Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Contemporary Resort Contemporary Resort
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
4600 North World Drive, Lake Buena Vista
On the Resort Monorail Line
Book this hotel now!
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 25 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 10 )
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   dec. 13-17 2009
Reviewer: LPnerd Raleigh NC     October 14, 2010
we stayed in a two bedroom in the tower, as we are dvc'ers. I don't have one complaint. Clean, got to check in early, all units had patios, comfortable beds, plenty of room for 6 of us and good water pressure in shower.... let me go back. I flew in and took the magical express. Not Impressed. The drive was fine, but we had to wait for the bus, then we had to wait for another plane, so all in all we were at the airport and extra hour and 30 min. Not good for excited mouse lovers. If possible, rent a car. Period, well worth. We got to Orlando at 11am, got to the hotel at 2pm Ridiculous!
our room was on the 8th fl, overlooking pool and lake. we watched the lighted floats each night. Saw the fireworks from our elevator waiting area, or up at the top lounge. Or jump on the monorail and and watch them from the first station at Magic kingdom. Shopping and restaurant's, from great to good. so much to do at the hotel from crafts , poolside, and outside movies at night. LOVED IT and will stay again.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   January 20, 2010
Reviewer: ElizaJames Texas     February 01, 2010
I had stayed at the Contemporary before, prior to its rehab and wasn't too impressed. However! I was able to get a good deal thru work; the on-line pixs of the new rooms/lobby looked great and with two kids under seven I wanted proximity to MK and overall good transit options. I had actually been at the Grand Floridian the week prior and while it's a lovely hotel, I felt more comfortable here; the rooms are larger and more kid friendly, with lots of storage.
Good points: Beautiful hotel; large rooms; nice beach/pool area; good cafe and shops; lots of entertainment options (ie. beach cookouts/movies under the stars ala the other MK resorts); staff very friendly and courteous (although nothing beat the GF staff!). PROXIMITY to PARKS was key! As my husband said, would stay there again a million times due to ease of walking to MK. We stayed in far end of garden rooms and it took us under ten minutes to get to MK front gate via footpath. As to not being "Disneyfied"-I was OK with it: it made going to the parks even more special.
Not so great: Hotel is a little austere-could use some flowers/art to warm it up; no patios/decks for garden rooms...felt trapped with sleeping children :-). I would give hotel 5 ears if had patios (should be a standard thing in a hotel of this class).
Overall I would highly recommend, especially if you have young kids.

Just a few other items that I'd previously forgotten to mention:
Front Desk CM was lovely; however no upgrade as requested. She kept going "to the back" to see if anything available. (???)

Lobby greeters were great!

Pools supposedly heated but ice cold. Was at the Poly and GF during same stay and their pools were warm. Made a difference when it's 60 degrees out! (And unlike other hotels, Contemporary's were completely empty at night.) We like to swim at night so that was a bummer. Lifeguards kept insisting the water was 82 degrees as we stood there, shivering at each other :-)

Our bags checked via Magical Express, but checked on an earlier flight without our knowledge, so had to go to a different terminal upon landing (a problem at 11pm at night with 2 small kids in tow).

Bag transfer from GF to Contemporary was a mess, but that was GF's fault. However, a little concerning that no one could tell me where my bags were for two hours.

Again, we would stay here again, but request a ground floor room (to get a deck to escape sleeping kids). Cannot overstate how nice it was to be *right there* at end of day (or in middle of!) with two small kids. Walk to MK is less than 10 mts. vs the nightmare of buses (been there, done that).

Beds & pillows super comfy, bathroom large and well appointed; decor stylish with lots of usable space.

Food court food quite good and reasonable (better than GFs.)

I don't quite get the bad rap the Contemporary gets; I've stayed at almost all the moderate and deluxe resorts and for value, location, service and amenities believe it's a good deal.
 
20 out of 21 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   JANUARY 14, 2005
Reviewer: JEANYLASER34 MIAMI, FLORIDA     October 29, 2008
I love the Contemporary we stayed for my birthday and i love it with my family and the castmembers are awesome! and the Fantasia shop looks very good and clean. The Chef Mickey's is awesome to see your favorite Disney Characters danced with you and Mickey and his pals kissed me! I can't wait to stay in the Contemporary for my birthday next Year with my family. Oh the Check-in on the lobby looks good. The Monorail goes through the hotel. The flat screen tv looks cool. I really love to stay here again. Disney great job! Oh! one more thing the fireworks at the Magic Kingdom is awesome!
 
8 out of 9 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   april 21,22,23,2005
Reviewer: Turnbull2357 Massachusetts     December 15, 2007
Our family thought that The Contemporary Resoert was outstanding and fantastic!I have 2 kids and they both loved the view.Our room was a Magic Kingdom viewed room so every night we could watch the fireworks right from our balcony.Chef Mickey's had great food as well as the other restraunts.We did not had to rent a car because we could just use the monorail on the 4th floor of just use a Magic Express bus.It saved us a lot of money.I recommend this hotel to any kinds of families and we hope to stay at this hotel in the futue.
 
12 out of 12 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   Apr. 21 -27
Reviewer: kiddiecentral Thornwood, NY     May 02, 2007
This is a business hotel and not a place for families with small children. The North Wing has recently been torn down and there is NO kiddie pool or playground. Except for Chef Mickey's there is nothing for them to do! The rooms in the South building are a very far walk from the monorail. There is free internet service in the rooms w/computers but no where to eat. No table and chairs or balconies. Unless you are in a Tower room, you can do better at other hotels.
 
19 out of 26 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   July 2005
Reviewer: beachclubbasics Jersey shore     February 18, 2007
Having stayed at the Contemporary nearly 20 times since 1971, I was disappointed during this last trip. Granted we stayed in the North Garden Wing (which has since been torn down), but I was surpised to see that the hallway carpet was the same as it had been since 1971, and it looked it. The wallpaper (also the same) was peeling in the hallways and the air conditioning didn't work throughout most of the building (including our room).

Although we were upgraded to a lake view room ,the room was still a disappointment. The air condiitoning didn't work the entire stay and our room stayed an even 80 degrees (terrible in humid July Orlando). several drawer fronts were falling of off the drawers, the fridge cabinet drawer was hanging askew, and the patio door came off in my hand. Although we called maintenance several times, none of these things were fixed for our entire stay.

The positives were: easy access to the monorail (we miss this over at the Beach Club), 24 hour food and fun court (which we understand is moving to the 3rd floor concourse and may no longer be open 24 hours), we could see the water electrical parade from our room, and the fact that on one of the days we were there we got to see the space shuttle Discovery launch over Bay Lake. Oh, and I forgot the duck family that hung out on our patio all the time and who tried to visit our room every time the door opened!
 
8 out of 12 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   June 7, 2006 - June 12, 2006
Reviewer: CraigC Memphis, Tennessee     July 02, 2006
We love staying at the Contemporary. The best features are being able to walk to the Magic Kingdom and the spacious rooms. The walk from the North Garden Wing to the Magic Kingdom is an easy stroll. The ability to walk back to your room at park closing time when everyone else is crowding on the monorail or buses is great. Access to the monorail is very convenient for trips to Epcot and the other monorail resorts. Chef Mickey's is lots of fun, and California Grill is a great restaurant. The rooms that have not yet been remodeled are showing a little age, but this is far outweighed by the convenience of the location.
 
21 out of 22 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   4/27-4/30 2006
Reviewer: luvdisney24 Miami, Florida     May 10, 2006
We had a tower room on the 9th floor with a castle view. It was wonderful. The room was a great size. We were all very comfortable. We were in our room more than usual because my daughter got a stomach virus while we were there and we have no complaints about the room. It is not very "Mickey" but it was very "Contemporary".

The food court is exactly that a "food Court". The food was yummy and we all found something that we enjoyed eating.

We were able to get a florida resident rate of $295 a night and really enjoyed every moment of it. We also loved having the monorail so close. We think ir is a great hotel!!
 
10 out of 12 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   March 2006
Reviewer: samsmom Pennsylvania     April 03, 2006
We stayed in the VP suite on the 14th floor concierge level. Although I was called four times asking when we would arrive, no one answered the pohne when called from downstairs. Finally, a bellman keyed us up. We found one woman at the concierge desk dealing with issues for the 10th floor. We waited 15 minutes before being greeted and when we were cheked in, we had to remind her to give us our pass keys to return. OUr room was spacious, the views strking, but it took two calls to have our bag delivered and no one could locate the light switches for us. Finally someone from maintenance was called, but did not arrive for 1 1/2 hours at which time we figured everything out for ourselves. On the first night we were awakened by a real ruckus from above at 1:30 am. We had to call downstairs three times. Finally the noise ceased 1 hour and fifteen minutes later. The concierge desk was staffed by people who knew nothing. If I had not made all our arrangments in advance we would have been lost. The food offered in the lounge was of poor quality, but when it was set out, at least the desk was staffed. When there was food, there were always at least 4 people at the concierge desk. The pool was lovely, but this hotel is a waste of money. I am sorry I booked it.
 
16 out of 45 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   9-14-05 thru 9-18-05
Reviewer: PoohBearFreak32 (ladygrey0822@yahoo.com) Greenwood, Indiana     September 29, 2005
We had a junior suite in the North Garden section. Our room was fabulous and had a glamour view of the Marina and Bay. The room was very large with a wonderful pass-through bathroom. The housekeeping staff cleaned every day and even steam cleaned the carpets each day. We even had turn down service every night! The pools were great. The circular "quiet" pool was very nice. The ease in which you could get to and from the Magic Kingdom and Epcot couldn't be beat. All in all, it was the most magical trip ever.
 
18 out of 20 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page