Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Coronado Springs Resort Coronado Springs Resort
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
1000 West Buena Vista Drive, Lake Buena Vista
Book this hotel now!
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.8 out of 53.8 out of 53.8 out of 53.8 out of 53.8 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 19 ( Displaying Reviews: 11 - 19 )
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Dec 3-14 2002
Reviewer: Heyyall     November 28, 2003
I love Coronado Springs! If you have younger kids and want the Disney characters and things for small kids, this might not be the best resort. However, our family has a 13 year old and 17 years old and we love it! The buses come often and aren't crowded because most conventioners don't use the buses. this is perfect for us because we park hop and spend a lot of time at the park. The pool is amazing, and the resort is beautiful. Perfect for teenagers. LOVE IT!
 
22 out of 24 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   October 19 - 22, 2003
Reviewer: Wiley Los Angeles, CA     November 07, 2003
From the four nights I stayed at Disney's Coronado Resort, I could tell it was a decent hotel. The rooms were not surprising and consisted of the usual bed/tv/toilet/etc. My review would have been a little more positive if it weren't for its lackluster services and the high price for what equalled a colorful, 1000+ room Motel 6.

I have stayed on Disney property twice before and enjoyed the Port Orleans Resort. This time, I opted for the Coronado and made my reservation months in advance. I purchased a vacation package through the Walt Disney World Resort and requested a king size bed. The operator informed me that the king size beds were only available if I purchased an upgrade, so I paid the higher price to get the larger bed. A few weeks before the trip I called 407-W-DISNEY to make sure my arrangements were secure and I reminded the operator of my request for a king size bed. Upon arrival, of course, they had no king size beds. Multiple requests accomplished nothing. In a hotel of over 1000 rooms, they reported no availability for a king size bed.

After two days of requests and reminders, I gave up and regretfully unpacked my bags. I am still quite upset that I paid for a convenience that was never delivered or made up for. They made a promise that they could not keep and I had to pay several hundred dollars extra for it. Perhaps my gripe should be with the folks at 407-W-DISNEY, but I still have more complaints about the Coronado.

For one, it's huge. This hotel has four bus stops for pick up and drop off and supposedly maintains a taxi system to drive guests within the hotel property. I did see some of these little open-air taxis, but I was not allowed to use them as they were specifically reserved for the private use of the corporate conventioners staying at the hotel (perhaps the conventioners were the reason I was not allowed to receive my king size bed). These taxis had signs posted on the front which read that they were for the specific use of XXXX Convention. Asking them to stop was out of the question and those taxis that did not have private use signs on them were busy driving elsewhere to pick up guests that were checking out with their luggage.

Since the taxis were unavailble 4/5 of the time, walking was inevitable. Allow me to reitterate the fact that this hotel is huge. To get from one of the four bus stops to one's room may only take five minutes. But to get from one's room to the front desk or cafeteria, may take 15 to 20 minutes. I'll put my review of the Coronado's dining options in another section, but let me say here, that the cafeteria food at the Pepper Market was not worth that walk. The Maya Grill offered sit down dining and was much better, but I'll review it in the food sections of this site.

Continuing on my rant, and still unsatisfied with my accomodations, I also had problems with housekeeping. I returned to my room one afternoon at 4pm to find that the room had yet to be cleaned. On another occasion I called housekeeping to request fresh towels and it took them 15-20 mintues to arrive. It's not unreasonable to take 15-20 minutes to deliver fresh towels, but I wonder if they had walk all the way from the main building to deliver them.

In sum, the Coronado gets low marks due to its enormous size, stylistic blandness, distracted employees, and lack of value. For what I paid, I certainly did not get my money's worth and I wish I had stayed elsewhere.
 
14 out of 29 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   January 10 - 14, 2003
Reviewer: Lani Oakland, California     January 21, 2003
Short overview: Pros - Above-average, well-themed hotel on a sprawling campus. Quiet, immersive environment and multiple pools, with nice Mayan-themed main pool that includes a neat slide. Cons - Isolated and far from everything. Total lack of easy transportation within "campus" itself made even a "quick trip" to the snack shop a 30-minute excursion. Overall, not recommended unless you have your own rental car, and plan to spend little time in your hotel.

Review: My husband and I stayed at the Coronado Springs as part of the package offered to us through Disney Sports for its WDW Marathon weekend. Since its related Fitness Expo was held at the hotel's convention hall, it was quite convenient to walk over to pick up our entry packet.

We should have realized immediately that we were going to be dealing with substantial walking, when the check-in clerk told us that it was a 15-minute walk to our room. The Coronado Springs is in a Mexican and American Southwest motif, evoking images of the Mayan as well as Native Americana. The hotels are clustered into themed buildings, including the Cabanas, Ranchos, and Casitas. We were staying in Ranchos, which turned out to be the farthest away from the check-in area. Cast members provide free shuttle service on golf carts, but these are not scheduled regularly and are not part of the official transit system there.

The resort offers refillable mugs, but from where we stayed in Ranchos building 7A, it would take us 15 minutes out, and 15 minutes back to get a free mug of soda. There was a small snack bar at the main pool where we could get refills, but its food selection was limited to chicken strip and hot dog fare.

Should you wish to stay in an on-property resort, we suggest you consider ones that are either closer to a park, or rent a car so you do not feel so isolated. We stayed here assuming we would have quick access to the Fitness Expo, but as with the main eateries, visiting the convention center took us 30 minutes to walk to and back! Had we known this (and had we known they would put us in the farthest rooms), we would have selected another resort, and just shuttled in for the Expo.

Unless you plan to do a lot of wandering about at this resort (which we certainly did not do after we ran our marathon!), you will not really have the opportunity to take in the nice theming. While the theming is nice, unless you plan on spending most of your time in your hotel, we recommend you consider another one with better (and closer/easily accessible) amenities. At the very least, make sure to ask to stay in the Casitas complex, in room as close to the restaurant as possible.

Note: Although our room was farthest away from the check-in area, the Disney shuttle bus does circle all three building clusters, and stop at each one. Our bus stop was just outside our cluster, so this did not add negatively to our experience.
 
32 out of 36 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   December 7 - 14, 2002
Reviewer: DisneyDec Gaithersburg, MD     December 19, 2002
We were able to stay here for $97/night via a promotional code. We were going to originally stay at All-Star Movies, but decided to upgrade just to see what we could get.

We arrived at about 6pm on Saturday night. The check-in building was nicely decorated for Christmas, with a lovely tree at the end of the room. For the children a TV showed various Disney cartoons and a table was set with crayons and sheets of Disney characters for children to doodle on. There was no one in the check-in line so registration was a breeze. We were placed in Ranchos 6A, room 6113 on the first floor.

For us, this room was quite large, bigger than some of the standard rooms you find at a Courtyard or a Hampton Inn. It was very clean and colorful. We had two double beds, a armoire that held the television and three drawers for clothing, which fit all of our clothes quite comfortably. A large sink area sat outside of the toilet/shower area. I saw no signs of wear and tear. The room location itself was overlooking the courtyard rather than the parking log, and was very convenient: near the quiet pool/laundry and Big Dig Site, and not too far away from the bus stop.

The quiet pool seemed very nice, but I didn't have a chance to use it. The weather only allowed us one day at the Big Dig Site pool, which is teriffically themed and has plenty of seating available. The only problem with this pool was it wasn't heated. So, even in 70 degree weather the water was COLD. I did try the jaguar slide once and enjoyed the ride.

We ate at the Pepper Market Food Court on our first night there. My wife had a bad experience with the pizza, so we didn't go again (see my separate review of this in the Restaurant section).

I only have three minor complaints. First, the card readers that you use to enter the gates for the resort proper didn't really work too well. Sometimes it took three or four tries before the gate would open. Second, the change machine in the laundry room was broken, so I had to walk ALL THE WAY to the arcade at the big pool in order to get $4 dollars in change -- not the way to spend an afternoon. Third, we got in one afternoon at about 2:30 to find that our room wasn't made up. The housekeeper who tried to clean our room later that afternoon (but couldn't because our 2-year-old daughter was taking a nap) talked quite loudly outside our window about us cleaning the room ourselves. The good side to this is that I reported this to Housekeeping and they were very courteous to us.

Other than those three minor problems, we really enjoyed this resort and would definitely stay here again (unless I get my room in the Grand Floridian).
 
12 out of 14 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   11/29/2002 - 12/6/2002
Reviewer: andrelaplume PA     December 12, 2002
We wanted to stay at CB of PO but were told no rooms were available so we booked CS. In fact the day before departure we again tried to switch but were told no rooms were available, and additional rooms were not available at CS either. My point is, at least for the weekend after Thanksgiving CS was to be very crowded. Well if it was booked up it did not feel that way. We checked in on 11/29/02 at 8pm with little wait. We were given room 8430 in the center Cababnas area which I had requested. It had a parking lot view which was fine. We paid $95 a night with tax. It was a promo on the Disney website. This is fairly close to the theme pool, quiet pool, bus stop and food court. Personally, if I did it again Id ask for a room in building 9 on the end by the bridge. This would make a shorter trek to the theme pool and food court, though a bit longer one to the bus and quiet pool. Anyway, the room was clean and a fine size for 2 adults a 2 year old and a 6 year old. The furniture held all our clothes (and we over packed). The TV stand held all our other stuff. There was an iron/board and hair dryer. The sink was just outside the bath, note there is only one sink I think CB had two. It is poorly lit in the sink area. The bath has a fan on a timer, you select how long it runs. There is extra space in the room to stow suitcases or even a crib. CB rooms are bigger though. There was a fair size table and two chairs. The room did not look wore out nor did it appear brand new. The room had a connecting door to another room. Sadly we had to flee this room on our second night. I think a few families had rented rooms together and took it upon themselves to party next door. The sound insulation in this hotel was terrible. Even with the fan running we could not drown out the sound and the fan could not be left on all the time; again its on a timer. We called the front desk who apologized and offered to move us. (My wife was really mad we had to move after just unpacking EVRYTHING) I asked for a corner room somewhere where they perhaps were not renting the room next door. They upgraded us to room 8600, a corner room with two windows overlooking the lake. No one was in the room next to use until just before we were to check out. This room was closer to the theme pool and bus stop but a bit further from the food and quiet pool. Still it was more quiet. I still must say; inconsiderate neighbors aside; this resort does not seem as insulated from noise as I recall CB or PO being. Also, our turbo toilet in the room 8600 did not work right. It did not fill up enough to remove the waste unless you played with the handle and let some more water in the bowl. We gave them a day to fix it but nothing was done. We called and they sent someone up that evening whose only words were toilet flush. When I demonstrated that it flushed but did not remove paper, he said need plumber. Another case of Disney hiring people who simply do not speak or understand English. Oh wellwe preloaded it the rest of the trip. The maid service was fine. Our daughter was ill one night very late and they brought us fresh linensI had to call the front desk thoughno one answered the housekeeping number it was after midnight. We also had no trouble arranging delivery of a prescription to the front desk. Outside the room, the resort is set up similar to CB. There is a big lake with rooms encircling it. There are plenty of walking paths. You can rent bikes, surry bikes, boats etc. The theme pool is sort of in the centernot so close top the food court as CB or PO but they have a snack bar. It was supposed to heated but we tried on a brisk 60 degree evening and it clearly was not. The quiet pool by our room (they are several quiet pools throughout) however was warm. The pool area is cool with a fun waterslide and basketball shoot. The playground Dig Site was a bit of a let down. We were expecting something like the Dinosour dig at AK. It was more like a big sand box. Still it was not that bad and we spent little time there anyway. The Pepper market was a pleasant surprise. It never seemed really crowded. The ticket stamp / pay as you exit worked well. I must say I do not care for the 10% gratuity they tag on. We found that we usually got our drinks ourselves and cleaned our table as we left. The food selection was plentiful. It ranged from mediocre to good. There are several kids meal options for $4.50. You are suppose to pay $2 more if you are an adult. I noticed many people getting the kids meals and not paying more---no one said anything. The kids meals were chicken nuggets or a slice of pizza or a pasta disk or a hot dog. Each comes with a cookie, orange slice and chips. The nuggets were good. The kids enjoyed the pizza, I did not. Nor was the pasta to my liking. They did offer up a good selection of sandwiches, Chinese food, Mexican food, and chicken. They had special selections each night too. Prices ranged from $7.25 to $9 for typical menu items and slightly more for the special selections. My wife and I split a selection several times. We found one portion of the rotisserie half chicken enough for us both. This way we save $$$$ and had room for desert. The carrot cake and cheese cake were winners according to my family. I only ate the chocolate chip cookies which were nothing to write home about. If you are getting two pieces of cake ge
 
14 out of 21 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   10/12-10/15
Reviewer: pbagrat Newnan, GA     October 16, 2002
Hotel staff was friendly and check in was fast. We had a twin bed water view in Casitas. The room was ok, but not worth the rates they charge. The pool and water slide are nice if you bring your kids. We didn't care for the food at the Pepper Market. It was slightly above average cost for the atmosphere/ self-serve class. The food however was not spectacular.

Also, when you are driving around watch out for the people driving the stretch golf carts. We almost hit several of them that pulled out in front of our car.

This was a so-so resort. Convenient if you are spending a few days at Disney World.

 
5 out of 12 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   February 2000
Reviewer: mbaker1277 Northport,Alabama     September 13, 2002
We love the Coronado Springs resort! We have stayed at all of the value and moderate properties, and half of the deluxe ones. I think that the CS is a top choice.
The grounds of the resort are so beautiful, actually transporting you to the southwest. The decor is really lovely. We enjoyed the Pepper Market food court. It seemed the quality of the food was a cut above the others, with very large portions.
We had a room in the Ranchos section, and this was the only drawback. This section was very close to the main pool, The Dig Site, but VERY far away from the central area. It was always at least a 15-20 minute walk around the lake(the bridge was not open at this time) whenever you wanted to go eat. We did have a bus stop close to our room though.
One of the special touches this resort has is telescope viewing of the stars. At night time, around the lagoon, there are telescopes set up to view the stars and planets, with a guide to tell you details about them.
I think this resort is a great value for the money, and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.
 
13 out of 14 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   july 9-13
Reviewer: nile6000 new york city     July 18, 2002
nice place very clean and friendly. check in took 10 minutes and out rooms were ready at 11AM! Main pool is beautiful you will love it. Also has a childrens pool with a big fountain in the center for the kids to run thru and a great hot tub! The main building has a number of places to dine and has alot of choices, american, chinese, italian etc. Prices were a little high but food was good. Only complaint was that it is a long walk from some rooms to the main pool, but other wise this resort was beautiful and worth every penny.
 
10 out of 11 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   Aug 30 - Sept. 3, 2001
Reviewer: Poohfan28 (ladymin@bellsouth.net) Jacksonville, FL     June 20, 2002
We liked this hotel. Although we had a bus stop really close to our room. The places to eat were quite far away. We liked the quiet pool. Nice place to go without kids. Our room was nonsmoking standard with King size bed. Our rate for the room was $89.00 night because we are Florida Residents and they were doing a great deal for residents at that time when we went.
 
4 out of 21 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page