Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Grand Californian Hotel - Storytellers Cafe
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Lunch and dinner dishes feature fresh California ingredients. A weekend dinner buffet is offered.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.8 out of 53.8 out of 53.8 out of 53.8 out of 53.8 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 35 ( Displaying Reviews: 11 - 20 )
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   feb 2004
Reviewer: gabrielle2106 Australia     July 22, 2006
This has to be the best place on the planet for breakfast. we ate here every single morning during our stay. Huge portions as with everywhere in the USA, beautifully prepared and presented food. A glorious atmosphere made even better by superb service. I would eat here every meal if i could.
 
2 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   November 17, 2005
Reviewer: smkymtgrl Florence, Kentucky     November 30, 2005
Arrived at Grand Californian at 9:45 pm. Decided to eat at Storytellers Cafe. When we arrived the dinner buffet was already closed so we had to order from the menu. The food was good but let me warn you that the portions are huge!!!! I had the Santa Ana ribs, while my girls had the Cheeseburgers and fries. They enjoyed their meal as much as I did. Had no room for dessert. It is a relaxing,pleasant experience with very little wait.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   Saturday October 15, 2005
Reviewer: tlovesdis (tlovesdis@yahoo.com) Antioch, CA     October 25, 2005
We had dinner here on our first night at the resort. I made a PS for 6:40 and we were seated at about 6:50 or so. The place was pretty crowded. The service started out good, but got worse as the meal went on. The food was just ok, nothing special. One of the kids in our group ordered pizza and it didn't come out with the rest of our order. She ended up getting it when the rest of us were all done. We won't eat here again!
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   10/1/05-10/5/05
Reviewer: amwiddis Mesa, Arizona     October 12, 2005
I read the reviews on this restaurant before our trip and decided we had to try it. I was very happy with the decision. We had reservations, but still had to wait 20 more minutes before being seated. I went in expecting to pay more because it is, afterall, Disneyland, but was very surprised by how good the food was. This is one place where you pay for the food, not just the atmosphere. We ate there twice, and will most likely eat there again when we go back. Service and food were excellent!
 
2 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   July 31, 2005
Reviewer: Lanmon San Diego, CA     August 06, 2005
Being AP my husband and I frequent the park often and always looked forward to lunch at the StoryTeller's Cafe because it was a wonderful break from the DL and DCA long lines and crowds. We always have the same selections--chicken and steak sandwich. However during our last visit we were extremely disappointed with our lunch meals. We arrived at the restaurant at noon and were seated away from the breakfast section. The chicken portion was the size of a child's wrist and not very good. The chicken and the fries were served warm. The cost of the chicken lunch was $13.99. The steak sandwich was half the size of the bun and had grizzle and fat throughout the piece of meat. The cost of the steack sandwich was $18.99. The waitress was nice and kept the beverage glasses full. We will be returning to DLR this coming weekend...but will not be going back to StoryTeller's for a long while. The Plaza Inn will be our new preference to dine.
 
5 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   June 27th, 2005
Reviewer: Family5LovesDisney New Jersey     July 01, 2005
We had breakfast at the Storytellers Cafe. We had Priority Seating and were seated as soon as we walked in the door! We were given a choice of seating which was quite nice!

My husband and I selected the buffet. It was around $21 a person and it included coffee, tea, and juice. The waitress was wonderful and she took our dirty plates and refilled our juice glasses quite often. We were very pleased with the service.

There were a few characters going around to the tables. I saw Chip, Dale and Brother Bear but I know there were two or three more. Compared to other character meals in the Disneyland Resort, this one is much more low key. I would consider it more relaxing! You will have time to eat and enjoy your food before it gets cold without having to jump up for pictures and to dance with the characters all the time (not that there is anything wrong with that but sometimes Moms and Dads might need a little break!)

The buffet had a nice selection..........breads, pastries, eggs benedict, sausage, bacon, lots of fresh fruit, omelets made to order, and so forth. Our waitress said that if we wanted French Toast or Pancakes, they came with the buffet and she would bring them out at our request.

 
7 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   May 24, 2005
Reviewer: sec7g Patterson, CA     May 30, 2005
We had a great dinner at Storytellers. After trying to get in to the Rainforest Cafe, we chose not to wait 1:15 for a table. We ended up here where there was no wait at all. I had a burger and fries which was excellent. The fries were crisp and the burger was big. My wife had a pizza that was big for one person. It was also very good, with a light tender crust and ample cheese and meat. The prices are the same as RF Cafe, which is surprising for a DL restaurant. The service was excellent, and several of the waiters interacted with out 2 year old daughter. I would return here for any meal. This is a good value.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   April 29th, 2005
Reviewer: Mousegal1928 Hawthorne, CA     May 18, 2005
My family & I are AP Holders and we go to the Storyteller about once a month. It is a little costly ($26.50 for the buffet, drinks included) but it is well worth it. The food if delicious! Roast chicken, baked salmon and prime rib that melt in your mouth. The side dishes are delicious. Their vinegarette dressing is the best I've ever tasted! And the best part of the entire buffet is their bread pudding with vanilla sauce. UNBELIEVABLE! The staff has always been very attentive. I most definately tell everyone that they must try this restaurant and that they will not be dissapointed.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   28 January 2005
Reviewer: emmah australia     March 14, 2005
I had a really dreadful dining experience at the Storytellers cafe and it caught me by surprise because from what I had read, I expected it to be terrific. I had to wait half an hour for a table which was not a problem, but once I was seated, it took another half hour before waitstaff realised I was there. They brought me bread and iced water and then disappeared again. After 20 minutes (and just as I was gathering up my things to leave) the waitress appeared to take my order. As a vegetarian there were very few options - and only one choice if I wanted more than a salad. This had surprised me because from the menu on the door I had expected a lovely meal - but things that look vegetarian all turned out to be made with beef broth or chicken stock. I ordered a personal pizza which turned up half an hour later. It was gruesome - totally drowning in cheese. I scrapped what I could off the pizza but the base was unpleasant and by then I just wanted to get out of the restaurant, so I waved down a waiter who found the waitress for me. She asked how everything was and then looked at my plate and my face, and took the pizza back to the kitchen. They offered to make me a new one, but I just wanted out. In the end I didn't have to pay for it, and I didn't have to make a fuss, but I was upset that I had wasted so much time and left feeling even hungrier than I had gone in. It was very crowded and other people seemed to be enjoying themselves, so I guess if you wanted a hamburger and so on, things were good. But if you are vegetarian, I would not recommend this place at all.
 
3 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   2/19/2005
Reviewer: billlund Provo, Utah     March 06, 2005
My daughter and I went to Storytellers Cafe for dinner at about 6:00 PM. We were attending Aladdin and I called to make a priority seating request, which surprisingly they were able to honor. The food was very good. I had the salmon and my daughter had the roast chicken. The side dishes were also excellent. We didn't order the buffet due to its price. The only complaint I would have is that it was incredibly noisey. I realize that this is the family restaurant for the Grand Californian, but still the noise level was almost unbearable.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3 4
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page