Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Ralph Brennan's Jazz Kitchen
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
The Jazz Kitchen is really three restaurants in one, featuring a quick-service Cafe, ground-floor Flambeaux room, or the more formal second-floor Dining Room.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.1 out of 53.1 out of 53.1 out of 53.1 out of 53.1 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 21 ( Displaying Reviews: 11 - 20 )
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   Late June, 2004
Reviewer: Nicole California     July 03, 2004
Went to a conference reception at the JK. Room was soooo dim. Told that the lights didn't get any brighter than that. "Sorry, everyone asks..." Dinner was served 2 hours late, no explanation. The salad was tiny and wilted. Who's idea is it to plop some mashed potato, then plop a few sad veggie bits and then lay a pounded piece of chicken on top of it? Would you ever do that at home? (Even if it is trendy right now to pile food) We had bread plates, but no bread. Dessert came in, so long after, people had gotten up to mingle. So, most didn't get the Costco sliced cheesecake dessert. We were charged additionally for soft drinks. Food was OK, but not worth what the menu price was. The room was stuffy and too dim. Most ended up on the slim veranda, as a result. Not impressed. Won't be going for dinner anytime soon. (P.S. the event cost $85 per person.)
 
6 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   2004
Reviewer: TP2000 Villa Park, CA     June 30, 2004
Ralph Brennan's opened in '01 with much success and I was an immediate fan. But after a couple of years the service really started to go downhill with each visit, and I have since stopped patronizing Brennan's. The food was always delicious; the duck, the sausage stuffing, the oysters and the bananas foster were my particular favorites. The bar always made great cocktails. But four consecutive visits in a row last winter/spring the service went downhill and ranged from mediocre to simply awful. I can understand having an off night once in awhile, but the bad service definitely became a trend rather than an anamoly. The last straw was the night they seemed to be "out of" the most popular items (even decaf coffee!) and our waiter gave us that news with a big dollop of snotty attitude instead of gracious apologies. Visit Ralph Brennan's only if there is no wait and you feel like rolling the dice with potentially bad service and poor hospitality from the hostesses and waiters.
 
5 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   May 22, 2004
Reviewer: kdrickard California     June 09, 2004
We had dinner at the Jazz Kitchen on May 22nd. The food and service were good, but the best part is that it was during prom night season and the people watching was great. My wife and I had a seat next to a window looking out onto DTD were able to enjoy watching groups of high school students making their way around DTD for prom night. The food and service were easily a 4 planet rating, but the unrushed service and time of year to look out on DTD and people watch made this a 5 planet dining experience for us.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   12/24/2003
Reviewer: christinek1234 (christinek@myself.com) Canada     January 18, 2004
We went here Christmas Eve. There was a light rain outside but we noticed the balcony was open so we asked to sit outside anyway. When I sat down I immediately felt the seat was wet, so I told the host, to which he replied, "Flip the cushion"....I did. The rain seemed to be coming sideways and I could not enjoy myself anymore, and the awning actually began leaking huge drips on to all the diners, so we had to move inside,as did the entire balcony. Waiter said the awning was not made with the thought of keeping rain off people. We had appetizer sampler, very, very good. Had 2 oyster shooters (delicious), coconut shrimp and a crab egg roll for $11. For dinner I had "turducken"($20)...It was very good, however, it was totally cold when it arrived. I have to assume that it's plated beforehand and then heated up,and that mine forgot to get heated! My son had the waiter's recommendation, a pounded chicken breast entree ($20)and he said it was very good. For dessert we shared banannas foster ($12). The presentation done table side is nice, though we did have to wait awhile as the waiter said there is only one prep cart and there were about 3 tables ahead of us. Had 2 glasses of wine. Total bill was $100 including $20 tip. I thought our waiter was fantastic, the atmosphere wonderful, and if my food would have arrived hot, it would have been a perfect dinner.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   August 2003
Reviewer: Mickeyslittlehelper Canada     November 09, 2003
While walking down Downtown Disney we wanted something quick to eat. We noticed the "Express food" place from Jazz Kitchen. Myself not being interested in the food associated with Jazz, I was really surprised. I was able to get a sandwich type thing and a special strawberry drink at a good price. The food was quick, very good, and at a good price.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   June 2002
Reviewer: reagansmommy Richland, WA     October 24, 2003
I rated this restaurant at 4 planets because of the setting. We loved the New Orleans feel and visited in the early evening, on a Saturday night. That said, we were still seated within 20 minutes. Live jazz played downstairs, and we sat on the upstairs outdoor balcony with a great view of Downtown Disney. It was really nice because even though we were there in June, it was chilly in the evenings and the Jazz Kitchen had heaters on the outdoor balcony to keep everyone comfortable.
Food: My husband and I ordered the blackened tuna, and I believe my sister-in-law had the rosemary chicken. She said it was very good. Our tuna was just OK. Wine was great!
Service: Very good. Our waitress was very attentive and knew the menu very well.
Atmosphere: Awesome if you like the "New Orleans night-life" type stuff. Overall we would probably go back after we try lots of other places first.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   September 6, 2003
Reviewer: mickeyfan144 Guerneville, CA     September 16, 2003
This was our first visit to Ralph Brennans. We were on a time crunch and they had a 20 minute wait. We advised the hostess of our time problem and were seated in 5 minutes. Our waitress was friendly and made great recommendations. I had the Filet and my husband had the Blackened Ribeye, both were wonderful. The drinks were also very good. My one comment would be that the music was a bit loud. Otherwise, I would highly recommend and look forward to our next visit.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   April 26, 2003
Reviewer: miss bianca California     April 29, 2003
Hubby and I just ate there this last Saturday. We were SO looking forward to this meal and it turned out to be very disappointing. We started with the Soups 1-1-1 which are tasting portions of the French Onion Soup, Gumbo Ya-Ya and a Lamp w/ White Bean Soup.. I have to say all were excellent but then it got bad. Geoff had the special which was a yellowfish (yellowtail?) meal w/ vegetables & potatoes. He said it was average tasting - not bad but not great. I don't eat fish so I didn't taste it. I had the chicken skewers over popcorn rice. Very Blah - but thats not the bad part. About four bites into one of my chicken skewers I realized that my chicken was RAW in the middle. Not undercooked but RAW. There were 4 skewers total so I check the other 3 and they were fine. I called the waitress over and showed her the chicken. She said "Oh I'm sorry" BUT never offered to replace it!!! So needless to say I was no longer in the mood to eat the remaining pieces of chicken. The waitress did come by later and noticed that I had eaten nothing but bread and offered ME (note: not me and my husband just me) a free dessert. So instead of forking over even more $$ we decided to split the Beignets. All in all I was very annoyed about spending $70 on a meal that sucked.
 
3 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   2 August 2002
Reviewer: CarlieB New Zealand     September 19, 2002
While we were at the resort during our recent visit it was my boyfriend's birthday. We were travelling with a couple of friends, and decided it would be nice to go out for dinner to celebrate. We ended up at Ralph Brennans, and really enjoyed ourselves. We were seated upstairs on the balcony, with great views of the area below. Our waiter was superb, and we felt well looked after the whole evening. We started with a pre-dinner drink from the excellent cocktail list, and then ordered our meals. I started with the gumbo ya-ya, which was delicious. I then had one of the evening's specials, which was duck. It was very good. Everyone else enjoyed their meals also - my boyfriend and one of our friends had the veal (which I tried), and said it was excellent. We decided to have dessert, the highlight of which was the Bananas Foster, which was prepared table-side by our waiter, providing great entertainment for us and the diners around us! We shared this and a couple of other desserts between us (the bread pudding, which was nice, but a little stodgy and a chocolate dessert which was also okay). We finished the meal with coffees and wandered over to the park to catch the late show of Fantasmic.

My ratings for Ralph Brennan's;
Service: Excellent
Price: Expensive but worth it. Our meal for 4, including pre-dinner drinks, wine and tip came to $245
Food: Very good
Atmosphere: Excellent. The balcony had a great viw, and I especially liked the central staircase in the restaurant.
 
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   October 22-25, 2001
Reviewer: tlovesdis Antioch, CA     August 28, 2002
Food was bland and overpriced. Service was awful. It was not busy when we were there, yet we were there forever! Would not eat here again!
 
3 out of 10 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page