Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Contemporary Resort Contemporary Resort
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
4600 North World Drive, Lake Buena Vista
On the Resort Monorail Line
Book this hotel now!
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 25 ( Displaying Reviews: 21 - 25 )
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Sept. 22-28, 2002
Reviewer: LittleGelfling Louisville, KY     September 29, 2002
We stayed in the CR for the second time this trip.

It was better than remembered, with a spectacular 11th floor view and chance to eat in the CA Grill on the 15th.

I very much enjoyed the decor in the resort. Abstract paintings and a few large murals decorate the lobby and concourse areas while bright, bold colors fill the guest rooms. The furniture is very interesting, especially in the lobby, with slanted chairs and curved couches in contrasting colors.

We had a tower room facing the MK. From the hallway outside our room, we could see Chef Mickey's and Concourse Steakhouse.

Check-in was about 10-15 minutes and we were able to get a room right away, despite being early. (We got there at 11am-check-in time is 3pm.)

Check-out was equally fast and easy.

The staff overall were very friendly and helpful during our stay, with no problems or issues.

Meals were nice, with there being 4 different choices. Never had to wait more than 15 minutes at any of the table service/buffet resturants. (We did have priority seating at CA Grill, but walked in everywhere else.)

Transportation was easy and convenient with the monorail running right through the resort. Buses took a bit longer, though our longest bus wait was only about 10-15 minutes.

The grounds outside were also very pleasant-the pool area is quite large, but not overcrowded.

As for costs, merchandise and food were about typical for anywhere in the "World". Room rates for the Tower are typically around $300/night. We purchased our rooms in a package and got a discount by being Disney Club members, so I'm not certain of the rate we paid.

Overall, I enjoyed my second stay at the CR even more than my first and plan on returning to it on our next visit. No complaints about my stay...I would recommend the CR to anyone planning a WDW vacation!
 
7 out of 9 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   August 11-15, 2002
Reviewer: kurtztk Portland, OR     August 22, 2002
Bottom line: I loved this resort! However, having said this, Im pretty sure I'd never consider paying the rack rate for this room (around $300, and the main reason I wouldn't give the resort 5 stars). We visited with a niece who is a Florida resident so we got $124/night + tax for a Garden Wing, Standard View. Our only request was for two adjoining rooms with an interior door - we wanted to have our children (3 yrs, 10 mos) nap in one room, while we could watch TV, talk, rest in the other. When we checked in I was shocked to find we had Tower rooms (7th floor, #s 4317-8) overlooking Bay Lake. Check-in was very brief, maybe 10 minutes, and despite a slight problem with the room keys the service staff were all excellent and prompt.

The view of Bay Lake was wonderful! The view of the Magic Kingdom on the other side is great, but I think I may have enjoyed the lake side even more. If you don't want to go to the 15th floor observation deck to watch the fireworks, you can just walk down to the end of your floor and step out onto the stairway platform and watch from there. You can see the Electrical Water Pageant, some of the Illuminations fireworks, and watching all the boats come and go from the marina was very relaxing.

The decor was definitely of the "loud" variety - very bright colors - but it didn't bother me. The themeing is definitely on the light side - like a nice hotel set anywhere in the US. But being so close to the Magic Kingdom with monorails sailing through the middle of the building you definitely know you're in the World. Both my wife and I thought the queen bed we slept in was extremely comfortable, and the bathroom was immaculate. The room size was also great - I've heard these are the biggest standard rooms on property with 2 queens and a daybed. Room noise wasn't a problem for us.

For the parents of two young children, this was an excellent choice. Both kids were delighted at seeing the monorails come and go through the hotel, and both loved the pools (though they are not themed or more than 4 feet deep; older kids loved the water slide). Chef Mickey's is the best character breakfast I've attended, but the Food Court was just OK - not a lot of selection and a bit noisy being next to the arcade (which I can tell is a huge perk to older kids). The shops are great. The 5-10 minute walk to the Magic Kingdom is a huge plus especially going since the monorail circles in the opposite direction. We drove to Animal Kingdom, but had quick and efficient bus service to the Studios.

It all comes down to expectations and price for this resort. I'd visited during previous visits to Walt Disney World, so I basically knew what to expect. The room upgrade was a big bonus, but I was also surprised at how much I liked many of the other aspects of the resort. If you can get a good deal with a discount code, this resort should definitely be near the top of your list!
 
12 out of 13 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   6/1/02 - 6/6/02
Reviewer: grynchgirl Raleigh, NC     August 20, 2002
I stayed here on my eighth trip to Disney World, and I absolutely loved it. My tower room had a view of Bay Lake (and the Electric Water Pageant), and shopping and dining were just a quick elevator ride away. The proximity to the Magic Kingdom (my favorite park) was wonderful, and I loved watching Fantasy in the Sky fireworks from the resort's 15th floor observation deck. I thought all the food I ate here (including the 24-hour room service) was excellent, and the Chef Mickey's character breakfast is one of my favorites. My only complaint was the size of the television - it may have only been a 19" diagonal (I'm afraid I simply can't calculate anything less than 25"!). Other than that, the resort was fantastic.
 
5 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   august 2001
Reviewer: nile6000 new york city     July 16, 2002
awesome view of the castle too bad thats all this place has going for it . rooms are ugly ! terrible decorating. colors dont match furniture is uncomfortable, a total disappointment. on the plus side chef mickeys is downstairs and that is a great character dinner. For the price they need to update this place ASAP.
 
6 out of 13 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   June 15 to June 20
Reviewer: Ebisoman Pittsburgh, Pa     June 25, 2002
This is a WDW rated"Deluxe" Resort. At best it should be a moderate. I could write several pages but will be breif. Check-In took 45 minutes and the line was not long. New CM with no supervision. Could not get our Dinner reservation for Luau correct. Kept apologizing for not giving us ourroom request (of 13 months), just added salt to the wound. We had a North Garden room, requested anything in 8300's, got 7141. Room decor is awful, mold in tub, water smelled and tasted bad, had to purchase drinking water, no key to the in room safe- corrective action was to remove the mechanisum, Furnature tacky and very uncomfortable, no TV 1st night- cable out do to storm!, Neighbors kept slamming door that shook the walls until 1:30 am, could hear them yelling at each other through the walls,Phone charges would include 55% sufcharge, used cell phone instead. Cost of rooms is like airline seats everyone pays a different price, I think we paid the premium. Shades of Green transplants got the upgrades, we learned from one of them on the monorail. They did not like the room either but since they were located in the Tower(free upgrade) they couldn't complain. Food and transportation a long walk away from room. Changed room on second day(at our request), we had to do the moving, since CR staff was shorthanded and busy. Everything at the Steakhouse cost extra, you pay for the meat or fish entree nothing included, potatoes are extra, veg. are extra, salad is extra.However, bird droppings are free!! There are about 5-6 small birds flying around and landing on the floor and table to steal food. Food court also very expensive ($2.50 for water($2.00 in vending machine down the hall which was always sold out), $1.59 for cereal without milk). We have stayed at the Boardwalk, Port Orleans(3 times) and former Dixie Landing in the past an found them much beeter then CR. Last but not least, neither room had been vacumed during our stay. The monorail is convienant but not quick, best to walk to MK. Some of the grounds need care, but in general the outward appearance is good. Very disappointed on the inside. After visiting the other so called "Deluxe" resorts, the Grand Floridian is the only one worthy of that label. but it will cost you extra.
 
43 out of 81 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page