Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Chef Mickey's at the Contemporary
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Dine with Mickey and friends for lunch or dinner at this buffet character meal at the Contemporary.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 36 ( Displaying Reviews: 11 - 20 )
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   12/7/05
Reviewer: heidiwhr Salem, Oregon     December 11, 2005
We visit Chef Mickeys every time we go to WDW. That said, I was a little disapointed with the food for our 11:20am brunch ADR. We have always enjoyed it, but because it was one of the last lunch ADRs, I think they were a little lax in freshening up the dishes. We also decided we like the dinner selections better than the ones for breakfast. Dinner is more $, of course, so you get what you pay for. I have to admit the character interaction was excellent, as always. Mickey, Minnie, Chip, Dale, and Pluto all came to our table multiple times, and Goofy stayed up front to greet everyone who happened to pass by. We did get our family photo taken prior so going to our table, but it didn't turn out well, so we declined bying it. At least it's optional. Overall, I think we were there at just the worng time of day for the food, but will be sure to be back next time - probably for dinner.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   11/13/05
Reviewer: wackywexler Mission Viejo, California     November 14, 2005
We were a party of 8 four adults and 4 kids under 10 for 9:10am breakfast. There was a line to check in but we were called quickly after check in. We took our photo after being shown to our table. The photos were just o.k. The character interaction was excellent, good rotation, no one was missed. The buffet was tasty, plentiful, with good variety. Our server was attentive. The kids enjoyed the experience and the adults did too! We would go again.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   July 18, 2005
Reviewer: wishiwasthere Old Bridge, New Jersey     August 22, 2005
I attended Chef Mickey's for the dinner buffet and had a 8:50 seating so once we were done we could head over to MK for EMH. There were 9 people in our party (4 adults, two 19 yr olds, two teenagers, and 1 child) and they sat us about 5 minutes before our scheduled time. We were sat at a round table in the corner and only had a few tables by us occupied being that it was so late. When the characters came over (Mickey Mouse, Minnie Mouse, Chip, Dale, and Goofy) we had plenty of time to interact with them, take pictures, and dance around the restaurant. Our waitress was very nice and answered all of our questions about the characters, but she was a little slow with the drinks. We didn't mind though because when at a buffet the meal tends to go quickly so that slowed us down and gave us time to chat. The food was excellent and for once everyone in our party was happy and left with a full stomach. There was the normal children's items (pizza, chicken fingers, macaroni and cheese, and french fries). In the salad section there was assorted cheeses, antipasto, veggies, and of course salad. There was chicken, roast beef, prime rib, peel and eat shrimp, penne with a cream sauce (which many of us thought was fantastic), salmon, and other delicious items. For dessert there was make your own sundae, brownies, cheesecakes, key lime pie, etc. On the way out we saw Donald Duck and because of it being so late there wasn't a line to see him so we danced around and took pictures. I have ate at a lot of the character buffets and this is at the top of my list of all of them. We were expecting it to be like the rest, but it was definitely much better.
 
12 out of 12 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   February 3, 2005
Reviewer: Captain Electron Wasilla, Alaska     February 23, 2005
We had breakfast at Chef Mickeys, something we have done at least once on every trip to WDW. It is a delightfully kid-friendly environment but not a place to go to without kids. It is a noisy, informal, chaotic place with loads of characters spending time at the tables.

It is perfect for families who want to let the kids be kids for a meal, and judging it on that measure, I'll give it at least 4 planets.

Oh, and did I mention that you can really stuff yourself silly?!
 
17 out of 17 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   June 2004
Reviewer: sphallx2 Tupelo, MS     November 27, 2004
My husband and I usually do this Character Breakfast each time we go. We have yet to be disappointed. We have done the supper once but found the breakfast to be much better. The service has always been outstanding and the atmosphere fun and inviting. This is a must on each of our Disney trips!
 
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   Sept. 2004
Reviewer: rt2dz Texas     November 08, 2004
Characters present: Mickey, Minnie, Chip, Dale, Pluto

Chef Mickeys was off to a bumpy start. I had made the PS for one of our first days, Sunday. I even called and confirmed our date two weeks prior to our arrival at Disney. We made a late PS time on an early entry day to the MK, to use it more as a lunch, having a light breakfast in our room that day. The kids were whining to eat, so we decided to head over there early (around 10:30 am) to see if maybe we could be squeezed in early. Turns out, they did not have our PS. Luckily, I had our confirmation number, but they still did not have our PS. Somehow, it was erased out of the system. They were able to squeeze us in the next day though. Our oldest was extremely disappointed, but we managed.

The next day the got us in right away when we showed up. The service was really good and the food was good with a wide selection. Very child orientated. There was tons of time with the characters. We had the latest PS time available and were the only people pretty much in our section. The characters were just all over our kids constantly. Minnie was a bit elusive though, but we have boys so no big deal. They played games, danced, and posed for a ton of pictures. It really worked out well. The restaurant itself is very open and to a certain degree, I almost felt as if I was eating in the lobby. Tables were also quite close. If it had been more crowded, it may have been uncomfortable. Not sure if I would do it again, but am very glad we did it once.
 
3 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   October 2004
Reviewer: kansaskix KS     November 02, 2004
This place was a major disappointment. It is not worth the money or time spent at all. This restaurant is very spread out--the layout is strange and not at all an intimate setting. It is also a very loud, crazy and completely chaotic environment. If you're looking for something semi-relaxing and semi-quiet, this is not the place to go. I know character dining in general is noisy of course, but this place is absolutely NUTS. Our waiter provided very poor service--he rarely refilled our drinks and one time he actually took our drinks off the table to refill and never came back with them. We had to ask fifteen minutes later for our drinks back. The food is okay. It is a buffet of flavorless carved prime rib, roasted turkey, pork ribs, mushroom/chicken pasta, mashed potatoes, salty fish, peel and eat shrimp, carrots, salads, etc. The dessert bar consists of cheesecake, key lime pie, and carrot cake and then several offerings of mini tort cakes like german chocolate, almond marzipan, chocolate truffle. There's a large ice cream bar for the kids with a ton of different toppings. This is also not the place to go if you're celebrating a birthday. So many people come here to celebrate birthdays, that they do it in a mass offering. They give every birthday person a cupcake with a candle, all at the same time, and then they play music piped in over the speakers. Because the restaurant is so spread out in a weird configuration, it is impossible to see what is going on. They do this birthday celebration thing every 30 minutes to catch whatever new people may have filtered in from the last 30 minutes. My kids enjoyed the napkin twirling and the dessert bar. Other than that, there wasn't a lot of food selection for the kids and overall, this is a sorry character dining experience. The character interaction was fair and featured Mickey Mouse, Minnie, Chip, Dale and Goofy. Donald Duck stays in the lobby area. Crystal Palace and Grand Floridian are much better places to spend your time and money.
 
2 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   June 5, 2004
Reviewer: lindabee Yadkinville, NC     July 05, 2004
Type of meal: Dinner
Service: Good
Price: High, as expected. $25.99/adult and $10.99/child ages 3 11. Plus tax and tip.
Food: Delicious, all-you-care-to-eat, not an enormous selection but enough
Atmosphere: Fun and exciting

This was our first time at Chef Mickey's (two adults and three girls ages 8, 9, and 11), and I can honestly say we had a great time at this character dinner. Although we had a PS for 6:00 p.m. on a busy Saturday night, we showed up about 15 minutes early and were accommodated almost immediately. As a heads-up, realize that they steer you toward a photo-shoot area (no obligation) first and then you wait to be called for your table. After we finished our photo-shoot and were heading back to the waiting area, we happened to come upon Minnie Mouse as she was strolling through. Minnie graciously signed our autograph books and posed for a picture. Our first autograph! Minnie did not make the rounds to the tables, so we were lucky to catch her first thing.

Soon after we were seated, the characters started arriving -- first Goofy, then Mickey Mouse, Chip, Dale, and finally Donald Duck. Our kids were so excited they could hardly eat. Fortunately, the hostess clued us in that if we saw a character down in the main area (we were seated on the upper level), we had several minutes before they would be in our area. That information helped us a lot, as we could time our visits to the buffet and not miss any of the characters. Each character spent ample time at our table, signed each child's autograph book, and posed for a group picture. We never felt slighted or rushed at any time. It was wonderful!

As for the food, the selection was not huge (e.g., salads, fruit, pizza for the kids, carved prime rib, parmesan-cheese mashed potatoes, and a few other vegetables), but the quality was good and there was plenty of it. If we had come to Chef Mickey's solely for the food, I would have been disappointed, but since we were there mainly to see characters, the food was satisfactory. The dessert bar was excellent. We made our own ice cream sundaes topped with Gummi Bears and M&Ms. Our waitress was very attentive. We never had to wait for re-fills on our drinks or worry about dirty plates on the table.

The atmosphere was fun and rollicking. Every 30 minutes or so, music started playing and everyone, including the characters, twirled their napkins in the air. We had a good time and everyone around us was having a good time, too. I was expecting the noise level to be deafening but it was not. It was loud, but not annoying. Perhaps Chef Mickey's open-air location helps distribute some of the sound. It's a fun, kid-friendly place and our kids definitely loved it. We adults did, too.
 
12 out of 12 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   January 21, 2004
Reviewer: snowblazer Philadelphia     January 27, 2004
After reading so many good reviews for this character meal, I decided to celebrate my son's 9th birthday at Chef Mickey's for breakfast. I did make a PS and we were seated quickly - that was the only thing that was quick about our visit. The characters rarely visited our table and after an hour of waiting for Mickey to stop by - we called it quits! The topping on the cake (no pun intended) was when the party next to us was seated, the little girl was presented with a birthday placemat and Goofy appeared out of nowhere to give her a birthday cupcake. My son's was literally shoved under his nose by the waitress as soon as we were seated and before we even went up to get breakfast. That was the only acknowledgment of his birthday! This alone would have been dissapointing however, since we were staying at the Contemporary - we asked for a birthday phonecall - our phone never rang and after several hours at the park we were dissapointed to come back to no card or balloon. I did speak to guest services and after dinner they arrived with a card and a stuffed animal. I had planned this birthday for six months and I was so excited to surprise my son - it turned out to be a waste of money and time!
 
4 out of 8 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   January 17, 2004
Reviewer: scardwe Knoxville, Tennessee     January 23, 2004
Type of Meal: Dinner
Service: Excellent
Food: Very good
Price: Reasonable ($25.99 for adults; $10.99 for kids - includes beverage)
Atmosphere: Incredibly fun!

I highly recommend dinner at Chef Mickey's. We had a PS time and were seated within 10 minutes of arriving. The restaurant was pretty full for 9 p.m. but the characters spent plenty of time at each table. Each one probably visited our table a minimum of 4 times. The characters included: Chef Mickey, Minnie, Goofy, Chip and Dale. Donald Duck wandered around briefly but didn't come to our table but we had seen him earlier in one of the parks. Also, Max (not sure who he was - looked like a miniature Goofy) was signing autographs, etc. in the waiting area. The buffet was very good with lots of selections - meats included smoked turkey, ham, and steak, as well as corn on the cob, carrots, beans, rolls and a really good salad bar. As many others have stated, don't miss the parmesan mashed potatoes! The kids buffet was OK - included hot dogs, pizza and chicken nuggets. The dessert bar had lots of choices - cake, pie, cookies, ice cream, pastries - and all the ones we tried were very good.

Our waiter was very attentive and kept us supplied with drinks, clean napkins (for swirling of course!) and kept our table free of dirty plates. We had our picture made before the meal and the pictures were brought to our table later. They turned out really good, and unlike some others, we didn't feel pressured at all to buy them. The price for the package was very reasonable to me - $26.63 including tax for two 5 x 7's (with paper Disney covers/frames), 8 wallets, a keychain picture holder and a magnetic picture frame.

All in all, it was a wonderful experience. We went on our last night at WDW and it was the perfect ending to a magical week!
 
13 out of 13 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3 4
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page