Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Paradise Pier Hotel - Surf's Up! Breakfast with Mickey & Friends
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
This breakfast buffet at the PCH Grill features Mickey & friends (formerly the Lilo & Stitch character breakfast).
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4.3 out of 54.3 out of 54.3 out of 54.3 out of 54.3 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 26 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 10 )
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   8/21/10
Reviewer: CariBelle Bakersfield, CA     August 25, 2010
Date of visit. 8/21/10
· Type of meal. Character Breakfast
· Service- Great!
Price- Fair
Food- Good
Atmosphere- Excellent

Our day started out with a big rush to get to our 8 AM PS on time, but we ended up being 20 minutes late. Thankfully the restaurant wasnt very crowded at this time so we were seated right away. When we checked in at the hostess stand the hostess asked us if we were celebrating anything (I hadnt mentioned anything on the phone) and I told her it was my friends birthday. She gave us a very cute birthday card for the characters to sign! Luckily I had thought ahead and brought a Sharpie (the clickable kind) just in case and it worked perfectly for this purpose. We were taken inside and went over to meet Mickey. He was with another family when we walked in and they were playing around on the floor (there were only 2 other parties dining at this time) but when he saw us waiting he came over and grabbed our hands and took us over to the photo op space. The picture was super cute with Mickey in his Lifeguard gear. After the picture we were taken to our table, our waitress came over almost immediately and took our drink orders and told us to dig in! Now, I have to preface this with saying that Im not much of a buffet eater. Not that I dont like buffets, I just dont tend to eat a lot at one sitting so I usually feel like I havent gotten my monies worth at one. I only made two trips through the line, but I do feel that I got a good variety of foods. Im allergic to egg yolks and dairy so they took out some of the dishes, but I still felt very full and satisfied at the end. My first plate consisted of a small Mickey waffle with warm maple syrup (yum!), some bacon that was actually crispy the way I like it, a piece of feta, spinach, and mushroom flat bread pizza that was very good, and the much talked about chocolate peanut butter French toast. I agree with the other reviews that this was not French toast, it was more like bread pudding and to my dismay it had bananas on top (I dislike them A LOT) but I was able to take a piece from the center that didnt have any banana on it. It was good but a little soggy when you are expecting French toast and not a bread pudding. My second plate was homemade granola that was very good, dried apricots, a small croissant, and some fresh fruit. I also tried the melon smoothie and it was pretty good! Our drinks were filled very quickly and our server was very good at making sure the plates were cleared and that we had flatware at all times.
Now on to the characters. When we showed up I was a little worried because only Mickey and Stitch were around, but over the course of our meal we also saw Goofy, Minnie, Pluto, and Max. All were decked out in beach gear and we had great interaction with all of them even when the restaurant started to pick up around 9:15. Each easily spent 5-10 minutes at our table taking pictures and signing the birthday card. Max even took several photos with each of us (although I think he was just really glad to be away from the table before us, the kids were punching him in the face and stomach!) and Stitch snuck up on me and pulled my chair back! Startled me but it was hilarious! At the end of the meal our server brought out a Mickey shaped brownie with a candle and all of the servers sang a birthday song while Goofy and Pluto did a little dance for us. Our bill came with two buttons with the breakfast logo on them. On our way out we stopped back by for one more picture with Mickey.
During breakfast the announcer would make the announcement that Mickey had to stay at the front of the PCH Grill because he was acting Lifeguard that day so he had to keep an eye on everyone which was pretty cute. Twice during the time we were there he invited all of the kids to come and take dance lessons from Mickey. They did the swim and a couple of other cute little dances and then did them all together as a little show for everyone. Very cute!
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   May 2, 2010
Reviewer: jenpace California     May 11, 2010
We were excited to try the new breakfast buffet at the PPH, especially after reading "Peanut butter chocolate french toast" on the menu.

The 1st impression as we were being escorted to our table was that it all seemed disorganized, especially compared to Storytellers or Goofy's Kitchen. There was no clear path from our table to the buffet without bumping into other diners sitting at their tables.

The food was pretty bad. We tried the omlette station, under cooked eggs swimming in some sort of yellow oil. We tried the plain scrambled eggs, just bad. We tried the potatoes, also bad. The kids tried the peanut butter chocolate french toast and both girls (7 and 11 y/o) declared them 'gross and soggy'.

The service was also way beneath the standard for any other Disney restaurant I've ever been to. Nobody came to clear plates so since it was a buffet, there were dirty dishes piling up on our table and the tables around us too. Bad show.

The character interaction was just *meh*. I think we had a total of 4 characters come by our table and they invested very little time or effort really in our table.
 
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   November 30, 2009
Reviewer: 4lmo San Jose, CA     December 03, 2009
We loved the Lilo and Stich breakfast!! The character interaction was just great!! We've done Goofy's Kitchen and loved that too. I think we agreed that we liked this one more. The seating area isn't as large as Goofy's. The ambiance just seemed relaxed. Our reservations were for 9:30 a.m. We were seated at about 9:40 a.m. Not a problem as Stich kept comming by the entry way and waiving to us. We saw Daisy, Max, Minnie, Pluto, and Lilo and Stich of course!! All the characters walked around and came to our table except for Minnie. She stay's put in her posted area for a specific amount of time. Twice an hour the kids are rounded up to learn the hula. Just too funny watching the kiddos!! Stich was hamming it up playing his air guitar to one of the Elvis songs. The food was great!! The terriaki salmon was delish, as well as the bannana french toast and the bannana smoothie. I did read other reviews about the food being cold. I probably could have avoided that if I had requested my made-to-order omlet first and then piled on the other food after. Adults were $21, 2 and under were free, children 3-? were $11 -- for buffet of course. Got word that Lilo and Stich Aloha Breakfast will be gone as of Dec 11, 2009. Comming in will be Surfin Mickey - quite rare to see Mickey outside of the park. Get in soon if you want to see Lilo and Stich!!!
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   May 20, 2009
Reviewer: DebT Modesto, CA     May 21, 2009
Our party of seven (2 six year olds, 1 teenager & 4 adults) had prefered seating for 8:30am. We were seated on time. Daisy Duck was greeting people in the main area. Lilo and Stitch visited our table several times. Half way through our meal, Daisy was replaced by Minnie Mouse. This was our fourth visit to Lilo and Stitch and thought the food was better than ever. Love, loved the hash browns. Best flavor of any restaurant hash browns I ever had. The Mickey pancakes were fresh and fluffy. My husband had eggs and chorizo (sp)made to order at the omlet bar and went back for seconds. The fruit was very good quality. Also really like the salmon. Definitely looking forward to another visit.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   8/8/08
Reviewer: dwirtala Bothell, WA     August 27, 2008
We had 9:30am priority seating for the Lilo & Stitch breakfast at Paradise Pier. We waited less than 5 minutes to be seated. The food was fresh and excellent and replenished often. We loved the California scramble, the bacon was perfectly cooked, all of the pastries were very fresh and in plenty. The Mickey Mouse pancakes and waffles were a hit with our kids. Plenty of fresh fruit and the banana, honey, yogurt smoothie was surprisingly delicious. Our server was attentive and made sure we always had refills or milk for cereal. We got to visit and get pictures with Lilo, Stitch, Daisy, Max and Pluto. The official picture takers took the kids' pictures with Max and Daisy but we got our own pictures with all of the characters. We were really pleasantly surprised by the quality and quantity of food offered.

Everything about this experience was great - we used our AAA card to get a 10% discount which was nice. Its a lot of food so we try to make it a brunch type thing to make it worth the cost.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Thursday 12-6-07
Reviewer: WhichIsStitch Flagstaff, AZ     December 27, 2007
Since my husband is a huge fan of Stitch we decided to have breakfast here rather than the Goofy breakfast we had done twice in the past. We had reservations for 9:30 am and walked a very short distance from the Disneyland Hotel where we were staying. We had never been inside the Paradise Pier Hotel before. Every area we saw was spotless and decorated beautifully for the holidays. We arrived at the restaurant and were seated within a few minutes. One thing we noticed immediately was the difference in the number of characters between this breakfast and Goofy's kitchen. Since it is only the two of us, no kids, Goofy's can get a little manic at times. It seemed, the day we went, that the Stitch breakfast is much more low key. We saw Stitch, Lelo, Minnie, Daisy, and I think Pluto. There is a photographer available for posed pics and he was nice enough to take a photo with our own camera for us. The food was great and plenty of it. Very fresh and tasty. Our server CM was great and check often to be sure we had everything we needed.
One thing that was funny was that we had made reservations for the breakfast through a travel agency. The agency said we would be able to pick up the tickets for the breakfast at the reservation desk when we got there. We thought they meant the desk of the Paradise Pier so when we got the breakfast bill we looked at each other and went "Huh?"
We explained to the server who went and got the manager who was as confused as we were. He went to check with the hotel desk. He came back a short time later and apologized profusely explaining the tickets were back at the Disneyland Hotel where we were staying. He said the computers weren't connected between the hotels so there wasn't a way he could access them with the Paradise Pier system. My husband, who is tall and walks really fast, said he'd just run back and get them. In the meantime, both the manager and our server visited our table more than once continuing to apologize. I thought that was funny since it was in no way any error on their part but more on ours for not understanding how to get the tickets. This character breakfast was great especially for a low key, quieter character interaction. Oh......Stitch kept trying to eat my Hawaiian shirt cause it had pineapples on it!!!! Totally Fun!!!
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   09/23/07
Reviewer: ekkhogge Honolulu, HI     October 02, 2007
Breakfast Character Meal: Service was good. We waited at most 5 minutes to be seated (we had PS for 7:30am). We had the option of ordering off the menu but opted for the buffet. Love the coconut scones with the pineapple sauce. The menu listed the buffet at $21.99/adult (Fiance paid the bill so I am not sure how much it actually cost) and we used either AAA or AP for 10% off. They only had one activity while we were there for the kids. They did the hula dancing (didn't have the island hopping while we were dining). The characters didn't seem to interact as much as usual with my daughter, but this is still my favorite character meal.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   first week of March 2007
Reviewer: Inkyprintz Schaumburg, IL     June 23, 2007
I have experienced a number of Disney character meals and have always found the food to be good and the character experience fun. This visit to the Lilo & Stitch Breakfast was quite disappointing. On the plus side, we did not have reservations but were seated fairly quickly. Our first trip to the buffet was a little alarming. Pretty much everything was picked over or empty. What was left was dried out or cold. We found a few things to take back to the table and by the second time up the quality was much better. The selection however seemed limited compared to other Disney character buffets. I can't say that any particular dish was exceptionally tasty. They were mediocre-nothing memorable. We were able to pick enough acceptable slections and did not leave hungry! Thirsty is another story. After an initial round of juice, another drink was just not to be had! Not that I didn't ask. And ask. And ask. I asked our server, busboys, other servers, the manager - I would've asked Minnie Mouse but she never came to our table! (at least Lilo & Stiotch came by as we were preparing to leave.) I never did get a glass of water or another glass of juice. Normally I would've shown my displeasure in the tip but to my disappointment, the tip was included in the bill. I can understand that policy for large parties but not for a party 2. I do not think I will return to this character breakfast again. We spent over $50 for a character breakfast for 2 consisting of food that was just ok, next to no character interaction and sub-par service.

 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   August, 23, 2006
Reviewer: ralfrick San Francisco Bay Area     September 05, 2006
Food wise the omlettes and pastries/muffins were great, banana french toast sounded better than it tasted, and pancakes/waffles were brought out en mass so you want to get them when they're fresh. Going by 3 year old memory, Goofy's is a bit better for quality and selection, but this wasn't bad by any stretch. We saw Lilo, Stitch, Pluto, Daisy and Minnie (who was walking out and never returned, but in all fairness we'd requested the latest possible seating). There was a guy playing games with kids periodically, and Stitch participated as well.

Stich is my boy's fave, and at the talk with Stitch at Innoventions, I dropped a word to the CM to have Stitch invite us. Had I thought of this in advance, I'd have told also him the time. We monopolised him a bit more than normal by having a CM take some pics of us by a backdrop, and my son had to show him his binder of Stitch pins (28 bought on this trip. His allowance savings-at least he specializes). I'd worried about the distance to the parks until I saw that it was the same as the DL Hotel if you cut through the Grand Cal lobby.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   6/26/2006
Reviewer: cpeak     July 01, 2006
We arrived about 20 minutes early, yet they were still able to sit us in less than a minute. Our waiter helped us quickly. My 2 dd and I had the buffet while my mom ordered from the menu. Her food was delivered quickly and the buffet was wonderful. Character interaction was great. We relaxed at our seats and they came to us, so the girls ended up eating a lot. We saw Max, Minnie, Lilo, and Stitch. DDs played a game with Stitch and did the hula with Lilo. The guy who was helping with the games and hula was funny and entertaining. The has been our favorite character meal so far! I would definetly do this meal again before doing the others.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page