Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
'Ohana - Breakfast with Mickey & Friends
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Character breakfast at the Polynesian featuring Mickey and friends. (Please see Restaurants / Resort Hotel Areas / Magic Kingdom Resorts for regular dinner service reviews.)
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 8 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 8 )
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   July 4,2008 week
Reviewer: DVCmom Alabama     March 18, 2009
Time of day:
We had breakfast reservations. We were seated quickly.
Service:
Quick and prompt service during our entire meal.
Price:
We had the deluxe plan so that was not an issue.
Food:
The platter style is not my favorite choice as I am vegetarian and my husband is not. I asked for my portion to be on a seperate plate without meat. It was no problem. They brought more fruit knowing I wouldn't eat the meat. I had plenty.
Atmosphere:
Very happy and upbeat...even for someone who is NOT a morning person. It was a good way to start a Disney day. I LOVE Ohana's as I feel it's a RELAXING/casual place to sit back and take a deep breath. Prefer dinner though.
Characters:
These characters were active and very interactive with all guests. The parade is a special event for little kids.
 
1 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   4/15/06
Reviewer: guy8 Indiana     February 19, 2009
This was our first Character meal and first trip to Disney.
We are huge Lilo & Stitch fans, (ok mainly Stitch), and we just loved it!!!!! All of the characters especially Stitch spent a lot of time at our table, Stitch even tried to make off with our jelly and jams, the little sneaky thief.
We will definitely be back there when we return on April1-7 2009.
The food was great, we especially enjoyed the fresh orange juice and waffles.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   10/15/2008
Reviewer: NikkisBabies Tennessee     November 25, 2008
We visited Ohana's for our son's 6th birthday. We all loved the food and the surroundings. The food, although nothing special, was well prepared and served "family style". The kids really liked having special attention from the characters, which included: Mickey, Pluto, Lilo and Stitch. The birthday boy also got a card signed by all the characters during the meal! We will do this dining experience again!
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   March 26, 2007
Reviewer: Nala27 New Jersey     March 29, 2007
We had breakast with 4 adults and 2 children under 3. This was the first time the kids had ever been to Disney - or a character breakfast for that matter. We had an 8:30am reservation but arrived early around 8am and was seated at 8:15am. The greeter brought us into the restaurant and went over the experience we'd be having there. She also handed us a basket of breads/danish...which I must say was kinda strange. But I assume with the table turnover this is the best way for them to handle that aspect of the meal.

Our server came over and made sure we got seated, had highchair/booster, etc and then proceeded to offer us their signature juice (delicious!) and coffee, tea, milk, etc. After our drinks were served our meal came out "family style" on a large round platter. Included was bacon, sausage, eggs and home fries. Our server asked how many of us wanted Mickey waffles and then proceeded to get them and serve them to us individually. The kids loved that Mickey was their waffle! Everything on the family style platter - including the waffles - was delicious. Our server was very warm and friendly and great about asking if we wanted more waffles, eggs, etc.

While eating the characters - which included Mickey, Pluto, Lilo and Stitch - proceeded to each table. I didn't feel rushed at all when each of them visited. They all were great with the kids even when my 3 yo was scared of Lilo...Lilo pretended to be sad and tried to bring her around. Stitch however ended up being her favorite!!! :o)

After all the characters have visited the tables they have a festive musical parade around the restaurant with maracas that the kids (and parents!) can join in with. This was a great highlight of our breakfast. Both kids enjoyed it and it was fun to watch the restaurant come to life.

My Dad was kind enough to pick up the tab but I believe it was around $22 per adult - not sure the cost for the 3 yo. The 18 mo was free.

I highly recommend this to anyone wanting to try out a character breakfast. It was a memorable event for all of us. I hope we can go back to Ohana again in the future!
 
10 out of 10 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   April 17, 2006
Reviewer: katmac974 Boston ma     June 26, 2006
We thought this meal was wonderful. My kids love Lilo and Stitch, and we just seemed to never catch them in the parks, so this was a great option for us. I of course didn't tell my kids who was going to be at the breakfast, since you never know what changes will come up, but they were both there. The meal was great, love the Mickey Waffles, need to have them everytime! The waitress we had was very good. The only reason we gave them four planets was that they never brought us our pictures, and we were there for almost an hour!
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   June 2006
Reviewer: tominco Colorado     June 10, 2006
We arrived on time for our 9:35 reservation, but still had to wait about 25 minutes before being seated. Fortunately, that was the worst of the breakfast at Ohana. We had chosen this character meal, as our children (7 & 10) are huge Lilo and Stitch fans.

After being seated, we were quickly greeted by our waitress, who gave us orange juice and milk. She then brought us a basket of various breads and biscuits, in addition to a plate of fresh fruit. Having not seen a lot of fresh fruit in other restaurants, this plate was empty quickly. My kids were then met by Pluto, followed by Stitch. A parade (of course, its Disney) quickly ensued and all of the children at the Ohana were parading around to Hawaiian Roller Coaster from Lilo and Stitch.

After the parade, a large platter containing scrambled eggs, bacon, link sausage, Mickey waffles were brought to the table. The food was excellent, and Im sure we over did, as we requested more waffles and fruit. (We werent sure about asking for additional fruit, but it was no problem. The pineapple was especially good, but the grapes and melons were also yummy.) Finally, we were visited by Lilo and then Mickey.

All in all, this was one of the two best meals we had in our week long visit to Disney World. Yes its expensive (I think it was about $70 before tip), but it was good food, so we didnt feel as ripped off as you might at a lesser Disney eatery.
 
12 out of 12 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   May 27, 2006
Reviewer: oznog27 (oznog27@hotmail.com) San Diego, CA     May 26, 2006
My friend and I had a 7:30 reservation for this character breakfast, we had done the character breakfast at the Grand Floridian on a previous trip and both enjoyed this breakfast much more! We were seated very promptly (after having our photo taken in front of an ohana back drop, it's really cute so bring your own camera to get a picture if you don't feel like shelling out the extra dough.) our server was fabulous and extremely friendly, it was nice to see a smiling face so early in the morning. The area is beautifully themed and had a great view of the castle, it also was not over-crowded which was really nice. The food was delicious and there was more than we could finish on our own. Even though we were both adults the characters did take a good amount of time at our table to stop for pictures and hugs. We had Lilo, Stitch, Goofy and Mickey.
My friend and I were surpirsed by how much fun we had so early in the morning :) The characters also did a "parade" with the kids and it was super cute to watch. I highly recomend this character breakfast. The price for both of us was about $40 + tip.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   1/19/05
Reviewer: manofsteel75 McLeansville, N.C.     February 02, 2005
My family and I decided upon this character breakfast over Cape May Cafe due to a last minute resort switch from Boardwalk to the Wilderness Villas. we had priority seating for 8:00 am and there was hardly anyone there, even as we were leaving, seems like it wouldn't be hard to get a table there even at the last minute. We were visiting on the gold plan, which has now gone the way of the dinosaurs I'm told, so the price was not something I paid a lot of attention to, I think for 6 of us it was around $122. We checked in and were told the wait would be a minute or so, in the mean time they had a photographer poised to take a family photo before we ate. Another clever ploy by Disney to sap you of $26? I think so. After the photo we were lead to our seat and stopped to pick up a tray of sticky breakfast bread on the way. We sat down and a server immediately appeared at our table. The food is served family style with eggs(a little runny for my taste), bacon, waffles, biscuits and gravy and some of the best potatoes on the planet. All through the meal the charcters, Goofy, Chip and Dale and Mickey, Drifted past our table in their Hula garb. Just as we were digging in for seconds our server presented the kids with moroccas and told them there would be "a parade" any minute. The parade began with the Hawaiian song from Lilo and Stitch coming from the overhead sound system, and not at an ungodly level like in some of the restaurants. Goofy lead all the kids and other characters around the room in a kind of funky conga line. I'm not sure which "Goofy" was there that day, but he could really get down. After the parade was over the kids returned to the table and we continued to gorge ourselves on some of the best food we had encountered for breakfast yet. All of the characters came by the table for autographs and photos and spent time clowning with the kids. All in all it was a great time and experience with some out of this world food. The charcters at this breakfast got to spend much more time at every table, due to the uncrowded conditions I'm sure. I would highly recommend this to anyone with kids, or anyone who simply wants good food and a good laugh.
 
96 out of 97 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page