Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
 Main Directory: 
 
 
E-mail a Friend About Vistana Resort!
 
Want to tell someone about Vistana Resort? Just enter the information requested below and click on E-mail a Friend. *Neither your e-mail address nor theirs will be recorded, so you don't have to worry about these addresses being used for anything other than sending this message.

A template of the message sent is displayed below the mailing form.

 
Name of recipient: 
*E-mail of recipient: 
Your name: 
*Your e-mail address: 
Add a personal note? 
Add sample reviews? yes   no
Message Template
Hi RECIPIENT_NAME,

SENDER_NAME visited www.mouseplanet.com today, and thought the following item might be of interest to you.

Reviewer Comments For Click for more reviews!
Vistana Resort
Description:
8800 Vistana Centre Drive, Orlando
Average Reviewer Rating: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 2 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 2 )
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   oct 7-oct 21 2008
Reviewer: tlackie New York     March 17, 2008
My wife and I visited the resort in a 2 bedroom villa. The first 2 nights at the Lakes and the remainder at the Cascades section.
We had requested the Cascades section a year in advance through our travel agent as it is a newer section. Upon check in we advised by the desk that no rooms were available for the Cascades, but had rooms in the Fountains or Lakes. We requested to speak with the desk manager and were allowed to wait for 1 hour and he advised us the same thing. I requested to speak with his manger which is the hotel reservations manager and were advised we would have to wait. Two hours later we met and he advised that if we could stay in the Lakes section for a day or 2 he would guarantee a room at Cascades. We stayed in the Lakes which was under renovation and very outdated and worn with much construction noise and no parking spaces available near our villa as construction employees used them all. A small note these villas have an upper and lower villa and DO NOT have elevators. Two days later the manager Oscar contacted our Villa and advised the room at Cascades was now available. So we packed everything again and moved to the Cascades which was an 100% improvement. It was clean and modern on the upper floor with a great view of the fountains, walkways and close to the pool and on site store. These sections have elevator access.The rooms include a master bedroom, King bed, jucuzzi tub in master bedroom, 2 full baths, 2nd bedroom with 2 queens, fully equipped kitchen with stove, full size frig, utensils and microwave with eat in kitchen, dining area seats 6, livingroom has sofa bed. Stereo with CD player, 2 T-V's with Cable, balcony which connects to lvingroom and bedroom. The colors are sort of a Carribean or Miami color scheme. Ocean blues and greens. We were advised via E-Mail after our stay by Oscar the manager that even the so called owners (Time Shares) are not guranteed their choice of villas and is based on availability and number of requests. Each has a separate section for a total of 5. There are 7 pools on property with hot tubs, playgrounds for children, a on site store which sells, food, beer, pizza, clothing and so forth. This is a very secure site with security at each entrance and you will be asked for your ID room card for entry.
So it's a crap shoot of 50/50. We received a good rate of $129 per night and received 2 nights free because of the 14 day stay. Warning this a time shares hotel and they will ring your room every day unless you are firm and politely decline the presentation which last 2-4 hours depending on the salesperson. You will need a car rental here, but the Parks are only minutes by car from the hotel, just make the left on 535 exiting the Hotel from Vistana Blvd and the next left at Crossroads to Downdown Disney, Disney Hotels, or Disney Water Parks. The hotel has good access to 536 which is the fastest way to get to the World, the Studio's, Epcot or Animal Kingdom.You exit the Vistana to the right on 535 and make the right on 536 to the parks. Just look for the Disney signs. A small note you may have to remind the housekeeping to stock towels and washcloths on the first couple of days as they sometimes get lax in this dept. Don't be shy as you are paying for this service.
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   10/12/02 - 10/19/02
Reviewer: Lyndarella (bobcat4@uslink.net) Northern Minnesota     October 23, 2002
Type of unit: 2 Bedroom in the Lakes section

Number of guests: 2 ladies, Linda and Jean (cousins)

Checked in Sat. 6:00. Bell service was prompt and friendly. Unit was fabulously appointed with full kitchen, living room, dining room, washer & dryer, balcony, hot tub, 2 bedrooms with 3 TVs and phones! The decor was pastel, tropical, and modern. I took the master, with 2 sink areas, hot tub, giant shower, and door to the balcony. Jean's room had 2 double beds and her own bathroom. It is honestly as nice as the DVC 2 Bedroom units.

This is the first time I've gone to FL without having a car! Round trip shuttle to WDW is $7.00 per person. Bus stop is near the main building. We were as far from the bus stop as we could be and walked each way. It was a beautiful tropical walk, but not everyone would want to do this. We felt safe walking there even after dark. The security people always took note of us passing by. The bus was always prompt and drivers friendly. Not crowded at all, probably because of the time of year. The night we came back with extra packages we stopped at Bell Services and got a ride. (They will do this any time - you can call them from your room.) The bus schedule is more limited than when you stay at WDW (3 or 4 times a day coming and going instead of every 20 minutes) and stops at more than one theme park each trip, but we enjoyed every look at every park! The bus stop at the parks is easy to find, right close to the Disney bus stop, and each bus has a label.

We brought several food items with us and bought what we needed at the General Store, always walking back and forth. Prices were high as expected, but not as bad as at WDW. We had breakfasts in the room and carried a lunch to the parks each day! Supplemented park food with dinners or popcorn from our full kitchen each night. Used the washer & dryer frequently, especially the 2 nights our shoes were soaked from rain! Had one tropical drink at the Cascades Bar & Grill. Service is slow and seating is outdoors, but it's a beautiful tropical place by the enormous pool. Did not use other resort restaurants. Looked at 2 rec areas, as if we actually planned to work out! (Do you really need a tread mill on a trip to WDW?!)

Vistana is made up of several areas with different looks to the units. All are landscaped to the max, with flowers, fountains and waterfalls everywhere. It is HUGE, with several pools (with waterfalls and hot tubs), sports activities, mini golf and links to outside trips (fishing & other theme parks.) It is as close to WDW as you can get, right between Hotel Blvd. and Highway 536. I can't tell you a nightly room rate, because we are owners there, but I've heard of deals around $120! If I had to pick a down side, it would be needing more restaurants (and nothing opens early enough for breakfast!) -- which is why I don't give Vistana the highest rating, needing a car rental on site, many staff can't speak English that I can understand, and there is often a long line for checking in and buying bus or attraction tickets. These issues are common at Disney hotels also, and I reccomend this resort highly.