Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Ralph Brennan's Jazz Kitchen
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
The Jazz Kitchen is really three restaurants in one, featuring a quick-service Cafe, ground-floor Flambeaux room, or the more formal second-floor Dining Room.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.1 out of 53.1 out of 53.1 out of 53.1 out of 53.1 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 21 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 10 )
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   December 26, 2010
Reviewer: Andrew (andrew@mouseplanet.com) Palo Alto, CA     January 03, 2011
We went to Brennan's to try their N'awlins Brunch Fest and Bloody Mary bar. The latter turned out to be more of a "you call it, we'll make it" than the implied do-it-yourself, but that's probably for the best.

What we had:
Southern Garlic Cheese Bread (shared appetizer) - fresh bread with Basil, mozzarella, roasted garlic & olive oil puree. Luscious, cheesy, garlicy.
Bloody Mary Bar custom (Jennifer) - with broiled spicy shrimp and Absolut Peppar vodka; Cajun Bloody Mary off the menu (me). The Marys were both really good. We each tried them both but I preferred mine, which was authentically Cajun flavored.
Pork Debris and Eggs (Jennifer) - this is basically a Benedict with pork and portabella mushrooms. I didn't try it (nonmammaltarian) but she loved it.
Crab cake & eggs (me) - again, a Benedict but with a fabulous crabcake substituting for the english muffin. Quite good but the potatoes included tiny bits of diced pork, which was not mentioned on the menu and which I had to pick out. I did leave a comment suggesting they mention the presence of meat in items which appear to be solely vegetable (potatoes).

We finished with a small order of beignets, which were wonderful as always. Fresh, hot, covered in powdered sugar.

Service: Pretty good. We were seated outside, which turned out to be a good thing when the very loud live band started playing inside, but did mean that our server had to remember to come out to check on us occasionally. It wasn't really a problem.

Would we go back: Oh my yes. Planning to do so after disembarking from the 2-night Cruise to Nowhere later this month.
 
3 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   July 12 & 14, 2010
Reviewer: Cyberkang Canby, Oregon     July 22, 2010
Didn't actually go in and sit down at Ralph's - only picked up a family-size beignet each day in the morning. They were by far the best I'd ever had, and have a hard time imagining that they could be done better than that!

Breakfast of champions!
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   10/2/07
Reviewer: Sussya Phoenix, AZ     October 06, 2007
This was one of the worst places we ate on our entire trip. We ate on the Express side of the restaurant. The food wasn't very good, and the service even worse. We ate salads, and the kids had kids' meals. It took the cashier forever to acknowledge us, and he was rude when he took our order. It took way too long for the food to arrive, too. The bill came to $45 and the food wasn't even very good. We decided to experiment a bit more on this trip, and were sorry we did. Next time we'll stick to our old stand-by favorites.
 
2 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   5/24/07
Reviewer: tinkpirate Scottsdale, AZ     May 24, 2007
We just had dinner here tonight and it was so bad I needed to write this review right away. First we decided upon the place based on the menu after looking the other downtown disney dining earlier in the day. We made an early dinner reservation at 5:30 and commented that we would like to be outside on the patio. The hostess was very nice and said that she could not guarentee seating, but it was a possibility. At 5:15 we arrived and they informed us that we couldn't sit on the patio until six. Three hours ago, 5:30 was fine and now its not? Confused about this we inquired further until they said we could sit on the patio upstairs...I don't know why they didn't just have us sit on the upstairs patio in the first place...we just wanted to be outside!

After being at our table for awhile we finally get to place drink orders. Soon after we get ice waters and, ugh, the waiter SPILLED WATER down my back while placing my sister's water down (so i ate dinner wet...). Awhile later we got wine, which by the way, they were out of the one we actually wanted. Finally we ordered our food. My dad was the only one who ordered a salad. The restaurant was hardly busy so we expected our food at a normal pace. After 20 minutes and no salad we see four entrees places on a tray behind us when the servers realize that my dad never got his salad and wanted the food to sit there while they went and got his salad. We were so livid we just wanted the food so we said forget the salad, we want our food hot. At this point we were hungry and felt like we were at Joe Smoes Family Diner. Because of our frustrations we were handed over to a much better waiter. The food was GREAT though. It tasted good, great sized portions. Between the four of us we had the new york strip, the salmon topped with crab, and the chicken bercy. After all our trouble, we expected more than an apology, but thats all we got, no free desert or anything.

We will never go back.

Atmosphere: good
Service: HORRIBLE
Food: Good
Prices: Fair
Service: HORRIBLE, after all our incidents, sorry doesn't mean anything!
 
6 out of 20 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   August 21, 2006
Reviewer: TinaMouse Farmington, MN     September 10, 2006
Went here for our 15th anniversary dinner. We didn't have reservations, but still were seated immediately.

Table was probably the worst-placed in the entire restaurant; we were literally outside the swinging kitchen door on one side and the bar on the other. I could see everything going on in the kitchen. I suppose some people pay extra to see the chefs cooking, but it was just too noisy. I didn't ask to move, though, so I shouldn't complain.

Our waiter was attentive, friendly, and knowledgeable. He helped us navigate and retool a few dishes because I am allergic to seafood. He was patient, and his recommendations panned out well.

We had one cocktail each. My husband had an appetizer. For our entrees, my hubby had the chef's special salmon, and I had beef tournadoes (suggested by the server). Both were cooked perfectly, and the side dishes were tasty. I especially liked the green beans with bacon and chopped pecans. Very tasty.

We did not have dessert. We spent $125. I would eat here again. Outside, yet courtyard seating was very nice.
 
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   11/28/05
Reviewer: noodles California     November 30, 2005
My husband and another couple had dinner in the Flambeaux room. Appetizers included the Lobster Yam Bisque, fried calamri and oyster shooters. Two of us thought the bisque was a bit too sweet, but the other two liked it. I liked the calamari. When asked where the oysters were from while ordering, the waiter stated the gulf coast, which we then pointed out the menu stated they were Pacific oysters - turns out they were from Washington. My pork roulade was dry and burnt. When this was pointed out to the waiter, he only offered more sauce. My husband's Turduckan was also dry. My benegts I had for dessert were awful, dense and tough. My husband had the chocolate bread pudding, which he said was ok, but not chocolatey enough. We will not be eating here again.
 
3 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   March 16, 2005
Reviewer: KAGdesigns (kagdesigns@cox.net) Rancho Santa Margarits, CA     July 29, 2005
Last year when my fiancé and I were planning our wedding, we knew we wanted it to be different from the normal. Both of us (along with my then future step-daughter) all love Disney, and my now wife and I love New Orleans and great Creole food. In fact, being that Im a foodie person, great food was to be the catalyst of the reception. We really didnt care about having a church-type wedding, and we certainly did not want the usual hotel banquet room reception. So on a lark, on not thinking that they would be able to accommodate us on our planned Saturday, March 26th wedding (the day before Easter!) we went over to the Jazz Kitchen last fall and met with their event planner. Not only would they do the reception, but also allow us to me married there!
We had the entire upstairs to ourselves for the ceremony, which took place in the Parlor Room (the bridal party was staged in the Queen Ann Room along with the gifts). Around 4:30 PM, the reception began in the Flambeaux room. Again, we had the entire room to ourselves, complete with a jazz band, on a busy Easter weekend. The 4-course dinner started with fried green tomatoes, followed by a Creole salad. The entrée was paneed chicken breast with a crawfish cream sauce. For dessert the guests were served beignets along with our cake. Overall, the food and service was fantastic and we were treated royally over the months while planning the event (many complimentary meals!). In fact, the number one comment we got from our guests was that it was the best food they have ever had at a wedding, along with being the most unique.
I, along with my wife, have been to the Jazz Kitchen many times since it has opened and it is consistently good. I even went there to buy turtle meat from the chef so I could make my own turtle soup. It is a true Creole experience operated by the first-family of New Orleans restaurateurs!
 
3 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   april 05
Reviewer: holgirl costa mesa, ca     July 10, 2005
it used to be good, but has gone downhill. last time i ate there, we had to send back our food 3 times! first, the duck gumbo was burnt (even the waiter agreed to this one), next, my boyfriend's pork was undercooked (and he likes it on the pink side, but this was unacceptable). they re-served the pork dish, but this time it was smothered in dijon mustard sauce...way too much. finally, my boyfriend ordered the fish i ordered and things were fine. we got a free dessert (although we ordered brownies and were told they were out). also, if you make reservations for the upstairs balcony, they will try to sit you downstairs! too bad it has gone downhill, used to be so good!
 
1 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   1 Mar, 2005
Reviewer: freddiefreelance San Diego, Ca     March 05, 2005
I've never eaten in the Flambeaux or Dining Rooms, but I do like to stop into the Cafe, the Jazz Kitchen Express, for a coffee & Begnets in the morning, or Hot Chocolate and a plate of the Bread Pudding in the afternoon. :) I've had good sandwiches & soup there, but I'll always stop for a big plate of Bread Pudding.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   18 -23 september 2004
Reviewer: Disney Downunder Melbourne, Australia     February 03, 2005
Our family of 4 had dinner here mid-week. We were walk ins but were promptly seated near the piano player amongst tables dining with children also. The room was fairly busy but had a nice, casual feel to it with the pianist taking requests and chatting with the guests.
Ordered our food and drinks quickly. Kids menu avaliable which both my 8 and 15 yo's ordered from. Burgers of course! They were decent portions and well presented.
My wife had a shrimp salad and I had the tournados. The steak was cooked as I like it - charred on the outside and pink and juicy on the inside. We shared a green salad that came with an overly sweet dressing which was just too sweet for our tastes.
With some beers and a bottle of wine, the meal came to around $120 - which is what I'd expect to pay for a similar meal in Australia.
All in all, a nice experience and a suitable venue to take the family for decent food in a fun, casual atmosphere.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page