Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Restaurantosaurus
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
**Character breakfast no longer available -- moved to Tusker House** (Please see Disney's Animal Kingdom / Counter service for regular breakfast, lunch and dinner service reviews.)
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.3 out of 53.3 out of 53.3 out of 53.3 out of 53.3 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 13 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 10 )
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   May 12, 2007
Reviewer: tjrj Durango CO     May 29, 2007
Had an adr for as soon as the restaurant opened-8:05am. Checked in promptly. Once we checked in, we were told that we could move over to another line for the photo op. We weren't escorted or forced to do so which I appreciated. Seated promptly. Near the cold buffet, next to a window which I liked. Found they had typical buffet choices-as well as a breakfast pizza, a frittata and others. The krispy kreme's were especially enjoyed by my sons(15 and 20). Liked that the cold buffet and the hot buffet were separate; easier to move around and make choices that way I think. Restaurant was not crowded when we arrived but it certainly was when we left! I would recommend getting here early-both for the freshness of the buffet as well as to enjoy the uncrowded feel of the place. We each received lots of attention from the characters-despite being an adults only party. Took lots of pictures. When the person came around for us to look at the Disney photo we had taken, I didn't feel any pressure to purchase-though I did purchase the photo and they were very helpful with answering the questions I had. The waiter was attentive and filled our glasses right away-and even got my youngest son with the ketchup trick! The interior is dark but beautiful-lots of wood and it fits really well with the Animal Kingdom themeing. I can't believe this place is a McDonald's during lunch and dinner. Price including tax and tip was approximately $27 for each of us(3 adults). About the standard for a character buffet. We ate our fill, enjoyed the characters, walked thru an uncluttered park, missed the clog at the AK gates AND were the first in line(walk on) for Expedition Everest. Feel that we more than got our money's worth. Will be sorry to see this location leave the WDW character landscape.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   May 3, 2007
Reviewer: Imjusta babyduck Pace, Florida     May 15, 2007
We ate here for the first time on May 3, 2007. We ate here for Donald and to eat somewhere in AK that had air conditioning. This is a buffet and the food was HORRIBLE! From start to finish: the eggs, meats, potatos all basically unedible. The only things that were half-way decent were the Krispy Kreme doughnuts and you could tell that even those had been sitting out for a while. The place was busy (we had to stand in a long line at the buffet) and the food should have been piping hot and fresh. It was far, far from it. However, believe it or not, the food was better than the service. We were a large party of 13 and you could tell that our waitress was unhappy we were sat in her section. She brought our initial drinks and the check. We had to get up and actually get refills ourselves (not just ask for them, but GET them). She never took any dirty plates of the table or even came back around except to bring the check. The complete lack of service was shocking. I really resented that she got an 18% tip on a $200.00 bill for doing nothing. Obviously, we will not be back for Donald's breakfast. Except for Donald, they are the standard characters and not worth the bad food and appalling service. If you chose to eat here, I hope you have better luck than me.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   October 05
Reviewer: TinaMouse Farmington, MN     September 10, 2006
Had birthday breakfast for DS (3). Six people in total: DH, DS (3&10), my parents, and myself.

Check-in was easy, and the hostess made a big deal out of son's birthday. We were ushered to the photographer and took the picture because it was easier to do so than to say no.

Seating went well. Food was plentiful; there was everything under the sun available, including Krispy Kreme donuts, bagels, pastries, multiple kinds of eggs, hashbrowns, breakfast meats, biscuits, etc. Quality is what you would expect from this type of venue. Characters are the draw, not the food.

Characters were ushered in, and they knew (good communication between host and character guides) that it was my son's b-day. They brought a signed card to him and everyone sang. It was one of the highlights of our 10 day trip.

That being said, they don't stick around for long, and immediately after the characters pass, along comes the photography people selling already printed photo packages. The CM was very nice and said, "Don't feel like you have to buy this. One person in your group had their eyes closed." I didn't buy it then, but my immediate family actually looked great, so I cropped it on the PhotoPass website and had it sent to me later.

I would recommend Restaurantosaurus, especially if your tot is into Donald. Just be realistic about what it is and what you're paying for.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   January 26th and January 29/2006
Reviewer: Brenda Ontario, Canada     February 07, 2006
We (my husband, children (son-11 & daughter-8), in-laws and myself) loved the restaurant. We didn't feel rushed to eat or to hurry with our visits with the characters. The food was great and there was a lot of variety. The staff was entertaining and the kids loved it. The characters (Donald and Goffey) interacted and put on a little show and we loved it! We had priority seating the first day and we had special seating for the second date because we were going on the Disney Cruise that day. I would recommend this dining to anyone with or without kids. On both days there were adults there without children who seemed to be enjoying themselves very much.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   11/27/05
Reviewer: gusie97 (gusie97@yahoo.com) Erie, PA     December 01, 2005
Were here for breakfast with Donald,Mickey,Goofy, & Minnie. Can you please not rush people through!! We have done multiple character dining and I have never felt so rushed. I saw tables leaving after about 30 minutes--The food is good and the themeing is great . We were put into a "side" room and could not go up to get our food because they started bringing the characters right into the room one right after another and they told us don't leave or you will miss them. Ask for a table in the main room so you can see what is going on and take your time!! We did stay for almost an hour because I didn't want to be forced out. This can be a great dining experience if you make it that way and don't let them rush you!!!
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   sept 2004
Reviewer: rt2dz Texas     November 08, 2004
Characters Present: Donald, Mickey, Pluto, Goofy

This restaurant was excellently themed. My son, a dinosaur nut, was in heaven. The characters came around multiple times, but not as friendly as at Chef Mickeys or Liberty Tree. When the baby was crying though, Goofy tried very hard to get him to stop. I felt bad at his failure; he just needed a nap. Mickey was painfully obvious a Minnie in drag, which could be a serious problem with older children. Our server was very upbeat, friendly, and attentive. The food was good, not quite the variety of selection that Chef Mickey had, but was easier to get to. The tables again were close, but not so close that you did not have room to eat. We enjoyed it. I would do it again if our kids asked to, but our son was much more enthralled with all the dinosaur stuff that I think we would just rather walk in there and have lunch or dinner without the characters
 
4 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   March 2004
Reviewer: kjmesa Haslet, TX     April 14, 2004
We ate our last breakfast at the Restaurantosaurus for our double birthday trip, me (36) and mom (55). The food was okay and the characters almost did not make it around to us before we finished our breakfast.

The thing that stands out about this breakfast was the way the waitstaff treated us for our birthdays. They sang to us and made a big production out of it. They also gave both of us birthday card that was signed by each of the characters. That was a GREAT surprise!

If you are celebrating a birthday, GO HERE!!
 
3 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   First of August 2002
Reviewer: ppmuse Sacramento, CA     January 06, 2004
First the restaurant is hidden inside the Animal Kingdom. The place was kind of hard to find. Even with a reservation, we waited for about 10 minutes. I hate to say this, but I believe that the outcasts of the serving community at WDW work here at this restaurant. They're fake smiles, rushing attitudes, and they would fight with each other out in the open.

The food was your basic all-you-can-eat buffet at WDW. Eggs, croissants, fruit, bacon, etc. It wasn't bad, but you were often times left thirsty. The waiter was running around so much that you weren't quite sure when you would get your next refill. So you drank slowly, and then when you saw your server coming, you would drink what was left in your cup, and what was left in your partners, just to make sure you would get a refill.

The characters were nice, and stayed with us to take pictures, and do a quick joke. Please note, we didn't have any young kids, the youngest was 23. But they did spend some time with us.

As for the atmosphere, it felt like we were in a cafeteria at a dig. Where the food was hot, you ate in a huge tent, samples of the days find laid all around you, and the waiters were wondering why they were serving people, they should be out on the dig. Unfortunately, most of the guests wish they were out on the dig too.

Service: 2.0
Price: 2.0
Food: 4.0
Atmosphere: 4.0
 
2 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   Aug. 16/03
Reviewer: Joytotheworld Orillia, Ontario, Canada     October 11, 2003
Breakfast buffet
Service was good but very rushed
A little pricey for limited choice of items
Food was okay but nothing outstanding
Atmosphere was delightful

The best thing about this meal was the charming environment of the Restaurantosaurus building (an archeological dig site) but that can be enjoyed at times other than the buffet breakfast for a fraction of the price. The food itself was nothing to get excited about. The best thing on their menu was the Krispy Kreme doughnuts. Our main reason for attending this meal was to get the chance to meet and greet Donald Duck but unfortunately, at this meal the characters breeze by you so quickly that you barely have time to pose for a quick photo and grab an autograph and then they're off and running. I really didn't care for the rushed nature of this meal. And since I later discovered that you can also get up close and personal with Donald at the dinner buffet at Chef Mickey's, I would recommend people go there to meet him where there is a far superior meal involved.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   31 December 2002
Reviewer: chezp United Kingdom     June 26, 2003
31 December 2002, breakfast

Service: Appalling
Price: Good value
Food: Not a great selection
Atmosphere: Excellent

As we went into Donalds Breakfasaurus, we were shown the storyboards about the evolution of Donald, which I loved. The attention to detail and theming here was fantastic, some of the best Ive ever seen at Disney. There was so much to take in and I loved the big bang dartboard game and the basketball stuck to the net. Someone had a lot of fun creating this.

I wasnt too impressed with the food though. The selection seemed limited and I was disappointed to find most of the hot items contained meat. Pamela, who was making omelettes and did me a vegetarian one, did happily agree to make me potatoes without the obligatory bacon fat, but I came away feeling that I shouldnt have had to ask in the first place.

The characters were very quick off the mark. Within 15 minutes of getting there, we had seen Pluto, Donald, Mickey and Goody. All of them were blowing kisses at me, much to DHs amusement. Disney has a seriously smooth set of characters! I was disappointed with their costumes though, as one of the main reasons for going there was because theyd have special festive costumes. I didnt see much of that. I dont think a bit of tinsel or the odd scarf counts somehow. Donald was certainly enjoying one table, who kept chanting his name, but boy did he get upset when they changed their mind and started chanting Mickeys name instead!

The meal, including tip, came to $39.94. The tip was very low, as the service was pretty appalling. We barely saw our server and he was very slow off the mark with the drinks.

This wasn't the best character breakfast buffet we'd had at Disney, but the atmosphere did make up somewhat for the poor service and the lack of food on offer for me. Providing you don't have a vegetarian in your party, you'll do fine with the food selection here.
 
5 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page