Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
All-Star Movies Resort All-Star Movies Resort
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
1991 W. Buena Vista Drive, Lake Buena Vista
Book this hotel now!
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 24 ( Displaying Reviews: 11 - 20 )
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   Oct. 19-25, 2005
Reviewer: liroi Katy, TX     October 28, 2005
First time staying at an all-star and we didn't have many expectations...this hotel lived up to them. The rooms were small and we felt like we were walking all over each other with three adults and two toddlers--way too many people in the room.
The biggest problem though was the cast. There was one singular positive interaction the entire time of our trip, including at least one trip to the food court a day, at least three trips to the concierge and the shop. One. Most of the time, the cast was not interested in helping or putting on the disney smile.
The Magical Express service was a nightmare for us from start to finish. Three attempts to put in our airline information online, followed by at least that many phone calls and our information was not there when we arrived, nor was our luggage...for almost 6 hours. To make it worse, Disney took no responsibility for their mistake as our bags were checked and arrived at the Orlando airport. I had the runaround for three hours before our luggage was found at 2am. Not what I expect from Disney.
We stayed in the Love Bug area, which was not a bad walk to the main building. We were there during Hurricane Wilma and had some refurbishment going on around us during our stay. A tree was lost outside our door and we were under house lock-down for about 8 hours, but the hotel put on a few movie channels to watch that made it much more bearable.
Finally, the bus service is tough to manage. I can not imagine what the waits are like during the peak season. If you go to MGM, there is a single stop for ALL the all-star resorts--expect to wait in long lines. Also, the movies is the third on the pick-up lines in the morning, so know that you might have to wait a bus or two to get on.
All that said, the room was clean, the housekeeping was good. The food court was not varied, but generally provided something the kids would enjoy.
This is not a hotel we would go back to unless we REALLY needed to save the pennies. I would highly recommend spending the additional $10-20 a night and staying at a moderate resort.
 
18 out of 34 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   22 July to 5 August 2005
Reviewer: Foxy Lady Leicestershire, England     September 05, 2005
We found this resort wonderful for our family of 3 (2 adults & 1 teenager). Service at the resort was excellent and when we requested a room change there was no problem. The pools were excellent, and the rooms were kept very clean. We did encounter a plumbing problem, but within 15 minutes of phoning housekeeping, someone was there to help solve the problem. We would definitely re-visit this resort
 
5 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   Jan 3-6, 2005
Reviewer: AlvaroLuis Panama, Rep of Panama     February 21, 2005
We stayed in bld. 9 (Toy Story). There were 4 of us (2 adults and 2 children). Found the room to be very nice, clean and spacious. The only drawback was the soap and shampoo dispenser. We had stayed at the Pop Century last November, and liked to have a soap bar instead of liquid soap.

The room was only a 5 minutes walk from the food court. We didn't eat there more than once or twice, but found the food to be ok.

The only problem we had was that after walking to the room upon check in (which took almost 45 minutes), and a long day of traveling, the keys did not work. I went back to the lobby only to find out that the guest relations desk had closed already and the CM I talked to wanted me to make the line again, which by then was even longer than the one I had made before. I asked to talk to a supervisor, and when I did she had no problem asking the same CM to make new keys for us...it took him no more than a couple of minutes...

Other than that, we found this a nice hotel and would go back in the future.
 
11 out of 11 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   December 4 - December 10, 2004
Reviewer: DisneyDec Newark, Delaware     December 13, 2004
This is a wonderful hotel for families. Each building is themed teriffically. We stayed in Toy Story Building 9, and the courtyard connecting the other buildings was actually Andy's room, featuring humungous Buzz and Woody toys, as well as BoPeep and others from the movie. Outside of Andy's room RC was waiting for you to have his picture taken with him.

The rooms are small, but not much smaller than those at, say, Coronado Springs. There was plenty of room for two adults and two young kids to walk around in without getting in each others way. The rooms are soundproofed fairly well, and hid alot of the outside ambient atmophere, which gave us some pretty sound sleeping nights.

The Toy Story buildings are in the perfect location: walking distance to both Cinema Hall and the Fantasia Pool. Walk through Cinema Hall and you are right at the bus stops. The Food Court in the main building was good and the amount of food you received for the price you paid (plus 6.5% sales tax) was fairly reasonable.

The only problem I had was with the television. The picture was starting to go bad, and all of the channels had nothing but Disney-owned (or partially owned) stations. Other than that minor point, my family really enjoyed this resort and would stay here again the next time we visit (ableit with adjoining rooms, as my children would be older).
 
22 out of 23 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   June2-June7, 2004
Reviewer: caeserion ptolemy Boerne,Texas     October 27, 2004
This was our first time staying on the Disney property and we had a blast at this hotel. We took our almost 2 yr old daughter and our 6 yr old nephew with us. They loved the oversized characters on the buildings and the enormous pool. We stayed in the Fantasia bldg. in a preferred room and it was well worth the extra 10.00 a day because of it's proximity to the main bldg. BELIEVE ME at the end of the day when you're kids are wired and tired you will thank your lucky stars that you got the preferred room and don't have to walk very far. Our rooms were a bit small but were always clean. Housekeeping was awesome, they would do fun things with whatever toys had been left out the night before. We came home one night to find Mickey and TRex propped up at the end of the bed watching cartoons. The kids loved it! The pool is huge so it never felt overcrowded and it has a great Sorceror Mickey that shoots out water, of course lots of kids like to play under that! The food court was decent. They had a nice selection, even fresh fruit. The only part that was lacking was the bakery section, every item we bought tasted like it was stale. The refillable cup is worth it if your going to be there for several days, we only bought one and my husband would run in and fill it up and I would use it to fill up the kids sippy cups and then we would share the rest. There is a pool side bar, it is a bit pricey but it's nice for an afternoon drink. I did take advantage of the laundry room. It was clean and if you go at night it's not busy. The bus system was a lot better than what I thought it was going to be, there seemed to be plenty of buses and they were never more than 30 min. a part. We only had a couple of problems with them. One was our stroller, if you have one you have to completely close it up everytime you get on one and when you have a cranky toddler that can get a bit hairy. The other was after the parks closed, that was when everyone is trying to get back to the hotel. We waited in line for over an hour before we were able to catch the bus back, and they WILL stuff you in there like sardines so be prepared. But other than those couple of things, we had a great time and to be honest, the rooms may be a bit small but you're not in them very much and most importantly my kids didn't know or care that we were staying at a value resort. All that mattered to them was that we were in Disney World!
 
22 out of 22 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   10/11/2003 - 10/18/2003
Reviewer: got2travel SF Bay Area, CA     September 25, 2004
This was our first trip to the 'World' since we are west coasters. Based on research and the fact that I have a Buzz Lightyear fan, I had our travel agent put in a request for the Toy Story building. Also, a few days prior to our arrival, I faxed a very polite request to the room planner for the best room possible in the Toy Story building.

We were blown away when we drove up to the All Star Movies, the huge icons were just adorable. (Oh, and don't forget to notice the great MacDonalds on your drive in to the All Stars). We arrived later in the evening and had no problems checking in, however we had reservations for the Hoop De Doo and the CM had a difficult time getting our tickets for us since the box office was closed. After about 45 minutes we got them and they offered to pay for a taxi to get us to Fort Wilderness on time since the buses would take too long. We declined since we had a car but the offer was much appreciated.

Now about that room that the room planner gave us... I can't remember the exact room number, but we were on the 2nd floor, a few doors down from the elevator, and overlooked Andy's room, a straight view of Buzz much to the delight of my son. The room itself was on the small size, but I had expected that because of my research. It didn't bother us though, since we didn't spend too much time in the rooms. The decor was true Disney, which was just great.

The food court was expensive, which I expected, but the choices and the quality was great. It was crowded every morning, but again, I expected that. Definitely get the refillable mugs. Even if you only refill once a day, depending on how long you are staying, the mug more than pays for itself. I would get my morning coffee with breakfast, refill again to take on the bus with us, then refill with ice tea, soda or coffee when we returned. Plus I had the mug with me all day in the parks to fill up with water. Several times I was able to get ice in it from the restaruants in the parks.

The bus service was very convenient. Even though we had a car, most times we just took the bus to save me a headache. Once we learned the schedule, we never had to wait too long for a bus. And although the All Star buses do park the farthers from the gates, it was still nice not to have to drive ourselves around.

We enjoyed the pool almost every evening. It was huge so even though there were a lot of people there, the pools never felt overcrowded. I just miss the idea of having a water slide like the higher end resorts.

All in all, I would stay here again and would definitely recommend it to others.
 
20 out of 20 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   July 31-August 6. 2004
Reviewer: DGonzalez (darryl.gonzalez@sbcglobal.net) Texas     August 07, 2004
My wife and I celebrated our second honeymoon at the All-Star Movies Resort. As I said several times while there, it ain't the Grand Floridian, but it ain't the Motel 6 either! The hotel itself is beautifully done with a definite eye on the movies. The hotel lobby is built to resemble a movie theater lobby. The food court (the World Premiere Food Court) is a first-class counter service restaurant where the food may be fast, but it tastes homemade. The gift shop (Donald's Double Feature) is well stocked with all sorts of gifts and even necessary sundries like laundry soap. Connecting bus service takes you anywhere on Disney property you want to go. And the service there is Disney quality: Guest Services can accomodate almost anything you want. For example, we got there at about 2:00 am. and while they coujldn't immediately move us into the building we requested (the Dalmatians building), they got us a comfortable room in the Mighty Ducks building, and as soon as the Dalmatians building became available, they gave us a room there. Two caveats:
1. The bus stops at the theme parks that go to the All-Stars are usually the farthest away from the parks. Be prepared to walk a little farther.
2. The mattresses there are rock-hard.

All in all, a well done hotel. Thanks Disney!
 
17 out of 17 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   October 2001
Reviewer: kansaskix KS     April 19, 2004
We were very pleased with this hotel! When we made our special off-season rate reservations, we were able to get a rate of $55 a night. We tried to stay in the Movies but it was full, so we booked in Music. However, when we got to Music and went to check-in, we asked if there was room in the Movies and could we change. They said, no problem, moved all our luggage for us and we ended up staying at the Movies instead. The kids LOVED the theming! It is really fantastic for kids. We stayed on the third level on the Dalmatian section. I recommend staying on the highest level; I believe it is the most quiet. We had adjoining rooms with the other people in the party. The room is really, really small. It was spotlessly clean, but tiny. Especially the bathroom--it is smaller than Motel 6. If you stay in your room a lot then I would not recommend this hotel. But we stay at the parks all day and this place was great to come back to for a good night's sleep. It was surprisingly quiet. My dad was bothered, though, that they didn't automatically change the sheets every day and you have to request to have that done. The hotel and grounds were very clean and very fun. The kids especially liked the huge icons and posing with them (Toy Story and Dalmation sections were the best). The staff here was super friendly and helpful. On our last day our flight was canceled and instead of leaving at 11am, we were switched to an 8pm flight. We had to check out, but the staff kept all our luggage and stuff at the hotel for us in safekeeping and we spent the day at Downtown Disney. That really saved us! The shuttle system was very good. We never had to wait at all, but we went off-season. The food court was very crowded in the morning, loud and totally chaotic. We went to Music one day and noticed it was not that way at all. Hardly anyone was there. I think the Movies is the most popular and tends to be the most crowded, so if you want to avoid that, you would probably want to stay at one of the other value resorts. Also, the food in the food court is pretty expensive. We spent around $25 every morning for breakfast for four people (two adults, two children). Overall, for the value, we really liked staying here and taking the resort transporation. Also, just staying on-property is a different feeling...sounds corny, but it's more "magical":-) and you get more of the total Disney experience. I would definitely stay here again, but I would bring granola bars with me or something to save $ on breakfast.
 
17 out of 17 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   July 5-10, 2003
Reviewer: simzac Greenwood, IN     February 06, 2004
Simply a fantastic family resort for our first trip to WDW. Upon arrival, checkin went fairly quickly, with every question we had clearly answered, and all info we needed for the week given to us at that time.Each of us was given a room card key, including the boys, which was nice. My wife and my card keys could also be used to charge anything on Disney property to our room bill(food, souveniers, and so on), which meant I didn't need to carry any cash with me, a great benefit. Our room was in the Love Bug section on the 2nd floor, about a five minute walk from the main building. The room was ready when we arrived, so we went strait there. Very lively colors helped brighten up the room. Beds were very comfortable, something you don't always find in a "value" resort. The information guide on the TV was very useful for first time visitors like ourselves. The entire resort was incredibly clean, and kept that way virtualy every minute, cast members were always around to keep up the neat appearence of the resort. Our boys enjoyed the fantasia pool, swam every day in the evening after returning from the parks. The pool was also very clean, along with the pool area. Inside the main building along with the checkin area was an arcade, a souvenier shop, and the food court. The food was reasonably priced and had a good variety for everyone, we ate breakfast there every morning. The refillable mugs for soft drinks is a great deal, highly recommend it for everyone. The buses stopped outside the main building in front, we liked the bus rides, even when we had to stand, adventure riding is what the boys called it. Having direct buses to each of the theme and water parks from the resort is great. Again, this was our first trip to Disney World, and staying at the All Star Movies resort certainly help made our trip that much more memorable. I definitely recommend this resort for families.
 
25 out of 25 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   9/19-22/03
Reviewer: aaauger Austin, TX     September 25, 2003
Based on reviews, I expected ASM to be outdated, poorly maintained, covered in bugs with rooms that were noisy, cramped and tacky. It wasn't any of these things. Basically it is an excellent value and perfect for small children. We stayed in Toy Story, 3rd Floor, facing some woods. My daughter was enchanted by the oversized version of Andy's room. As we walked to our room, we noticed toys in many windows. Apparently housekeeping puts your Disney purchases in the window, presumably for marketing, but the effect was kind of sweet. The room was immaculate, had plenty of hot water, and featured some clever decor. The main pool was a huge star-shape with a Fantasia Mickey spitting water. The drawback to the pool is that it was only shallow enough for a preschooler right along the edges and the kiddie pool was geared toward infants. There's a bar by the pool for Mom & Dad (nice after a long day at the parks) and the food court has reasonable hours and selection. The staff was genuine and did everything possible to ensure a pleasant stay. Our requests to housekeeping were addressed in minutes. Even though ASM was booked, it didn't feel crowded. The bus service was badly done but that was the only issue we had during our stay at ASM. We enjoyed ASM as much as the parks. We probably should have allowed an extra day just to hang out.

Bottom Line: you might be uncomfortable at ASM with no kids but it's a nicely done resort and an excellent value.
 
42 out of 43 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page