Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Grand Californian Hotel - Storytellers Cafe
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Lunch and dinner dishes feature fresh California ingredients. A weekend dinner buffet is offered.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.8 out of 53.8 out of 53.8 out of 53.8 out of 53.8 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 35 ( Displaying Reviews: 21 - 30 )
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   Dec.11th-16th 2004
Reviewer: wenidog Scottsdale, AZ     January 14, 2005
Storyteller's is the main restaurant a The DGC Hotel and offers a nice menu with California produce as the standout. The salads and soups are fresh and wonderful, nicely showcasing California's represented farm foods. Of course, Storyteller's also has Disney character breakfasts (moderately expensive in Disney terms but, if you or your kids are hungry, a tasty value) and dinners. Chip and Dale, The Brother Bear gang and the Park Ranger playfully interact with dining guests for an enjoyable meal.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Spring 2004
Reviewer: sphallx2 Tupelo, MS     November 27, 2004
We both were starving - everywhere else was full so ended up here. We both had spaghetti because buffet was much too pricy for items offered. This dinner meal was just delicious. What a great surprise! Also the spaghetti was a really good value and there was plenty of it. Atmosphere was quiet - bordering elegant and relaxing - Service was excellent. Would go again!
 
2 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   October 3 2004 was the most recent
Reviewer: figmentspark San Diego, CA     October 07, 2004
My family and I are AP's for the Disneyland Resort and we always find time during our visit to eat at the Storyteller's Cafe. The food is wonderful (I have yet to find something that I don't like), the CMs had treated my family as if we were their family from our first visit (one of the main reasons we keep comming back) and the atmosphere is beautiful and homely (an arts and crafts movement theme). The breakfast is great food and the Dinner buffet is wonderful (great real food and excellent desserts)! The pricing is reasonable in comparison to the food and dining quality. I love it!
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   9/18/2004
Reviewer: gatormom Calilfornia     September 26, 2004
My fiance' and I had the opportunity to visit the Storyteller's Cafe' for dinner. We had the corn chowder and salad. I ordered the swordfish and he the ribs. I have to say the meal was excellent! Our waiter, Brent, told us that many folks come and order just the corn chower and corn bread. The sword fish was tender, cooked to perfection and had just the right amount of spices on it. The corn chowder gave me that "comfort food" feeling. I would order both again in a heart beat. I tried my fiance's ribs, they were so tender they sort of melted in your mouth. I am not a big fan of spicy food, nor am I a fan of bbq sauces, but the chef's have put just the right amount of both into the dishes that were served. I am not a big fan of vegetable, either, but the vegetable medley that was served was a perfect complement for the dishes and I ate them all.
The servers were wonderful, they took care of us from the moment we sat down until the moment we left.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Too many to count
Reviewer: pixie18 Califorina     May 30, 2004
I would tell anyone who visit's the Disneyland Resort to eat at Storytellers. The food is wonderful,so wonderful in fact my family and friends will drive ( an hour away) to the Resort to have Dinner there. You get fresh bread before the meal (white and corn) is always a plus in my book. The turkey sandwich ( which my mother swears is the best she ever had) cobb salad and make your own pizza are always yummy. Don't miss out the fresh fruit that comes with the meal the strawberries will melt in your mouth.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   February 1, 2004
Reviewer: Hyperboy Los Angeles, CA     February 04, 2004
Every time I am dragged to this restaurant I vow never to eat there again. This time I mean it. This place is on par with the Village Haus for the worst restaurant in the Disneyland Resort.

I've had terrible service there on numerous occassions and one time found hair baked into my pasta. I had to threaten the manager in order to get a different meal.

That aside, I was dragged there again on Sunday. Ordered a chicken sandwich for an overpriced $9.00. When the meals came, it was apparent that the food had been sitting there a long time -- everyone's soup was lukewarm and my sandwich bread was a soggy mush from having sat on the counter for so long. I sent the sandwich back and ordered the corn chowder instead.

The corn chowder came, lukewarm. I finished what tasted like canned corn chowder with bacon bits in it. I realized after eating some of it that the bacon in it was mushy and raw. Absolutely disgusting, so I didn't finish the bowl of soup. That evening and into the next day I was running to the bathroom every hour, to put it mildly.

I don't think that is the way you want to spend your money. Avoid Storyteller's Cafe at all costs.
 
3 out of 14 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   12/25/2003
Reviewer: christinek1234 Canada     January 31, 2004
Had breakfast here Christmas morning at 7:30am. Restaurant was packed already, we opted for the buffet. Our waitress was wonderful, informing us that it was the first Christmas that has had rain in 20 years there. Unfortunately for us, we came from the Pacific North "Wet", so we were not impressed!!! :-) Our waitress was also nice enough to let us know we could have anything off the menu that wasn't offered on the buffet, like Mickey Waffles. She was also very attentive with re-filling coffee, orange juice and water, leaving extra glasses of orange juice in fact! It was my pleasure to tip her well. We didn't order anything from the menu though. I find $20 each over-priced for a breakfast buffet, though there were some good choices and a fairly good mix of items, though nothing was overly impressive. I enjoyed the eggs benedict, the lox salmon & cream cheese and the fresh strawberries especially! Yum! The bacon was dry and over cooked, the scrambled eggs horrible, whatever the mexican tortilla casserole dish was, was terrible. There were lots and lots of bread/pastry items, but I never tried any, but there was quite a large variety. As for the characters we never got to interact with one, there were only Chip, Dale, and one other that I can't remember now, but they were at the entrance and quite busy with the little tots, so we never did get near to them. And, as my son is 13, it's not the reason we went to Storyteller's anyway, so this didn't take anything away from our experience but might for others with young children wanting to interact at their tables with the characters. We were staying at the Grand and thought it would be nice for Christmas Day breakfast. The restaurant itself is beautiful, and it was overall an o.k. experience.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   12/13/03
Reviewer: Alpha1mom Sonoma, CA     December 17, 2003
We had reservations for breakfast buffet. There was not alot of choices of food. (we had a voucher for $100.00, it wasn't worth the money)
We only saw the characters when we arrived, they never came to our table.
Goofy's Kitchen is MUCH BETTER!!!!
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   11/2/2003
Reviewer: DisneyQB     November 04, 2003
Went to cafe about 6:00pm on Sunday night, 2 adults and 2 children (2 & 4 years old). Not much of a wait, seated within five minutes. Our waiter, Juan, seemed to forget we were there and disappeared for quite some time.

After catching his eye across the restaraunt, he quickly scampered over to our table to finally take our order. Didn't get the buffet, at $25.00 a person, it is ridiculous for the food they offer. The kid buffet was $11 with a drink, but we didn't think adding $4 to the regular kids meal was worth a drink. Instead, we just got two drinks for me and my wife and our kids shared our drinks (free refills)

Ordered the turkey sandwich, which was very DRY and the bread was nearly burnt. Also ordered the spaghetti for $12.00.. was not that tasty, not worth the price. Kids meals were both the Mickey Nuggets.. tasteless as well, for $7.99. Would rather go to Wendy's and pay 99 cents.

(The Pizza Port kids' meal spaghetti inside DL's Tomorrowland for $4.99 was much better than the spaghetti at the cafe for nearly 2.5x the price)

Overall, a not worth the price we paid. Service from Juan was horrible.. he seemed more interested in the table of 12 (perhaps for the bigger tip).

Recommendation is to AVOID this place.. go anywhere else and you'll most likely find better value and TASTE.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   10/19/02-10/26/02
Reviewer: kisroo Oregon     December 15, 2002
Food: The food here was just ok for the price. I had a turkey burger which was quite dry and tasteless and hubby had a chicken dish that was so unforgettable, that I can't remember what exactly it was.
Service: Horrible! It was a slow, mid-week day off-season and we were on our honeymoon. We asked if we could sit close to a fireplace and were instead placed right next to a bussing service area off to the side. When I asked politely if we could be closer to the fireplace the hostess acted like we asked her if Mickey himself could seat us...She said there were only "family-sized" tables open and we would have to wait for a table. I found this quite ridiculous, since we could both clearly see tables open by the fireplace (and tables for 4...not huge tables specially for larger groups). Not being people to create a huge fuss, we kept our little table for 2. The service just seemed to get worse from there. Our wait person was dour to say the least and barely spoke to us. We had to ask 3x to receive water at our table and waited 20 minutes for our meals. After our meals came, we never saw our wait person again. The bus person came to clear our dishes and we waited. And waited. Finally, after 20 more minutes, we got up and went to the front. I explained that our waiter never brought our ticket and again, we were treated like we were asking something hugely beyond their capability when my husband said we wanted to pay and leave. The hostess actually told us we needed our ticket! Um, yeah...we KNOW...but the waiter never came back!!!
Price: For lunch, we ended up paying over $20 for 2 entrees, 1 soft drink and 1 beer. Even when we politely said to the hostess that our service and food left something to be desired, we paid full price. It was as if she wasn't even listening. She just wordlessly rang us up (no comp-ing a drink or anything to apologize for our less-than-satisfactory treatment) and gave us the bill to sign. Needless to say, we did NOT tip (which is out-of-the ordinary for us-we'd been tipping our wonderful concierge staff/housekeeping staff at the hotel each day and generally tip 15% when we go out...but both felt that this would be one way for us to try to comment on their service, since they didn't seem to be listening to our words...).

Side note: We did order room service one afternoon and got a hamburger and brownie delivered. It came from Storyteller's and was delicious. The room service person was fast, polite, and efficient~he WAS tipped generously and we really enjoyed both the burger and the dessert. So, I guess the food *can* be good there...We just didn't want to chance it on the service again, so take this for what it's worth. We were just thoroughly disappointed in the service that the restaurant staff provided.
 
8 out of 8 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3 4
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page