Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Chef Mickey's at the Contemporary
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Dine with Mickey and friends for lunch or dinner at this buffet character meal at the Contemporary.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 36 ( Displaying Reviews: 31 - 36 )
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   December 3, 2002
Reviewer: kjsmom MI     December 08, 2002
My family and I had a wonderful time eating dinner at Chef Mickey's! The food was great (especially the parmesan mashed potatoes!), the service was good (although our waitress did not tell us that soft drinks or tea were included in the price of the buffet, I found that out by hearing her tell the table next to us that it was), the characters came around more than once greeting our table, which was fun. The selection of food on the buffet was wonderful, I made quite a pig of myself with several return trips. My two year old loved decorating her own cupcake for desert! The total bill was around $50 for two adults (2 yr old and baby were free). We will definately go back there again, the dinner alone made it worth the money we paid!
 
6 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   Nov. 3, 2002
Reviewer: jmmom Memphis, TN     November 11, 2002
Wow, Where do I start?
There were 11 people in our entire party, including a birthday boy (turning 5).
It took about 20 minutes to seat us. We were kept busy with the group photo - which turned out great. How she got 11 people to look in one direction is amazing. The $26 was well worth the 2 5x7's of the group and 2 5x7's of Chef Mickey, Minnie, Chip and Dale. After that the kids had their photos taken with Goofy.
I was amazed at the vartiy of food: fresh fruit, cottage cheese (my 6 year old loves it), Chip's peanutbutter and jelly pizza (way too sweet), french toast sticks, mickey waffles, cinnimon rolls (my favorite), pancakes and bear claws. The meat included bacon, link sausage and a sausage and egg wrapped in pastry. There may have been ham, but my memory is fading.
There were also plain scrambled eggs, cheesy eggs, and plain cheese pizza.
The characters came around often. We collected autographs and took lots of photos. The service was okay, but not excellent.
The bill for the 5 of us (3 adults and 2 kids) was $83.00 including tax and tip.
 
16 out of 16 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   10/27/02
Reviewer: matthewwaters Macon, Georgia     October 28, 2002
My wife and I were down in Orlando for a quick weekend. We only had time for one meal in WDW. We decided on a whim to go to the Chef Mickey's Character Breakfast. First and foremost, if at all possible, use PS. We arrived at 10:00 and had to wait 30 minutes before getting a table. People who had PS walked right in. Of course, it was all worth it.
I believe that this particular breakfast is Disney's magic at its best. We were only in Orlando for 48 hours, but during this time we felt like it was a week long vacation. The food is buffet style with everything you could imagine. They have the standards (cheese grits, bacon, eggs) along with some interesting stuff to sample (breakfast pizza, vegatable quiche, and a few french things that I did not remember the name of). For those of you with a sweet tooth, I remember mickey shaped waffles, pancakes, doughnuts, cereal, PB and J pizza, pastries and a coupled of caramalized things that I did not know what they were. But the most important part is the characters. Over the course of a 30 minute breakfast, my wife and I were involved in two singalong celebrations and visited by numerous characters. My wife was licked by Pluto and kissed by Chip, while I was kissed by Minnie Mouse. The characters are excellent and they make everybody feel welcome. The CM that served us named William was excellent. This breakfast is one of my favorite Disney memories.
Food: Excellent
Atmosphere: Celebration
Total Bill including tip: $44
Final Comment: One of the best places in the world to experience the magic
 
11 out of 11 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   july 10
Reviewer: nile6000 new york city     July 16, 2002
this is a wonderful do not miss character dinner. we have come to chef mickeys 4 times now and each time is like the 1st just wonderful. Children and adults of all ages have a ball and the food is great! My 18 mths old just loved it and couldnt get enough of the characters. This is a dont miss!
 
14 out of 15 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   dec.14 2000
Reviewer: LPnerd Cape Coral, Fl.     July 14, 2002
If you only go to 1 chact. meal, let this be the one.
Lots of time with each chacter esp. The main Mouse, good service, good food, alot of fun. The adults had as much fun as the kids! This is a don't miss. And when finished, Take the monorail back to MK. GREAT!!!
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   September 20, 2001
Reviewer: Justjen0929 (jen@southsideweb.com) Atlanta, Georgia     June 20, 2002
Meal: Character Dinner
Service: Excellent
Price: Moderate-Expensive
Food: Excellent
Atmosphere:Magically Excellent.

My family (myself, my husband, my son age 7, and daughter age 3 1/2) dined at Chef Mickey's for an all-you-can-eat buffet. We had an 8:00 pm PS. We arrived 10-15 minutes before our seating time and had to wait about 20-25 minutes before being seated. That was perfectly fine with my son and daughter as Goofy and Donald Duck in Chef's attire were entertaining, posing for pictures, and signing autographs for guests in the lobby of the restaurant. We were given the opportunity to have a family photo taken for about $20, but opted not to.

We were seated in the back room of the restaurant near the windows which were decorated with cutouts of Huie, Dewy, and Louie and other characters. After we were seated, our server gave us the "run down" of the items on the buffet for the evening.
The menu consisted of Prime Rib (one station medium well and one station medium rare), Chef Mickey's famous Parmesan Mashed Potatoes (very rich, but very good), Beef Tips in Burgundy Sauce, Vegetables, Lemon Talpia (fish), various breads, a soup bar, and a salad bar with all-you-can-eat peel and eat shrimp. There was a special "children's buffet" also that offered "Mickaroni" and cheese, hot dogs, and pizza. We made several trips to the bars. My husband and I tried a little bit of everything and found all of the dishes to be fabulous. Our favorite was the Parmesan Mashed Potatoes, though.

While eating, we were visited by Chip and Dale, Minnie Mouse, and Chef Mickey himself several times. At one point, my daughter became very tired and wasn't feeling well. Minnie came over to see what was the matter. We explained that she wasn't feeling well. My daughter stood up in her chair and Minnie hugged her and rocked her from side to side as she patted her back. She did this for a good 2-3 minutes. Then, she patted my daughter's tummy as if to ask if she felt better. My daughter said she did feel better to which Minnie responded by clapping her hands and calling Mickey over. I got shots of my kids with both Minnie and Mickey.

After we finished eating, we treated ourselves to the dessert bar. It was the most immense dessert bar I've ever laid eyes on. They had a make your own sundae bar with every topping you could imagine; a make your own cupcake bar with cupcakes that were the size of a small cake; and a "grown-up" dessert bar with petit fours, key lime pie, chocolates, cheesecakes, and things so decadently sinful I couldn't begin to describe them.

After we finished and paid the bill (about $82 for the four of us including sodas, tax, and tip), we went to the top of Contemporary Resort to the Observation deck and watched the colors change on the castle. We also watched the Electrical Water Parade. It was truly magical and a night my children have not soon forgot.
 
103 out of 105 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3 4
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page