Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Rainforest Cafe
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
The Animal Kingdom location of this popular restaurant features dining in a rainforest and the over-the-top decor this chain is known for.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.2 out of 53.2 out of 53.2 out of 53.2 out of 53.2 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 19 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 10 )
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   July 4, 2008 week and Feb. 27, 2009 weekend
Reviewer: DVCmom Alabama     March 19, 2009
Reservations:
NONE - and got in in Feb. for lunch
Service:
VERY good. We were seated quickly. Our server was outstanding.
Price:
We were on the deluxe plan so that was not an issue
Food:
My husband has ordered pizza both times and still thinks it is WONDERFUL. He never finishes it. My daughter is over the age limit for a kid's meal but still wanted the pasta dish and they let her. She loved it - ate it all and she's a light eater. I had salad first trip. It is HUGE (like your grandmom's serving bowl). Very tasty. This last trip I tried the veggie burger. It was much better than the usual WDW Boca burger. It was a thick and juicy mushroom burger. YUM!
Atmosphere:
Loud and entertaining. We really enjoy the fish and the decorations. Gotta look at the bar stools on your way in/out! I really want a few for my house!!!
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   October 2007
Reviewer: pioneerduster Lake Arrowhead, CA     November 04, 2007
We stopped in for a breakfast shake at the bar. I had the Sheba (Oreo cookies) and my wife had an orange type. Overall good stuff, we got them to go in a Styrofoam cup which was nice. Our server was new and pretty slow considering we were the only people at the bar.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   December 28, 2005
Reviewer: BigStan727 Burbank, IL near Midway airport     January 22, 2006
We had prority seating but had to wait in line 15 minutes just to let the check-in girl know. We were seated under a mechanical gorilla, female I think, and waited and waited and ... well you get the picture. Finally our waitress arrived and apologised saying something about a three table simultaneous seating by the hostess. Well we ordered. I played it safe as I could calorie-wise this time after having bacon and eggs in the morning at the Africa counter restaurant Tusker House. I ordered the Hong Kong chicken stir fry and it was surprisingly good. It had a slightly sweet Hoisin ginger sauce on the chicken and vegetables on jasmine rice. My son ordered off the kid's menu and my wife said her dish was OK but nothing special. I cant remember what she had but what really saved the occasion were the really cool blinking plastic glasses that we ordered our drinks in. They were dazzling as they twirled around at the base of the glass. There is a switch on the bottom to turn them off and our waitress said they use a watch battery that can be replaced. My son wanted to order the Volcano dessert that comes with scoops of ice cream on a big fudge brownie but our waitress warned us that it could feed four people. Johnny settled for the Chocolate Diablo Cake. My wife and I split the Bananas Foster Crepes the bananas were excellent with the chocolate sauce but the crepes were only OK. Still this is a fun place and the only table service restaurant in the Animal Kingdom. Enjoy!
 
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   12/6/05
Reviewer: heidiwhr Salem, Oregon     December 11, 2005
Here's a hint: Go here for beakfast before going to Animal Kingdom! We are Safari Club memebers, so our wait for a table is never that long, even without reservations. This time was no different. We got to the restaurant around 8:30am, and were one of the first seated. We sat in the Elephant section, right next to a couple of the biggest ones, which kept my 4 y/o entertained until the food came. Our waitress was friendly and attentive. She kept our coffee (which is excellent, by the way) and orange juice full and kept checking to see if we needed anything. I got my usual of the Tonga Toast - yummy! Hubby got a egg/bacon/sausage/toast combo, which he devoured. My son got the waffle w/ TONS of whipped cream, and just about finished every bite. The "thunderstorms" every 1/2 hr are old hat to us, but everyone seated around us thought they were pretty cool. The jamaica/jungle style of Christmas music playing in the background was fun, as well as watching the fish swimming in the aquariums. Overall, I highly recommend starting your day with breakfast at the Rainforest!
 
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   January 2005
Reviewer: manofsteel75 McLeansville, NC     December 09, 2005
Service: 1 planet
Price: 4 planets (we were on the gold plan, so I didn't have to pay for it)
Food: 4 planets
Atmosphere: 4 planets

We had a priority seating for our party of 6 at 9:00 and arrived 10 minutes early. When I walked up to the check-in desk there was no one there. After waiting five minutes and several other people coming up behind me, someone showed up. I told her I had priority seating, she checked it off on her list, and then proceeded to seat the people who had walked up behind me. When I asked about this I was told that since there was hardly anyone in the place that we would be guaranteed a seat. After letting the steam come out of my ears for a minute or two, the manager came over and apologized and seated us right away. He then offered to get my kids a free breakfast slushie for the trouble. The waitress came over to take our order, I told her we were on the gold plan, she had no idea what I was talking about, so another waitress took over. We ordered and waited virtually no time at all before we had our food. The breakfast combo plates are fantastic. I highly recommend the steak and eggs. Also for you fellow caffeine freaks out there, the coffee is great, you could almost run a car off of it. After eating our way to edge of a food coma, the waitress came over with the check for me to sign. After signing it she continued to stand there waiting for something. I asked if there was anything else and she said " You have to pay for those breakfast slushies the kids had, they are not covered by your plan." . I explained what had happened earlier and stood up to leave, she actually tried to block my exit, I'm 6'6'' about 245 pounds-she was all of 5'3'' about 100 pounds, and said " You cant go anywhere until you pay.". I guess the manager saw this and came sprinting over to straighten everything out. The waitress turned around and stomped off to take the slushies off the bill. The manager again had to offer his apologies and gave all of us a free t-shirt.
So to sum it all up; Food-great, Atmosphere- noisy but interesting, Price-awesome for the portions you get, Service- (Management-fantastic) servers-slightly psychotic. Don't forget about the coffee though.
 
3 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   August 16-25, 2005
Reviewer: MattyMouse330 Massachusetts     September 08, 2005
I am a HUGE fan of the Rainforest Cafe chain, so I suppose I am bias, but I found nothing wrong with this restaurant. My cheeseburger was delicious, and when I asked for extra pickles, they gave me an entire plate (about a dozen) of them! The love the atmosphere so much and everything is very pleasing. However, I cannot give it a perfect score, because it is exactly like all the others, but I highly recommend going here!!
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Feb. 7, 2005
Reviewer: monami7 (monami7777@hotmail.com) Salt Lake City     February 23, 2005
We went for breakfast before entering the park. We were seated right away. Aproximatly 8:45am. We love the decore and have eaten at many Rainforest Cafes across the country. Though this was the first breakfast. We had 1 childs meal and 1 adult meal for my DH, DD and I. It was very good. I love the ciinnamin french toast and the coffee was good for Disney coffee. We will definitly return.
 
1 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   May 2004
Reviewer: sdhenck Ohio     January 24, 2005
Type of meal: Lunch
Service 2 planets
Price 2 planets
Food 3 planets
Atmosphere 4 planets
Overall 3 planets

We didn't call ahead for priority seating and had to wait for about 20 minutes to be seated. Our family of 3 split the Appetizer Adventure for lunch. It included calmari, chicken tenders and crab dip with nachos. The food was good but not spectacular.

I compare Rainforest Cafe to the average "fern bar" (i.e., TGI Fridays, etc.), except the service is a bit slower, the price is a bit more expensive, but the atmosphere is much more fun!

The jungle theme is really the reason to come here, especially with kids. It is not a place for a quiet, romantic evening. It's quite pretty inside. The foliage hangs from the ceiling and walls as if you are under the trees in a real rainforest. (I think the foliage is artificial but it is still pretty). About every 10-15 mintues or so, there are sound effects of a "thunder storm" and the fake gorillas and monkeys "come to life" for a few minutes and make all sorts of jungle sounds. The fish tanks are really beautfiul. While waiting in line to be seated, my 5 year old kept trying to find "Nemo" and "Dori".

Overall, the theme fits well with Animal Kingdom, however, with so many other special restaurants within WDW, this isn't one that we would necessarily seek out again. Not to say that we wouldn't eat here again but for us it was just "been there, done that".
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   08/07/04
Reviewer: MouseMom Freeport, IL     August 09, 2004
It was a 30 minute wait, then 10 more to get a table. We were seated across from the bathrooms and along the path of the servers. We endured clashes and a view of the men's washroom. The food was ok, but the server didn't get it completely right. We were tired, hot and hungry -- BUT NEXT TIME ASK FOR ANOTHER TABLE if it doesn't seem right. The manager didn't seem to be too concerned that we thought that table shouldn't even be used. Our daughter didn't get a real good view of anything. It was disappointing compared to how Disney makes sure you have a happy experience.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   05/09/04
Reviewer: jg32268 Ossining, NY     May 21, 2004
I felt like the service was rushed. First of all, my biggest complaint is the noise. I know this is the rainforest, but do they have to make the animotronics so loud. It was so annoying hearing the jungle animals and thunder every 10 minutes. Also, sitting by the waterfall is nice to look at, but the sound from it makes conversating hard. Second complaint is the food. I ordered a hamburger which came with potatoe chips. I was offered french fries instead of chips for a dollar more. Most places I go offer french fries with their burgers for no extra charge. The potatoe chips were STALE!. Third complaint was the service - hardly saw our "server" come around and ask if everything was okay and if we needed anything. Order a second diet coke and when I got it I was told they had run out of straws - how does a theme park restuarant run out of straws. Appetizers came without plates also. Would never recommend eating here!
 
1 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page