Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Tusker House
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Africa restaurant featuring a full buffet. (Recently upgraded from a counter service restaurant.)
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 15 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 10 )
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   oct 22,2009
Reviewer: suecoppola brooklyn, ny     January 11, 2010
This was our first time at Tusker House. We were shown to our table within 5 minutes of our ADR. Our server was lovely and attentive. The characters came around and we saw them all. The room is noisey. The food was just okay. There is no omlet bar although one of the cast members behind the food line was nice enough to have 2 eggs made for me. We love Boma and when comparing the food and the lovely room to Tusker House, Boma wins hands down. If you really need to see characters go to the Crystal Palace or Chef Mickey.
 
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   May 12, 2007
Reviewer: tjrj Durango CO     May 29, 2007
Arrived a bit before 11:30 for lunch. Cashier was helpful with choices-and also telling us that the soda machine was broken-they only had lemonade and water to drink! I chose the bbq chicken salad; ds 20 had the salmon with saffron rice and ds 15 had the chicken sandwich with fries. ds 20 said his salmon was wonderful-he couldn't believe it was "fast food". ds 15 inhaled(that's the only word for it!) his sandwich but left the fries(unusual for him). My bbq chicken salad with a bit uninteresting-much preferred the chicken salad at Columbia House-with salad greens, grilled chicken and some parmesean cheese. Desserts were 1 cheesecake and a chocolate cake and a no sugar brownie. I took the brownie back to the room for breakfast the next day; boys enjoyed their desserts at lunch-pre-packaged but good nonetheless. Air conditioning was appreciate as were the CM"s both pointing out available tables as well as being readily available to clean up tables when guests were finished. Like the African theme and dark wood-as well as being able to hear the drums from outside. Lunch was approximately $13 for each of us. About standard for counterservice at WDW. It was crowded when we arrived-but VERY crowded when we left. Again-dine at off times or be prepared to wait.
 
4 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   December 2005
Reviewer: Mtnthumper Minnesota     March 30, 2007
We dont really eat breakfast very often on our vacations but we stopped in here one morning because breakfast sounded good. It was the best decision! We sat out on the patio area and it was great, we felt like we were having breakfast in a little village. My husband and I had the Biscuts and Gravy and my son had a regular egg breakfast plate. Everything was very good, the fruit was so fresh! It was very clean and lots of friendly cast members available to help. The price (as w/all Disney dining) was a little high for "fast food" but was definatly worth the stop!
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   March 2, 2007
Reviewer: TinaMouse Twin Cities, MN     March 03, 2007
We had high hopes for Tusker House, and we were not disappointed. We arrived just at 11:00 am for an early lunch and the doors were already open. The cashier was friendly and told us about unusual toppings on sandwiches. I had the Fried Chicken Sandwich w/fries. It was crispy on the outside and juicy on the inside. It came dressed with lettuce, tomato, and a ranch-type sauce. Fries were typical, if not a little dry. Nothing to search out; nothing to avoid eating.

My husband ate the salmon, which was the star of the meal. For less than $8, he received a 4 inch piece of grilled and seasoned salmon, what looked to be a safron-rice, and sauteed green beans and mushrooms. He said it was FABULOUS.

My 4 yo ate part of the salmon as well as the kids chicken leg meal. It was a rotisserie drumstick, mashed potatoes (also very good), grapes, and applesauce. His meal included an apple juice.

The meal came to $25. It was WELL worth the money. Atmosphere was lovely, and there were Cast Members ready to wipe down tables for the next guests. The inside decor was African. You could hear the musical performances just outside the doors.

We will certainly return again.

Service--5 planets
Price--5 planets
Food--5 planets
Atmosphere--5 planets
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   October 4, 2006
Reviewer: lisaboo Sacramento, CA     October 18, 2006
Tusker House, like Flame Tree, has some of the best counter service food in all of WDW. What it doesn't have is the same view, however the indoor air conditioned eating area is a nice reprieve from the Florida heat and humidity. We arrived just before Tusker House started serving lunch (11:00) so we were first in line and found seating with no problem. My fiance had the fried chicken sandwich with fries and I had the salmon with rice and veggies. Both meals were very good. I was kind of wary of ordering salmon at a counter-service, but I was very glad I took the chance. We had the chocolate cake for dessert, which is also served at Flame Tree, and it was just as good. We were on the dining plan so I am unsure of the actual cost. This is a restaurant I will make a point to return to in the future.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Somewhere between May 5 and May 10 2006!
Reviewer: SandraVB79 (sandra@pubers.net) Brussels, Belgium     May 18, 2006
I had twive breakfast and once lunch at the Tusker House. This should alreday be a sign that it is a good restaurant, otherwise, I wouldn't have gone there again!

For one breakfast, I had the biscuits and sausage gravy ($3.99), orange juice ($2.49) and an apple/cinnamon muffin (no idea about the price, but it wasn't expensive)

The biscuits and gravy were very good, the orange juice was a large bottle (as opposed to the small ones they have at most of the other locations). The muffin was also good, although a bit on the dry side. I had a table outside, and enjoyed my breakfast a lot.

Later during the day, I went back to Tusker House for lunch, and I had the salmon and a large diet coke. Since you all now what a large diet coke is, I shouldn't comment on it. The salmon was VERY good ($7.99). It came with pilaf rice and vegetables. The rice was dry, as in having-been-under-the-lamp-for-too-long-dry, but wasn't too bad. The vegetables were very good, yet a little too salty for my taste. I prefer when they don't season the food too much, so that you can season it with pepper and salt to your own taste. The salmon was very "juicy", and the spices gave it a very good taste. I loved every single bite of it!!
The meal was very filling, so I was glad I didn't take dessert (although dessert looked very good too!!)
The restaurant was quite busy (long, non-moving line while waiting for my food) and didn't find a table inside. I had to go outside, a table with no umbrella and no shade. Lucky enough for me, there was a breeze, so that made me not melt into the pavement!! There was also some animation going on, and that provided some nice African background music.

On another day, I went back for breakfast, and had the biscuits and gravy again, with an orange juice, and it was just as good. Since it rained outside, I ate inside, and I really liked the decor and the tables/ chairs of this restaurant.
The restaurant wasn't crowded at all for breakfast at both times.

The people were very friendly. Once, a CM even came and took my tray for me while I was checking out my park map, which I thought was very nice of him!! (probably, he was just bored, because there were about no people inside, but still, I appreciated it!) I will certainly eat here again!
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   March 13, 2006
Reviewer: crazydad123 Phoenix, Arizona     March 19, 2006
The line at Tusker House was very frustrating! Animal Kingdom gets very crowded anytime after 10 AM, and we looked to sit and escape for a few minutes at lunch. As I got in line, a woman came past with her food saying I was in the worst line of all time! Trouble is, she was right. The man taking orders did not seem to know or care much about keeping things moving, and once we had paid--my receipt says 1:45 PM--it just got longer and longer. Over half an hour to move 10 feet and pick up 2 simple meals--a salad and a sandwich, with drinks and desserts. The staff assembling meals seemed to be moving at random--some would fill trays, others get an item, but never did there seem to be any consistency to their actions. The wrong order would be put on the wrong station--then switched as the customer called out to the staff. ABC Commissary at the Studios had been just as full on Sunday, but the service was fast and accurate.
We did get lucky and find a very nice outdoor table. The food itself was very good, and we did get our quiet moment. But if anyone ever again tells me I'm in a bad line, I'm going to believe them!
 
2 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   December 28, 2005
Reviewer: BigStan727 Burbank, IL near Midway airport     January 22, 2006
This was a very nice surprise. We had eggs and bacon for breakfast here when we found out the safari ride would not open for another hour. We got in at 7am as Disney Resort guests get early entry in the Animal Kingdom. The cost was very reasonable considering location. Enjoy!
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   December 12, 2004
Reviewer: Neon Cactus Tucson, Arizona     December 27, 2004
One of the best fast food restaurants I've been to at WDW. The quality of the food is excellent. I had the fried chicken sandwich and I would say it's the best chicken sandwich I've ever had. The variety is good when you combine that with the quality and a very reasonable price, I highly recommend this over Pizzafari. I still haven't eaten at Flame Tree, but you won't be disappointed.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   February 2002
Reviewer: kansaskix KS     April 18, 2004
I think this is one of the best counter service places to eat in all of WDW. We split up for lunch and I went here with my mominlaw and it was absolutely great food, generous portion size and decent prices. I had a turkey sandwich and it was really good. Also, a delicious carrot cake. My mominlaw had the chicken and she loved her meal also. The other people in our party went to Pizzafari and we brought our food there. My husband said the food at Pizzafari was okay and the kids liked it, but compared to Tusker house fare, no comparison! Highly recommend this eatery. Will eat here every time I come.
 
5 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page