Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Cinderella & Her Storybook Friends
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
All-you-care-to-eat dinner buffet with Cinderella and her storybook friends at 1900 Park Fare restaurant at the Grand Floridian.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4.1 out of 54.1 out of 54.1 out of 54.1 out of 54.1 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 10 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 10 )
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   March 7, 2010
Reviewer: adriennek Southern California     March 25, 2010
We came here for a dinner buffet on a Sunday evening following the Princess Half Marathon. We had a very large group (38 people!) which the restaurant accommodated very nicely. The photographer was diligent about making sure everyone could be seen in the photo. We were there for the first seating of the night and had the four 10-tops in the center of the restaurant.

We had two servers between our four tables. Our server was very fine with his attention to our table. Our plates were cleared and my diet coke was never allowed to empty. The food selection was fine. The stations seemed to be internationally themed. I remember an Italian and an Asian themed station. My favorite was the Italian station with bread salad and a caprese salad, two of my very favorite things. The strawberry soup reminded me of the strawberry cake my grandmother used to make for me and my cousins on our birthdays. Yummm. I remember being slightly disappointed in the selections at the dessert station just because a lot of the choices were not my favorites.

But the characters here were da bomb. Cinderella and the Prince were both Charming. The Wicked Stepsisters were a kick in the tush. We had a little "mascot" Mickey gnome with us that Anastasia grabbed with which to tango. Anastasia called "What this, he wants to dip me!" and he did! We laughed our tushies off.

URL to my MousePad trip report of the dinner: http://mousepad.mouseplanet.com/showpost.php?p=1516902&postcount=22
URL to some photos: http://mousepad.mouseplanet.com/showpost.php?p=1519886&postcount=47
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   06/20/2008
Reviewer: oliver1701 (kmdc1610@aol.com) Port ST Lucie, Florida     June 23, 2008
I took my two kids here for dinner to see the characters and also for the buffet. The characters were excellent as far as being very believable in their character. They all came to our table and allowed us enough time to take pictures and get autograph......The food on the other had was AWFUL. The prime rib was cold, the chicken marsala was even colder, they had one pasta dish that tasted lousey and the only thing that was enjoyable was the bread and salad but for the $126.00 bill I paid for the three of us (which included the tip that was put on the bill as a suggested tip and the only thing she did was bring us drinks) it was the not worth the price at all. I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone....
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   December 11, 2006
Reviewer: mickeysgirl17 Jacksonville, FL     October 24, 2007
I decided to take my 3 year old daughter to 1900 Park fare dinner in December because she loves disney princesses and I thought this would be a great place to meet Cinderella and the prince. We checked in at the podium and were given a pager. We were called in about 8 min. or so. Upon entering, the restaurant was very busy and loud. We were seated in the middle of the restaurant and it was chaotic. We got some food which I thought was very good and delicious. Unfortunately, the service was terrible. The server only came to our table twice and the 2nd time, it was because we called him over. Cinderella only spent 1 minute with us and was very rushed. The mice were by several times and spent a few minutes with us. The fairy godmother was in the lobby with no line which was great. Unfortunately, the prince kept skipping our table and when we were done with our food, we still hadn't met him. We called the server over to see if he could get him over so that we could leave, but he didn't do anything about it. About a half hour later (my daughter really wanted to meet him or I would have left), he finally arrived. I don't think I will be returning unless my daughter really wanted to meet those particular characters again. However, I did like the food very much.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   January 2005
Reviewer: manofsteel75 McLeansville, NC     December 09, 2005
This example of stuff yourself until you explode is fantastic. It is set up buffet style, and has a little bit of everything for any taste. We were supposed to eat at Cape May Cafe at Beach Club, but we had a last minute resort switch from The Boardwalk Villas to the Wilderness Lodge Villas, so this became a closer option for us. The five of us (Wife, 2 Daughters, Mother and myself) had a priority seating for 8:30 am and arrived about 5 minutes early. We were seated right away and our server was there within seconds ( that happened a lot on this trip, there were hardly any people there at all except on weekends, so service was never really an issue). We ordered drinks and helped ourselves to the buffet, the built-to-order omelets were a great way to protein up for a day at MK. After we ate, the characters; Eeyore, Pooh, Piglet, Alice, Mary Poppins and Snow White came by and stayed for almost 2 minutes each for autographs and photos. We were dining on the gold plan which has since been discontinued, so all I had to do was sign my name, so price wasn't really a great concern. I think it was around $115 for all 5 of us. The only thing negative I can say at all is the noise level, But what do you expect with a huge carnival organ right over your head. All in all it was a great experience with great food and attentive service. Also I have found that at slower times of the year the characters stay around at your table for a long, long time and sign more elaborate autographs instead of just scrawling something ( Pooh's autograph was actually a "self-potrait" which it took almost 3 minutes for him to draw).
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   6/26/2004
Reviewer: BrianK Jefferson, MD     July 10, 2004
Our party had 2 adults and an 8 year old girl. Even though we had an 8:20 seating, we were at the park prior to 8:00 and as soon as they let us in, we went right to the restaurant and were the third party seated, right against the windows.

We've eaten in this restaurant several times and the setting is very nice. We find it particularly relaxing at lunch since it's a nice break from the crowds and heat. It's not very big but we did not feel cramped at all.

Breakfast started with coffee, fruit, pastries, and OJ. Then, within 5 minutes of placing our order, the ready made breakfast plate came out. The food was okay, eggs, bacon, sausage, cream cheese filled French Toast. It was just obviously not made to order.

Right after we got our food, the princesses made their appearance. For us, the five were Cinderella, Sleeping Beauty, Mary Poppins, Snow White, and Belle. In my opinion, only Sleeping Beauty was memorable. All were pleasant, said hello, smiled for the camera, gave and autograph, etc. but only Sleeping Beauty stopped and talked to my daughter for a little bit.

The whole experience felt very rushed. We probably sat down at 8:10 and got the bill around 8:35. They pretty much machine gunned all the characters through each table.

I was there 5 years ago and I don't remember it being the same way. Maybe it was because my daughter was 3 1/2 then but the characters spent a little more time with her and as a whole were much more personable. It was still pre-made food and a quick meal but I think it was better back then.

If you have a young daughter and can get a seating, it's still worth it for the experience. If you or your daughter are not that into the Princesses any more, it's not worth the hassle booking the meal and rushing through breakfast, particularly if it will cut into early morning touring time.
 
6 out of 11 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   February 2002
Reviewer: kansaskix KS     April 19, 2004
When we went to this buffet a couple years ago, it was actually Winnie the Pooh and friends. It was a great character meal, we liked the buffet style a lot. It is nice to be able to get your food instantly and return whenever you like. My kids enjoyed the "kids bar" that had all the typical fare that kids like to eat. They got great interaction with the characters! They stopped by at our table many times and the kids were able to get up and move around and go to the characters if they wanted. They also gave our sons balloons and by the end of the meal, the restaurant had cleared out and so it was extra nice. And they even had a coloring station set up where you could color a picture of your favorite character and then have them sign it (not sure if they still have that with Cinderella?). The food was pretty good with a varied selection of items. I would definitely return here again.
 
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   March 2004
Reviewer: kjmesa Haslet, TX     April 14, 2004
We had our birthday (me-36 and mom-55) dinner here on our last evening of our trip. The food was very good with a wide array of foods. My dad is diabetic and when we asked about a sugar-free dessert, the chef came out to talk to my dad about some options. They made a sugar-free dessert for him.

The characters were great! They all made a big deal out of our birthdays. Towards the end of our dinner, the waitstaff brought us both a cupcake and sang to us. We also received a special b-day placemat and plastic tiaras with "happy birthday" in rhinestones. We had so much fun wearing them. That was a GREAT surprise! If you are celebrating a birthday, GO HERE!!
 
7 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   March 6, 2004
Reviewer: jcakuchta Raleigh, NC     March 15, 2004
We went to dinner with a Preferred Seating Time of 8:00 pm which is the only time we could get. If you are really interested in going make your reservation a couple of months in advance to get the time and date you really want. I would have preferred a much earlier time but, I am glad we took the late time because it was well worth it. It was 2 adults and our three year old daughter. When we arrived at the Grand Floridian Resort we used the valet parking ($7 I think) and checked in at the podium and we were seating within ten minutes. The tables are all very close together in a typical nice hotel restaurant setting. My three year old didn't eat much because she was so excited and loved watching all the characters. There was a kids buffet which included hamburgers, hot dogs, macaroni and cheese, chicken nuggets, and PB&J (which is an uncrustable). The adults buffet included chicken maraca, sausage & peppers, prime rib, 3 vegs, spring rolls, a pasta bar, salad bar and many desserts and ice cream. The food was all good just not a huge selection. The strawberry soup every says is good really is. It is served cold and it reminds me of a yogurt or smoothie more like a dessert than a starter. We just ordered sodas with our meal and I think they were included in the price. I believe alcoholic beverages were available for an additional cost. The dinner for the three of us was actually less than I expected at $75 including the tip. The characters there that night were Cinderella, two mice from Cinderella, Fairy Godmother, and Wendy from Peter Pan. They all came around to our table probably four times each. They all signed her autograph book took pictures and were very friendly and good with small children. I would recommend anyone with children who would really be interested in see and meeting characters this was a great way to do that. We also did the dinner the night before going to the Magic Kingdom and I though it was a great time to go. It gave us a great warm up to the next day full of Disney.
 
14 out of 14 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   October 14, 2003
Reviewer: Kathleen Nee Massachusetts     October 21, 2003
Cinderellas' Galla Feast at the Grand Floridian 1900 Park Fare was simply wonderful! Since I was unable to get PS for the Castle Dinner, I had read that WDW was now activiating a Cinderella Dinner at the GF. Since this was our first viist to WDW with our 3 (almost 4) year old, it was imperative that she see and meet Cinderella outside the parks. Our accomodations were at the GF, so it made "traveling" there quite easy. The GF itself was beautiful, not oppulant, but beautitful. The Park Fare atmosphere was typical of a hotel banquet facility but not as large. I had made an early PS for 4:40PM and am very glad I did. When we arrived 10 minutes early the line was already a long one. However, the staff was quick and efficient in getting you seated on time. Once in the foyer of the 1900, Fariy Godmother was holding court. She was beautiful but disappointing (the only disappointment). She was alittle too "stately" in her character. My daughter asked why she wasn't warm and cozy!! Once we were seated the wait staff was efficient and very pleasent. We were not rushed in any way and the food was wonderful. The children had a great assortment of pizza, chicken nuggets, pasta, desserts etc. The adults (and Kids) had a wide variety of salads, fruit, chilled strawberry soup to start with and then a, made fresh pasta bar, carved prime rib, vegetables, chicken and fish dishes and a dessert bar including make your own sundaes and it was all you can eat! YUM The cast of charachters (in order) were Suzy and Pearla mouse, then Cinderella and then Prince Charming. They all were warm and spent a great amount of time with my daughter, Who was cladd in her pricess dress. Prince Charming worked his magic on my daughter. For what ever reason she was so scared of him, and he just reversed the situation and they became best buddies in a matter of a few minutes! It was wonderful to see. We have plenty of great pictures and memories of this dinner and would recommend this event to anyone, and as a great alternative to going to the Castle. Such a great value.
 
26 out of 27 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   August 23/03
Reviewer: Joytotheworld Orillia, Ontario, Canada     October 11, 2003
Dinner
Service was excellent
We received good value for our dollar
Food was wonderful - best of any Disney character buffet
Atmosphere was nothing special

We had a fantastic experience at this character buffet. The characters - Cinderella, Prince Charming, Perla and Suzy spent lots of time at each table interacting with guests. The Fairy Godmother held court in the entrance area and was teriffic. And the food here - DELICIOUS! There was a wide array of delectable items from which to choose. Of special note are the chilled strawberry soup and the prime rib.
 
16 out of 16 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page