Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Sailing Day Buffet
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Buffeteria featuring a variety of hot and cold international dishes.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 2 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 2 )
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   November 23, 2004
Reviewer: rob hanson1979 Ottawa, Canada     June 27, 2005
This restaurant was ok, but nothing fancy. The food was warm and there was enough selection, but nothing stood out as being amazing. If you don't like seafood, that cuts the buffet options in half.
It was very nice to be able to have all the beverages you wanted, as free-refills don't exist in Japan. However, you had to walk up to the bar and order your drinks every time. I started ordering 2 at a time.
This restuarant was very expensive, I believe it was 35000 Yen, which is about $35 American. You can definately find cheaper food elsewhere and would be just as good.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   March 29, 2004
Reviewer: MegaDuck Mission Viejo, California     April 18, 2004
Service: Good
Price: Poor
Food: Poor
Atmopshere: Good

I am not sure what came over me to go to an "American Buffet" in Japan. Whatever the case, the Sailing Day Buffet is located the American Waterfront. Like the whole area, the restaurant is a tribute to a waterfront restaurant with lots of "sea-worthy" (think of a rustic Monterey, California restaurant) decorations placed in this large eating establishment.

One of the reasons why we popped into this restauarant was that we were starving and short on time. Although the hostess told us that it was a 30 min wait to get seated (at about 12:30pm), we were seated in about 5 minutes. The restaurant is large, but they managed to squeeze in as many tables as they could. We found it difficult to store items like my backpack underneath the table without inconvienacing the people next to use.

As soon as we are seated, a waitress comes to explain to us (in Japanese) how the buffet works. Essentially, the buffet is broken down into 3 separate areas. Salads, Hot Foods, and Children's foods. In addition, on the "wings" of the restauarant is a small counter where you can go and get drinks. The drinks are not self-service, you need to ask the person behind the counter what you want.

The buffet in reality was quite small. The first section consisted of your typical American salad featuring iceberg lettuce with your choice of carrots, corn, peas, various beans, tomatoes, and salad dressings. In addition, there were other types of salads that include potatoe salad, macaroni salad, and a bean salad.

The children's food area consisted on Salsibury steak, chicken tenders, spaghetti, macaroni and cheese, and hotdogs.

The hot food area had such foods as baked chicken, baked fish, roasted pork loin, and oven baked potatoes.

From the first sound of it, you may think that the menus selection is decent. First of all, the buffet costs about $23 US and the food was terrible. As a tribute to American food, I can honestly say that they got it way wrong. (However, most of the Japanese people seemed to love it consistently going back to the buffet for 2nds).

For instance, the chicken tenders were not in any "nugget" form as you may be use to. It was more like extremely-deep fried (and dry) chicken breasts that were torn by hand. The hotdogs was not the same consistency of an American hotdog, rather it was closer to a Jimmy Dean sausage (just less fat). Overall, the food was typically very bland and more on the light side. The best dish that I enjoyed was the roasted pork loin which they cut for you in the middle of the buffet. Everything else, I think I could of done without.
 
2 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page