Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Hilton Tokyo Bay
 
Send this review to a friend!
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 2 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 2 )
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   October 10 to October 13 2005
Reviewer: rccruiser (aabudget@earthlink.net)     October 26, 2005
This is an excellent Hotel for the Family consitering that it is one of the only hotels in the area that have a English speaking staff and accepts Hilton HHonors free night stay. If you are an HHonors member Hilton Tokyo Bay is a catigory 6 hotel so you will need to save those points (40,000. pts. per night). Otherwise you may get rates as low as 26000 yen or aprox. 240.00 Dollars per night on low season. I have seen it as high as 320.00 per night. Hotel rooms in Japan do not come cheep but consitering we were a family of 4 and they allowed us all to stay in one room, it was an excellent value. Much better than booking two rooms at another hotel.

Our family of 4 (2 children 5 and 8 years old and 2 adults) stayed in 1 exectutive level room with a Tokyo Bay view. Our room had 2 small double beds and a small fold out couch for a 3rd or 4th person. This ment that 2 of us had to sleep on one of those small little beds. Most hotels in Japan will not allow more than 3 people to book a room because the rooms are so small or for some other reason (fire codes etc.). We did request a roll away bed but were told that it was not available.

Amenities:
Incuded are complimentery snacks, small Lego toys for the children and the standard toiletries. ie. tooth brushes for kids and adults, tooth paste, disposable razor, bath salts, his and hers kits including aftershave lotions etc. We didn't have to bring our toiletry bag since they were all included. Only personal items and medications etc.

The beautiful resort pool you see in their brosure photo is seasonal and in October it was a lovely green color and not being used. A tip: Show your HHilton Honors Silver VIP card for complimentary use of the SPA. You will be given locker keys and towels provided by the spa attendant before you enter. Be aware that this is designed for adults so there may be no children around using the indoor lap pool. I was carefully attended to by the staff when I took my two kids to swim. Another thing we learned is that in Japan people change in the locker rooms in the spa and not their hotel rooms. They do have wood Hot tub baths and a sauna type rooms in the mens locker room and they do like to soak in the buff so be prepared to avoid that with kids. The lap pool is in doors shared Coed and suits thankfully are required. The Japaneese people are SUPER clean and will have you walk in a foot wash, showers, eye wash and a sink for washing your hands before entering the pool. The ususal charge for the Spa is around 1000 to 1500 yen per day.

Breakfast:
If booking a bouceback rate room you may receive complimentary breakfast voutures at Squares Resturant ajacent to the front desk area. Squares serves a standard buffet breakfast of both American and local food Items. As far as I could tell there was not a cooked to order section. Fruit yogert silver dollar pancakes and a sliced egg caseroll type items were on serving platters. Bacon, sausage etc. and cold cerial items. They also have cheeses and cold fish type Items rice porage and other local items that were very interesting that I tried. We did not try any other resturants in this hotel.

Views from our room:
View was superb and on a clear day you may see across the bay to Yokohama and parts of Tokyo. My kids would spend hours looking at the ships comming in Tokyo Harbor. We saw local people fishing off the edge in Tokyo Bay.

Airport Bus and Takiubin Service:
On return to Narita Airport we only needed to call the bell desk to make a reservation for Airport Limosine Bus and purchased the tickets at the bell desk for cash. It was around 4,600 yen or 45.00 for a family of 4 and always clean and ontime. With 3 suit cases this was worth every yen of it! Hauling suit cases up and down stairs in the train stations is an exausting experience. The bus stops several times durring the day so ask the bell desk for a schedual because they do require reservations. The Airport is about 1 hr. to 1 1/2 hrs. trip and be at the airport 2+ hours before your flight. Be sure to have your passports on you while on the bus. Police will board the bus and check your tickets and Passports before entering the Airport. They also have this amazing Takiobin service to transfer luggage or anything for that matter from one hotel to another which can be aranged at the front desk for aproximatly 1200. yen 11 bucks per suit case. The bell desk will have to fill out the forms because they are in Japaneese and you will need to pay the Bell Desk cash. It usually takes over night to send luggage from one hotel to another. This service is offered at finer hotels. We transfered from the Crowne Plaza Metropolitian Ikebukuro Tokyo To the Tokyo Bay Hilton and it was Excellent! There is no tipping in Japan and the service is second to none!

Monorail and Bus access:
Access to Monorail Bay Station to the Disney Parks is only about 300 to 500 feet away across the street They do have a Disney style busses that pick up at Bay Station to transport weary guests to the official hotels if needed on rainy days although we did not use them. Hilton is one of the closest hotels to the Monorail Bay Station and it was faster to walk. They also have Disney style Busses that transport to the parks and Ikspiri area.

For Families I would highly recommend this hotel because the rooms are spacious and excellently equiped. Easy acce
 
6 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   June 30 - July 4, 2002
Reviewer: Iceman Monterey, CA     July 08, 2002
I stayed at the Hilton Tokyo Bay because I had trouble getting through to the Hotel MiraCosta reservations line. Although it was expensive, it was still less than the MiraCosta was going to be so I decided to book it. Also, I am a Diamond VIP member of Hilton's frequent guest program (the highest level), so figured I would get some nice perks while there. I paid for a park view top floor executive room and that's exactly what I got--no upgrade. The executive lounge has very limited hours and even more limited service. You cannot room charge food or goods in the parks, nor is package delivery back to the room available. There is a nice health club, but unless you're on the executive floor it costs 3000Y per day. The restaurants are uninspiring and pricey, except for the Patisserie, a nice bakery. You can use the Disney buses or monorail for free, but Disneyland is within walking distance. In short, I won't stay here again. It's just another Hilton, which happens to be close to Disney. I'd rather pay the premium to stay at the immersively-themed MiraCosta or save a bundle and stay at a Disney Good Neighbor hotel in Tokyo and ride the bus.
 
24 out of 31 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page