Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
All-Star Music Resort All-Star Music Resort
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
1801 West Buena Vista Drive, Lake Buena Vista
Book this hotel now!
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.6 out of 53.6 out of 53.6 out of 53.6 out of 53.6 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 21 ( Displaying Reviews: 11 - 20 )
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   January 11-18, 2004
Reviewer: Parkatola Salt Lake City, Utah     January 19, 2004
We stayed at the All Star Music (ASM) for a week in January 2004. We arrived in the evening on Sunday, and the front desk had some problems with our check in. But they found a luggage cart and two cast members took the rest of the family and our bags up to the room while I waited to see if the problem could be taken care of. (It could and it was.)
The food court service doesn't seem to be able to ramp up for busy times. The food is standard cafeteria fare, with nothing spectacular, but everything above average. I echo what everyone said about buying the refillable mugs. They were $12 when we bought them, but we drank at least that (in WDW inflated prices) in a week, so we didn't begrudge the cost too much.
The maid service wasn't great. They're apparently getting skimpy on the Mickey soap since there are soap and shampoo dispensers in the showers. And the beds were made kind of sloppily. (These were things my wife noticed - I didn't see them.)
The guitar-shaped pool was great for the kids, and the lifeguards were fun to talk to. They interacted well with the kids.
We were in the Jazz Inn, so our walk to the buses wasn't too long. It did get tiring each time we came back to be dropped off at the door to the gift shop. If it didn't happen on so many rides through the parks (Pirates, Test Track, Immagination, Dinosaur, Tower of Terror, etc.), it might not have been as bad.
Be advised: If you're planning to make your own lunches, you can't buy a loaf of bread at any of the All Star resorts (as far as we could find). They sell bread in the food court, but it's 2 slices for $1.
Overall, a good place to stay and we'll stay there (or another All Star) again. Good value, and we really didn't plan to spend much time in the room or at the resort, so what little we saw of the place was fine.
 
11 out of 12 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   September 26-29, 2003
Reviewer: kidd_freeper Connecticut     October 30, 2003
My wife and I went to WDW with the intention of spending most of our time and money on the parks and the restaurants. We had no intention of spending time at a resort, other than to sleep. We chose to stay on-site because of the free parking at the parks, the bus system and the ability to have our park purchases sent back to the resort. The cheapest off-site hotel was only $10/night less, which was almost offset by the free parking at the parks ($7/day).

We used the AAA discount during value season and booked a regular room for $65/night. I had called the CRO three times in an attempt to get an upsell to a moderate resort, without success. We were pleasantly suprised to learn that we had been upgraded to a prefererred room for no extra charge. The Preferred rooms are identical to the regular rooms except that they are closer to the lobby and the bus stop. We had also asked for a king size bed, and they gave us one.

The rooms are clean and comfortable, but nothing special. But they were inexpensive. The pool areas were uncrowded and clean. We had no problems with noisy guests. I would recommend staying at the All Star resorts if you view a hotel only as a place to sleep.

Some notes:
1) The All Stars Sports resort might be the best of the three All Star resorts to stay at simply because thats the first bus stop, and you'll have a better chance at getting a seat. In that regard, All Stars Movies would be the worst of the three. From the bus window, we saw long lines of people waiting at All Stars Movies waiting to get on a bus. There was enough space on the bus to accomodate everyone who was waiting for a bus at the All Star Music resort, but some people had to stand.

2) Taking the bus to the Magic Kingdom is much faster than driving there yourself. You skip past the transportation center and go directly to the front gate of the MK, saving yourself at least half an hour on both going to the park and returning back to your hotel. If you have a car, I would recommend driving to either EPCOT or MGM - its slightly faster, its just as free as the bus (if you are staying at an on-site resort) and it allows you slightly more flexibility. I do not know which is better for Animal Kingdom.

3) If you make any purchases in the parks, it takes a while for them to be delivered back to the resort. Anything that you buy after about 4 pm will not be delivered back to your resort until the evening of the next day. If you can work around that delay, the package delivery service is an excellent benefit. It beats carrying around a bunch of bags all day.
 
24 out of 24 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   12th December 2002
Reviewer: zoomer.monkey Glasgow, Scotland     July 10, 2003
I spent my 21st Birthday in Disney and in the All Star Music Hotel and it was the best!

The Christmas decorations were fantastic and the hotel looked lovely both inside and out.
The staff at check-in were excellent, very informative and arranged balloons and a Mickey gift to be delivered to my room!
The room was very clean and quiet - the Mickey soap was replaced everyday!
Breakfast was very good, we enjoyed the freshly baked muffins, which are still hot if you eat early.
Buses to and from the park were efficient and the bus drivers are hilarious - we spent most journeys singing American songs - it was great - an attraction not to be missed!
We used the quick check out option, so that we did not waste time on the last day.
The shop in the hotel is good too and we arranged to have our purchases delivered to the shop from the park each day, which saved us carrying them.

Overall a very memorable and enjoyable holiday - we will definitely come back here!!!
 
6 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   December 5-9, 2002
Reviewer: Music Mole Fort Worth, Texas     April 27, 2003
This is a great hotel that we feel like achieves it's intended purpose: economical accomodations on property, with Disney theming, and the benefits of staying on-site.

Check-in at midnight was not as smooth as we might have expected. There were several parties checking in at this time, and the only lady at the front desk did not know how to code the door keys to make them actually unlock the doors, so we and several others had to be let into our rooms by housekeeping personnel that were dispatched to our locations. She was nice but did not give off an air of efficiency. But all other front desk staff during our stay were helpful and responsive (in getting us a working key the next day, for example).

We did not ever eat at the food court (it appeared to be quite busy every time we walked past it).

Our room in the Calypso buildng was clean and nicely themed; of course smaller and with fewer amenities than a deluxe but we thought it was quite nicely themed and worth it given the price we paid ($59/nt). You do hear foot traffic etc. going past your room (we were on the bottom floor) but we are usually up and at the parks early, so that was not an issue for us. No loud neighbors or late night noise. We could hear the alarm clock of our neighbors through the wall though, but again, as our plans were to be up early-ish anyway, 20 or 30 minutes earlier didn't really matter to us.

Bus service was good -we only had to stand on the bus for the trip back to the hotel one evening of our stay.

We would (and will be in May 2003) stay at this hotel again because of the value it provides - better a vacation staying at the All Stars than no Disney vacation at all!
 
6 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   December 2001
Reviewer: Pennysher Philadelphia, Pa.     November 01, 2002
I had originally booked POR but changed to ASmu because of a discount sale of $59 a night. We were there the first week of December-the same time as the Pop Warner Football event. The hotel was overrun with kids. The courtyards, food court, lobby, stores, etc. were extremely crowded. We stayed in the Country Fair building and had a long walk past the main pool to get to the food court and bus stop.
Since I almost always stay at POR on my visits, I was used to sitting on a bench peacefully waiting for the buses. At this hotel we had to stand in a long line while waiting to be sure we would get on the bus. As one bus services all three All Star resorts you are squished to capacity before heading off to the parks. I don't think we got a seat on any of the buses at all during our visit.
The hotel itself, while not as beautifully landscaped as POR was cute in it's own right. We used the piano pool as it was closest to our room and enjoyed the theming. The rooms were clean. The housekeeping staff kept the rooms spotless our entire stay.
I traveled with a teen and a pre-teen, and both complained about the crowds and the noise. On one night we had a group outside our room who drug their room tables into the courtyard and proceeded to have a picnic all day and well into the night. They were there when we left for the parks in the morning and were still going strong late that night when we returned. Needless to say we didn't get much sleep that night.
Perhaps someone with small children on a budget would welcome this resort to keep the kids amused, however, I would not stay there again no matter how low of a discount rate!
 
6 out of 10 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   4 nights beginning 09/25/02
Reviewer: camindfb Fort Lauderdale, FL     October 02, 2002
I paid $49 per night (Florida resident rate) for a standard room and thought that it was a great deal. The room decor was nowhere near as loud as the outside of the hotel and the room had a "new" feel to it. There were no problems with noise, but I was at the back (Country Fair #6), not facing the inner court. There is an in-room safe, but you could not get much more than your wallet and a blackberry device inside of it. It is NOT large enough to store a laptop computer (you'll just have to leave the darn thing - and all your work - at home) (oh, shoot).

My room was closest to the piano pool and that was the only one I used. The surrounding buildings and trees are positioned in such a way that you can always find some part of the deck area that is in the shade. You can use your room towels at the pool and housekeeping will just bring you more.

I only ate breakfast in the food court, but it was acceptable.

I never waited longer than ten minutes for a bus to any of the parks. If the bus is stopping at all three of the All Stars, Music is the middle stop. It seemed to be up to the driver whether Sports or Movies was the first.

I would definitely stay at an All Star again, especially at the rate I got. Next time though, I would try harder to get a room with a single king bed rather than 2 doubles (I travel alone). I'd also try to get a building closer to the front, such as "Jazz". Rooms that are in the closest buildings - "Calypso" - are a higher rate.
 
11 out of 11 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   September 2001
Reviewer: JMS4528 Los Angeles, California     August 09, 2002
This resort was great. The food court had good food at reasonable prices (for disney). The rooms were small, then again we had 4 adults in one room! Our room was almost as far back as possible, which was discouraging at the end of a long day at the parks. The bus system wasn't as bad as I thought it would be. The All-Star Resort busses always had long lines, but the wait was never long since as soon as one left, another one pulled up. This resort is great if you are there more for the parks than the hotel. We were able to get up, get a good, quick breakfast and get on our way, then when we got back at night we grabbed a quick snack and went back to our room. With the exception of the pizza delivery boy (that's right, you can get pizza delivered to your room), all of the cast members were friendly and helpful. We booked through Disney which was great because they were so nice! We were supposed to arrive on Sept. 12th, but because of the events on Sept. 11th we were unable to arrive until late on the 14th. I kept calling the reservation center and changing the date and time as our flights kept changing. Oh I'm rambling now... sorry! My point... this hotel is great, i have no complaints, my only suggestion is to request a room near to the lobby.
 
7 out of 8 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   November, 2000
Reviewer: hbquikcomjamesl (jamesl@hb.quik.com) Orange County, CA     August 02, 2002
Please note that this is entirely from memory, but I will be returning in November, 2002, and will probably have additional impressions.

Arriving rather late in the evening (even later than planned, because of a less-than-ideal transfer from the train station), I found the line at the front desk rather short (or was it nonexistent?). Check-in was quite smooth, and the desk clerk took the time to explain the major points of my Resort Magic package (most of which I'd already gone over, months before, with my travel agent). I was then given directions to my room, and sent on my way. The staff seemed quite polite and helpful, despite the lateness of the hour.

My room was in one of the Country Western buildings, geographically the farthest from the lobby building, but I will say that this was the only downside to the whole stay. The food court, though by no means spectacular, provided more-than-adequate breakfasts; the room, though not as luxurious as what I get at the Columbus Motor Inn in San Francisco, or the Pioneer Square Hotel in Seattle, was no disappointment, and was far better than I've had in a couple of far more expensive establishments (such as the W Hotel in Chicago, an establishment to which I'm never returning). The guest laundry was somewhat small, but quite adequate to my needs.

I must disagree with the other reviewer who found the drawer space inadequate. As I recall, it was quite adequate (and far better than the nearly-nonexistent drawer space at the aforementioned Chicago "W"). Likewise, I found the Disney bus transportation more than adequate, except for the one occasion, early on a Sunday morning, before MK was open, when I needed to catch an early LYNX bus out of TTC, and thus had to take a short cab ride. I found the room to be as clean and well-maintained as any hotel room I've ever stayed in (and the drawers were far cleaner than the one available drawer at the Chicago "W").

All in all, I enjoyed my stay, enough to book a return trip (but with a request for a room closer to the lobby!)
 
5 out of 9 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   April 2001
Reviewer: susieqintexas Texas     August 01, 2002
Very large, very busy, somewhat noisey resort. Busy pools, food court and buses. Great for families with kids, it seems though. Long walks to the buses due to sheer size of the resort.
 
2 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   July 2001
Reviewer: poweraap Millburn, New Jersey     July 31, 2002
We stayed in a standard room for $99/ night for 3 nights. The line at check-in was very long. Our first impression of the room was not that great: the room was not well-lit, there was not enough drawer space for our clothes, the shampoo/ conditioner mechanism mounted on the wall was old and dirty looking, and the walk to the main building was pretty far. We had terrible experiences with the busses - we actually ended up jumping into a cab after waiting for the bus for 40 minutes. The food court was decent. However, the lines were very long. The resort was very loud and crowded throughout the day, even late at night. There are hotels off property that go for significantly cheaper that offer a much more relaxed, convenient experience. This resort makes sense for a family with children who are trying to keep costs down. However, as an adult without children, I will never stay at a value resort on Disney property again.
 
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page