Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Ghirardelli Soda Fountain & Chocolate Shop
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Get your chocolate fix here in this Marketplace counter service establishment.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 7 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 7 )
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   May 5-13, 2007-3 separate visits
Reviewer: tjrj Durango CO     May 21, 2007
I'm submitting this review on behalf of ds 20. He is a big time coffee/chocolate snob. So he was beyond happy when he saw Ghiradrdelli's deep dark drinking chocolate on the menu. He had it each time we were at DTD. I sampled it and must admit that it was delicious. Place was a zoo-especially on Saturday and Sunday nights(not a surprise). You can get it "to go" and enjoy as you walk DTD.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   Oct 05
Reviewer: TinaMouse Farmington, MN     September 10, 2006
The smell alone will entice you through the doors. The soda shop is connected to the chocolate shop. While the prices were a bit steep, the quality was very good.

We have been here for snacks both times we hit DD. I will say that we do "budget" ahead or share snacks as you can't get a family of 4 out the door for less than $20. The coffee is excellent, as are the shakes. I like the sundaes.

The service staff was indifferent to us, and we were the only ones in the shop at the time. They attended to us, weren't rude, but just didn't seem interested in making the experience stellar.

I would certainly return here for our next trip in October 07. It has become tradition.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   July 2002
Reviewer: rbaadmin Elwood, IL     June 25, 2006
This is probably my first and last time eating at Ghirardelli's. My hot fudge sundae with whipped cream tasted very good, but that was the end of the enjoyment. Within ten minutes of consumption, I began to feel extremely sick. My wife and I quickly boarded a bus to get back to our hotel, but we were not quick enough. Without saying more, I was extremely glad I purchased something earlier that day because the bag came in handy on the bus ride. I barely had the strength to make it from the bus to the hotel room and went to bed at 7:00 p.m. and did not wake until the next morning. Upon further examination, watch out for bad whipped cream -- it's a doozy!!
 
0 out of 10 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   January 10, 2005
Reviewer: Tuke Pensacola, Fl     March 16, 2005
This may not be a popular opinion, but I found this place to be way over-rated (good, but not great). I'm a real chocolate freak and LOVE theirs, so I had high hopes. Unfortunately, after waiting in line for 45 minutes, my wife and I were very disappointed in the quality of the ice cream (we both had sundaes) and the toppings. If you've ever eaten AT a Ben and Jerry's you've had much better. Next time we'll skip the line and get a sundae at the hotel food court.
 
2 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   9/21
Reviewer: bellefan Upstate NY     September 30, 2003
Definitely Heaven on Earth! While this spot is usually more crowded at night, during the day is a wonderful time to go - with very little wait. But don't let the lines out the door at night fool you though - the wait never seems to be more than 10 or 15 mins. I've had the chocolate sundae as well as the berry one. The ice cream sundaes always leave you completely full and never disappoint on taste. When its crowded, the shop can be quite loud so you may want to sit outside if its not too hot. And it can be costly (I think $8 or $9 for a sundae) and you'll need some water or something to drink because its very rich. But after all that, its still more than worth it!
 
4 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   April 2002
Reviewer: susieqintexas Texas     August 01, 2002
Busy, busy, busy! Finding a place to sit is a challenge but the ice cream is worth it! The sundaes are huge and delicious! Try the Alcatraz Rock!
 
2 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   October, 2001
Reviewer: NJ Mike Blackwood, New Jersey     July 02, 2002
This was a place we had singled out well before we hit DD. This was our first trip to DD, and we were pleased with the atmosphere of this spot. The children loved the free sample of chocolate they were given upon entring the store side of the building. We all ordered chocolate milkshakes and they were outstanding. Some people are wine officianados, some food, some other things. If there ever was a chocolate milkshake officianado, you've now met him. :)
The atmosphere was very pleasant, we grabbed a table outside, and it was a nice relaxing spot to take a break and watch the shoppers stroll by. Next trip the children want to return for a sundae, but i think dad will stick with the chocolate milkshake.
Service: Very quick, they have a queue set up which makes the line move very smoothly.
Food: Well the taste and size of the milkshakes were great.
Atmosphere: a great place to take a litle break between rounds of shopping.
Price: Very reasonable.
 
16 out of 18 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page