Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Rainforest Cafe
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
The Animal Kingdom location of this popular restaurant features dining in a rainforest and the over-the-top decor this chain is known for.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.2 out of 53.2 out of 53.2 out of 53.2 out of 53.2 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 19 ( Displaying Reviews: 11 - 19 )
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   4/30/04
Reviewer: marryy Pennsylvania     May 06, 2004
We had several problems with service when we went to the Rainforest Cafe. Our food order was misplaced, and we were waiting about 35 minutes for our meals when the manager came over to tell us there had been a problem. He told us (a party of 9) that dessert was on him, or a discount, and that the food would be out pronto. And it was. Unfortunately, my daughter's hamburger was still red inside, and had to be sent back. We shared an appetizer plate that had a good crab dip on it (although the tostitos were stale). I got mexican-type egg rolls as my meal, and they were excellent. The turkey wrap was also worth getting. The caesar salad was ok, but wasn't special. The prices were not too high: what you would expect from a chain kind of place. We went away quite happy because of our free desserts. The chocolate lava cake is huge, and the key lime pie creamy and refreshing. It just goes to show a good manager can make a restaurant succeed because despite the problems, we would go back!
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   First of August 2002
Reviewer: ppmuse Sacramento, CA     January 06, 2004
First of all, I think the Rainforest Cafe restaurants are going downhill. I'm not really sure why I keep going, but the atmosphere is just so awesome, that sometimes you want to go just to sit there, and unfortunately, you'll be doing just that, just sitting there.

My wife and I always use the package at WDW where you get 3 meals a day and all the recreation you want. The problem with the 3 meals a day, you aren't quite sure what you get. You know you get an appetizer, entree, and a desert. The question is, where does the salad fall in, where does soup, which appetizers? You would be amazed at how different each restaurant is.

Because of the difference, you have to ask, which is what we did at the Rainforest Cafe. We weren't entirely hungry, after breakfast at the Restaurantasaurus, so we just wanted something small. But they knew we had the card after the questions, so they kept pushing food onto us. Also, the bad thing with the card is that the tip is included, so they know they don't have to work as hard. We got in there at 11:30, we left the restaurant close to 2:15. Why? The waiter didn't care. He had the tip, so he brought us the appetizer he talked us into out, half hour later, he came back with refills and to write down what we wanted for lunch. He disappeared, 30 minutes later, he brought us more refills. 30 minutes later, out came our meal. At around 1:45, he talked us into a Volcano, the biggest desert there was on the menu. At 2:00, it came out. We ate one brownie and a little ice cream, people were laughing at us at how big it was, and wanted to take out picture, we couldn't blame them. It was huge. At 2:15 we paid and left. All we came in for was a pizza, soda, and then move on with our day. Instead, the fish in the aquarium got so use to us that they hung out at our side. We exchanged addresses and promised to keep in touch.

Unfortunately, we asked again what we would get with the card at Planet Hollywood, and something even worse happened there. That was the last time we asked about what we got with the card, too much trouble, too much time, and no good service.

Service: 1.0
Atmosphere: 4.0
Food: 2.0
Price: 2.0
 
3 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   11/30/02
Reviewer: yecats New Orleans, Louisiana     September 18, 2003
We had a PS for 8:30 in the a.m. We arrived about 10 minutes late and were seated immediately. There was almost no one (maybe 10 other people) in there for breakfast until about 9:10.

Our orders consisted of a large and thick waffle with side order of bacon and chocolate milk as well as bacon, eggs and grilled potatoes with onions and a large orange juice.
It did take about 25 minutes to get our food but it was good and fresh.

Our server was very nice and did provide updates and apologized for the food taking a bit.

We think the restaurant is cute and got to watch the animals go off every 15 minutes or so. About 9:15 a.m. two very large groups must have been bussed in as they each consisted of about 100 people who were seated immediately in sections of the rest which was then full.

We finished eating about 9:45 a.m. The check totaled $30 for breakfast including tax and tip.

Although we enjoyed our breakfast, overall we don't plan on returning as service was a bit slow and the food was expensive.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   9/8/2003 - 9/15/2003
Reviewer: drew489 (limitedition@yahoo.com) New Hampshire (near Boston)     September 17, 2003
I've been to this restaurant several times locally in Burlington, MA so I know the food isnt that great but this entire experience was terrible.

First off, I had priority seating and I still didnt get sat for nearly 30 minutes. Strike one.

Secondly, the hostess who sat us was VERY rude and curt. When we were getting sat, 2 out of the 5 people in our party had to go to the bathroom, the hostess rudely asked us where the rest of our party was insinuating that if they werent there...she would not see us. Strike 2.

Thirdly, after we were sat it took several minutes for our waiter (who was actually a pretty nice kid) to come over and get us drinks. Also, the smell throughout the entire place was like an old aquarium...not very appetizing. Strikes 3 and 4.

We ended up ordered 3 pizzas and an appetizer of Buffalo chicken tenders. Instead of getting us buffalo tenders, they sent us dried plain chicken tenders. All three of the pizzas came out COLD or perhaps luke warm. We sent one back but the pizza was still aweful. SMOTHERED in generic BBQ sauce with very little chicken.

The whole meal was a bad experience and I recommend staying far away from this non-disney restaurant and go to counter top style to save $$
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   July 10, 2003
Reviewer: MolinariZoo Chicago area, Illinois     July 15, 2003
Very disappointed in this restaurant as we are regular and happy diners (I even belong to their club) at the Rainforest in our area. We had PS for 5:30, checked in around 5:15 and were seated before 5:30. Our party of 6 was put in back (that's happened to us more than once on this trip) away from all the activity but we didn't complain because we wanted to make the 7:00 Pirates of the Caribbean movie at Downtown Disney. We ordered within 10 minutes of being seated. The kids and my husband had smoothies (all different kinds) which they enjoyed a lot and I had a smoothie sort of Margarita which was enjoyable. The food took almost 40 minutes after ordering to arrive altho we told our server that we wanted to catch the 7 show. Also, he was very inattentive - you couldn't catch him! My husband's steak was good, the kids enjoyed the burgers and chicken (and really enjoyed the smoothies) and the shrimp platter I had was delicious altho I feel I had to shovel it down so we could catch the movie. We didn't make the 7:00 show - but did make the 7:40. (P.S. What an enjoyable movie!) Being a big Rainforest Cafe fan I was really disappointed in this one. Service=Poor Price=Reasonable Atmosphere=okay because we couldn't see much of it. Food=pretty good.
 
3 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   03/28/03
Reviewer: marklar Colorado     April 04, 2003
Had PS for lunch and still waited about 35min. Place is VERY noisy and dark. Food selection is excellent and portions are huge. Service was ok. Don't know how much the bill was as we used Vacation Kingdom lunch vouchers but the menu was pricy. Overall we would probably not eat here again just too noisy!
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   March 25, 2002
Reviewer: fyfx Belton, MO     October 15, 2002
The ambiance of this restaurant is almost identical to every other Rainforest Café we have visited in other cities. We ate there for a family birthday as we left Animal Kingdom. We really like the food, the atmosphere, and my child is in ahhh of the animals and when it starts to rain. Traditionally, it is protocol for every food place inside of Disney property limits to be 20% or so above the outside competition. If the Animal Kingdom Rainforest Café is spiking the prices it is not very noticeable. We never seen much difference in price, atmosphere, or décor then every other Rainforest Café we have been too. We WOULD HIGHLY recommend this place.
 
2 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   1/2001
Reviewer: hersheythecat Lake Park, NC     July 16, 2002
We had priority seating for breakfast. We were early for our allotted time which was right when they opened. When they finally seated us it was 8:05 which annoyed us a little since they open at 8:00 and we were there before they opened. Upon review of the menu, we ordered things based upon the descriptions, but when we received them they did not taste much like their descriptions. The server we had was not very attentive considering there were only 2 other tables of people in the restaurant. The decor is neat with the moving animals and such. I loved the aquariums that you can watch while you eat. We probably will not be back to the one at the Animal Kingdom but may try the one at Downtown Disney.
 
10 out of 12 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   June 9, 2002
Reviewer: Poohfan28 (ladymin@bellsouth.net) Jacksonville, FL     June 20, 2002
My husband, my mother-in-law and I ate there after a day of visiting Animal Kingdom. The Blue Crab dip was wonderful. My mother-in-law had Lobster. We were on the Discovery Magic plan. We also had smoothies that were very good. Our waitress complained of having a headache and that bothered us that she would tell us that. She did an okay job. We will go back there for sure.
The total bill came to $166.00 with the tip that was included in the flex pass. The atmosphere was nice. The meal was dinner.
 
9 out of 10 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page