Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Caribbean Beach Resort Caribbean Beach Resort
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
900 Cayman, Lake Buena Vista
Book this hotel now!
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4.1 out of 54.1 out of 54.1 out of 54.1 out of 54.1 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 36 ( Displaying Reviews: 11 - 20 )
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   12-2-05 thru 12-8-05
Reviewer: jandpberger Southern Coast, Maine     March 29, 2006
We stayed at CBR in 2 standard rooms/adjoining at the Martinique,,, and we just loved it! We had 4 of our kids with us, so we needed 2 rooms, and it worked out great. Since they were adjoining, we had the option of leaving the door opened when we wanted one space. Our rooms were clean and noise was never a problem. We were at Disney at one of the best times (right after Thanksgiving, so Christmas is up, but the crowds are not!) The service was wonderful at our resort and the restaurant area. Everyone at Port Royale was helpful and polite. We never waited more than 10 minutes for a bus to a park. The buses were always full coming home, but the drivers were courteous and patient with the guests. I know CBR is big, but that is one of the things we enjoyed about it; the kids loved the Port Royale area and pool with the slide/cannon/waterfall, but also liked the Island, the playground and the arts and crafts. They enjoyed spending a day at CBR when I thought they'd be bugging us to go back to a Park! I loved the laundry room right off our pool area, so we could swim while we did laundry! The fireworks from the beach area were a beautiful end to the day.
 
20 out of 20 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   Feb 25th to March 2nd
Reviewer: k9als Appleton, Wisconsin     March 04, 2006
We just returned from the Caribbean Beach Resort on March 2nd, 2006 and the food court at the Caribbean Beach Resort Old Port Royale got kind of old after a few days. The menu was the same everyday.

We were glad we brought munchies along so we didn't have to eat the same thing everyday. The resort itself was very nice, We stayed in the Martinique Rm 2221 with water view. just thought the food needs to change from day to day in the food court, otherwise it everything else was very plesent and bus access was really wonderful with hardly waiting long for transportation to the parks.
 
9 out of 14 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   May 23 - 28
Reviewer: Greg in TN Franklin, TN     May 30, 2005
We just got back from 5 days at CBR. Our 2nd stay there. Still excellent! We had "standard view" room in Barbados for the full price of $149/nt (no discounts avail). Not quite as convenient to Old Port Royale as where we stayed previously (Jamaica), but I think the scenery/landscaping was even better. But "not quite as convenient" is still a relative comment. A very pleasant & brief walk in any event. The room was ready when we arrived rather early (11:00am, I think), and was perfect; bright, clean & extremely comfortable for two adults & two kids (8 & 4). Yes, there was a line waiting to check in, but that's to be expected. It moved quickly enough. The CM who helped us as we checked in was very pleasant & efficient. Disney transportation was very convenient. Just a short walk to the bus stop. And never an unexpectedly long wait for a bus to come around. For the price/convenience/value/etc. I hope I never have to stay anywhere else @ Disney.

 
78 out of 80 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   4/27/05-5/2/05
Reviewer: Numinous27 (numinous27@hotmail.com) Nashville, TN     May 03, 2005
Standard Room
Aruba
We had heard all of the complaints, TOO BIG, TOO OLD...etc.
Hogwash. (kinda)
We had a fantastic stay at CBR! My wife and I, and another couple stayed at CBR and had a fantastic time.
Yes, this is a big resort, and undoubtedly the location of your room will determine how much you enjoy the vacation. We walked around the entire resort easily, and honestly unless you are disabled, the walks are not that absurd. A resort bus does stop make the rounds often enough, that if you were that tired, you could take the bus to get dinner, or back to your room. The most inconvenient thing I can even think of regarding the size of the resort is the fact that the lobby isn't connected to the food court. That was handy in our other resort stay at Port Orleans French Quarter. The resort would be perfect for any guest with children. From the plentiful pools to the playgrounds and beaches, you can keep those kids busy all day. For adults, a ride around the lake on a surrey bike was a fantastic way for us to spend a little time before heading for the airport. We didn't have time to sample Shutters the sit down restaurant, but the food court was amply stocked with a wide enough varity of food.
If you are reading this then you are considering staying here. Here's my two cents...
If you are a very picky person, who must have everything perfect, than you likely want to stay at a deluxe resort, yes there were stains, yes the sink had a broken fixture. Check in can take a long time, remember this resort has thousands of rooms. You have to come to Disney with some sort of understanding of their limitations. They pull off so many-SO MANY- things seamlessly, when a few minor irritations come up, go with the flow- you'll have more fun. If you are the type to find a flaw in everything, stay at a deluxe, or even better...do go.
But this was such a charming fun resort, from the island in the middle of the lake, to the steel drum music heard while dining outside in the courtyard. An added plus is you can see the firework show from Epcot nightly.
Bus transportation was, as always, mostly very efficient. Being so close to Epcot and Studios makes those two parks only a 5 min bus ride away.
Bottom line, we had a great time at this resort, while not as romantic as Port Orleans French Quarter; I would not hesitate to stay in the Caribbean again, mon.
 
67 out of 67 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   26 March 2005 - 1 April 2005
Reviewer: LindaR Alamogordo, New Mexico     April 04, 2005
Long, long check-in line. Was given a smoking room even though I specifically requested non-smoking. It took 1.5 hours for them to switch us. We were hungry and tired and cranky by then!
This is a lovely resort. I cannot imagine staying here without a rental car, though. I'm glad we finally gave CBR a try, but it is still our third choice out of the mods. POFQ, POR, then CBR.
 
8 out of 25 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   We've stayed here twice
Reviewer: liroi Katy, TX     March 10, 2005
Great place to take a family! The rooms are spacious, easily accessible and aquatically decorated. Ours have been shades of green and blue always. The main building (custom house, I think) is a wonderful place of activity at all hours. There is usually a band playing pool side, a nice bar, people there to braid your hair (or wrap it), several grab and go places and a nice shop. I would not recommend the restaurant there--we had dinner there and were really disappointed by the service, the food and the atmosphere. Get a mug, you'll use it!
 
19 out of 20 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Nov 29 - Dec 5
Reviewer: Erin Toronto, ON     December 27, 2004
Our stay at the CBR exceeded our expectations. We drove up to the Custom House, and the check-in experience was smooth, we had the room we requested, Jamaica Bldg 45.

As we entered our room, we knew it was going to be a great stay. With colorful rooms, a free mini fridge, coffeemaker, lots of space, a courtyard view and a wonderful location, we were thrilled.

We walked out of our room and fell in love with the tropical ambience...the white sand beach with playground and hammocks...the gorgeous walk over the bridge to the little island that led to Old Port Royale.

We visited OPR for the great pool, and used the food court every day for our refillable mugs, fresh fruit, excellent sandwiches, cheese and crackers, etc. The only thing that we ordered and didn't care for was the pizza.

The housekeeping (we had Sandy) was exemplary...
staff at Customs and OPR were so friendly....what an outstanding, tropical, beach vacation experience.
We found bus service to be great, and used that over our rental car quite a bit, although we were glad that we had our car for a trip to Costco (super deal on disposable Kodak cameras and water bottles) and SuperTarget.

We would DEFINTELY recommend this resort to all.
You truly feel the magic of Disney and the sun-drenched, casual beachy ambience of Florida. Can't wait to return!
p.s. Do the wake-up call....Coconut postcards in the resort shop are fun.
 
49 out of 50 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   July 22-July 28/04
Reviewer: wdwbud Toronto, Ontario     November 18, 2004
We try to get down to WDW every second year if not every year. So we like to think of ourselves as Mickey Friendly travelers. We have stayed at the Coronado (Way TOO BIG, but nice) and the Allstar Music and Movies recently. Our last stay at CBR was about 10 years ago.

Our last stay was at AS Music and it was not enjoyable. Too crowded and the pool was fouled atleast once a day for our week stay. These are just two of our complaints. I guess you get what you pay for.

So we felt that we had to go back to CBR for old times sake. We were not disappointed. We were traveling with our 6 yr old and our 6 month old and had purchased the dream maker package. On check in, no waiting at 1:00 PM, we were given a "FREE" upgrade to the preferred rooms. It always pays to ask. The room was clean and was big enough for us and baby's cot. The two sinks as well as the curtain between the washroom and room was a nice touch. Maid service was not consistent. One day they would be at your door by 9:00 AM and others the room would still need cleaning at 3:00 PM. But the room was always spit-spot.

Food court was ok, crowded at the peak times. But you quickly learn to get there early to beat the rush. The main pool was extremely noisy and crowded. Some of the water canons didn't work. But the water was great, since it was 100 Deg. plus most days. We tended to use the pool closer to our room. It was quiet and our little one was able to splash around with no worries of being stepped on.

We drove to all the resorts because of the baby and enjoyed the free parking for resort guests. The one MAJOR problem we had was after the Illuminations fireworks at MK one night. It took 2 hours to get on the ferry across the lake to the parking lot.

All in all our stay at CBR was VERY enjoyable. We will stay at CBR again . On our next visit in less then a year's time will probably be to Port Orleans only for the fact that we haven't stayed there yet. We feel that spending the extra money for a moderate resort is well worth the price. Also for stays at the moderate resorts at the beginning of November/04 was being advertised here in Canada at $59 US/night. A GREAT price. So next time we will be traveling in November.
 
6 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   8/7/04 - 8/15/04
Reviewer: spdeem1953 New Hampshite     November 07, 2004
This was indeed intresting. It was my family's first time staying at a mid-level resort. We have stayed at the All-Star Music the past 4 years and were eager for a new venue of change. Things did not start out too well as during the check-in we were assigned rooms (2) that were not ajoining. This was important to my wife and I since two of our children have special needs. Did not know there were problems with the rooms until we arrived at our rooms. Had to return to check-in and wait in line again until the next available CM could help me resolve this problem. Now this should have not been a problem since the reservation was made back in February with very explicit request for adjoining rooms for the reasons stated above. The CM was quite "put-out" about having to resolve this left to see his supervisor. I was left at the front desk for 45 minutes (no kidding) until he returned. The solution was acceptable in that we were moved from a Preferred Room to two adjoining rooms in the Aruba village. Although it was a further walk to the center of resort where food court was located it was still better solution. I don't want to continue to complain but the CM could and should have handled this problem without the putting on a show. In any case, we were now on our way to week full of fun. Now I will say this.... the Caribbean Resort was all that we hoped it would be.... it was clean, the staff were very friendly and the resort was beautiful. Although the central pool was quite an attraction to the kids (built in the shape of a fort with cannons, slide, etc) the pools at each of the villages were also quite nice. The food court was okay. I would not rate it above the All-Star Music since it was the same fare of food and beverages with the only difference being the ambience. The Bannana Cabanna was quite a lot of fun for my wife and I in the evening when once the kids were put too bed (the older boys 18/17 watch their two younger siblings) which allowed us to relax at a table. The major downside to our visit was Hurricane Charley. This did present quite a problem for all resort guests. I read in the newspapers that Disney had handed out flyers at all of the Hotel Rooms describing how to prepare for the storm. I never saw this... as a matter of fact we pretty much took care of ourselves. We brough back sandwhiches and drinks to the rooms and waited out the storm. The storm did take a toll on the resort... lot's of broken street lamps, down trees, broken limbs, etc... but the hotel held up quite well. No serious damage sustained. Unfortuantely the trip was not as good after the Hurricane due to plans having been turned upsidedown. I must admit the next vacation will be earlier in the year to avoid the Hurricane season and will probably be back at the All-Star Music. For the extra money spent at the Carribbean I felt the experience did not really justify the added expense. Ah welll......
 
6 out of 8 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   August 15 - 17, 2004
Reviewer: WDWFANATIC New Lenox, IL     November 04, 2004
My husband and I went to CBR for our anniversary and had a fabulous time. We stayed in Trinidad on the ground floor looking at a quiet pool. We had a very easy check in and when we told them it was our anniversary the man at check in asked if we would like a king room. Everything in the room seemed spotless and brand new. The decor was beautiful and you really did feel like you were in the Caribbean. We walked around the grounds nightly which were beautiful. We ate at the food court a couple of times. It was a good value. We can't say enough for how well Disney handled the hurricane. We were there a few days after Charley and for the most part everything was back up to the Disney experience we come to expect and enjoy. We stayed at the Contemporary in May with our two girls but this was a much nicer resort experience. We can't wait to go back and share the CBR with them. We did rent a car and drive to all the parks and restaurants while we were there so we can't comment on the buses. They did look full everytime we saw them though and we were thankful to have a car. The CBR grounds are absolutely beautiful and the water sports and pools make this a must stay for families. We like to try out all different WDW resorts but I have a feeling this will be one we come back to often. I really can't believe anyone could have anything bad to say about the CBR. It was perfect during our stay.
 
4 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3 4
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page