Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
House of Blues
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Part of the worldwide chain, House of Blues features blues and barbeque in a table service setting. Located in Downtown Disney's West Side.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.4 out of 53.4 out of 53.4 out of 53.4 out of 53.4 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 5 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 5 )
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   11-14-09
Reviewer: ls3015 Freeland Michigan     November 25, 2009
We ate twice at the House while on vacation and both times found it to be very great. The 1st time, We arrived a little late, but was still seated right away in the rear dining area, which is away from the band and main dining area. We found it to be very nice we could talk and have conversion, the waitress was very attentive and the food was great, I had their meatloaf which had a little spicy taste but was very good, my wife had their ribs which also had a spicy bite which she also liked, my brother in law had a hamburg which he claimed was great, my sister in law had a steak that she also enjoyed, we ordered the corn bread because of the reviews I had read and they were right, It was great we bought some mix to bring home. The 2nd time we went for lunch at 1:00 and was seated right away in the main dining area, and once again the waitress was very good, we had no problems with it being loud, the room noise wasn't bad at all, we all enjoyed our meals so much we will be going back. Don't listen to any bad reviews this place is great, Try it.
The House Of Blues has become our favorite WDW restaurant.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   9/8/2003 - 9/15/2003
Reviewer: drew489 (limitedition@yahoo.com) Nashua, NH (near Boston)     September 18, 2003
Type of meal: Dinner

Service: The service was good. EXTREMELY casual because it caters to a younger crowd. It's supposed to be really laid back with the waiters in jeans and t-shirts. Someone in their 40's and up will probably not appreciate the type of service received.

Price: $15 or so per entree, drinks are expensive though, $9 and up!

Food: I LOVED the food. Keep in mind, this is a cajun restuarant so the food is spicy and different than what most are used to. I had the chicken with cornbread pudding and it was perfect, I also tried one of my parties meatloaf....the best meatloaf I ever had. TRY IT. The cornbread appetizer was equally good, great maple butter as well.

Atmosphere: REMEMBER, THIS IS NOT A DISNEY RESTAURANT. Dont expect to be wowed by the atmosphere, it's a laid back place with loud music and many sub 20 year olds. The atmposphere was fitting for the food and service. There was also a live band at the time so it was pretty loud. I didnt mind because I am relativly young but I cannot picture stuffy people in their 40's or 50's enjoying this style.

I will go again, there is also one local to me in Massachusetts that I would like to visit.
 
7 out of 8 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   07/02/2003
Reviewer: REDLION281 CENTRAL FLORIDA     July 19, 2003
If you are planning to have a nice relaxing dinner somewhere at a reasonable price with good service and a good selection of choices on the menu this is "NOT THE PLACE"! the menu is very limited and was astounded at the "SMALL PORTIONS" that still left one feeling hungry when done. THE ATMOSPHERE WAS OVERLY LOUD and the waiter (what little was actually seen of him) was dressed and had the appearence of a dirty gas station attendant (no joke). the overall service was very poor and i would suggest bringing your own beverages for dinner as your glass will stay empty.
the price for dinner was far too much for what you ended up getting which in the end truely left one with the blues. *tip: what ever you do don't try the turnip greens, they are not edible! never again!
 
1 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   June 8, 2002
Reviewer: LostboyDV Memphis, Tennessee     May 30, 2003
A group of 5 other friends and I met at House of Blues for dinner. I ordered the Cajun Meatloaf, which was utterly delicious and came with some scrumptious sauteed asparagus. I ordered a drink... I don't remember the name of it exactly, except that it was blue, consisted mostly of the same ingedients you'd find in a long island iced tea, and I think it was named after a car. Sorry I can't remember better, but it was a year ago. Anyway, the food and drink were just wonderful.

But then the whole experience went very sour. A live band showed up and started playing so loudly that none of us could hear anything but the music. We couldn't hear each other. In fact, we couldn't hear our own voices when we were SHOUTING. Our waitress wouldn't come back. She was probably avoiding the noise too.

Finally, 5 of us handed money to a volunteer from our group who indicated through mouthed words and hand signals that he could stand to sit there and wait for the waitress so he could pay her for our meals. It turned one of the best dining experiences in Disney World into one of the worst.

So my advice is, if you value your hearing and you want to be able to TALK to anyone, do not go to House of Blues when there's a risk of a live band playing. And if you must go there, have them seat you as far from the stage as possible.
 
5 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   June8 and June 14, 2002
Reviewer: Poohfan28 (ladymin@bellsouth.net) Jacksonville, FL     June 20, 2002
We loved this so much we went back before we left. My husband had Pan Seared Voodoo Shrimp with Rosemary Cornbread and Dixie Beer Reduction Sauce to start, I had the Artichoke and Spinach Dip, and then my mother-in-law had chicken fingers. For our meal I had a Shrimip Po Boy, my husband had Creole Seafood Jambalaya with Shrimp, Chicken, Andouille Sausage and Roasted Green Onions, and my mother-in-law had Slow Smoked Baby Back Ribs with Jack Daniels BBQ Sauce, Mashed Sweet Potatoes and Turnip Greens. We also were able to get dessert. Brownie with ice cream and sweet banana bread pudding. We used our magic wishes. The price with tip was $140.00 for the 3 of us.

 
11 out of 11 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page