Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Coronado Springs Resort Coronado Springs Resort
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
1000 West Buena Vista Drive, Lake Buena Vista
Book this hotel now!
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.8 out of 53.8 out of 53.8 out of 53.8 out of 53.8 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 19 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 10 )
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   March 25-31,2012
Reviewer: lisakb22 Prospect Heights,IL     April 02, 2012
This was my second stay at this resort and I love it. We checked in on line so a room was ready at 9:30 A.M. when we arrived. The front desk person was so nice and willing to help find a perfect room. We stayed in Cabana 8A and it was perfect! Close to the main pool , a bus stop and not far from El Centro. This resort has many convention people stay there so it is quiet and the buses and pools not always used by the convention people so they are not crowded.We did not use restaurants this time but in the past the Pepper market is decent food.
 
3 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   5-18-07 thru 5-21-07
Reviewer: AndyMan Marietta, GA     May 23, 2007
This is a monstrous resort and along with that comes the inevitable problems of being placed at the farthest part of the property... We suffered along with the rest of the people there. Yes, there was a golf-cart that took you close to your room (when it wasn't full, max 6 persons at a time) UNFORTUNATELY, a lot of the time it was full and we had to wait for next time around which is approximately another 15 minutes, guess what.. it's faster to walk, or catch the resort buses if you're staying in the outer regions. (oh yeah, you'll see bell-boys driving golf carts around the place but they won't give you a ride anywhere unless you're actually checking in!)

The room was basic but functional with a working refrigerator which actually came in quite useful.

The main problem that we had was housekeeping especially on the Sunday, we returned to the room at 5pm and it hadn't been touched! After a few calls to housekeeping and a 45 minute wait, we finally had fresh towels and clean glasses.

I'll review the dining experience in another review

Sorry guys, but we're not staying there ever again
 
26 out of 51 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   June 5-12 2006
Reviewer: pattypre Colorado Springs, Colorado     July 27, 2006
I think Coronado Springs is a great resort. We used the Disney free transport system - forgot the name and it was great. I faxed in a request about 3 days before our arrival. Although I didn't get my request, I found it not a problem. We stayed in Ranchos 7A in a standard view room on the bottom floor and paid about $144 a night. The room was a good size for us and was clean. We had a view of a grassed area leading to the bus stop, which was very convenient and the buses ran regularly. Although the walk to the main building was somewhat long, I enjoyed walking as the path went around some of the lake - what a view! CM did drive around in large golf carts but if you weren't waiting by a bus stop, you did have to indicate you wanted a ride either by asking as they passed or several times I just stuck my thumb out. However, the golf carts were not on a regular schedule and on some days they were hard to find. The Pepper Market was wonderful - good food and lots of it. We usually shared a meal. In summary, the location was great, rooms were wonderful, food plentiful, beautiful grounds, good service. We would go back there again.
 
47 out of 49 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   May 28-30, 2006
Reviewer: rbaadmin Elwood, IL     June 25, 2006
This was our first stay at a moderate resort at WDW, having stayed at two deluxe resorts in the past. There is a definate difference in the two categories. The luxury, service, and general appearance were a step down from the deluxe, but so was the price. It was still very pleasant and enjoyable. We stayed in a standard room for around $130 per night with a package deal. The rooms were decent size, and we had to fit four people plus a crib for a baby and we had sufficient room. The property is huge, which means a lot of walking to pretty much everywhere. The pool was great with stuff for everyone. My one and four-year olds loved the kiddie pool and the two teenagers we had with us loved the waterslide. The food at the pool was pretty good and very convenient. The food court had a good variety for various tastebuds. We did not use Disney transportation because we had a rental car, so I cannot comment on that aspect. It was a little difficult to get a hold of someone at the front desk to ask a question, but overall, it was a nice place, had a unique decor, and definately done Disney-well. We would most likely stay here again.
 
26 out of 26 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   10/23/05-10/30/05
Reviewer: scoobysdaphne Buffalo, NY     January 15, 2006
This was a wonderful resort to stay in...they upgraded our hotel room to a beautiful waterview and it was a 3 minute walk to the bus service, which was never crowded. It was quiet, the grounds are spotless and beautiful. We are already booking our vacation for 2006 in the same hotel.
 
17 out of 20 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   9/7-9/14
Reviewer: DaisysFriend Murray,Kentucky     September 20, 2005
Standard room but room overlooked a quiet pool.
The resort was as pretty as always but the treatment we received was well below par. The first thing we had to do was request mousekeeping for towels,soap and toilet paper. There was a reservation mixup we asked the front desk to use their phone to call reservations and the lady said she couldn't let us use her phone. She called the next guests in line and ignored us.When we were checking out the clerk told us we had 4 CS on the dining plan to use. We ate breakfast only to find out we only had one left. We had to pay for 3 CS. (We typically don't eat breakfast we were only doing so in order to use the last CS). It seemed that everyday when you went into the Pepper Market there were different things you could and couldn't get.
It is easy to get to the parks from Coronado. The busses were never crowded even though they had about three conventions going on at the same time we were there.
My general impression remains that it is a beautiful resort. It is quiet and relaxing and I will always like CSR but with the treatment from the desk members next year or the next time I go to Disney I will have to consider going somewhere else. I went to CSR last year and was so impressed with everything but this year I definitely felt disappointed.
I paid 169.00 a night but I did get the free dining plan which more than paid for the higher resort rate.
I actually used the main pool this time and it is really great especially the slide!
 
24 out of 26 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   Nov 2002
Reviewer: liroi Katy, TX     March 10, 2005
If early southwest (primary colors, not pastel) is your thing, then this is the resort for you. The pools are excellent. The transportation is horrible. There are only three bus stops on property and if your building falls somewhere in between, it's a long walk at the end of a day of long walks. The grab-and-go eateries were fine, service was excellent. The central lake is beautiful and the atmosphere outside the buildings is nice. The rooms were just a little too much for me.
 
10 out of 22 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   July 22 - July 31 2004
Reviewer: KatiesDisneyMom New Hampshire     August 05, 2004
We were so happy with CSR! This resort is beautiful! It definitely met our needs. We stayed for 10 days in the Cabanas. We were in building 8A in the back, parking lot view. (This was the building and view I requested)
This building is near the pool and laundry - very close to the bus stop and we thought, quite convenient.
There were four of us, myself, my husband, daughter and her friend. (girls are 13 and 12 yrs old)
This resort is definitely good for older children. We've stayed at all the value and moderates and by far we like CSR the best. The pool is fantastic. The grounds are beautiful. The food court is excellent. It's decor is bright and cheery. We never had a bad meal. The food was excellent. Yes, we knew about the 10% tax but we knew ahead of time and it didn't matter to us.
The buses were always there and never too full. The only ride that is long is to go to Downtown Disney.
We will definitely stay here again.

 
26 out of 26 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   May7-May14 2003
Reviewer: cocoabeach Portland, Oregon     April 23, 2004
We had a great time here. $115/night with the AP discount.

Before we booked our reservations I was a little worried since I saw several complaints about it before we left. After staying there and having such a great experience I think our fears were unfounded. Please keep in mind that it is indeed a very large hotel complex and lots of guests stay there so it is inevitable that there will be negative reviews which may outweigh the positive. Read on to see what we enjoyed and if these things appeal to you then I think you'll have a great stay.

We chose this hotel at the time solely based on the nice pool and slide and the photos on the web site. We weren't disappointed. The pool was fantastic and not too full. We stayed during "regular" season but it was really more like the off season since it was after spring break and before kids get out of school. The slide was so much fun for my wife and daughter (2 years old). Not sure if she was officially allowed on the slide but there were no complaints and I stayed at the bottom and it was fun. Make sure you bring one of those small floating innertube type seats if you bring a small child if you like the pools because it makes it so much more fun for all. She felt like she could swim a bit on her own and we didn't have to be carrying her all the time.

The complex is indeed large but I really loved the pleasant walk in the morning. In the evening, the buses drop you off in front of the buildings so we didn't have to walk at all, which is when you are typicall too tired to enjoy the stroll.

If you think that we had too ideal of an experience that is coloring my review, I'll mention that my wife was pregnant at the time and was ill for one of the nights. I had to go down to the front desk and get something to calm her stomach and they were more than accomodating.

We'd already read that some people didn't like the market style eating area because of the "stamp" system they use but we found it to be perfect. In fact, it is the best place we've eaten at any of the hotels we've stayed at (7 of them so far) and it is the reason that we are going back again this year. The way it goes is you enter the area and you sit down and someone comes by and sets your table and hands you a couple stamp cards. You then pick out any of the food you want without having to worry about handing money back and forth for each item and they just give you a stamp for the food items. Then, when you are done, on your way out they count up the stamps and that is how much you pay. They do however automatically add the gratuity since, apparently, the cafeteria style makes people forget that they were being served. If that is something that worries you then I will warn you that you will not enjoy the checkout and may not like this. Also, if it is extremely busy and they have someone call in sick or something there may not be enough servers so you may not be happy with the speed they serve you. It is still much faster than the typical restaurant and none of the sit and wait for food to be prepared. For us, it was a very pleasant and low-pressure way to eat each morning and we looked forward to it. Our little girl got to look at and pick out what she liked/didn't like which was a huge bonus for us since she is particular about what she wants. Yet we got some of the benefits of table service too. Recommended by us anyway.
 
40 out of 41 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   July 5, 2003 - July 13, 2003
Reviewer: Raneal Pelham, Alabama     March 05, 2004
The hotel is very large. We had faxed in earlier and phoned about having adjoining rooms with another family that we were traveling with. We had been told no problem. When we arrived our rooms were not ready. We were told that they would be ready by 2:00 pm (It was 9:30 am) So we left our luggage and went on to a park. At 3:00 pm we call to see if our room was ready, it still was not ready. They then said it would be ready by 5:00 Pm. By this time we, 2 families with small children, were ready to get to our room and relax after fighting the crowds. The room was finally ready @ 4:30 PM.
We also had problems with the buses. Several times we would be waiting for buses for quite a while. Several times there would be 3-4 buses for other resorts before we would get a bus and then it come and be filled up before eveyone got on the bus. We would have to wait a long time before another bus came to get us.

Where we stayed was too far of a walk to get to the resturants. We finally started catchin a bus and getting off at the last stop it made in the Cornado Springs to save time and give ourselves a rest.
We are wanting to go back to WDW again this summer; however, we will not ever be staying at the Cornado Springs. I recommend staying somewhere else for you $.
 
10 out of 23 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page