Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Princess Storybook Breakfast at Restaurant Akershus
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
All-you-care-to-eat breakfast buffet with the Disney Princesses and friends at Restaurant Akershus in Epcot.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.4 out of 53.4 out of 53.4 out of 53.4 out of 53.4 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 9 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 9 )
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   July 4, 2008 week
Reviewer: DVCmom Alabama     March 18, 2009
Time of day:
We had breakfast reservations. We had a short wait.
Service:
Our server was not very friendly and did not understand two of our requests and she asked another server to help. We discovered she was new. Her language was a barrier for us. The experienced server who helped her had no language problem and understood our simple request to have my items not include meat and be served on a seperate plate. She also understood a soy milk request instead of dairy milk. We wanted her to stay!!!! Instead, the first server came back for the remainder of our meal. At check-out she did not understand about putting our meal on the dining plan. The experienced server returned and was embarrased we had such a hard time. Our server was not friendly at all but I think it was because she had a difficult time understanding. She just put our food/drinks down and walked away each time. The experienced lady was so nice.
Price:
We had the deluxe plan so that was not an issue.
Food:
Although it is served family style (as said above) I asked my plate to not have meat as I am a vegetarian. My husband is not and enjoys all the extras. I also liked having a bar to choose fruit and pastry items to fill-in my meal. I am one to try different items and I enjoyed the bar. My husband is a meat and bread person so he had all he needed in the frying pan. Overall, we both prefer not to have family style breakfast as it is usually more limited choices than a menu or a full bar.
Atmosphere:
Very castle-like...LOL.
Characters:
These characters were WONDERFUL!!! They were all very animated and active with ALL guests. They took time for photos and autographs and all seemed to love their jobs.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   April 4, 2008
Reviewer: lovesthemouse NYC     May 01, 2008
We arrived too late to be seated for our original dinner reservation and the outside staff was very helpful in getting us into the next show. I wrongly assumed that this was priority seating like the other character meals. I've been to dozens of character meals over the years and this one was the most assembly line ever. A huge group is given the same seating time. Families are announced and line up for a picture taken by Disney with a Princess- Belle the night we attended. Interaction was limited to a very quick smile and picture. They seemed annoyed that we wanted both a family shot and one with just our daughter. The pictures are not included withthe meal package. You are then led to your table. The atmosphere is very nice- like the inside of a Castle. You order your main course from a menu. There is an appetizer buffet which included salads, smoked and marinated fish, cheese, boiled shrimp, etc. This part if the meal is all you can eat. My husband and I ordered salmon which was very good, however the portions were tiny. Three deserts were brought out on a tray to share family style. Based on the food I would reccomend this restaurent. It is the character part of this experience that was a huge disappoinbtment. I love character meals because they provide some time to interact with the various characters and find the ones I repeatedly return to have more to do with fun withthe characters than with the food- although I've never had a bad meal at a character meal at WDW. Here the Princesses ran thru the restaurant and were gone before the main course was even served. Alice came thru our area while my daughter was at the buffet. I tried to get her to come back so my daughter could meet her and was told it was too late- this was as we were coming back with our appetizers. Belle did not visit at the tables- she left once everyone was seated. Aurora, Jasmine and Ariel stopped by for QUICK pictures but there was virtually no interaction. I noticed at nearby tables that the Princesses tended to ignore boys sitting at the tables. Everything seemed very rushed to get the next seating group in. We are going back to WDW in July. This restaurant is definately not on our itenary
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   12 February 2007
Reviewer: pandorabox82 (earthman007@yahoo.com) Sparta, Michigan     June 24, 2007
My parents and I went to breakfast here on the 12th of February. My mom had arranged to have the earliest PS available, so that we could start our day at Epcot as soon as possible. We were announced about five minutes before our PS, and got in line for the picture with Belle.

We were seated near the buffet line and had a wonderful server. She got our drink order taken right away and brought it out just as quickly it seemed. We went up to get some things from the buffet, and I really enjoyed being able to eat some Norwegian food, even if it was out of my normal range of eating. Our server brought the hot food out quickly, and was even nice to dig up the recipe for the potato dish for my father.

The princesses that came out were all wonderful as well, taking time even with a 24 (almost 25) year old princess wannabe. As someone else mentioned earlier, though, it was Aurora who spent the most time at our table, engaging me in a brief conversation, and making me feel special.

Overall, I would highly recommend this breakfast, especially if you are a fan of trying different foods.
 
6 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   October 8, 2005
Reviewer: luvmsudogs Brandon, MS     October 19, 2005
We took advantage of the free dining plan during our visit, and this was the most disappointing meal. The characters were great and entertaining, however the food selection was terrible (especially for kids.) We started with sweet bread (good) and fruit. They then brought a family-style bowl of scrambled eggs, bacon, link sausage, and some form of potatoes and tiny buscuits. THAT WAS IT. Not even the usual "Mickey waffles." I noted in another review something about French Toast - never saw that. I was glad that the meal was free, because I would have been quite sick to have paid for that.
 
2 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   December 26, 2002
Reviewer: Tinkfan6 Disney World     April 09, 2005
This breakfast was very good. The French Toast Sticks were amazing! Fresh, Warm, and Delicious! The fruit, pastries, and bacon was very good too. The Egg/Potato thing I did not really like though. Service was good also. Our waitress was always around when we needed her and she was very attentive. The price was pretty good for what we got and was definately a good buy! The atmosphere of the restaraunt was wonderful! The decor was really pretty. Character Interaction was great! Every princess stopped by and took pictures and talked. I would definately do this again.
 
2 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   October 26, 2003
Reviewer: Belle19 Denver, CO     March 21, 2005
As an adult fan of the Disney Pricesses, Belle especially, I loved this breakfast! It was just my husband and I and we were celebrating my birthday. It was announced that it was my birthday and the little girls celebrating birthdays were acknowledged as well...what fun even for a grown up! Service was great and we loved the food. We saw Aurora, Belle, Mulan, Jasmine and Snow White. My husband told Belle that I had been waiting to meet her, and she stayed at our table for several minutes, chatted and posed for 2 photos with me. I honestly was treated, as an adult, the best by Belle, Mulan and Jasmine. I am planning on going back in November of 2005 and will make priority seating arrangements for this breakfast again! I was even served a Norwegian birthday cookie and the end of our meal. I loved it!!
 
6 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   1/03
Reviewer: stut15 Illinois     January 23, 2005
My daughter is a big Princess Aurora fan, and since you can not find her easily in WDW- I made a PS for this restaurant. I was told on the phone that Cinderella was not at this restaurant (usually Cinderella takes the place of PA in the parks) and that Princess Aurora, Mary Poppins, Jasmine, Snow White, Belle, Mulan were at this breakfast. Upon arrival we were told that Cinderella was there today and no Princess A. We were VERY disappointed and left. We tried the entire week to try to find PA while we were there by calling the "character hotline" several times a day, no results!
 
3 out of 16 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   November 16, 2003
Reviewer: mom22gls Jenkintown, PA     November 23, 2003
My 5 year old daughter was thrilled to meet the princesses, and we all enjoyed the breakfast. We were there when the restaurant opened, and the CM's did a little ceremony with a song. Service and food were good. I had assumed that I would not get into the Cinderella breakfast, and had chosen this as an alternative, but managed to get PS for both, so we saw all the princesses and other major female characters between the two (Mulan and Mary Poppins not being princesses). A plus was that my daughter was wearing the same Mulan outfit as Mulan was (not this year's design), and the picture of the two of them is priceless.
 
18 out of 18 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   7/1/03
Reviewer: bellefan Upstate NY     July 10, 2003
I made these reservations months in advance, after getting shut out of the breakfast in Cinderella's castle and was not disappointed. We got seated within 10 mins of our PS reservation and got to visit with/see 5 princesses - Snow White, Belle, Mulan, Aurora, & Jasmine. The characters were great - so good with the kids, talking with them and posing for pictures, and they moved swiftly from table to table.

The food was pretty good - starting with muffins and fruit then getting a hot meal of cheesy potatoes (awesome!), bacon, sausage and scrambled eggs. The waiter seemed bored and like we were bothering him when asking for more to drink, but the strong, European coffee was worth seconds! The only bad thing I can say is that I felt rushed - once the princesses visited your table there was really no reason to hang out and the place seemed to clear out. I don't know if it was done intentionally for turn over, but there was no lingering or slow enjoyment of the meal. Nonetheless, Great fun!
 
57 out of 58 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page