Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
All-Star Music Resort All-Star Music Resort
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
1801 West Buena Vista Drive, Lake Buena Vista
Book this hotel now!
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.6 out of 53.6 out of 53.6 out of 53.6 out of 53.6 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 21 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 10 )
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   2/13/11-2/19/11
Reviewer: thetony45 Steeleville Illinois     April 29, 2011
This was my second trip to Disney, but my first time staying at the All Star Music. The minute I stepped off the Magical Express bus I was welcomed to Disney by smiling Cast Members who bowed as i walked inside.

The Lobby was wonderfully themed with pictures of musicians and instrments everywhere. They were breaking in a new system, so check in took a little longer than normal but it was still faster than any other hotel I ever stayed at. Before I knew it I had my key to the world in hand and was in route to my room.

The room itself was rather small and not themed at all. Being that I was traveling alone and didnt plan on doing much at the resort except sleeping and showering it fit my needs perfectly.

The room had a king size bed with a nightstand on either side, a dresser with a 19 inch TV on it, a little table and 2 chairs, a tiny bathroom, and 1 sink. I had paid extra for a preferred room close to the main building. I was pleased to find that not only was it close to the main building, it was on the ground floor and had an excellent view of the guitar shaped pool.

The buildings in the resort are paired off with 5 different themes and themed better than the delux resorts In My Opinion. I was in one of the Calypso buildings that had giant Maracas in front and conga drums as stairwells.

The Jazz buildings had a giant drum set in front and a picture of a trumpet player as stairwells, as well as a fountain in the middle of the sidewalk between the 2 buildings.

The Broadway buildings had Broadway style marquees out front and the stairwells looked like the backdoor to a theater.

The Country rooms had giant boots out front and a picnic area between the buildings. The Rock and Roll buildings had giant jukeboxes out front. I noticed in several places around the resort, musical notes were embedded in the sidewalk.

where the sidewalks leading to Broadway, Country, and Rock room meet was the piano shaped pool. It was quiter than the guitar shapped pool being so far from the main building. There was a beautiful statue of The Little mermaid and her friend all playing instrments at poolside.

The guitar shaped pool was alot bigger than the piano pool, and had statues of the 3 Caballeros that squitered water into the pool. Radio Disney music was playing during the daylight hours. A Disney movie was shown nightly at poolside, but I was always at a park at that time. When it was shift change time for the lifeguards, those going off duty would lead the guests in a line dance.

The main hall of the resort not only had the lobby, but an arcade, the food court, and a gift shop as well. The arcade was small, but was still well packed with current games and a few all time favorites. The Gift shop was small but had everything youd need for your stay. As for buying souveniers, I'd go elsewhere.

The Food Court at the All Star Music wasnt as big as at the All Star Movies next door, but the food was still excellent and made fresh while you watched. You could even have a pizza delivered to your room.

The Cast Members at the resort were very friendly and glad to answer any question I had.

The only problem I had with the resort was that all 3 All star resorts share a bus line. All Star Music is the second stop, so the limited seating on the bus is almost always filled.

Rates for the resort ran about $90 a night because I paid extra to be close to the bus stop. I highly recommend paying for a preferred room Your feet will thank you later.
 
4 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   August 5 - August 8 2007
Reviewer: tmlande Chicago, IL     October 09, 2008
For price and practical purposes (knowing we would be at the parks most of the time), my boyfriend and I decided on a value resort (about $82 a night). We arrived prior to check-in but they had a room available for us in the Jazz building on the first floor. It was a relief to relax for a few minutes before setting out to our first day at the parks. Upon entering the room there was a little Mickey head towel design on our bed, which was such a nice magical touch! We were greeted with similar towel friends each day. Being at the front was quite convenient for food and catching the bus. However, in the heat and sun it was a little frustrating to stand out in the open to wait for a bus (even though we only had to wait once or twice). My one frustration was that there is no real covered walkway to the main building from the rooms, especially when we were in the middle of a very heavy downpour. My boyfriend was delighted with the availability of the Mickey Mouse shaped waffles and I found their healthy food options plentiful, though we usually only ate breakfast there. Overall was a very similar experience to the moderate resorts I have stayed at for a much cheaper price. A great way to go!
 
19 out of 19 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   april 24 - may 1
Reviewer: Kammie726 Texas     May 03, 2008
Our stay was awful!!!!!! I ve been trying for 7 years to get my husband to WDW telling him how wonderful it is how nice everyone always is wonderful hotels ect ect ect it was such a bust i ve been to WDW 8 times and this was the WORST ... dirty sheets .... horrible pillows .... a bed that felt like it would break our back .... the room was soooo HOTTTT .... rude staff at check in should i go on ??????
 
8 out of 49 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   APRIL 8, 2004
Reviewer: JEANYLASER34     September 30, 2007
Our Family loves to stay in the all star music because the theme. Our theme was the country fair that boot it is so cool. It is so awesome! I want to stay in this hotel Next Month!I can't wait! Thank You! Disney!
 
6 out of 9 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   May 13 - May 19, 2007
Reviewer: RaeDahlin (raedahlin@yahoo.com) Lakewood, Colorado     July 10, 2007
After talking with my fiance, we decided that the all-star music resort would be the best for us since we knew that we would not be in the room very often. I thought that the room was very nice and comfortable. One of the down sides was that because we were in the Broadway building, we were a bit far from everything but with all of the walking that you do during the trip a few extra steps never hurt anyone. While we were there they did change out the comforter which was nice but a bit stiff the first night. Mousekeeping was right on but be ready that if you are in some of the back buildings that your rooms are some of the last ones to be done. This was a bit hard when we wanted to have an afternoon nap but something that I am sure can be changed if requested. The food court wasn't the best. One of the mornings I headed to the parks solo and wanted a quick something for breakfast and nothing opened until 6:30 and the full menu wasn't ready until 7:00 am. I would suggest getting something in one of the other resorts, like the Kona Cafe if you want an early morning. I would recommend the resort but wold stay in All-Star Sports next time since they were the first to be picked up and dropped off. We never waited long for the buses though and it was great to have such quick access to Animal Kingdom. Overall, I would stay here again since we did have such minimal time in the hotel. The theme is great and the pools are wonderful. The All-Stars are a great way to get the Disney goodies, with out the price!
 
14 out of 15 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   Sep/Oct 2006
Reviewer: kittylovesthemouse Marshall, Michigan     January 15, 2007
My aunt (she's 64) and I came to WDW for a long weekend. We chose ASM for the price ($71.19 incl tax per night). We were there 9/28 to 10/02/2006. We arrived late (airline issues) and even at 8 p.m., had to wait in line for check-in. The desk CMs were slow, inefficient, and downright rude. We asked to change rooms and they refused to even entertain the idea, or explain why not. We weren't feelin' too magical at that point. We asked for Jazz building and a first floor room, we got Broadway (way far in the back) and third floor...not complaining, just making the point that a "request" is not a "guarantee." We're both quite fit, so the extra steps were just fodder for the pedometers.

We decided to cheer ourselves up by going to DTD that night and having dinner at Rainforest Cafe. By the time we got back to our room, our luggage had arrived. We both agreed that the beds were very comfortable and the room was very quiet.

The room was just right for us size-wise. The decor is loud, but it's Disney and it's fun, in a silly sort of way. We actually thought the Broadway area was quite pretty at night, all lit up. Mousekeeping was ok...maid made us little animals out of washcloths the first night. The room was full of little dead buggies (especially around the window) which remained there during our stay.

The walk to the bus stop meant we passed both pools and went through the main building. The stops are very spartan...nothing over your head but Florida sunshine, and you're kept in line with steel chains and poles. Bus service was fine...we stood all but two times--again, not a complaint, just making a note. It's busy and they pack you on. Bring your sense of humor and comfortable shoes.

We did not use the pool or the food court. We spent all of our time in the parks. Our observations from passing these two areas were that they were busy and noisy...although kids sure did seem to enjoy the pool! We did stop in the gift shop for our free Magic Express pins.

I've stayed at ASMovies (2004) and PO Riverside (2006). This was my least favorite resort, thus far. It felt big and impersonal. But then again, we hardly spent any time in it, and our travelling party consisted of two older adults. Atmosphere-wise, my family found ASMovies much more fun for the price.
 
10 out of 10 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   06-09-02 to 06-15-02
Reviewer: mousenut18 Hollidaysburg, PA     May 02, 2006
Since our visit's to WDW are every two to four years we opted to stay in the park this time around. For price and affordability the All Star Music Resort was made just for us. We drove down from Central PA since back then driving was cheaper than flying. We left Sat. afternoon and arrived late Sun. morning. We were greeted very warmly and our room was already available. Our room was clean and just the right size for our need's. We donned our swimming trunk's on and went to explore the resort. The piano pool had a nice touch to it but the larger one with Donald and the cabarello's was our favorite. We ate at Downtown Disney that night to start our adventure off right. Monday morning came and the breakfast at the food court was quite good. Went out to the bus stop and we were the last people on the bus to the Magic Kingdom (our favorite). Spent all day at the park which was perfect. The buses came about 15 minutes apart. We finally got on the third bus since the line for the all-star resort's was quite long. We were at our resort in a short while breathing a sigh of releif. Thinking back when we stayed off the park and the absolute nightmare it was getting back to our hotel. Never again will that happen. Getting back to our room their were our package's from the Magic Kingdom sitting on our bed's. The room was clean and in order. The next four day's were like the first. Got up early ate breakfast went to whatever park we wanted to go to that day and got back late. The bus service was extremely efficient. Never had to wait longer than 15 minute's at any park for our bus. And when we arrrived back at the resort the souvenir shop had a very good selection to choose from. For the time we actually spent at the resort was to sleep. But for the record the people working their were very polite and gracious. The only problem I had was leaving. Our next trip down which will be next year will be booked at the All Star Music Resort.
 
28 out of 28 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   12/1/04-12/07/04
Reviewer: eponine119 Salt Lake City, UT     December 09, 2004
The week we spent at All-Star Music was for the most part enjoyable. The rooms were comfortably furnished, with a large dresser, table and chairs, and iron in addition to the beds. We did experience some confusion at check-in, but I was unable to determine whether it was my error in booking or theirs.

The shuttle service to the parks was great, very fast and efficient. Service in the food court seemed slow -- even at busy times, there would be only one or two cashiers.

I was most concerned by the lack of housekeeping services during our stay. The shower had mildew, and the bathroom floor was not swept even once during our stay. (There was confetti on the floor when we checked in, and it was still there when we left.) There was a large sticky spot on the carpet, and housekeeping seemed inattentive to our needs. Even when we left a tip directly on top of the empty tissue box, it wasn't refilled.

The Pop Warner football event began during our stay, and we did experience some noise, mostly from young cheerleaders running from room to room. The noise didn't disturb my sleep because I'd brought earplugs along.

Staying on Disney property was definitely worth it to us, and the $79 per night rate would have been difficult to beat.
 
18 out of 21 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   9/12/04-9/19/04
Reviewer: manofsteel75 Mcleansville,NC     October 26, 2004
Upon arrival at ASM my mother and I went to check in while my wife, kids and 85 year old grandmother watched the video in the lobby. As I told the young lady behind the counter that we were there to get the keys for our rooms, I told her one of the rooms was to have a king sized bed ( being 6'6" 245 pounds on a double bed is not a pretty sight) she responded by laughing at me and informing me that all of those rooms were gone. I whipped out the confirmation from my travel agent and sure enough it said "requests king bed", not reserved. So after complaining till I was blue in the face I resigned myself to the fact that I would indeed be sleeping on a double bed.The rooms were nice, we were in the jazz building, and weel appointed for the price($79 a night per room). The staff was pleasant, but you could tell that they would rather be elsewhere. We have stayed at wilderness lodge, caribbean beach and the polynesian, and the staff at all of those places is just bubbling with disney enthusiasm, I guess you get what you pay for in every respect when you go the value resort route. The food court was slow at best, but the food was better than I expected. Oh, and by the way, BUY THE REFILLABLE MUG, it will pay for itself in a matter of days. My biggest disappointment was the bus system, it seemed like it took forever to get anywhere. One night we ventured to winter/summerland to play mini golf. We finished up around 9:00 pm. blizzard beach had shut down and our party of 6 and another family were the only people standing at the bus area. After we waited for 25 minutes, wondering if another bus would come or wether we should hoof it back or sleep there, a car with a mickey head on the door appeared. The gentleman was very nice and promised that all 10 of us would be back to the ASM soon. With a squeal of tires the bus hit the parking lot, the driver didnt even wait until I had both feet on the bus before he took off. He drove like a maniac and seemed really pissed off that we did not feel like walking or sleeping at the bus area. When we finally got back at around 9:50pm several of the passengers, myself included, marched to the front desk to complain about the driver. The manager dutifully listened to all of our complaining then responded with " That must have been Bill, he gets like that when he has to work past 8. Sorry folks, I will pass that along to his supervisor." That was all that was ever said, even when I asked him 2 days later what the guy's supervisor said he just shrugged and said sorry again. All of the other drivers were great, we had 1 driver 3 days in a row, they would lead sing alongs and tell jokes. All in all it was a good trip aside from a few incidents. We are going back in January and staying in a 2 bedroom villa at boardwalk, where I am assured to get a king sized bed, and we are also driving this time instead of flying. That way if we are going somewhere close to closing time I can drive and avoid BIll.
 
16 out of 22 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   Oct 2001
Reviewer: cocoabeach Portland, Oregon     April 23, 2004
Nice in every respect. Not spectacular but definitely nice.

Active vs Quiet
Having stayed at the All-star resorts several times, I'll tell you that I honestly prefer the Music above all the others. We like both fun and activity as well as quiet time but overall we preferred the quiet of music over the others. Movies is very popular (due to the theme?) and crowded and the Sports has been noisy every time we went. I don't want to be negative about the resorts since we have really enjoyed our stay there but I'd like to help people make up their minds about staying here.

Pools
The pools are nice but have very little theme. If you really like the theme concept then you will be disappointed. If you just want a fun evening in the pool with lots of activity, you will love it. Each night the main pools around the movies and sports complex are crazy packed with people having fun. The music has a piano shaped pool and is less crowded. There are no slides so the fun is pretty much limited to splash and play which is fine too.

Food
The food is a cafeteria style eating area and it isn't bad at all. It is crazy in the morning if you don't get there early and be prepared to overlook the mess that so many families with kids can make but overall I still enjoyed it. We are the type of family that likes to get up, eat and get going so cafeteria style is preferrable. The crazy atmosphere though was a tiny bit much for us early in the morning and since we are from the West coast, boy did it feel too early for all the madness. The next year we stayed at the Coronado Springs and it has the perfect balance of cafeteria eating and sit-down ambience. If you can get a good deal, I'd definitely recommend it over All-star.
 
13 out of 13 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page