Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Caribbean Beach Resort Caribbean Beach Resort
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
900 Cayman, Lake Buena Vista
Book this hotel now!
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4.1 out of 54.1 out of 54.1 out of 54.1 out of 54.1 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 36 ( Displaying Reviews: 21 - 30 )
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   Aug. 1 through 6, 2004
Reviewer: Jeniceves Pittsburgh, PA     October 06, 2004
We booked the Caribbean Beach as the rates were very low beginning the first week of Aug. We were originally placed in a room in Jamaica very near the bus stop on the ground level. I had requested buildings closer to the food court and main pool when I made the reservation but that info. was not indicated when we arrived. After a few hours of having people walk past our room to the bus stop and listening to the busses, we requested a change to the rear of the building which bordered the lake. It was very quiet and even though we were a walk away from the food court, we enjoyed the location as it was very quiet. The main pool can get quite noisy even late at night. Our room was very spacious and we really appreciated the curtain between the dressing area and the bedroom. With 2 adults and 2 older teens, this gave privacy to two people so we could get moving faster. The maid service was outstanding, the rooms were clean with lots of storage and hanging areas. There is a coffee pot with coffee and cream and sugar provided with cups. We requested extra towels and always had more than enough. The food court had decent pizza but we favor the EPCOT restaurants so we did not eat at the food court but once. The grounds are beautiful and you must get a bus to all locations. Service was OK, but the CB is really far from Magic Kingdom. If you are very tired at the end of a long day, standing on your trip back is very rough. The resort is huge and very nice. We've stayed at the Wilderness Lodge, the Dophin and Port Orleans and we probably would choose any one of those over CB, unless there was a huge price difference.
 
6 out of 8 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Feb 11, 2004 - Feb 17, 2004
Reviewer: DRizzo67 Long Island, New York     October 05, 2004
As first time visitors (with our kids) to WDW, my husband and I found CBR to meet all of our Disney expectations. The room (Water view - Martinique) was just the right size for a family of four and we were located in close proximity to OPR. The kids swam in the theme pool (life vests can be rented for entire stay, free of charge) and found it to be exciting. My husband and I enjoyed the view from our room. We never felt over "Disneyed" at any point at CBR. We found transportation to the parks easy and quick and would highly recommend CBR to anyone looking to enjoy disney, yet feel like they are "away from it all".
 
11 out of 11 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   5/14/04 thru 5/19/04
Reviewer: ccola67 Oklahoma City     May 22, 2004
I can't say enough good things about the CBR. We have six kids, so we had to get two rooms. Every night we came back to the rooms with a new surprise. Sometimes it was animals made of washclothes and sometimes we found our stuffed animals reading a magazine or watching TV. It gave the kids something to look forward to after a long day at the park. We were located in building 36 in Trinidad South, which was quite a walk to the main pool, but it was a peaceful break from a hectic day. We ate at the on-site restaurants a few times and thought that the food, service, and prices were great. The bus stop was a short 30 second walk from our rooms and the laundry facilities were even closer. The service, atmosphere, and accommodations made it worth every penny. I'd highly recommend this resort to anyone.
 
22 out of 23 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   May 2 - 7, 2004
Reviewer: Bizzybop ohio     May 19, 2004
As you can tell, we (me, husband and 3.5 yr old daughter) just recently returned from WDW and would recommend CBR with a few considerations to keep in mind. First, we paid a little extra per night for a preferred room location (one close to OPR), and it was definitely the way to go - especially with a younger child! The room was a good size for a family of three or four, decorated nicely and clean. When housekeeping made up the room every day they would make animals out of the fresh washcloths and hand towels - my daughter loved this! There are two pools at OPR, the theme pool which seems to cater to older children, and the very shallow kiddie pool which is basically for infants. Not really too much there for a toddler who's just learning to swim. Service at the food court was quick and if you're a big coffee or pop drinker you will definitely want to invest in the refillable mug. The bus service to the parks was "ok" - there were a couple of times when we waited almost 1/2 hour for a bus that was going our way. Check-in was sort of frustrating - with so much info to go over it was easy to see why it can take so much time to get through the process - and you DEFINITELY don't want to get there just after a tour bus does! What really bothered me was that we had made our reservations through WDTC and were paid in full (with the preferred room rate) and when we went to check in they said they didn't have any preferred rooms available. They didn't offer us any type of consideration except to say that we could switch rooms the next day and, of course, we would only pay the standard room rate for the one night we didn't get the preferred room. This didn't sit real well with my husband, and after a little prodding (he's good at that), they were able to "find" us a preferred room that night. We didn't have a rental car, but did notice that the parking areas were large and close to the buildings. We signed up for the quick check out and had absolutely no problems with it - I highly recommend it. We also arranged for luggage pick-up (make sure you call 24 hrs in advance), went to the MK for the morning and had no problems picking up our luggage at Custom House when we were ready to leave. It was a GREAT trip full of wonderful memories. We'll be staying at a different resort next time, only because we want to try something different.
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   June 2003
Reviewer: nerdygirl13 (flickerchicktiff@aol.com) waco, tx     May 06, 2004
I have seen some bad review here of this resort. Me, my boyfriend and two friends stayed here last summer during a busy time, summer. We had a long check-in(almost an hour) but after that the resort was nothing but perfect. We had a standard view room of a courtyard in building 34 of Trinidad South. It took only a few minutes to walk to OPR and the theme pool. Instead of using our busstop we used Trinidad North(from our building it was closer.) Even as busy as it was, we never waited more than ten minutes for a bus anywhere. Once on the bus, the longest ride was well under 15 minutes to the MK. From the moment we arrived, everything went smoothly. We received our bags in under 20 minutes from the baggage hold. The room was perfect for 4 people. It was always clean(it had been recently remodeled) and was larger than I was expecting. In our experiences the theme pool was never very busy and the 24 hour quiet pool at Trinidad North was perfect for a late night swim. The food court was perfect for quick meals and the staff was always friendly and the grounds were beautiful. My boyfriend(fiance now) are planning our honeymoon for next year and are definitely thinking of going back to the CBR because we enjoyed it so much the first time. I would highly recommend this resort!!!
 
4 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   March 2004
Reviewer: kjmesa Haslet, TX     April 14, 2004
My husband and I were married at WDW almost three years ago. In the last 4 years, we have been to WDW atleast 8 times. We just love WDW and the magic that is WDW. This trip was special because we (myself, husband, mom, and dad) were celebrating my 36th and my mom's 55th birthday.

We stayed at the CBR for 3 nights in a king room with a waterview. The room was comfortable and we had no complaints. We were only there for 3 nights and were not able to go to the pool, but the beach and hammocks looked very relaxing. The lush landscape was beautiful.

It was difficult having to the reception desk and food court in two different buildings on the opposite end of the resort. In our 3 days, we had to go to the reception desk once each day. It took an extra 45+ minutes out of our day each day to go to the reception desk. It would have been so much better to have it located with the food court like Coronado Springs or Port Orleans.

Check-in and check-out was not easy. The cast member who check us in must have been having a bad day because I made the comment to my mom about her attitude wasn't very Disney. It took us 45 minutes to check-in and about another 30 minutes to just get our luggage from the bellroom. Once we got our luggage, we were driven in a van to our room. We arrived at CBR at 11:15 a.m. We didn't get to our room until 1:15 p.m.

On the day of check-out, my parents had their luggage picked up prior to us leaving for our PS for breakfast. We decided to check-out upon our return.

Since the reception desk is in a remote building all by itself, we had to rely on the internal bus shuttle. The internal bus took at least 30 minutes to arrive at our stop. If you forgot something in the room, you'll need to allot at least a hour to just get back to the reception desk. You'll have to wait for a bus at the reception desk and then wait again at your stop to go back to the reception desk. With it being the busy season, I'm surprised they only had 1 internal bus.

When we finally all got to the reception desk, they had one bellman to serve arriving and departing guests. It took 25 minutes to get my parents' luggage. They tried to go through the bell desk inside, but were told that they had three bellman outside to handle their needs. In 25 minutes, we saw only the one. Luckily, we had "oops" time built into our travel time to the airport.

Moral to the story is that if you have a rental car, stay at CBR. If you don't and have to rely on the internal bus, stay at Coronado Springs or Port Orleans where the reception desk, food court, shops, etc... are in one building.

The transportation to the parks was better than the internal bus because they had multiple buses for each park. We did have to wait up to 20 minutes for a bus, but that's about the average.

In the past, we have stayed at Port Orleans, Coronado Springs, Wilderness Lodge, Animal Kingdom Lodge, and now Caribbean Beach. We will not return to Caribbean Beach. We've already booked our next trip to WDW next month for the Star Wars weekend and will being staying at the Animal Kingdom Lodge.
 
9 out of 13 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   june 2003
Reviewer: stinkyface kentucky     December 06, 2003
I had stayed at the CBR the first year it opened. Recently we stayed there again. My biggest complaint: we were stuck in the buildings furthest away from every thing. The resort is huge! I would not stay there again unless I could be guaranteed a certain building. (We made a request but it could not be accomodated.) The resort itself is beautiful, but another complaint is the parrots have been removed! Seeing the birds on that island was my most vivid memory of staying there as a kid.
 
7 out of 11 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   9/5/03-9/12/03
Reviewer: PineapplePrincess California     October 29, 2003
I stayed at the CBR with my husband. The resort was quiet and relaxing. The rooms were cute, and fine for the two of us. I have heard that the rooms have recently been redone and they looked brand new. I loved the tropical feel, from the bright colors to the pineapples on the bed posts.
We stayed in Jamaca which is out of the way, so we had a lot of walking to do. When they say this resort is spread out, believe them!!! I would suggest requesting a room in Martinique or Trinidad North to be closer to the main pool and food court. It was a hike to get everywhere, from the bus stop, to the pool, to the food court.
The grounds were beautiful, and I enjoyed our time there.
 
14 out of 15 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   9/8/2003 - 9/15/2003
Reviewer: drew489 (limitedition@yahoo.com) New Hampshire (near Boston)     September 16, 2003
We recently just returned from our trip to CBR and had a good time. We stay with four adults and one child (2 going on 3) in one room so it was kind of small and getting ready in the morning took some careful planning,

The room is pretty small...big enough for 2 small beds and a bureau but not much else. The bathroom is nice because it has a seperate room with a curtain outside of the actual bathroom that has 2 sinks and 2 mirrors...VERY IMPORTANT if you're traveling with 3 women like I was. :-)

Decor on the inside is ok...nothing great. I definatly felt like I was staying at a lower class hotel from the inside but once I went to the the outside beaches/pools I felt like I was at a nicer hotel.

The food court (AKA Port Royale) was great because it has all sorts of foods until 11PM, very convenient if you're in walking distance like I was. The food is pretty good, I highly recommend the banana stuffed french toast.

The beaches are nice but small and I dont think you can swim in the water. The pools are also very nice (you can swin in those) but they were crowded even up until 11PM and I visited during September...I can't imagine how they are in June-August!

I will try a new hotel next time because although it had mostly what I needed with a few extras for a decent price, there was nothing making me say " I HAVE to stay here again, nothing can be better than this!" It left me feeling like I got what I paid for and was a well designed Disney hotel, albeit a cookie cutter hotel.

I think I will opt to spend a little more money on a hotel with nicer rooms so I dont feel so cramped. Or I could travel with less people....
 
7 out of 9 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   august 27-29
Reviewer: nile6000 new york city     September 05, 2003
Carribean Beach was a plesant surprise. The rooms were decorated beautifully and the grounds made you feel as if you truly were visiting the Carribean. The rooms had plenty of space and were very comfortable. I even found the decor nicer than that in the Contemporary or the Wilderness Lodge! The service was wonderful. No line at the front desk and our room was ready much earlier than the check in time. The only draw back was that the main pool was so far from our rooms. The pool looked great unfortunately it rained thru the trip and we couldnt not use it. For the price this was definitly worth it and I would recommend it to anyone who asked :)
 
6 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3 4
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page