Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Swim with Dolphins (PV-13)
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
"Hitch a ride from a passing dolphin as you take to the water to swim and play with these friendly mammals. Get to know these creatures through hugs, rubs and even kisses in this unique experience."
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 2 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 2 )
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   July 12
Reviewer: mkraemer Palo Alto, California     July 22, 2005
Our experience is very similar to the one described by Disneyphile, except I think we had more people on this excursion because we had two dolphins per group.

My family of five was paired with a family of four, and that seemed to work out fine.

We were instructed to not touch the dolphins' heads, eyes, or blowholes (that's logical). The dolphins seem very well trained and are not threatening.

We had time to 'get acquainted' with the dolphins in the water, meaning that they'd swim around our group and we could touch/pat them with flat open palms as they passed by. It was an amazing experience to be in such close proximity these powerful animals. Their skins are so smooth to the touch and you can feel how muscular they are.

The 'kisses' (basically when the dolphin rests his nose against your cheek or head) made for a great photo op.

Being able to hold onto the dolphin's flipper (we had one dolphin per person for most of our group; for single riders, they held onto one flipper from each dolphin and 'rode' gladiator style!) and go for a ride partway around the pool was an amazing experience.

So, you're gonna go all that way, and spend all that money for the experience and NOT buy the $40 DVD? Unlikely, I'd guess. We ponied up the money for it as well as photos (which, after I'd thought about it, we could have probably pulled off the DVD and printed at home--there's a suggestion).

All of us had a great experience, and I'm really glad we booked this excursion. I'd recommend it highly and would probably do it again.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Tuesday, June 7th, 2005
Reviewer: Disneyphile (disneyphile@gmail.com) Garden Grove, CA     June 14, 2005
After a brief presentation, swimmers were given life jackets then divided into two groups of approximately 15 people each, and taken to opposite sides of the pool. 6 dolphins were housed there - 3 for each group, led by two trainers. A photographer and videographer were also on-hand to capture the experience.

The dolphins were very friendly and gentle, and loved to receive belly rubs. The key here was to listen to the trainer, who instructed us to not follow the dolphins, but instead allow the dolphins to follow us. Most people didn't listen, but I did, and the dolphins seemed to pay more attention to me.

After about 20 minutes, there was a photo opportunity to get a "kiss" and hug from a dolphin, which was very magical.

After another 15 minutes of playing with the dolphins, we were directed to the opposite end of the pool where the dolphins would come "pick us up" for a "belly ride". The dolphin swam up alongside, I grabbed her pectoral fins as instructed, and pulled myself up for a trip across the pool. There I was, *riding* a dolphin!

At the end of the experience, the photos and videos are available for purchase. Photos are high-quality and cost $10 each. The video is available in VHS ($38) and DVD ($44) formats. T-shirts are nicely priced from $12-$15 for embroidered designs.

This was the most amazing "off-the-Magic" experience of the entire trip. It's definitely the experience of a lifetime!
 
12 out of 12 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page