Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Chef Mickey's at the Contemporary
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Dine with Mickey and friends for lunch or dinner at this buffet character meal at the Contemporary.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 36 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 10 )
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   July 4, 2008 week
Reviewer: DVCmom Alabama     March 18, 2009
Time of day:
We had breakfast reservations. We were seated in about 15 minutes.
Service:
Quick and prompt service during our entire meal. Very friendly staff.
Price:
We had the deluxe plan so that was not an issue.
Food:
We had many choices...as usual we tried different items. We were pleased with all items we tried. Although we did not travel with young kids, I teach K and know the cereal choices and other "safe" options would have been a hit for those picky eaters. I enjoyed the yogurt and fruit selections. They had many fresh fruit choices. My husband enjoyed the meat, waffles, and (I think) breakfast pizza. They had 4 choices of soy milk (regular, vanilla, chocolate, and light). The most I found on property.
Atmosphere:
Look for all the Mickey's!!! Loud...but most character meals are. My husband and I had a hard time having a conversation but it did not keep us from enjoying a great meal.
Characters:
These characters were WONDERFUL!!! They were all very animated and active with ALL guests.
 
8 out of 9 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   December 8, 2006
Reviewer: mickeysgirl17 Jacksonville, FL     October 24, 2007
We got lost on our way to the Contemporary, so we were very late for our reservation. I made the mistake of booking this dinner very late when the restaurant was almost closed and because we were late, the cast member at the podium told us that we probably were not going to meet any characters at all. I understood this being that it was my fault that we were late, but I also was upset because my daughter would see the characters and not be able to meet them. I told myself it would be okay and my daughter would have plenty of other opportunities during our trip to meet the characters. I then asked the CM if we could have a booth and she told me no with no explanation as to why I couldn't. We had to wait for a table even though there were many many empty tables. We had to get our pictures done too and they came out horrible. Finally, we were seated. Service was fantastic. I was dissappointed with the food variety. There wasn't much to choose from, but from what there was, it was very good. I did not expect to see any characters, but we were lucky enough to meet them all. The character handler kept reassuring us that all of them would come by. This made me and my family very happy. We even got a few pics of several characters all at once with our family. The characters were great. I think I'll try breakfast next time due to the lack of food options.
 
2 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   May 18, 2007
Reviewer: RaeDahlin (raedahlin@yahoo.com) Lakewood, Colorado     July 10, 2007
My fiance and I headed over here for a breakfast on a Friday morning and boy was it a blast! We had ADR's starting at 8 in the morning and coming from All-Star Music we took the bus and then just walked over to the Contemporary. The line to get in wasn't very long to get in but I could see how this could get to be a reason to skip this at a busy time of the year. I thought that the food was very good and who can resist, Mickey waffles, and Goofy veggie lasagna. As two twenty-somethings we had a BLAST! We waved our napkins, took pictures with all of the characters and had a blast interacting with all of them. The service was great and the coffee and orange juice were some of the best I had on the whole trip. The price was good and worth the time and pictures we got with the characters and most of all the view. I will for sure be going to back to enjoy some more napkin wavin' fun!
 
7 out of 8 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   April 28, 2007
Reviewer: Imjusta babyduck Pace, Florida     May 15, 2007
We generally eat here for breakfast (where the food is really good). This time we decided to try dinner (for Donald's sake). For anyone who has eaten at Chef Mickey's, you know three things, it is loud, the characters are rushed and the wait is long to be seated (and yes, we did have ADR's). It is worth it though, because the food is generally good, and the characters are dressed great for your pictures (in chef-related garb). However, our entire group found the dinner buffet to be very sub-par. Maybe they were having an off night, but the food was old, dried out and bland pretty much across the board. No one in our party liked the food; even the kids didn't like the pizza. We will only eat at Chef Mickey's for breakfast from now on. I was disappointed to see that the food quality did not continue into the dinner buffet. Donald is great, but he is not worth the crappy food. The service at Chef Mickey's has always been spotty, and this time it fell into the not too good category.
 
3 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   6/19/06
Reviewer: S I M B A (daveycrockett017@yahoo.com) Chicago, Illinios     April 15, 2007
Chef Mickey was amazing! I went for the breakfast. The food was great, they had a huge variety, I couldnt think of anything they didnt have. There are characters walking around the restaraunt greeting you, and every ten minutes they would do a little dance. Its definatley worth the price, and the experience. You need a reservation if you want to get in. Try to show up at least ten minutes early. Before you enter they will take your picture behind a Chef Mickey picture, which you can buy later in the meal. The hostess we had, was very kind, and got us whatever we wanted. I really recomend trying out Chef Mickey!!!!
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   July 2006
Reviewer: beachclubbasics Jersey shore     February 18, 2007
We visited this restaurant in July 2006 and were disappointed. I know that this buffet is marketed to families with kids, but the atmosphere was made loud and annoying by the amount of parents who just allow their children to run unsupervised (this is evident all over the Magic Kingdom, which is why we spend most of our time at Epcot...and I have children myself!). The food was not great and the choices were disappointing for the price. And, a day after we ate there, several of my party (myself included) , because mysteriously ill with a "stomach virus" which loused up an entire day of our stay.

It could possibly be that we were made ill by one of the many children who were virtually plunging hands into the food unsupervised. Parents, please supervise your children..
 
6 out of 17 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   08/22/06
Reviewer: Jodi Lawndale, CA (20 min from Disneyland)     August 24, 2006
To get to the restaurant, there were long lines to get on the elevators. When we got there, the restaurant was visually unimpressive. It looked like a food court, open to the hotel areas.

The buffet selections were not very extensive. There was Prime Rib that looked very fatty (I did not try it) DH said the salmon was "not bad" I had mashed potatoes, roasted red potatoes, green salad, and Mickey Ravioli. The roassted red potatoes were my favorite item from this meal. My kids had the standard mac n cheese and pizza. The food was good, but nothing outstanding. The kids loved the sundae bar, but the other desserts were not very good. The chocolate rice krispie treats were very stale, the Mickey Mousse had a rubbery texture. DH thought the red velvet cake was bland.

The character interaction was very good. We saw Mickey, Minnie, Donald, Goofy, Chip and Dale 2 times a piece. Minnie flirted with DH, and Goofy asked me to dance, and twirled me around. The kids got lots of hugs.
The service was pretty slow, the waitress seemed stressed.

We had the free dining plan, but the bill would have been 102.04 after tax and tip for 2 adults and 2 kids.
 
1 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   May 30, 2006
Reviewer: rbaadmin Elwood, IL     June 25, 2006
This was our first visit to Chef Mickey's and our first character dining experience overall. The character interaction was very good. I think everyone stopped by and Mickey even came back for a 2nd round after we got our camera working properly. The variety of the food was very good, but the quality of the food was very average with the exception of the salad bar, which was excellent. The rest of the selections were a little bland and some tasted dry. For the price, I was expecting a little better quality food, but I guess the price is to pay the characters to come by and say "hi." We would probably eat here again for the experience but not the food.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   December 2005
Reviewer: mststorz@comcast.net Barrington, Illinois     March 22, 2006
With priority seating for 11 we were finally seated 1/2 hour past our priority seating time. Then we waited for about ten minutes for the waitress to arrive. WHen she finally arrived we told her we had the Disney dining plan. We gave her our drink order and waited another ten minutes for the drinks. After that, we saw her maybe once more for our check. WIth the disney dining paln she knew she would get her tip whether she was a good waitress or not. This was one of the last restaurants we went to for the week and it was the worst as far as service. For the price the food was okay. Will never go there again!!!
 
2 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   November 23, 2005
Reviewer: sewshawn Laredo, Texas     December 29, 2005
We were early for our seating and because it was Thanksgiving week, we waited about 20 minutes for our table. The pictures were cute, we ended up purchasing them and we were allowed to mix and match the poses for the price. Mickey spent almost no time at all at our table, but the kids were more interested in Goofy anyway. He spent almost 10 minutes and really got our group involved in some really funny activities. We had a 17 year old, 15 year old, 11 year old and a 7 year old and they were all mesmerized by how engaging Goofy was, even with the adults. Minnie also spent some time at our table and we were visited several times by Chip and Dale. Donald was at the door and kept us entertained while we waited for our table...He constantly kept teasing the 15 y/o much to everyone elses delight.
The food was good...especially the dessert table and the experience is one I would recommend even if you have teenagers in the group!
 
7 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3 4
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page