Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Holiday Inn Nikki Bird Maingate
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
7300 Irlo Bronson Hwy 192, Kissimmee
Book this hotel now!
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.5 out of 53.5 out of 53.5 out of 53.5 out of 53.5 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 2 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 2 )
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   2/22 -3/2/02
Reviewer: scbaldry Plymouth, MN     September 11, 2003
An adequate hotel at a reasonable price, it is an acceptable choice if you plan to spend most of your waking hours at the parks.

We purchased the room as part of a air/hotel travel package. Based on published airfares at the time, it appears that we paid a rate of approximately $50/night for a standard room with one king bed and a sleeper sofa, small fridge and microwave. At that rate, you can't expect a lot, and the room and hotel were adequate, although barely clean. As a matter of fact, "adequate" is the word that describes virtually everything about this property. The complex is a large 70's era motel with 4 buildings, 3 pools, hot tubs, and a small sand play area. The lobby area is busy, but attractive, and staff is "adequate", although not particularly gracious or helpful. Located on a busy, and somewhat tacky/touristy commercial strip, it is the closest hotel to the main gate exit, with a stoplight right out front, so transportation is a snap. We had a car, so we didn't consider the shuttle, due to the restrictive schedule.

The 50's themed restaurant offers sit-down service, as well as an "all you can eat buffet" that draws visitors from other hotels and keeps it busy at most times. The food display is impressive with lots of choices including lobster and prime rib, and reasonable prices, but the food quality and service are again "adequate". Same story for breakfast. Eat one meal there when you are really hungry and quantity is more important than quality. There are many choices of chain restaurants in the area, all easy to get to.

Three large pools are spread out to service the different buildings. All needed to be a little warmer to facilitate outdoor swimming in late February. Promised kids entertainment was nowhere to be seen, but since we were there only to sleep, and spend an hour or so in the pool daily, other amenities weren't a big issue.

You won't return home raving about anything about this hotel, except the price -- but we also found it met our needs, so we would consider going back. That said, I think that there may be better choices for not much more money, so we will shop around before booking a return.
 
17 out of 17 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   12/28/02 - 1/03/03
Reviewer: Dougsmom98 Maine     January 07, 2003
We had a kidsuite room. I got the room for $69/night using their Priority Club. This hotel was very comfortable and convenient. The kidsuite was the type with 3/4 walls. It had a set of bunk beds, a junior bed, a TV, VCR and a Playstation. The Playstation cost $7/hr additional to use. I recommend hiding it if your kids like video games and you don't want the extra cost. The adult bed was queen size and comfortable. The room had a fridge, microwave, 4 cup coffee maker with complimentary coffee, sugar and nondairy creamer daily, a hair dryer, iron, ironing board and a second TV. There was more than one pool, but we used the one closest to our room. It was heated, large and not too crowded. We used room service which was through Angel's Diner which is their on-site restaurant. The burgers, fries and Pizza Hut pizza were very good. One night I got a salad which was good too. They have a breakfast buffet for $6.99. They allow you to take-out from the buffet. They gave me a large styrofoam container which I filled up with eggs, bacon, sausage, pancakes, fruit, potatoes and hash browns. They also give you a smaller container for pasteries. They had small danish, muffins, bagels... I brought this all back to the room and it was plenty of food for my husband, our small children, and me. The hotel is so convenient to the parks. You take a right out of the parking lot and take your first right onto World Drive. This was by far the closest hotel to Disney on RT 192. There is a traffic light right at the entrance to the hotel, so it is very easy to go either way on 192 which a busy road with lots of restaurants and shopping areas. The hotel is older and certainly not high class, but it was perfect for us with our two year old twins and our four year old. No matter how hard we tried our room was always a mess, but when we got back from Disney each day the room was always clean and neat. I really liked this hotel and will definately stay here again. I do have mixed feeling about the kidsuite. It does make the room more crowded, but it was nice to put the kids to bed in another room. Having a separate TV for the kids was nice too, but in all reality we were barely in the room to use it. When I got up early in the morning I could turn on the lights and it made it so the lights were not shining on the kids. My mother had a normal room and it seemed so much bigger when I went to visit her there, so you do have to weigh the pros and cons. The rate we paid for my mother's room was $59 for the standard room and we got a roll away bed for an additional $10/ night. Their roll away beds are not cots, they are regular twin sized beds on wheels. My nephew was very pleased with it. The standard room comes with the same amenities as the kidsuite room including the fridge, microwave, coffee maker, iron...
 
58 out of 59 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page