Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Contemporary Resort Contemporary Resort
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
4600 North World Drive, Lake Buena Vista
On the Resort Monorail Line
Book this hotel now!
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 25 ( Displaying Reviews: 11 - 20 )
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   July 20-25, 2003
Reviewer: rbaadmin Elwood, IL     March 24, 2005
If you want a unique Disney themed resort, the Contemporary is not the place to stay. However, if you want a conveniently located hotel with practical ammenities then the Contemporary is your place. The rooms are huge! We fit four adults, 1 toddler, and 1infant in the room each night pretty comfortably. We stayed in the South Garden wing facing the lagoon. It was quiet, peaceful and for the kids, we had a great view of the light parade that took place each night on the lagoon. At WDW you are spending so much money on practically everything, it was nice to have an inexpensive place to eat at the Food Court off the lobby. However, there is Chef Mickey's and a steak restaurant for those who want to spend more and get better food. The pools are some of the best I've seen. There is one large pool with a waterslide and fountains, a smaller pool overlooking the lagoon, a whirlpool, and a fun fountain area for the kids. Besides that, there is a beach with watercraft activities available, which we splurged on and enjoyed the mini-speed boats greatly. The gift shops are some of the best at Disney. The monorail is neat especially for the young ones who think a train traveling through a hotel is the "coolest thing they have seen." The convenience of being literally two minutes from the frontgate of the Magic Kingdom was priceless, especially with young kids. The Disney transportation to the other parks was great as well since the Contemporary seemed to be the first stop on most routes. We would stay here again mostly because of the location and its variety of activities.
 
25 out of 26 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   January 8-11, 2005
Reviewer: kingagos Sacramento, CA     February 27, 2005
On our first visit to WDW in 2002, we wandered through the Contemporary and decided to stay there on our next visit because of its close proximity to the MK and its station on the Monorail line. I'm sorry to say that we couldn't have been more disappointed with our stay. Our garden view room ($199) was dirty (spotted carpet, marked up walls, unwashed windows), which, come to think of it, pretty much sums up the rest of the hotel. Even the elevators needed service. When they got loaded with people the buttons wouldn't stay lit, so someone had to punch them frantically to keep Mouse-eared guests from wizzing past their floors. Some of the staff were helpful but many seemed to have little desire to provide a Disney resort experience. We could have been staying in any generic, convention oriented hotel. The lowlight was when a clerk in the Food and Fun Center suggested that my 5 year old son was trying to skip out with a bag of Cheez Its (I kid you not) that he'd been carrying around for a couple of days. We complained about this, the dirt, and a bunch of other stuff and were moved to a Tower room for the 2nd and 3rd nights. But even this room's spectacular view of the MK couldn't salvage our opinion of this tired and declining resort. Maybe the WDW honchos haven't put money into the Contempory because they're planning to spend some big bucks on a major overhaul. Let's hope. Our faith in WDW was restored, however, when we moved to the AKL, which was everything that the Contemporary was not: well-staffed, clean, imaginatively themed.
 
13 out of 19 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   June 5 - 12, 2004
Reviewer: lindabee Yadkinville, NC     July 30, 2004
Type of room: Standard view, South Garden Rooms
Rate/Night: $264.00, plus 11.5% in taxes = $294.36/night

The Contemporary Resort exceeded my expectations. I have stayed at two of the moderately-priced resorts, so I wasn't sure if the Contemporary would really be worth the extra money, but I felt that it was. I was very pleased. For the size of the room, the hotel amenities, and the convenience to the Magic Kingdom, it can't be beat. Our room, #5245 in the South Garden wing, was spacious, clean (maid service was top notch), and quite comfortable for the five of us (2 adults and 3 children). It was only a short, mostly covered, walk to the main lobby, the monorail, the bus stop, and the eating areas. This alone was wonderful given that the moderately- priced resorts are so spread out and usually entail mucho walking.

We were also only a short distance from the marina and the pool area, and I recommend staying in the South Garden wing for this reason. The main pool was extremely well-guarded and there was a shady area for relaxing. A large water slide and fun fountains offered entertainment for the kids. At the end of the dock over the lake we fed the hungry fish and enjoyed watching the electrical water show one night. We did not partake of the parasailing or other boating opportunities, but those options were available, too.

The two large shops were a pleasure to browse in and the staff was friendly and helpful. If you like to collect pins, a large kiosk loaded with pins is conveniently located between the shops, again staffed with friendly sales people. We enjoyed the restaurants very much. I highly recommend Chef Mickey's for a character meal and the Concourse Steakhouse for a relaxing sit-down dinner. Although constantly noisy, the Food and Fun Center offered quick meals (we usually ate here for breakfast) and delicious Coke slushies in those refillable mugs. A heads-up: You can buy and refill the mugs only at the Food and Fun Center, not at the poolside refreshment bar, so if you're at the pool, be prepared to trot inside to refill your mug.

The closeness to the Magic Kingdom was a plus for our group. We could walk there in about 6 minutes and take the monorail back at the end of the day. Epcot was convenient to get to, too, just a quick, monorail ride away. We always felt part of the action at the Contemporary. The restaurants and the lounge all have an open, airy feel to them, and we really enjoyed watching the fireworks from the 4th floor balcony. All in all, the Contemporary offered a lot of bang for the buck. The next time the five of us go, we'll be staying at the Contemporary.
 
26 out of 26 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   May 27 - June 5, 2004
Reviewer: WDWFANATIC New Lenox, IL     June 28, 2004
We received a free upgrade to a lagoon view room upon our quick checkin. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. This is our 7th WDW trip and we've always stayed on property. We were excited to be staying in a " deluxe" resort however were disappointed as our stay 2 years ago at Coronado Springs and our stay 3 years ago at French Quarter seemed more "deluxe" than the Contemporary. We had a nice view of the lagoon and the nightly parade and a short walk to the pool. The best "perk" was the walk to MK and beating the crowds back at night by walking. Our girls (ages 9 & 14) enjoyed the pool and slide. We loved eating at the Concourse Steakhouse. We ate there 3 times during our visit and recommend it far above the Food Court which left alot to be desired. We are planning another trip in the Fall of 2005 and will most likely go back to one of our "Moderate" Resorts as for the price we loved the Disney experience alot more. Stay here once though and judge for yourself. We had a fabulous trip but would probably opt for a different resort next time. A perk was watching the fireworks nightly from the balcony on the 4th floor of the main building. They were beautiful as was the music being piped over from MK. We did love the shops also at the Contemporary and did most of our shopping there. All in all ~ everywhere at WDW is wonderful.
 
9 out of 9 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   7/2000, 8/2001, 7/2002, 7/2003
Reviewer: msdaly Elmhurst, Illinois     March 01, 2004
I am always thrilled with this resort. We have learned through our experience that the Tower is always the best choice. The views are incomparable and the location cannot be beat! You feel as though you are in the hub of all the fun. The theming of this hotel is more "just Disney" than anything else. Chef Mickey's, the monorail, Fantasia gift shop, and the topiaries evoke thoughts of all things Disney. We have stayed at other resorts and have always found ourselves comparing them to the Contemporary. We won't stay anywhere else. We agree that the garden wing rooms may be a little dark, but we are willing to spend a little more to stay in the Tower. The rooms are not just bright and have an incredible view, they are also extremely convenient to the monorail, restaurants, and gift shops.
 
12 out of 12 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   November 15-22, 2003
Reviewer: mom22gls Jenkintown, PA     November 23, 2003
The decor reminded me of a Trading Spaces project, but the location worked very well for us, wanting the Magic Kingdom as a base of operations for our trip. It was great to be on the monorail line. We really enjoyed Chef Mickeys (had dinner there twice), and had one dinner at the Concourse steakhouse, which was good. The shops were very handy. Our room in the Tower was spacious and comfortable. There is a viewing deck for the fireworks at the Magic Kingdom, but we actually had a better view (and still could hear the program), from the large landing on the hotel side facing the MK, which was right by our room. Twice we saw the fireworks from inside the park, and chose to walk back to the hotel, which only took a few minutes, even with sleepy kids. There was a light show on the lake at about 10PM, which I found annoying, as we were trying to sleep then. The snack bar area got very busy in the mornings, when lots of people were filling their mugs and grabbing a quick breakfast, and was very loud all the time, as it was adjacent to the game room, and they also had a TV running. The food selection was OK there. Housekeeping and general services were fine, although I ran into a mild glitch at Guest Services. My daughter had lost her purse, either at a park on on the bus. The woman told me to call the park the next day, when it was open. I actually got the correct answer the next day at the Magic Kingdom-contact central lost and found, and they provided the location and number (we got the purse back, including her Disney Dollars!). The pool area was nice. Overall, good for location to the Magic Kingdom, if that is a priority.
 
9 out of 9 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   07/10/03-07/18/03
Reviewer: Capris03     July 16, 2003
Very dissapointed in this resort. Even though we stayed here through the Shades of Green program and paid much less than Disney's standard rate, I still feel I paid too much. The upkeep is horrible! And there really is no theme to this place. Even the hotel uniforms the employees wear are ugly. The dissapointment begins in the lobby, which besides being very plain and boring, needed new carpet (which was ripping) and paint on the walls (marks made it look like a Wal-Mart floor at the end of the busy day). Then, upon entering the North Garden Wing, the building greets you with dirty, stained carpet in the hallways and walls that are scratched and dented (no doubt from the housekeeping carts). These flaws may not mean anything to some people, but the lobby and corridors are your first impression and they should really make you feel good about staying at any hotel. Even the All-Star resort we've stayed at was in better shape than this hotel, and had a better lobby too!
The room was spacious with an extremly well designed bathroom. However, I don't understand why they could not have put a balcony on all the rooms, as opposed to just a sliding glass door with a railing. The room was in much better shape than the lobby or the corridors. But the newly renovated rooms seem out of place in the garden wing buildings, which on the outside still look old. Being able to walk to the Magic Kingdom, though, is a very nice feature of this resorts drawbacks.
This resort really could be among Disney's best. It should be, seeing that it has landmark status as Walt Disney World first hotel. Sadly, though they choose to neglect this property. If they would just put the effort in, it may someday again be worthy of being in Disney's deluxe category. Until then, I would highly recommend spending your hard-earned cash at one of their other properties.
 
17 out of 24 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   5/24/03 - 6/2/03
Reviewer: kaityle New Mexico     June 21, 2003
We were pleasantly surprised! We booked a standard room and were upgraded to a first floor lagoon view in the north tower. The room was very spacious for a family of four. P lus, the view was awesome! We watched the Water Parade from our patio almost every night. The children could run outside and play on the beach while we got ready. We would walk on the path that surrounds the hotel and see ducks, rabbits and squirrels every morning. The walk to the main tower was about 5 minutes. When the monorail line was long, we walked back to the hotel...it only took 10-15 minutes! The ONLY thing we would have changed is that the resort needs more Disney theming. There are a few statues of Mickey, and a Mickey shaped pool, but we think they should play Disney music or something. We will stay there again.
 
6 out of 8 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   04/12/03-04/19/03 (Spring break)
Reviewer: VegasVick (vegasvickcooks4u@aol.com) Las Vegas, Nevada     April 29, 2003
We stayed at the Contemporary via Shades of Green, so our DOD rate was excellent for this deluxe resort during peak season. Check-in was great! The CM was very nice and answered all of our questions with a smile. I got all of my requests...one handicapped room connecting to a two-queen room, first floor, non-smoking, North Garden Wing. Just a quick walk to the Food and Fun Center; we really used our refillable mugs alot! Loved being at a monorail resort...so convenient and easy. Bus service was close and fast too! The room was very large, and the daybed allowed each of my kids their own space. Maid service was efficient, some days more creative than others. I enjoyed my coffee on our little patio, which wasn't dirty. The pool never felt crowded, but the kids wished it was deeper. They enjoyed the pool slide. The hot tub(s) were clean and felt great after walking all morning. The laundry room was large and clean, but expensive! Would I stay here again? Maybe not for $300+ per night, but for $90 per night...you bet!
 
11 out of 12 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   04/20/02 - 04/29/02
Reviewer: trlenoir Nashville, TN     December 09, 2002
We stayed here through the SOG (Shades of Green) transfer & I have to say everything was great! I really liked the refillable mugs & the ability to go down at anytime for a refresher. Quick in was really quick & very efficient. The Castmembers asked us if we had any questions, gave us a ton of information, & we did receive a card saying to call after 3 to get our room assignment.

We received a King size room on thrid floor with a view of the lake in the North Garden Wing. All of our requests were met & the room had the Jetson's kind of feel (I kept looking for Astro & Rosie while we were there!). We had wonderful house keepers that left a new towel animal each day & arrange our stuffed animals in various scenes each day also.

During our stay, we celebrated my husbands 30th birthday & that day we had alot of "happy birthdays" from the Castmembers that checked us in when we were in the lobby. While we were out, my husbands fruit basket arrived, & the CM placed it in our room & added some Mickey confetti & a card with a picture of all of the whole gang from Chef Mickeys wishing him a happy birthday!
The only problem we had was our last night there, our neighbors were having an extended social hour & woke us up at about 1 in the morning. We called down to the front desk & they sent security up to quite our neighbors. We didn't hear anything out of them for the rest of the night.

This is a wonderful resort to stay at if you want access to the monorail & don't mind the retro furniture. I have found that the convience of this resort & the size of the rooms out weighs the negatives I have read.
 
25 out of 25 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page