Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
 Main Directory: 
 
 
E-mail a Friend About Paradise Pier Hotel - Surf's Up! Breakfast with Mickey & Friends!
 
Want to tell someone about Paradise Pier Hotel - Surf's Up! Breakfast with Mickey & Friends? Just enter the information requested below and click on E-mail a Friend. *Neither your e-mail address nor theirs will be recorded, so you don't have to worry about these addresses being used for anything other than sending this message.

A template of the message sent is displayed below the mailing form.

 
Name of recipient: 
*E-mail of recipient: 
Your name: 
*Your e-mail address: 
Add a personal note? 
Add sample reviews? yes   no
Message Template
Hi RECIPIENT_NAME,

SENDER_NAME visited www.mouseplanet.com today, and thought the following item might be of interest to you.

Reviewer Comments For Click for more reviews!
Paradise Pier Hotel - Surf's Up! Breakfast with Mickey & Friends
Description:
This breakfast buffet at the PCH Grill features Mickey & friends (formerly the Lilo & Stitch character breakfast).
Average Reviewer Rating: 4.3 out of 54.3 out of 54.3 out of 54.3 out of 54.3 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 26 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 2 )
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   8/21/10
Reviewer: CariBelle Bakersfield, CA     August 25, 2010
Date of visit. 8/21/10
· Type of meal. Character Breakfast
· Service- Great!
Price- Fair
Food- Good
Atmosphere- Excellent

Our day started out with a big rush to get to our 8 AM PS on time, but we ended up being 20 minutes late. Thankfully the restaurant wasnt very crowded at this time so we were seated right away. When we checked in at the hostess stand the hostess asked us if we were celebrating anything (I hadnt mentioned anything on the phone) and I told her it was my friends birthday. She gave us a very cute birthday card for the characters to sign! Luckily I had thought ahead and brought a Sharpie (the clickable kind) just in case and it worked perfectly for this purpose. We were taken inside and went over to meet Mickey. He was with another family when we walked in and they were playing around on the floor (there were only 2 other parties dining at this time) but when he saw us waiting he came over and grabbed our hands and took us over to the photo op space. The picture was super cute with Mickey in his Lifeguard gear. After the picture we were taken to our table, our waitress came over almost immediately and took our drink orders and told us to dig in! Now, I have to preface this with saying that Im not much of a buffet eater. Not that I dont like buffets, I just dont tend to eat a lot at one sitting so I usually feel like I havent gotten my monies worth at one. I only made two trips through the line, but I do feel that I got a good variety of foods. Im allergic to egg yolks and dairy so they took out some of the dishes, but I still felt very full and satisfied at the end. My first plate consisted of a small Mickey waffle with warm maple syrup (yum!), some bacon that was actually crispy the way I like it, a piece of feta, spinach, and mushroom flat bread pizza that was very good, and the much talked about chocolate peanut butter French toast. I agree with the other reviews that this was not French toast, it was more like bread pudding and to my dismay it had bananas on top (I dislike them A LOT) but I was able to take a piece from the center that didnt have any banana on it. It was good but a little soggy when you are expecting French toast and not a bread pudding. My second plate was homemade granola that was very good, dried apricots, a small croissant, and some fresh fruit. I also tried the melon smoothie and it was pretty good! Our drinks were filled very quickly and our server was very good at making sure the plates were cleared and that we had flatware at all times.
Now on to the characters. When we showed up I was a little worried because only Mickey and Stitch were around, but over the course of our meal we also saw Goofy, Minnie, Pluto, and Max. All were decked out in beach gear and we had great interaction with all of them even when the restaurant started to pick up around 9:15. Each easily spent 5-10 minutes at our table taking pictures and signing the birthday card. Max even took several photos with each of us (although I think he was just really glad to be away from the table before us, the kids were punching him in the face and stomach!) and Stitch snuck up on me and pulled my chair back! Startled me but it was hilarious! At the end of the meal our server brought out a Mickey shaped brownie with a candle and all of the servers sang a birthday song while Goofy and Pluto did a little dance for us. Our bill came with two buttons with the breakfast logo on them. On our way out we stopped back by for one more picture with Mickey.
During breakfast the announcer would make the announcement that Mickey had to stay at the front of the PCH Grill because he was acting Lifeguard that day so he had to keep an eye on everyone which was pretty cute. Twice during the time we were there he invited all of the kids to come and take dance lessons from Mickey. They did the swim and a couple of other cute little dances and then did them all together as a little show for everyone. Very cute!
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   May 2, 2010
Reviewer: jenpace California     May 11, 2010
We were excited to try the new breakfast buffet at the PPH, especially after reading "Peanut butter chocolate french toast" on the menu.

The 1st impression as we were being escorted to our table was that it all seemed disorganized, especially compared to Storytellers or Goofy's Kitchen. There was no clear path from our table to the buffet without bumping into other diners sitting at their tables.

The food was pretty bad. We tried the omlette station, under cooked eggs swimming in some sort of yellow oil. We tried the plain scrambled eggs, just bad. We tried the potatoes, also bad. The kids tried the peanut butter chocolate french toast and both girls (7 and 11 y/o) declared them 'gross and soggy'.

The service was also way beneath the standard for any other Disney restaurant I've ever been to. Nobody came to clear plates so since it was a buffet, there were dirty dishes piling up on our table and the tables around us too. Bad show.

The character interaction was just *meh*. I think we had a total of 4 characters come by our table and they invested very little time or effort really in our table.