Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
All-Star Movies Resort All-Star Movies Resort
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
1991 W. Buena Vista Drive, Lake Buena Vista
Book this hotel now!
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 24 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 10 )
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   6-14-09 to 6-20-09
Reviewer: mousenut18 Hollidaysburg, PA     July 11, 2009
This was my fifth trip down and my wifes first. This was our first year anniversary/honeymoon so we were anxious to say the least. My wife picked the Movies so our planning started in January. Upon arrival the cast members were very pleasent and helpful. Since it was early Sunday morning our room was not yet available but since our park hopper pass started that day we headed to the Magic Kingdom. We finally got our room number at about 3pm so when buying our souviners it helped when filling out the form. The room we had was just right. Super clean and that was every day plus the cast member had a knack for making animals out of towels. For the price and for the amount of time we spent in the room which was about 7 hours a day it was absolutely fantastic. The food court was great as was the gift shop. It just seemed like they couldn't do enough for you. That made this trip extra special. If making plans to WDW and you want to save some extra dollars stay at a All Star Resort. The buses came every 10 to 15 minutes to take you anywhere you wanted to go. My wife loved everything about the trip and wants to go back to the Movies next time we go. Thanks to the casts members at All Star Movie Resort. You made our anniverary/honeymoon something special.
 
32 out of 33 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   September 2007
Reviewer: kansaskix KS     March 26, 2009
We first stayed at this hotel in 2001 and we thrilled with it. Back then it was newer I guess and very clean. This past stay we were extremely disappointed and will never stay here again.
First, the resort...the themeing is wonderful for children. This is the resort that has all the recognizable characters, including a fun Toy Story section that has some props that look like Andy's room where you can take great photos. We stayed in the Mighty Ducks section, which is okay. The Dalmation section before it features giant Perdita and Pongo and also a tv area where you can pose for more good photo ops. The Mickey Fantasia pool is located in the center of the resort, but we spent our time in the Mighty Ducks pool. If you are not a walker, and don't want a long trek to your room, don't stay in the Mighty Ducks section.
However, the Mighty Ducks section is closer to the Music Resort bus stop, so we took those busses everyday instead and it worked out much better than taking the busses at the Movies, which is the last stop. We were guaranteed seats by taking the Music busses. Also, if you don't want a trek, avoid the Love Bug section, which is the farthest back and not near anything, but does have some super cute themeing worth checking out on a stroll through the grounds.

The disappointment in this hotel is that the mousekeeping was subpar at best, the room itself was old and dingy, and also the grounds were not well-kept and overall the look and feel of the resort was run down and somewhat dirty. Also, all rooms are supposed to now be non-smoking, but our room had an overwhelming old smoke odor. It was foul. In comparison to our stay in 2001, big difference--back then the whole place was sparkling. I would recommend either the family suites at the Music, which are new, or even Pop Century, since that is newer also.
This resort needs a major refurbishment!

The main food court is fine, with the usual selections of pasta, pizza, sandwiches, etc. It is very crowded in the morning. We wouldn't stay here again unless this place is renovated.
 
5 out of 10 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   11/13/07 to 11/18/07
Reviewer: HILNDKID Provo, Utah     November 26, 2007
We chose this hotel for the theming and price. The theming was great, the kids really liked the pool and the large characters. It was a descent hotel, not very clean and small rooms. The food court was very good. There was never much of a line for the bus, but this resort is the farthest away from Magic Kindom as you can get for a Disney Resort. I think we will look at a monorail resort next time.
 
17 out of 20 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   Feb. 25 - Mar. 6, 2007
Reviewer: Turboman Portland, Oregon     March 13, 2007
We decided early on that we'd like to go with a Value hotel and chose All Star Movies because of their theming. The kids loved the buildings with the oversized characters and the Fantasia pool was wonderful.

The rooms themselves are on the small side. As hotels go, they are very basic and small.

We were in the Mighty Ducks wing, which was great because we used the All Star Movies or Music buses -- whichever one was available. The Music was actually closer to our room. Still, with all the people in the All Star hotels, the lines for some of the buses got pretty long.

In summary, everyone was happy with the hotel -- but I'm sure we'll stay some where different next time.
 
23 out of 24 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   JANUARY 13,2006
Reviewer: JEANYLASER34     February 18, 2007
I love All-Star Movies. Because the food court and Donald's Double Feature store to look around. And wonderful themes like fantasia. Because i love classic music. I hope in the near future Disney need to build a The Incredibles Theme in the All- Star Movies. I love Disney World. The All-Star Movies is the best hotel. I love it! Keep the nice work Disney.
 
10 out of 11 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   October 3rd to October 7th 2006
Reviewer: Chicago Wookiee Chicago Illinois     October 17, 2006
We visited the first week in October 2006 and stayed four nights from a Tuesday through Saturday. There was just the two of us - dad 35 and son 13. Having stayed at every moderate resort and wanting to watch our pennies we decided to try a value resort this time around. Our choice was All-Star Movies with both being huge Toy Story fans for the larger than life movie characters.

We had requested a room in building ten on the first floor in one of the higher number rooms that would have put us a bit further away from the center of the resort. I called direct to the resort the previous day and spoke to a CM to ensure my room location request was possible and we were told everything looked great. When we arrived at 9:45am on Tuesday we found out there were no available rooms in our requested area even if we waited until that evening. We accepted a room very close to the main building and went off to Epcot as we could not get in to our room until after 5pm. The room was small but clean and bright so we were happy. The beds were comfortable and movie theme just right.

We were up and gone early Wednesday morning and did not return until 10pm that night. We discovered the beds had not been made, no replacement soap and shampoo left (I placed them in my suitcase), and the only thing that looked to have been done was that we had been left clean towels. It was late so we just went to sleep and I got up early and visited the front desk to make them aware of our issues with the assurance that all would be correct that day. When we returned Thursday night the comforters had been tucked under the pillows but none of the sheets were straightened underneath. I also discovered that housekeeping had gone into my open luggage and removed the soap and shampoo to be placed back on the sink and thus were not left any new ones. My visit Friday morning to the front desk where I asked for a manager and waited twenty minutes didnt do me any good with the exception of getting additional soap and shampoo and an uncaring apology for the intrusion into my luggage.

With the poor housekeeping and the extremely long lines for the WDW bus system we can say its back to the moderates next year.
 
37 out of 45 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   may 27-june 2,2006
Reviewer: nykialexis Franklinton,North Carolina     July 01, 2006
This is my second stay at the All-star Movie resort.This time I went to Disney World with my two daughters (8and6).Now as a single mother of two I knew I couldent afford the more expensive resorts and I had a pleasant experiance with all-star before.So we booked a week long vacation at the all-star movie and i tell you my girls would have loved to stay in the pool all day if they could.We had a preferred room so we we,re in the fantasia building.Our room was on the 3rd floor right next to the ice machine and elevators so it was perfect to me.The cast members were very helpful and the rooms were more then I expected for it being a value resort.I would recommend it to anyone on or off a budget.
 
24 out of 25 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   numerous
Reviewer: ChristianT (sincat@hotmail.co.uk) Lancashire England     March 31, 2006
Due to go back to the movies with my wife and youngest son In August, this will be our 3rd trip to the Movies but also been to Sports,Music, Caribean Beach and French Quarter and I have to say that the movies offers everything we need, and although the higher price hotels were nice..... not sure they are worth the extra cost especially at the hight of summer when every where is busy.... so this year we are usig the extra cash to upgrade the flights from the UK. The Movie rooms were clean and a good size. Pools were child friendly transport great the cast members were well just very Disney. Did find the food court at the movies slightly better than the Sports and Music may be as it was newer and havig its own bus made life easier but reccomand anyone to give it a go.
 
34 out of 34 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   1/30/06-2/5/06
Reviewer: Gary Voorhees Kingwood Texas     February 06, 2006
We just had a great visit at this resort. My family of four, a 15 year old and an eight year old plus two adults found the room was great, the food was hot and cooked while you waited. Service was outstanding. We have stayed in all three levels of resorts and have found that if you can stay in a value resort then stay. You are throwing your money away on the others.
 
32 out of 33 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   November 22-27, 2005
Reviewer: sewshawn Laredo, Texas     December 29, 2005
This is the third time I've stayed at one of the All-Star Resorts and the second time at Movies. The rooms are very small (one adult and two teenagers) but we weren't in the room all that much except to shower and sleep so the inconvenience was minimal. We stayed in the Mighty Ducks section and while the walk to the bus stop is long (especially coming back at night) the scenery is so much fun you don't notice a couple more steps. The food court was an interesting place, especially during the Thanksgiving holidays, but most of the time, the wait for food and checkout was minimal and the quality was fairly good for a cafeteria style place. The pools were clean and warm and kids had fun.
 
9 out of 11 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page