Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Bongo's Cuban Café
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Owned and operated by singer Gloria Estefan, Bongo's offers classic Cuban cuisine in a table service setting. Located in Downtown Disney's West Side.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 7 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 7 )
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   August 2003
Reviewer: pixie18 Califorina     May 30, 2004
As a Cuban american I can you the food at Bongs is not real Cuban food. It's all bland and has no real flavor. The Cafe itself is very cute but not worth waiting over 10 mintues for nor is it worth the prices you pay. The take-out counter on the other hand is quiet good as it serves smaller cuban dishes ( cuban sandwiches, plantains) is worth checking out and the patio sitting outside is fun to people watch at as well.
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   September 10, 2002
Reviewer: Peka Arlington,Texas     August 11, 2003
We waited a long time to get a table, but the food was excellent. It was very exotic and tasty. The service could have been a bit better though! Our tea glasses stayed empty for long periods?? We totally enjoyed the atmosphere...extremely colorful and festive...not to mention the fun music. We are going to go there again this September. Hopefully the service has improved a bit!
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   February 12, 2003
Reviewer: gatorgirl Farmingdale, NY     February 17, 2003
We waited a long time to be seated when we could see that there were empty tables but that was the only problem. The food and service were exceptional. I would definitly return again
 
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   July 07, 2002
Reviewer: fyfx Belton, MO     October 15, 2002
The ambiance of this restaurant is loud music. There are a few key décor items, but it is mainly just loud music accompanied with useless background noise. The impression embedded in my mind is how loudly annoying this place was. I have a deep appreciation for music (all sorts) probably more then most, but it was overboard when you had to raise your voice to talk to the person seated next to you. If you, as a couple, want a romantic restaurant without the kids this is NOT the place for you. Though, I did see a lot of tables of 20 something groups ordering shots which might or might not attest for the food quality. My opinion was the food was so/so. The menu was very limited with many repeats of the same dish but with different twists. Table service was good, but I would think long and hard about the tip you decide to leave. Its an atmospheric restaurant with a lot of music and liquor (all that is missing is the dance floor and disco ball).
 
4 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   8/3/02-8/9/02
Reviewer: vbdad55 Chicagoland     August 16, 2002
This is out 3rd visit here in 12 WDW trips -- and it did not disappoint -- the food is adventurous but very very good. I recommend the marinated flank steak with all the sides. Yes palntains are really good -- even the kids like them are they are addictively sweet. One caution is that we ordered the largest appetizer sampler and then couldn't finish all of our food. the sampler was an excellent wayo to taste many items you normally wuld not find on a menu -- however then you may want to consider splitting entree's -- trust me I am a large eater and it would be enough. We prefer to sit outside ( you still get the Cuban music) but then also a nice breeze later at night and I believe a lot quieter atmosphere. Take a chance-- the food here is excellent, and even finicky kids will find items they will be surprised they like.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   April 2001
Reviewer: susieqintexas Texas     August 01, 2002
Good food and good service. Nice, quiet, relaxing place to go for lunch and a break from the theme parks. Definitely get the Tres Leches Cake for dessert!
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   06/23/02
Reviewer: REDLION281 (redlion281@aol.com) CENTRAL FLORIDA     June 24, 2002
OUR PARTY ENCOUNTERED VERY POOR SERVICE AS OUR GLASSES WENT & STAYED EMPTY AS THE SERVER STOOD TALKING/JOKING WITH COWORKERS. THEY TRIED TO PICK UP OUR PLATES 3 TIMES WHILE WE WERE STILL EATING MAKING YOU FEEL RUSHED & THE MGR WAS UNHELPFUL & ARGUMENATIVE IN SPEAKING WITH HIM.
 
14 out of 14 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page