Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Flame Tree Barbeque
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Discovery Island counter service restaurant featuring beef and pork barbecue and sandwiches.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 14 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 10 )
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   2/16/11
Reviewer: thetony45 Steeleville Illinois     April 29, 2011
It was lunchtime on my Animal Kingdom day, so I decided to stop by the Flame Tree BBQ that I read so many good reviews for.

The lines were long and moved slow, but it was lunchtime so that was probably my bad.

I ended up ordering a pork sandwich which came with baked beans and chocolate mousse with my dining plan.

The seating areais all outdoors which was kinda nice if it wasnt for the ducks wanting hand outs. If People would stop feeding them. they'd stop hanging around.

If was a rather long trek to find a table and then find comdements.

The sandwhich tasted ok, but was no where near as good as the reviews i read said it was. The mousse was the best part of the meal.
 
1 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   1/16/07, 1/19/07, 3/14/08
Reviewer: csuwyn Sacramento, CA     October 16, 2008
I don't have too much more to add with all the raving reviews of Flame Tree, but it is my family's favorite counter service restaurant by far, and I felt I needed to give it it's due. We've visited Flame Tree on many occaisons, and we always get the same thing, the rib meal. 5 large delicious ribs, great BBQ sauce, french fries, onion rigns, corn on the cob, baked beans, and because we were on the Disney Dining Plan we also got a drink and dessert, a wonderful slice of key lime pie. The food is superb. The atmosphere is great, all of the secluded seating areas overlooking the lagoon and Everest, you may even see Mickey and friends pass by on a boat if you're there long enough. Prices aren't bad even if you're not on the dining plan, but if you are, it's the best counter service deal at any of the parks. Service can get a little slow if you go during lunch rush hour, but if you hit it at off times, it's not that bad. But trust me, even if the lines are out to the main walkway, it's well worth the wait.
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   5/6/07
Reviewer: tjrj Durango CO     May 17, 2007
Needed a late afternoon break from touring-and a snack. Flame Tree fit the bill. As others have said-get your food and take the path around behind the building. It's a bit of a walk, but you won't be disappointed. Fabulous view of EE from your over-the-water table! Didn't feel like you were in a theme park at all. Quiet, clean. For snacks we shared: onion rings, a frozen lemonade and key lime pie. The lemonade was packaged and the same as you can get anywhere on property(but delicious nonetheless) but the onion rings were fresh and the key lime pie was not pre-packaged as with most counter service desserts. My only regret is that we didn't make it back here to try their ribs and chicken!
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   March 6, 2007
Reviewer: TinaMouse Farmington, MN     March 30, 2007
I was touring AK by myself (family was swimming) and happened upon Flame Tree during lunch time. WHAT A WONDERFUL FIND!

There was no line at the order/serving counter and my order of a BBQ beef sandwich platter (included baked beans and corn on the cob) and pop came immediately. Price was reasonable; I believe less than $10 and it was a plentiful amount of food. CMs were very friendly.

As others have reported, the seating area behind the restaurant was beautiful, nearly empty, and very quiet. It was a relaxing place to decompress from overstimulation in the parks. In addition to the beauty of the landscaping (ducks in ponds, etc.), the area was spotless. There were several CMs standing by to clean as soon as someone left the area.

The manager of the restaurant came by to ask how my food was. He chatted for several minutes about the chef and the secret BBQ sauce used on the sandwiches. The food was delicious. Beef was tender and tasty and the sauce was outstanding. Beans were also very good. Corn was rather tasteless, but was a nice change to the spice of the meat and beans.

We will certainly return here on our next trip later this year. YUM!

Service--5 planets
Price--5 planets
Food--5 planets
Atmosphere--5+planets
 
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   March 2007
Reviewer: Turboman Portland, Oregon     March 13, 2007
What a great place. We went there twice and had a great meal both times. I had the ribs the first time and BBQ pork sandwich the second time, and both were very good. With the Disney Dining Plan, we ended up with a ridiculous amount of good food both times.

What makes this place stand out, though, is the seating area. Both times, we found spots on the water facing Expedition Everest. It was a cool, relaxing spot --a great place for a mid-day break.

The lake that our table was on was nearly an attraction in itself - fish, turtles, a crocodile. And the random character boat that came by one meal.
 
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   October 1, 2006
Reviewer: lisaboo Sacramento, CA     October 18, 2006
Loved the Flame Tree, even if lines were a bit longer than we would have liked. The food was excellent and by just walking a bit I found an amazing place to eat near the water. The view was incredible, overlooking Everest, and a boatload of characters came by to say hello at one point. What a treat. All that and the food was great, as well. I had the ribs and my fiance had the pork sandwich, both of which came with corn on the cob and very good bbq beans. The chocolate cake for dessert was also very good. We were on the dining plan so I am not sure how much this cost. The portions were huge and if we had not been on the plan we could have easily split a meal and had plenty to eat. This definitely will be on the list of "musts" for our next trip.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   August 29, 2006
Reviewer: LaurieR Exeter, Ontario     September 06, 2006
2 adults and 2 kids arrived about 1pm and there was hardly any lineup. Adults had ribs with baked beans and corn on the cob. Kids had chicken wings with applesauce and corn on the cob. Everything was delicious! Even the kids ate everything! They were very ample portions. We could not finish dessert. I would highly recommend this restaurant.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   Juen 18, 2006
Reviewer: Gislef Iowa City, Iowa     June 18, 2006
I had heard good reviews of the place and decided to pay it a visit. The kids grabbed a light meal elsewhere and my wife and I ate here. I had the smoked pork sandwich and my wife had the ribs.

I wasn't radically impressed by the pork sandwich. It was...okay. We're from the midwest, so pulled pork isn't that hard to come by. My wife enjoyed the ribs and I liked them from the bite I had.

Best thing is you have a choice of two barbeque sauces - one ketchup-based, the other a spicier mustard-based variety. I went with the spicier one but it was a hard choice.

We also had the seasoned onion rings, which were good. I'm not a big fan of onion rings but the WDW restaurants do them right. Cooked to crispy, the onion not too thick.

Seating was a bit problematic as we went in the evening and the illumination was rather dim. It made it very hard to find things. We were also coming off sporadic raining all day so it was rather wet. There might have been good views and all, but we couldn't tell and were lucky to find a table stumbling through the darkness.

Overall Flame Tree was okay, but nothing special.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   12/7/05
Reviewer: heidiwhr Salem, Oregon     December 11, 2005
I had heard great things about the Flame Tree BBQ, and was happy to get the opportunity to check it out! I was NOT disappointed! We got there about 1pm, and the lines were pretty short. Hubby got our food, so I don't know the cost, but I assume it was comparable to other counter service places. I had the smoked turkey sandwich, which was absolutely yummy! Hubby had the ribs, but said they were spiced a little strangely for his taste. My 4 y/o son had the child's BBQ wings, which came with fires and applesauce. He LOVED them, and devoured every single bite. Until then, He had not been eating really great thus far on our vacation, so I was happy to see him eat. We found a table on one of the terraced areas behind the restaurant with no problem. There were many items on the menu that looked great, so I can't wait to go back and try something different next time!
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   1-12-05
Reviewer: akwalker New York, New York     May 04, 2005
We found this place by accident actually...and what a find it was! The food was absolutely wonderful. My husband and I both got the pulled pork sandwiches that came with a side of baked beans and corn on the cob. We split a large fry, which were excellent but the entrees themselves are VERY filling. Our bill came to about 20.00 roughly.

The seating is the true gem of this eatery! I told my husband I would go find a place to sit while he waited for the food and I found myself getting lost back in the seating areas! There were so many levels, all so beautifully decorated and VERY serene. Everything about AK is serene, most of the crowds are hidden behind lush trees and Flame Tree is no exception.

We sat near the lagoon and got a great spot to see the new ride they were building. There was a boat out in the water that played tropical music and just travelled back and forth! It was so fun to listen to!
 
13 out of 13 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page