Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Yak & Yeti
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Table service restaurant for sit-down dining.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 5 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 5 )
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   10/30/09
Reviewer: bmxmom Southern California     November 02, 2009
This was the only place I was a little leary of in our 5 day trip and boy was I wrong!! We had 4pm reservations and checked in 20 minutes early and were seated immediately. The smell of the restaurant instantly appeased our fears as it was heavenly! We ordered the fried green beans appetizer and it was the best single item of our entire trip! Wish I could perfectly replicate it and the dipping sauce at home:) My 17 year old daughter had the tempura shrimp and absolutely adored it. It came with some type of coconut rice which she devoured(she normally hates rice!) I had the crispy Mahi Mahi and it was perfectly cooked and had a delicious sauce on the side that was very similar to the dipping sauce for the green beans. My daughter got the Mango Pie and I got the Sorbet trio and both were very delicious! We had a wonderful waiter as well...he didn't rush us but everything was prompt. We also lucked out and got seated upstairs by the window and the parade came by just as we sat down! I would highly recommend this restaurant and can't wait to go again in the future!
 
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   1/21/09
Reviewer: csuwyn Sacramento, CA     January 27, 2009
What a pleasant surprise! When I made this one of my choices for our trip this year to WDW, my wife was dreading it, because she wasn't too fond of the counter service restaurant of the same name. But this actually turned out to be our favorite meal for the entire trip. We arrived 20 minutes early for a 7 pm dinner reservation and they sat us within 5 minutes. The service was quick and courteous, and our food was brought to our table in very good time. Atmosphere was decent, we had a window looking out in AK, but would have been better view if we were on the second floor. But the real reason this restaurant gets 5 worlds is for the food. My wife got the baby back ribs, which were some of the best, and most original ribs I've ever tasted. I was so jealous that I didn't order what she ordered after I tasted the ribs! Luckily it was a huge full rack of ribs so she needed help finishing them. I ordered the Shaoxing Steak and Shrimp which was also delicious, but if I were to ever go back, I'd be getting the ribs. Our daughter had the egg roll which she seemed to like, but she also had some of the extra ribs my wife couldn't finish. Then to top it all off we got the fried wontons for desert, these were awesome! The prices were really not bad, and considering the quality and quantity that you got, it was a great deal. We will be going back on future trips. Enjoy!!!
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   April 25, 2008
Reviewer: OneForTheTeam Boston, Massachusetts     May 01, 2008
The Yak and Yeti was the best in-park restaurant we ate at in a week's vacation. The menu offers an interesting fusion of Asian cuisines and serves them without apology. While I wouldn't use the word "authentic," the flavors are not dumbed-down either.

They have a very tasty selection of appetizers. The pot stickers were excellect as were the lettuce cups. The entrees were good but not great (the crispy hallibut had an odd red sauce rendering it less-than crispy).

Overall, the service was very good and the waitstaff was attentive but unhurried. I wouldn't go out of my way to eat at the Yak and Yeti, but it is now the only place I'll eat at Animal Kingdom.
 
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   4/05/08-4/11/08
Reviewer: brs214 Philadelphia, PA     April 13, 2008
We brought our appetites to the Yak & Yeti, and we werent disappointed! My husband and I were on the Deluxe Dining Plan, so we started with the Dim Sum Basket and the Wok Fried Green Beans. The Green Beans were excellent; they were cooked just right, and the dipping sauce was delightful. Then for mains my husband ordered the Crispy Honey Chicken and I had the Maple Tamarind Chicken, both were seasoned well and were very tasty. For dessert we both ordered the Fried Wontons. This dessert was one of my favorites during our stay, it was unique and delicious. I would recommend this restaurant; and would advise making reservation in advance.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   December 6 and 10, 2007
Reviewer: Mr.Abominable Las Vegas, Nevada     December 28, 2007
Meal: Lunch
Party: 4 adults
Price: 165.00 before tip (this included plenty of adult beverages)

On the first day of the Land portion of Mousefest 2007, we could not wait to get to Animal Kingdom to try the Yak and Yeti. The Expedition Everest area has been a special place to us since we watched the mountain grow, visited for the AP Sneak Peek weekend and we continue to make it our first stop on any WDW trip. Needless to say, we were very excited when they started building this restaurant. Thankfully the restaurant opened before we made this trip though they were not taking any preferred seating at the time.

The Yak & Yeti is richly themed and fits right in as an eatery in the village of Anandapur. There is a walkup window with a lot of the favorites(not the fried greenbeans though :() and there is a walkup bar window on the side which has several different beers available. (YAY!)

We went up to the host stand and put in our name and then visited the app. 8 seat bar inside. The specialty drinks are well done and their Bloody Mary is served with a shrimp chip(think shrimp pork rind). I had a Tiger beer from Singapore. They had a nice selection of Asian beers and a few sakes. At the table, we ordered a bottle of the Horin sake(dry and chilled) which is a great deal for 17.00.
Now for the food; let me just start by saying that the fried green beans may be the best thing to eat on earth. We had them as an appetizer along with the lettuce cups and then another order of the green beans with the entrees. Entrees included honey chicken, potstickers, tempura shrimp and lo mein noodles. We also had a chicken fried rice on the side which was the only thing I did not really care for, a little bland, everything else was outstanding. We finished up with the cream cheese wontons and they were amazing as well. This meal was so good that we went back and basically repeated it 4 days later!

All of our service was very good and the atmosphere was really cool, keeping with the Nepalese village theme that surrounds the restaurant. Even our bartender engaged us in a discussion as to weather or not the Yeti is real, he contended that he was not since that would be bad for tourism!

Yak and Yeti is outstanding!
 
29 out of 30 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page