Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Paradise Pier Hotel - Disney's PCH Grill
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
The PCH Grill is the family restaurant of the Paradise Pier Hotel, and features a constantly-evolving menu.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.1 out of 53.1 out of 53.1 out of 53.1 out of 53.1 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 9 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 9 )
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Dec 13-16 2010
Reviewer: GotDrums Piqua, Ohio     January 01, 2011
Great stay at the Paradise Pier. Ive been to Disneyland many, many times since the 60's but have never stayed on property before. I will return to this place. We stayed on the concierge level in a cabana room which had a patio that faced the pool very nice. Went around Dec 13/2010 very warm temps so we did use the pool and slide. The slide does not exit into the pool which was kind of a bummer. The room was great and I talked to some other folks who were locals that regularly stay here during the holidays. They told me the rooms here were actually larger than the Grand Californian at one quarter of the price for concierge level. The food and snacks in the private concierge level were plentiful and great. The staff here did a great job and even encouraged us to grab six packs of water to take into the park. They never said no to bringing food back to the room or drinks (including wine and beer). Yoshi the beverage and food manager does a great job here as well as Timothy and the rest of the concierge staff who added a lot of Disney magic to our stay. We had 5 first time visitors with us and the staff at the desk gave them first timer badges and they were recognized all around the Paradise Pier and given little keepsake gifts by staff. Sorry to say the badges must have disappeared once we entered the parks where staff never (not once) recognized them once. That was the only down side about our trip. Don't miss the character breakfast here as well. It is interactive with a great Disney cast member who will get you up dancing with Mickey and the gang. Lots of fun and the food was fantastic. All for a very reasonable price.
Lots of stuff going on here during Christmas including some carolers who sang in the lobby (incredible voices).
I cant say enough about the staff here. Stay at the Paradise Pier-Disneylands best kept secret.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   2/14/2009
Reviewer: palal67 Orange County, California.     February 15, 2009
My wife and I used to love this place. It's been a few years since we were here last and were we disappointed. The service was incredibly slow. Our entire experience took 90 minutes. Although the staff was nice, the service was very slow. The menu used to be a California cuisine style food. Now it is burgers, pizza and a few menu items off the grill. I ordered a bacon burger and my wife ordered a pizza. The food was adequate, although my burger was well-done and not medium like I ordered. The pizza was good. The problem is the price of the food should match the quality of the food. This was not a $10 burger. Also, the appetizer bread was horrible. My suggestion is that if you're disparate to eat at a Disney restaurant this is the last place you'll want to go to. Maybe in a few years things will change.
 
1 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   10/14/2007
Reviewer: Mermaid Glendale, AZ     October 17, 2007
We ate here after Mouse Adventure and were pleasantly surprised. We had a PS reservation for 9 people and were seated right away. They have a pretty big menu with something for everyone. After a bad experience with the pizza at Storyteller's I was a little wary, but I decided to go for it. I got the Hawaiian and it was good. Not great, but pretty good. Others in our party got the quesidillas, salad, and various sandwiches which they all enjoyed. Everyone who ordered the mushroom soup raved about it! The table next to us got the steaks and chicken and more "real" food which also looked great! For desert we ordered the Kitchen Sink which came with 10 scoops of ice cream and "everything that goes on ice cream and some things that don't" according to our waitress. We told her to hold the cheese, LOL! The service was outstanding and the bill came to $200 including tax and tip for 9 people about half of whom ordered alcohol as well. If you are at the Paradise Pier, check it out!
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   10/25/05
Reviewer: couchlady Hanford, CA     October 28, 2005
We had dinner at the PCH Grill on the second night of our three night visit. The restaurant was not crowded at all. Only 1/4 of the tables were occupied with three waiters working the floor. The service was great at first. Our waiter was there quickly to take our order and then to bring us one refill on our drinks. After that, however, he and the rest of the staff disappeared. Service was non-existent. We tried to get a glass of water for our daughter and that took about 10 minutes to accomplish in a restaurant that only had 5 tables occupied. We are annual pass holders and told the waiter that ahead of time. He did not give us our APH discount. Getting that resolved took 10 minutes. Then when our waiter brought back the check, it took over 15 minutes to get the waiter to pick up the check and bring me back my change. In that time, I could have walked the check and no one would have know. I wouldn't have, but it was very frustrating to just sit there being ignored. This restaurant, it's management, and it's staff do not live up to the Disney reputation of great service.
 
3 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   June 2005
Reviewer: JiminyCricket Phoenix, Arizona     June 08, 2005
I selected this restaurant for dinner because Disney Visa was giving a 10% discount here. This was really a miserable experience. I received poor quality food at extremely high prices with poor service in this sparsely themed restaurant. The restaurant was 3/4 empty, but servers could not refill a water glass if their life depended on it. Another family at the table next to mine was getting the same poor service. In addition, there they ordered cheese fries and did not receive bacon bits on it. When they inquired about getting a menu again to check to see if bacon bits were in the description, the server refused to bring them one. She finally expained that people had gotten sick with the bacon bits. About that time another server came around the courner and delivered a cheese fries WITH the bacon bits. Please avoid this restaurant or you might be getting sick from it. Believe me, you will not miss anything there.
 
3 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   April 2004
Reviewer: babytmakes5 Twin Cities, Minnesota     March 19, 2005
I would definitely recommend eating at the PCH Grill. We had never been to Disneyland or the resort hotels before, so we made reservations for all of our dinners. We dined at the PCH Grill our first night in the parks, and since we have a two hour time change with three small children, we reserved a 4 o'clock dinner. With dinner at 4 o'clock we had no crowds at all. In fact, we were the only ones in the restaurant! No other patrons came in during our entire experience, which bothers me a little. But, nonetheless, we did enjoy our meal. The food was really good, although I felt the menu was a little limited. Our children made their own pizzas and had all the attention of the server and cooks as they watched their pizzas cooking. That part was really fun, and the fact that we were the only ones there made it nice because we had great service. Our glasses were always filled, and overall, the service was excellent. Our server even gave the kids some autographed pictures of Minnie Mouse--which they absolutely loved. I don't know why the restaurant wasn't filled--it was midweek during off-season, but I don't know why more people wouldn't dine here. The only reason I might consider not coming back to the PCH Grill would be that it is far away from Disneyland--walking distance, that is. We wanted to see a parade right after dinner, and we had to really walk FAST. With three kids 5 and under, this was a problem, but we made it just in time to get a good place to watch the parade on Main Street. The prices were great, the food was tasty, the kids enjoyed their experience, and the service was attentive. Too bad all the restaurants Disneyland offers aren't this good!
 
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   12/12/04, 5/9/04
Reviewer: robert fleming Glendora,Ca.     February 10, 2005
Held a team banquet at the PCH Grill. The manager allowed us to make our own banquet menu from the regular menu instead of using their banquet menu. Was able to save about 6-8 dollars person by doing this. The staff was very helpful with the whole set up. They even put us in the back and close the sliding glass doors for us. the food was great and the service awesome. Being a AP holder we even got our 10% off the whole banquet bill, which was about 40 people. Great time by all. The December Banquet even had the Christmas Carolers come by and sing for the group. Lots of fun.
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   10/7/04
Reviewer: Circuskiss Anaheim, California     October 08, 2004
This place is getting a bad rap. We live adjacent to the Disney resort area, and often take our nightly walk through the park and hotels. This is one of our favorite places to eat in the whole resort area. Prices are very resonable (about what you would expect to pay at a Dennys or I-Hop) but are very fair for the portions you recieve. The wife and I are hearty eaters, but we can share their half salad/soup combo and have our appities satisfied. The first time ordering this, we actually asked the server if it was a half salad because of its surprising size. The service can be a bit sketchy, not as good as some places in the resort area, but better than you get when your not at the park. Plus, my son loves the bendy straws and kids menu. I would recomend this out of the beaten path spot for dinner, a nice break from the crowds of the park and Downtown Disney.
 
6 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   12/21/02
Reviewer: uniontrack (uniontrack@hotmail.com) Tooele, UT     January 12, 2003
I had called ahead to reserve a late lunch PS for this restaurant since we had a coupon in the travel agent-provided Funbook for 10% off the total lunch bill at the PCH Grill. We were told we had a 2pm PS for Saturday, the day we arrived for our trip. When we get to the PCH Grill, they had our reservation, but we were told by the hostess that the only option for a meal here was the character Buffet Brunch, and she told us that the buffet closed at 2:!5, but we could "linger for another 15 minutes." Very rude. I had repeateded asked the hostess that we had lunch reservations, and she told me this was lunch. We had only planned to pay about $30 for the total meal here, but the character buffet was almost $20 per person. We ate the buffet, which was very nominal in quality and selection. Very kid-friendly comfort food here like corn dogs and chicken nuggets. I can say this since I have lived in Las Vegas for over 6 years and know what a real buffet looks like and costs. When we got the bill and saw the high price, I complained to the server and the manager about how we were told we could have a normal menu lunch here but were forced into the buffet. The characters were very polite and nice, especially Minnie, Daisy and Max. The server did the right thing and got us a 15% discount on the meal for the mistake so we felt better about the meal. Service: Server(great)- Hostess/Management (very poor), Price: very poor, Food: OK, not enough selection and quality was low, Atmosphere: Decent, The restaurant was clean and the staff was OK. The Characters were polite to leave us to our meals and spend more time with the big families. Overall, I might go back the Paradise Pier Hotel to go to the Japanese restauranht, but I won't waste the time and the walk to get to the PCH Grill.
 
3 out of 11 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page