Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Grand Californian Hotel - Storytellers Cafe
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Lunch and dinner dishes feature fresh California ingredients. A weekend dinner buffet is offered.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.8 out of 53.8 out of 53.8 out of 53.8 out of 53.8 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 35 ( Displaying Reviews: 31 - 35 )
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   9/29/02
Reviewer: roberts1398 Sacramento, CA     December 12, 2002
Had a wonderful meal here. My son had a make your own pizza, where they brought the dough ready to be dressed, and bowls of sauce, cheese, and pepperoni to the table. He made it up, then they took it back and baked it. I had a piece and it was really yummy.

I had the special blackened prime rib, and I have to say, it was probably in the top 3 I've ever had (and I'm a serious prime rib junkie). Just the right amount of seasoning... hot enough to have a good bite, but not so hot that it takes away from the meat's flavor. And delicious garlic mashies and garlicky green beans. And as I recall, it was something like $17.95, which I found to be VERY reasonable for the quality of the meal.

I'd definitely recommend them to anyone (and have, LOL!)
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Thursday, Sept 5, 2002
Reviewer: darringer Monterey, CA     September 16, 2002
We had been wondering around looking for a nice, inexpensive place to eat. We walked through the GC hotel and came across this very quaint, warm resturaunt. We decided to try it out. We requested a booth and they promptly sat us in a very nice location. The place was very nicely decorated, going along with the GC theme. There was a fire burning in the center with tables all around. Being a cheaper place to eat there were a lot of children laughing and giggling, but nothing too much that made the noise unbareable. Our waiter was great! He kept our drinks full and was very pleasant and showed us lots of attention, but not too much as to be a bother. My wife and I ordered the pizza, which took about 5-10 minutes to cook. It was excellent. We just sat there for the longest time just enjoying the atmosphere and the food. We could say enough about the service and food. The enviroment was very casual, yet romantic. An A+ in my book for fine, yet cost-effective dining.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   0901-02
Reviewer: califtink Gold Country, Ca.     September 12, 2002
We went here because we had gone before and liked it. We still do. My first visit, I didn't try the buffet,and then wished I had( even though I enjoyed what I ordered). So went back to have the buffet and they didn't have it that night! That was last year. This time I made sure and then my sisters didn't want to do the buffet, and I didn't want to be the only one (I'm weird) so STILL haven't had it! Geez- maybe next time my husband & I go? So this time I had Oven Roasted Chicken, one sister had corn chowder which she loved, and the other had spaghetti, I believe. I coudn't even finish mine, it had vegetables and yummy garlic mashed potatoes. I spent $20 25 including tip .Our waiter was very good and nice, and they kept our water glasses filled! All of us were happy with our meal, and I think this is a beautiful restaurant.
 
2 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   August 24, 2002
Reviewer: kranders Santa Maria, CA     August 26, 2002
The food was good and the service was great. We made reservations for 7:30 and got right in. We decided against the buffet since we weren't that hungery and ordered off the menu, but the buffet looked great. I had the salmon and my wife split the baked chicken with my daughter. The food came quickly and was presented well, the waiter, Mike, was great. I was a little disappointed that the prime rib is only offered at the buffet and is not a menu item.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   numerous visits
Reviewer: awinner (awinner104@aol.com) encino, california     August 15, 2002
we goto this place quite a bit...in fact this is a place many of us mp'ers goto for dinner. try to make reservations, otherwise you can wait a while. i always get a hamburger there...it is a huge hamburger with cheddar & bacon and comes on a thick bun. my wife gets a turkey version of the same thing. she also likes the fruit platter ..it comes with this great banana bread. the salads their are really big. they serve while you wait for your meal these corn muffins and some of the best rolls you have ever had. they have a buffet, personally i think there are better buffets at goofys kitchen (for the money)...but i always seem to sneak a cookie or 4 on the way out from the buffet at storytellers. i have been told that the character breakfast with chip and dale is quite nice and toned down compared to the other character dining experiences.
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3 4
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page