Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Caribbean Beach Resort Caribbean Beach Resort
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
900 Cayman, Lake Buena Vista
Book this hotel now!
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4.1 out of 54.1 out of 54.1 out of 54.1 out of 54.1 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 36 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 10 )
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   NOVEMBER 18, 1988
Reviewer: JEANYLASER34 MIAMI, FLORIDA     October 12, 2010
I love Caribbean Beach Resort and the shops and food courts looks great and the rooms in Aruba looks great and I can't wait to stay in this hotel for Dec 2010! This is great hotel! we love it! Disney castmembers is very nice and the arcade is awesome to play video games! That's why we will take the Caribbean Beach for Dec 2010!
 
4 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   4/11/10-4/18/10
Reviewer: worldlover71 NY, NY     May 04, 2010
For my solo trip to the World, I chose to stay in a Standard room at the CBR. I was going to stay in a preferred or water view room but chose a standard room instead so I could apply the difference in price to the price of the Backstage Magic Tour. I got a 35% off discount (about $135 per night) from the Walt Disney Travel Company through which I had booked by trip to Disneyland two years ago. I had only stayed on property once before, many years ago at Fort Wilderness though we did stay at the Disneyland Hotel when we went to California in 2008.

The preferred rooms are closer to Old Port Royale, the resort's main building and pool which is important if you have small children or someone with trouble walking because the resort is very large. Walking a bit didnt really matter to me though so a standard room was fine. I also took a chance with the view since it could be of a parking lot but that was a chance I was willing to take. The rooms all have refrigerators which meant I could bring breakfast food to save money and time in the morning.

My trip began on Sunday and after a quick stop at Pop Century Resort The Magical Express bus was off to the CBR. We arrived at 1:15 and I went to the on-line check-in counter. The marketing materials all say that if you check in on-line before you leave home, everything will be ready for you when you arrive. That may be true but I still had to wait on line to get it and that took a while. I finally got to the counter and they did have all my information ready and to my surprise the room was ready too (check in time is normally 3pm.). I was given my Key to the World card and all my paperwork and maps and was told that I had a courtyard view which was far better than the parking lot I was expecting. The room was also on the second floor which I had wanted but not requested. I was going to be in the Barbados village and was told I could take the internal shuttle there but when I looked at the map, it looked like Customs House, where I was, was right across the street. The desk clerk looked at it and laughed and said I was right and it would be much quicker just to walk. I was glad of this because for some reason you cannot bring your bags on the internal shuttle. You have to leave them with bell services and let them bring them to you.

I was across the street in minutes to the bright pink building 16 in Barbados. I enjoyed looking at the bright, tropical architecture of the buildings as I made my way to my room. I found my room and was happy to find it was a corner room with two windows and a Finding Nemo theme. It was very spacious for me (and I think would be for a family of four as well) and vibrant so I started to settle into my temporary home. Everthing was neat and fresh though there was a bulb out above the sink. I called housekeeping and the next day when I got back from the park it was fixed.

After a while I headed over to Old Port Royale for lunch and some pool time. I was disappointed in the gift shop to find that there was nothing with the CBR logo. Apparently only the deluxe resorts carry merchandise with their logos. I was happy however, to see that they carried beverages including half gallons of milk. I got a salad at one of the food stands and ate it as I walked around the common areas. The food court itself is colorful and lively and the food selection is basic if a little above the standard food court. It does not have enough variety to eat here every meal every day, but how many people do that? I was surprised that the grab and go area did not carry sandwiches but otherewise they have a nice selection of fresh foods.

The pool area which looks like an old Spanish fort was very lively but it was a little too crazy for me. Lots of kids running around of course and even in Disney I was afraid of leaving my camera, phone and wallet unattended. Instead I headed over to the quiet pool near my room. Each village has a no-frills pool and this one was more my speed. The only problem with the quiet pools was there are no hot tubs. You have to go to the main pool to use the two there. There were still people at the quiet pool but far fewer and I could easily see my things and not worry.

On my third night (Tuesday) I went back to the main pool after the parks had closed and found only a few people there. I enjoyed the pool and hot tub and found it a relaxing way to end the day.

I went to the main pool one more time late Saturday night but this time when I got there, I was surprised to find it packed with people. That night, the pool bar was open and packed, both hot tubs were full of people and there were a ton of kids splashing around at the pool. It was Saturday night and I guess even when people are on vacation in a place where the day of the week is irrelevant, they want to party on Saturday night.

I found the park busses very efficient. I never waited more than 15 minutes for a bus (usually much less) and never needed anywhere near the hour and a half that I read it could take to get to the parks. It rarely took more than 20 minutes even with all the stops the busses make at each village. These stops can be annoying, especially when you are tired, but don't add more than a few minutes to your travel time. In the morning, the busses were full but not packed but in the evening you should be prepared to stand if you can. The only t
 
43 out of 44 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   June 13-June 16, 2007
Reviewer: RockDoc07 Long Island, NY     June 23, 2007
2 people, room in Aruba. We were upgraded for free to a King size bed.

This was my first ever trip to Disneyworld and my Dw2b's third. She had never stayed on property before. I must say we were very glad we chose to stay here. We arrived with our rental car and checked in VERY quickly, which was a huge plus. We decided we were going to dump our bags since it was already after 5, go dump the car, and then head to MGM. This was where we hit our only snag. We dropped the bags off at roughly 5:30. We gave them our room number and they said they would not deliver the bags to our room until we were there. I said that was ok, they could deliver them now and she said they wouldn't and that they preferred to wait until the guests were in the room. So we went to the park, and returned to our room at 1 AM to find no bags. We then had to call and had to stay up waiting for these bags until 1:45.

The rest of our stay was very enjoyable. Everyone was helpful and friendly. We were doing some penny collecting for our trip scrap book and while we were at another hotel we saw a penny with the hotel logo on it. So we were hoping to get a CBR penny, but none of the machines had them. I asked the gentleman at the travel desk if he knew of any and he spent 5 minutes with me looking on the computer to see if there were any penny presses that could be of help. He was awesome!

The food area was very nicely stocked, and the gift shop people were very friendly and helpful.

Our room was cleaned and always nicely taken care of. Having the fridge was a huge help to hit the parks each day with cold bottles of water. The decor in the room was awesome. The clock radio was very nice and very good for what we needed (an alarm).

We never had to wait more than ten minutes for buses, but to be fair, we were trying to get buses first thing in the morning so I am sure that helped a little. We did wait a little in the middle of the day to get the internal resort bus.

We both enjoyed staying here very much and had an excellent time. We both agreed we would stay here again and maybe next time explore the resort a little more.

I will give a piece of advice, we larrived late in the afternoon on a weekday which we think contributed to our ease with checkin. When we left, it was the middle of the day on a Saturday and there were a lot of people checking ina nd leaving and the customs house looked like a zoo. So check in might not always happen with the simplest of ease.
 
92 out of 95 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   May 8 - May 14 2006
Reviewer: Artemis908 Red Bank, NJ     March 28, 2007
This was my 9th trip to WDW and 5th time staying at the Caribbean Beach Resort. We stay at this resort year after year because we find it offers the best quality for a moderate price.

Caribbean Beach is split up into six sections: Trinidad North, Trinidad South, Jamaica, Aruba, Barbados and Martinique. The Customs House, located at the northern part of the resort, is where you check-in. There is a food court, called Old Port Royale, located in between Trinidad North and Martinique. In the center of all of these sections, is a lake and beach where you can sunbathe, play volleyball or take a boat ride (guests are not allowed to swim in the water).

The one downside about staying at the Caribbean Beach Resort is the resort is so large that it can be inconvenient to get to Old Port Royale. The two sections next to Old Port Royale are considered preferred rooms, and so you'll end up paying more money to stay there for the convenience. There are buses that can take you to the food court, but this can be very inconvient, especially if you are several stops before the Old Port Royale stop.

When we went to check-in, we decided last minute to try to get a room somewhat close to the food court. We ended up getting a water view room, located in Aruba, so that we could walk across the bride and through an island in the middle of the lake, to get to Old Port Royale. The walk took about 10 minutes and was very pleasant, as the scenery was very nice, especially at night.

When arriving in our room, we found a good size room with two sinks outside of the bathroom, two full size beds and a mini refrigerator. The room was decorated in tropical colors and we had a nice view of the water.

My favorite part of staying at Caribbean Beach is Old Port Royale, I love how its decorated. The colors are so rich and the feeling is so tropical, I really enjoy how nice the décor is. Old Port Royale houses a food court, gift shop, arcade, ATM machine, post office box and a sit down restaurant called "Shutters". The food court houses several counter service restaurants that serve pizza, pasta, sandwiches, burgers and other typical counter service items, as well as various breakfast items like mickey waffles for breakfast. You can also buy a souvenir cup here for unlimited beverages during your stay that can only be used at the resort, which is great to fill up and take back to the room after a day at the parks. There is outdoor seating (but beware of birds) and in between this seating area and in the main pool, is a bar that opens in the afternoon.

There is one area where you can get snacks for your Disney meal plan that offers MANY choices including: cupcakes, brownies, bagels, large cookies, peanut butter and jelly sandwiches, ice cream and more! Amazingly, all of these are considered snacks on the meal plan, I was like a kid in a candy shop!

We found Old Port Royale to be very crowded in the morning, but not so crowded that we couldnt find a table. The busiest times seemed to be between 8:30-9:30 AM. That, however, seemed to be the only time we saw a lot of people.

The resort, for the most part, was quiet and peaceful, which is one upside for staying in a large resort.

Getting to and from the parks is easy, there is a bus stop in front of every section.However, the buses sometimes took a very long time to arrive. Youd want to go to Epcot and wait 20 minutes for that bus, while 5 Magic Kingdom buses in a row come by and pick up no one. Epcot is the closest park to Caribbean Beach, so it takes a matter of minutes to get there. The Magic Kingdom is the furthest away and it takes around 15 minutes to get there.

The 7 days went by very quickly and when it was finally time to go home, I once again was not disappointed by Caribbean Beach. It continues to be my favorite resort at Walt Disney World and I highly recommend everyone stay there at least once. I will be staying at Caribbean Beach during my next trip in September 2007!
 
75 out of 77 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   November 10 - 15
Reviewer: liroi Katy, TX     February 12, 2007
This was our second stay here, but the first with kids. The rooms were the same, cool, breezy themes. LOVE the addition of the privacy curtain into the bathroom area. Made it easy to get ready while kids slept.

We stayed in Martinique and paid a little extra to be close to the main building. It was. We were able to go get refills with ease and grab and go back to our rooms after a day of play. The food is fine, but there isn't much variety if you don't like pizza, chicken or mac and cheese. The new healthy sides for kids are wonderful.

My only complaints about this resort are in relation to the Customs House where you check-in. IT's not anywhere near the rest of the resort. Check out and check in takes double the time because you have to wait for the resort internal shuttle. Also, the check-in for the magical express was difficult and the cm's there were not particularly helpful with the process.

Overall, this is a nice place to stay. If you've got little ones, I encourage you to stay near the main building (Port Royal I think) and get a building that has an elevator for strollers as ours didn't.
 
29 out of 33 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   February 5-7, 2007
Reviewer: celtfiddler Everett WA     February 08, 2007
Check in was very prompt. Room was a nice size. Pool area seemed lovely (did not have a chance to swim). Transportation was consistent and reliable.

Cons: For the price you would think you would not be taking lukewarm showers. Housekeeping service was lousy (We returned from visiting one of the parks in the late afternoon to find our room had not been serviced). Package delivery service to the hotel was a major disappointment--one package took two days to arrive and one was lost (received notification after checking out it had been located).

Shades of Green was a much better value for the price than the Carribean Resort. We were dissappointed with our experience staying at the Carribean given Disney's reputation for quality service.
 
2 out of 8 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   June 1, 2006 through June 9, 2006
Reviewer: mickeystoontown West Monroe, Louisiana     September 15, 2006
My family of four arrived at the CBR just a few min. prior to 3 p.m. There were 13 families in front of me & w/in 12 min. all were helped & I was called to the check-in window as well.

In my opinion, check-in went extremely quickly (11 min.) I was given a large packet of information which contained theme park maps, info. on extended hrs., dining options, etc. I was also given a large map of the Caribbean Beach Resort.

I was very pleased that the CBR had made notation of my preferences. We rec'd just what we wanted. Jamaica, Rm. 4154 was upstairs & non-smoking and faced a beautiful courtyard. After check-in, I was directed to the Concierge desk to obtain our Hoop Dee Dee tickets. I was given those tickets as well as a print out of all our Advanced Dining Reservations. I was at the Concierge desk just 6 minutes.

As we drove around the resort, I saw that it was large to but our family, that is part of the resort's appeal. I liked the fact that the parking lots were not right next to the buildings but not so far away as you had a long walk to your vehicle.

Our room was immaculate & housekeeping kept it clean during our entire stay. We received three towel animals while there. The room had an armoire, an end table, a dining table w/chairs, a large storage bench, shelving in the closet area & a storage area beneath the double sink vanity. It was also nice to have a refrigerator in the room to store the colas & water we brought along with us. The soundproofing at the CBR was super. We had neighbors on all sides of us & we never heard their voices or TVs through the walls.

The CBR grounds were meticulously maintained. The courtyard was kept clean & any time we saw bits of paper lying around a groundskeeper was there to pick them up.

The Jamaica beach was lovely. It was nice to laze around in the hammock while our son played in the sand. We could even see the Epcot fireworks at night.

I liked the fact that the laundry area is right beside the pool. You could wash & dry your clothes while you swam & not feel like you were taking away from your "vacation" time.

The walk to Centertown was just a short 5 minute walk over the footbridge and through the island. The island was pretty with benches dotted about & there was always tropical music playing.

We were pleasantly surprised w/the store, arcade & food market. The store was larger than we thought it would be & we shopped there on more than one occasion.

We loved the food court which served a large variety of foods. There was a burger & chicken station, a pizza & pasta station, a grilled meat & veggie station & a grab & go market. With 4 in our group it was nice to have everyone get what they wanted & pay one central cashier. The seating area was ample & the place was kept clean at all times.

We had a few days off so we decided to make use of the marina. We rented the 2 seater boats & took off around the lake. It was nice to see the resort from the lake's perspective. We also rented the 4 seater surrey bike & took a ride around the promenade.

The Jamaica bus stop was 3 min. walk from our room. The longest we waited on a bus was just 15 min. & that was the time we JUST missed the Epcot bus (we literally saw it drive away as we were walking) Our usual wait was just 5 to 10 min. It just depended on what time of the day we were catching the bus. The bus stops are covered and are quite large. At times the buses were crowded but, because the CBR is so centrally located, you didn't have to stay on the bus very long. It was great to have an experienced driver who had to deal with the hassle of traffic.

All of you readers, please keep in mind that the CBR is quite large but because it is large, it doesn't seem as crowded as some of the other resorts. It is also centrally located so it's just a short drive (either by Disney transportation or your own) to any of the theme parks or to Downtown Disney.

After having been to Walt Disney World eleven times in the last nine years, we thought our 2006 trip would be our last but after having stayed at the Caribbean Beach Resort, we have already booked our 2007 trip. Yep....we're staying at the Caribbean Beach Resort!
 
69 out of 70 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   9/9/06 -9/10/06
Reviewer: Mazonine Tampa, FL     September 11, 2006
Beautiful resort and very close to Disney-MGM and Epcot. Old Port Royale is centrally placed and all the staff were very friendly. Check-in was a breeze (we checked in around 8:15a).

Pros: Beautiful. Shutters had decent food. A little pricey, but stuck with you for a long day of walking. The fort pool was very nice and was able to accommodate alot fo people. Bus stations were very conveniently located.

Cons: Resort was huge. We stayed in Barbados and we had to drive to get to Old Port Royale. Room color scheme and patterns were not pleasant to the eye. Night of Joy was also going on so we had people returning at midnight. Doors opening and closing and many people in the courtyard for 2 hours. Not a good night's sleep.
 
3 out of 11 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   8/10/06-8/13/06
Reviewer: Jenny Drake (peacepast@aol.com) Lancaster, TN     August 16, 2006
The trip down was blessedly uneventful. We had a 16 Penske truck that vibrated, shook, rattled and rolled all the way from Nashville, through Atlanta, to Tampa then Orlando. The GOOD thing was that unlike other Penske trucks we have driven, this one did not have a governor and would really roll.

We arrived at CBR at 2:00 p.m. We met our final four customers in the parking lot, then checked in. Check in was very smooth and fast. I had faxed in a room request and was delighted to have gotten Jamaica. We were assigned building 42, first floor. It was a quick walk across a parking lot to the bus stop and very close to the pool.

The Good - My first stay at a moderate in 10 years. Not sure how Ill feel returning to ValueLand. Great location. Spacious room with a refrigerator (no freezer compartment). We kept cold drink which we brought in the fridge and it kept me from investing in a refillable mug. Housekeeping was great and didnt miss a thing.

Love the village pool. Nice size and woo-hoo, a deep end.

Bell services were exceptionally prompt and they knew more about Magical Express than the Magical Express folks, but more on that later.

Bus service was VERY efficient. Most of our waits were 5-10 minutes, with some being less than 5.

The Bad - Our first stay there in 1995, a maintenance man came during our first 15 minutes and was touching up dinged paint on the door frame with an artists brush. Sadly, in recent years such attention to maintenance in detail to WDW in general has slipped several notches. The paint was worm or scuffed on the foot of the bed and the edge of the cabinet that housed the fridge.

Most disappointing was landscaping and grounds. There were dead palm fronds in the landscaping in front of our door and they were never removed. Bits of trash in the mulch and edge of the grass from our door to the bus stop stayed there all week. How sad that WDW as a company no longer takes the pride in its grounds that it once did.

The Great TOWEL ANIMALS! Yes, in 16 visits to WDW, I got my first towel animals, a new one each day. At check in was a bunny, then Dumbo, then a puppy. The resort was so quiet, just what I needed. NO noise or even awareness of other guests being there.

As has been stated and restated, this resort does entail a lot of walking to the food court and even more (from our location) to the customs house. If you can regard it as a nice stroll, its quite nice, but if you dont like walking or have physical limitations, this may not be the resort for you.

We did not eat any meals in the food court, so I have no comments on its quality or offerings.
 
12 out of 18 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   May 2nd - 9th
Reviewer: jcapo25 New York     May 10, 2006
We just returned from a wonderful vacation to DisneyWorld and staying at the Caribbean Beach was an added pleasure. This hotel was GREAT. It was a 200 acre property but well worth the short strolls to get to different areas because everything was just so beautiful. We stayed in the Barbados section, building 12, in 2 adjoining rooms, which were conveniently located across from the Custom House and a 5 minute stroll around the lake to the Old Port Royale which is the main pool area and food court/restaurant. This location to me was ideal!! And there was no need to pay the extra money for the preferred location. When I was reading reviews prior to booking, I was nervous because some reviews were stating how it was so big and everything was a hike. I have to disagree. We have an 18 month old son and the grandparents (both in their 60's) that were on the trip and no one complained about the walking aspect of the hotel. We actually welcomed it and thought is was a relaxing time, just to stroll at our own pace and not seem so rushed as sometimes you do in the parks. If you are lazy and don't like to relax by taking a nice walk, then this hotel might not be for you. But if you are on vacation, want to relax in a beautiful setting and short walks don't urk you, then this is the place. The pool in each section of the hotel was a nice touch although we always went to the big pool. I also love the laundry rooms in every section. I washed and packed all clean clothes so I wouldn't have to do it when I got home :-). The staff was great, courteous and oh so sweet. The food court was great, different choices from healthy to down right greasy. Also the kid selections were great for younger children, no sugar applesauce :-) The bar at the pool was awesome, pina coladas are the right way to go. We had our own car so the transportation aspect I can't really comment on. But there was always a bus for every park as far as we could see, we never heard people complaining. The bus stops were conveniently located to each section of the hotel. Our room was always cleaned and there was always a staff member walking around the grounds if you had any questions. A lightbulb was out in my parents room and within 5 minutes of calling, they were there to replace it.

I would highly recommend this hotel to couples, families, everyone of all ages. We absolutely loved it and would return to the Caribbean Beach in a heartbeat.
 
51 out of 52 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3 4
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page