the kid's mac and cheese which looked pretty awful to me. She was more or less past the point of eating when it came so I'm not sure it mattered. I really couldn't find anything on the menu that was appealing (it is so much smaller than it used to be) and ended up ordered spaghetti (SPAGHETTI!) for $18.99! It was very bland and overcooked. The sauce had been fancied up a bit with vegetables but it was basically the equivalent of the Spaghetti Factory, with less bread and no salad. The kids had chicken nuggets and fruit.

Today's waiter was hard to find although my niece did manage to track him down for her birthday cake (sigh; the rest of us were READY to go).

We've always loved Storyteller's in the past but it is getting harder to justify. I could have a much better meal at Roy's, the Cheesecake Factory, or California Pizza Kitchen down the street at the GardenWalk and I think that's what we'll be doing in the future if we are without little kids.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   12/25/2008
Reviewer: JadaB Pleasant Hill, CA     February 23, 2009
We came to Storytellers for a christmas dinner buffet because we had done the breakfast buffet during a trip in May and thought it was great. I know it seems a little unfair to base this decision on the dinner buffet, since it is not the usual for Storytellers, but thought it might help someone in deciding their christmas dinner in the future. :-)

Here is a breakdown of what we had:

**appetizer:
-corn chowder, was incl. w/ the buffet. You had a choice of a caesar salad, but the waitress didn't ask and just brought us this. I can't complain though, b/c I thought this was probably the best part of the meal. Very chowder-y if that makes sense, very good and rich.

-corn bread: delish! Their corn bread was very good, we enjoyed the basket of it that they brought with butter. All I can say is yum!

**buffet: we both had a little of each of what they had to offer
-rice:your basic wild rice

-mac n'cheese: I must say I love most mac n' cheese, but this was very runny and not very cheesy tasting at all

-mushroom tortellini:when I saw this on the buffet I was very excited to try it! I was let down when I tasted how bland it was, maybe if it has a sauce to accompany it, it would have complimented the tortellini?

-chicken/sliced pork: the chicken and pork were pretty dry, even after being carved up right before us. They both had a basic herb rub on them, very simple.

-chicken nuggets-the same as the ones in the park, I must admit I love them lol

-mashed potatoes-these were pretty good, not too buttery or salty

-variety of desserts: they did have a whole section of the buffet devoted to desserts in a tart style, I guess would be the best way to describe them. Mini pies and cakes, chocolate mousse, etc.

Everything was just ok. I wanted so much to love this dinner buffet, but I felt it was missing that yum factor that so many other places in the park have.

The service was good, not great, not bad either. Everyone was pleasant and we appreciated the fact they were there helping us enjoy our christmas vacation, when they could have been home with their own families.

There were some people next to us who ordered off the menu, a spaghetti dish and a meat dish that looked really good.

Overall, I would definitely come back for the breakfast buffet, the food tasted much more fresh and more variety. The breakfast is worth 4 planets. Maybe order off the menu if we were to come back for dinner.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   December 18, 2008
Reviewer: K & S Southern California     December 30, 2008
We had lunch at Storytellers on December 18th and I sadly feel that Storytellers is slowly going downhill. It has been our favorite for some time, but the new menu is quite limited and several favorites are gone. Our server was Christina and she provided excellent service in every way.
My son ordered the ravioli. When our order arrived he looked at his plate in disbelief, there were five ravioli and six cloves of garlic. Not much of a lunch for a 6'4" twenty-year-old, especially at sixteen dollars. I asked Christina about the portion as my son had ordered it from the old menu and it had included a few more ravioli, tomatoes and some artichoke hearts. She gave what sounded like a rehearsed explanation about healthy portions and so on. Since when is cutting vegetables a healthy choice? If I want to eat in a health food restaurant I'll do so, but I dont think Disney should use the guest's health to excuse what is obviously a corporate cost-cutting decision.
I still enjoy the breakfast buffet at Storytellers, Chef Musa makes the best omelets I've ever tasted. I'd give the breakfast buffet a four, but after three visits since the menu change I have to give lunch and dinner at Storytellers a three.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Many times from 2003 to 2008
Reviewer: dotalbon Los Angeles, California     April 02, 2008
My husband and I have been annual passholders for several years, and Storytellers Cafe is our favorite place to eat in DLR. Others have commented on the food (very good to excellent), the service (reliable), and the craftsman decor, beautifully realized as it is throughout the rest of the Grand Californian Hotel. Even the piped-in music, non-Disney and on the quiet side, is a refreshing change from the usual resort ambience.

Specific menu options we have enjoyed over the years include outstanding salads and good breakfasts (we order off the menu; the buffet is pricey and it's difficult to eat enough to justify the cost). My husband is a waffle conoisseur, and Storytellers' are some of his favorites, served with pecans and bananas as an option. I've had a good cheeseburger there, although the french fries were generic. On the dinner menu, if you are a garlic fan be sure to order the chicken with "smashed potatoes". Garlic bliss! And the build-your-own-pizza is wonderful for families with children; lots of fun, and the pizzas are very tasty. The corn chowder is a favorite of mine, but it's very filling and too much with a regular meal. I like ordering it with a salad and dessert. Prices are on the high side but at Disney one expects that.

One Storyteller experience that (as far as I know) is 100% unique at the Resort, is to show up for breakfast right after the Cafe opens on a day Chip n'Dale, Goofy and Pluto are scheduled to entertain. You will get the characters to yourselves for awhile, and while they can't talk to you, you can have some very interesting "conversations"! I once sat in a booth with "Chip" and we perused the newspaper together for several minutes -- his body language and hand gestures were priceless! I even got a hug when I left (quite an experience, getting cozy with a seven-foot tall chipmunk).
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Wednesday December 19, 2007
Reviewer: Infinitely Nevada     December 28, 2007
There were 7 in our party (myself, my husband, my best friend and 4 little boys). We had 3 buffets and 4 make your own pizzas. The service was excellent, and it was adorable watching the four boys follow the cast member to the kitchen with their pizza trays. The pizzas were a HUGE hit!

The buffet was quite tasty, my friend and husband seemed quite happy with their choices. I am a vegetarian and chose a tomato pasta dish and salad that were both delicious! Our bread that evening was a corn and cheese bread, another hit with everyone!

WE will defiantly be going again we had a wonderful dinner!
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   12/23/2007
Reviewer: tominco Colorado     December 28, 2007
We had priority seating for 8pm and arrived a little early. The only hitch in the meal was that we had to wait about 20 minutes. I'm not quite sure why, as there were many empty tables available. Except for that, this was probably the best meal we've had at a Disney restaurant (CA or FL). It was nice and quiet, the food was awesome, and the service was superb. We all ordered off the menu (rather than the buffet) and completely enjoyed our meals, which we topped off with a piece of cheese cake that we shared. It was wonderful to have a nice, quiet meal.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   Monday Dec 3, 2007
Reviewer: WhichIsStitch Flagstaff, AZ     December 27, 2007
We visited the Storytellers Cafe for dinner buffet. We arrived around 5pm or so and were seated within 5 minutes without priority seating. This restaurant is beautiful and now a favorite of mine. I love the craftsman style decor which gives a feeling of warmth and comfort. I think the buffet was $26.99 for adults. There was not a vast variety of choices but the food was excellent. I don't think my husband was as impressed with the buffet choices and would probably order from the menu next time. The buffet consisted of mixed spring salad, tomato mozzarella salad, corn chowder which was excellent, barbequed chicken entree, (memory is fading at this point) I think there was some type of fish, beef stroggenogh (yeah, ok, spelling error) not sure what else but some prime rib that was awesome. Mashed yukon gold potatoes......mmmmm, yummy! I also seem to recall there was more of a variety for desserts than salads and entrees. Our server CM checked often to be sure we had all we needed. I would definitely return here again!
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   May 23, 2007
Reviewer: nmjohnston874 (johnstong874@yahoo.com) Farmington, NM     May 26, 2007
We had dinner to celebrate our Daughters 21st birthday. My wife had the chicken, son the seafood pasta, daughter the three cheese ravioli, and myself the ribs. Wife and daughter had the Fire Roasted vegetable soup and myself the Charred Nebraska Corn Chowder. (My wife threatened a divorce as we are grads of rival Big 12 schools to Nebraska She CU and me Texas Tech. We all shared the chocolate fondue for dessert. Service and food were excellent.

When my daughter asked the server for his recommendation for her first legal drink, he brought her a bluetini. It was martini made with blueberry juice and various liquors. It had a plastic ice cube with a flashing light. When a little girl sitting nearby saw it, she exclaimed, I want one!. Her mother gently replied, No, dear. Thats a grownup drink. So funny.
 
1 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   05/11/2007
Reviewer: saucydiva Hawthorne CA     May 14, 2007
We enjoyed a good meal here. On a Friday at 6pm our quoted 15-minute waiting time turned out to be less than 5. Grownups enjoyed the ribs and the salmon, and teenager inhaled the giant burger and fries so quickly, no one saw him do it (and that was after two or three pieces of bread). Only bummers were tasty but oily shrimp linguini and the fact that our cocktails did not arrive until halfway into the meal (our very attentive server explained that this is a new drinks menu and the bar has not gotten up to speed yet). We looked at the buffet; entrees looked lackluster, salads looked overdressed but desserts looked scrumptious! Sadly, we did not have room for dessert after our off-the-menu meal (well, maybe teenager had room for dessert, after he polished off my ribs, fries and another corn muffin). We found the room to be pleasant and the staff was helpful and attentive without hovering, and all things considered, it seemed like pretty good value for the Disney prices. We look forward to dining here again.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3 4
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page